Eclipse-II Review

manufacturer: ESP date: 11/15/2012 category: Electric Guitars
ESP: Eclipse-II
Now, custom shop quality comes to the production line, with these new Standard Series model Eclipse-II, a single cutaway, arched top solidbody with premium quilted maple top, set neck construction, and mahogany neck.
 Sound: 9.6
 Overall Impression: 9.7
 Reliability & Durability: 9.3
 Action, Fit & Finish: 9.3
 Features: 9
 Overall rating:
 9.1 
 Reviewer rating:
 9.4 
 Users rating:
 8.7 
 Votes:
 101 
reviews (7) pictures (4) 58 comments vote for this gear:
overall: 9.8
Eclipse-II Reviewed by: SMK626, on november 15, 2012
4 of 5 people found this review helpful

Features: I got this from my uncle. He got a lot of the new models from the 2007 ESP line and gave me/let me try a few. I've had this for a few months now. It's 2007 and made in Japan. It comes with a mahogany set-neck with a ebony fretboard and 22 XJ frets with a 24.75" scale and a bone nut. the neck itself is slightly thin and is pretty damn fast. It has a Mahogany body with a maple top and is a arch top with the Les Paul body style, yet with a sharp horn on the single cut-away with a absolutely stunning white finish. It features a 2 part Gotoh Tune-o-matic bridge and tail, EMG active 81(B)/60(N) pickups with toggle, volume, volume, and tone control, and Gotoh Magnum locking tuners. It included a very nice ESP case and the simple tools along with a owner's guide. Everything on it, for my personal taste, was perfect. 24 frets would have been nicer yet horrid on a set neck as this one is. // 10

Sound: I play metal mainly, yet also classical, blues, and rock, and this baby is just amazing when it comes to suiting it. I played this on my Peavey Triple XXX and the tone I got was amazing! It wasn't noisy at all! It produced one of the most amazing metal tones any guitar has given me. I prefer a warmer sound after brighter, so I found it kind of awkward that it had a maple top. Yet the mix of woods was very pleasing and gave out a beautiful warm tone with lots of sustain. The EMG-81 worked great for the fast and heavy lead and rhythm riffs while the EMG-60 worked soothingly and warm and a bit bulky for the slower melodies and melodic leads. It has lots of variety and I believe will work for most all players except die-hard Strat and tele fans. Only problem is sometimes you might miss the 2 tone knobs the Les Paul feature if you do tend to mess with the tone a lot. // 9

Action, Fit & Finish: This guitar was set up perfect, and I do seriously mean perfect from factory. It has no problems whatsoever! No flaws, no finish problems, no action adjustments, nothing. It was a rare moment for me to pull this out of the case, Switch it to my strings and be able to play drop tunned a bit without needing adjustments. Perfect out of the case. // 10

Reliability & Durability: This guitar is made by ESP so over-course this thing can stand Live playing. Even the Mid-Higher LTD Models can stand Live playing. I would personally know that because my first gig ever was with a ESP LTD EC-1000, and that thing hasn't given out on me yet. I can't wait until I have the honor of being able to go on stage with this snow white beauty and shred on it. Everything is solid on it. The strap buttons, the hardware. The finish seems amazingly durable. I tend to be a klutz so I tend to have accidents. Even with that (including a guitar hitting metal scare) it hasn't took one chip of paint off. This will most likely be one of my main guitars (I use 3 main guitars due to different tunings). This guitar is def. worthy of that. // 10

Overall Impression: For being a metal-head, this suits my music well. I own a few others guitars including the Ibanez RGTHRG1, Dean Dime Razorback, ESP LTD EC-1000, ESP LTD V-500 and so on. This product topped almost all of my guitars. I only wish it was more like the Eclipse Customs and featured a Neck-Thru instead of the Set-Neck. The access on the 22nd is actually decently good. I love everything about this guitar. It is great for rhythm and not too complex leads. I believe, even if my uncle didn't give this to me, I would have bought it anyway. It's truly amazing. I will never even think about getting a Gibson as long as ESP is around with the Eclipse models. If you are gonna play rhythm, get it! If you are gonna play lead that isn't too complex. Get it! Yet, if your gonna be doing all that technical fast crazy lead licks, I would say get the ESP M-II. ESP models, though expensive, can be worth every single penny. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9.2
Eclipse-II Reviewed by: Cole419, on november 15, 2012
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Price paid: $ 2

Purchased from: ESP custom shop

Features: My ESP was handmade in Japan about a year ago, 2007. The features on this guitar are simply outstanding. I am a Gibson player originally, I've only tried a few LTD models before. This guitar replaced all my others in the studio and Live because of the light weight and comfortable feel to it. If you know something about guitars, you would know that the shape of an Eclipse is almost identical to that of a Gibson Les Paul. So if you are a Les Paul fan or even if not, the Eclipse-II is very easy to appreciate. The EC originally came with EMG pickups but I replaced them with Seymour Duncans. An amazing feature that has not been known to me before were the Sperzel locking tuners, which is extremely convenient for changing strings. 2 volume, 1 tone and a 3 -way toggle switch. 22 XJ frets (although not that jumbo). Gotoh Tune-O-Matic & Tail bridge. An excellent quilted maple finish. Something to top it off its neck-through. I was pretty happy with it. // 8

Sound: Only one word to define the sound and the word is amazing. As I said before, the guitar originally came with two EMG pickups which sounded great. However I was looking for a large variety of sound and tone, so I chose to get Seymour Duncans, models Custom-5 and SH-2. My musical genres consist of metal, alternative, and post-hardcore. For these types of genres I needed something that had a rich and clean sound but when distorted, could cradle distortion and other effects very easily to make the sound that came out the best thing you've ever heard. Although the pickups made most of this possible, the guitars' craft played a huge role in this. Probably the best sounding guitar I've ever heard! Also the don't hesitate to keep the EMGs, I personally needed Duncans for my playing style. The EMG's are also great for any style along with SD's. I would love to be critical about the sound but it's impossible with how great it sounds. // 10

Action, Fit & Finish: All my years of playing, I've made the stupid choice of buying guitars that are unnecessarily heavy, trust me this is a horrible choice to make. Heavy guitars can lead to back pain and a lot of weight for no reason. Luckily, the Eclipse will not do this to you. This guitar is light weight and yet has a wonderful sustain. When I bought this guitar, everything was ready to go, not one flaw. For the first time in my life, the guitar felt like an extension of my body and not some huge weight dragging me down. The neck is so smooth, Live playing just got better. Getting your hand down from one part of the neck to another is a task anyone could gracefully accomplish. Best action and feel I've ever had, btw this tops Fender and Gibson easily in this category. For some reason the body had some sort of a bowl inlay going on I wasn't sure about, but it's not that bad. // 10

Reliability & Durability: To tell you the truth, I haven't had this guitar long enough to tell you how durable it is, but I've already noticed that the guitar will with out a doubt withstand Live playing. The black nickel hardware I'm sure has a life long promise of lasting. I would honestly depend on this guitar and use it Live without a backup. The finish even when aged will last as long as I am playing the guitar so I have no worry on this. The top may chip on occasion, be careful! // 9

Overall Impression: This has been my dream for 2 years and I finally got it. I don't think I'll ever regret it either. I've been a solid player for about 4 years considering I'm still in my teens. I also own a Gibson Firebird V, some Marshall amps and other equipment. One thing that I wish it came with would be a whammy bar and an EMG afterburner, but then again that's more for V shaped guitars and such. I would buy this product again if I lost it until I ran out of money. I bought this guitar because ESP is the best out there, if you don't think so, try one out. // 9

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 8.6
Eclipse-II Reviewed by: krehzeekid, on november 15, 2012
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Price paid: C$ 1700

Purchased from: mothers

Features: The Eclipse 2 is ESP's attempt at a modernized Les Paul type guitar. My guitar was made in Japan in 2010. It features a mahogany body with a maple cap, a mahogany neck, with a modern thin u shape, and an ebony fingerboard. The fingerboard has 22 extra-jumbo frets and has the Standard ESP flag inlays with an ESP logo at the 12th fret. The body is finished in a "vintage" matte black, and has gold binding. Hardware-wise, everything here is top-notch: Gotoh Magnum-lock machine heads, tune-o-matic bridge (somewhat suprisingly, not a locking unit), EMG 81/60 pickup set controlled by two volume knobs, a tone knob and a 3 way selector, and a bone nut. All in all, none of these parts selections are that special, but they illustrate the desire and necessary attention to detail to produce a really professional quality instrument. By the way, shame on you ESP (and any other guitar company who does this) for not including a case. Thats a little sad. // 8

Sound: I play most any kind of music, but this guitar was purchased to fill my need for a high-end metal guitar. Consequently, this amp spends most of its time playing through a Peavey 6505+ combo (with a 4X12 cab, no effects). However, I do use it as a backup to my ASAT, so I've played it through my Fender Hot Rod Deluxe (running 12AT7 tubes instead of 12AX7). Through the Fender, this guitar is suprisingly good, considering the pickups. It is suprisingly quiet, which is really quite nice. The bridge pickup is a little too powerfull for the cleans on this amp though, and it pushes the amp into a brittle break-up too easily. Both pickups together give a good, albeit bright, rhythm tone with a somewhat Acoustic quality. The neck pickup is a real suprise though, cranking out good jazz tones and awesome blues tones with a little gain added to the amp. Through the Peavey, this guitar really shines. On lower gain settings (think classic rock), the guitar is a little brighter than a typical les paul, but it coaxes a good cruch tone out of the amp. Turning the gain up furthur, the bridge pickup starts to sound really mean; notes jump out of the amp with pop and clairity. Even complex chords maintain definition. At the same time, the neck pickup is able to really sing, with a vocal like quality and sustain that just beg you to keep playing. Getting the gain up to modern metal levels leads to a predictable result: the guitar kills. The bridge pickup refuses to be overwhelmed by the amp. Whatever you play comes out with a clairity and Precision that I haven't heard in many guitars. Also, pinch harmonics are a total breeze. The neck pickup gives the guitar a totally different voice. It is smooth and buttery without being sluggish or imprecise. It just sings while maintaining enough definition for even the fastest of licks. Overall, this guitar excells as a metal guitar, which was to be expected. However, the fact that it is capable of handling the cleaner stuff is a totally unexpected and much appreciated (and used) bonus. // 9

Action, Fit & Finish: The factory set-up on this guitar was near perfect. Action was low without any hint of buzzing, intonation was flawless and it just played right out of the box. Aside from that, my only gripe is that the strings were not the best, but thats a pretty small detail. Beyond that, the fretwork on this guitar is perfect; nicely dressed, no sharp ends and great consistency. This consistency continues to the fret markers, where you really have to look quite hard to see any filler. All the hardware on the guitar seems to be very good quality, and the satin gold plating is consistently great. The guitar arrived with no loose bits rattling around and I'm yet to find any significant issues at all. However, the neck pickup was a little lower than I would have liked from the factory, but this was a 10 second fix. Also, kudos to ESP for the quality of the matte finish. These tend to show flaws, and this one has none. // 9

Reliability & Durability: I haven't had the chance to gig this guitar too much yet (injured myself), maybe 10 or 12 times, but it seems really solid. The hardware is all sturdy, the guitar barely needs to get tuned up over the course of a show which is kinda nice. Also, the overall construction just leads you to feel that the guitar is going to last. My only concern at all, it is a big one, is the strap buttons: they suck. The shape of the strap buttons causes them to push the strap off when the guitar moves about. Though its easy to put in straplocks, better buttons really are a must! // 8

Overall Impression: I am mostly a jack-of-all-trades-master-of-none type of guitarist, I play whatever comes to mind. I've been playing close to a decade now, and in that time I have accumulated many guitars (many of which I've parted ways with). This guitar was purchased to fill my need for a metal guitar. The Eclipse 2 does all forms of metal with ease. What really sold me on the guitar though was the ability to play things other than metal. Its not the best all-rounder, but it is definately commendable. Also, this is probably the best playing guitar I have ever owned. It is just really easy to play it and that is the main draw for me. Currently, I'm looking to get a second one with a Floyd Rose. I would encourage anybody looking for a pro-quality metal guitar to give the ESP a serious look. Cheers! // 9

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9.2
Eclipse-II Reviewed by: zeroskater_304, on november 15, 2012
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Price paid: $ 1200

Purchased from: Guitar Center

Features: This guitar is simply amazing. It's the perfect guitar for metal players such as myself. There are 22 frets for all those crazy solos high on the fretboard. Gotoh Deluxe Tuners keep the guitar in pretty good tuning. It includes EMG pickups which gives it a great metal tone. This model includes a Floyd Rose Original Bridge! The fingerboard is made from Ebony wood and has a thin U neck contour for all you small handed people. The neck is made from Mahogany wood. There is nothing wrong with this guitar at all except that it's a bit expensive. But it's totally worth it! // 9

Sound: This guitar is suitable for ALL styles of music. Metal, rock, blues, jazz....you name it, it can play it! This guitar sounds great with Marshall JCM 800's and 2000's. Also fantastic with the Mesa Boogie Dual or Triple Rectifier. With these amps and an 808 Tube Screamer, you can have an endless supply of tone and sounds. // 10

Action, Fit & Finish: The action on this guitar is AMAZING! It plays like butter. Very fast and very slick with every move over the frets. The pickups are flawless. I've always been a huge fan of EMG Pickups. There is virtually nothing negative you can say about this guitar. I know I can't. // 9

Reliability & Durability: The guitar is like a tank. It can take a HUGE beating and work like new. It is very dependable and the hardware is very reliable along with the strap buttons. A backup is not needed with this guitar unless you break strings every other song and don't feel like putting a new on. But if you decided to change strings, the tuning keys are very reliable on keeping the new string in tune. // 8

Overall Impression: I personally love metal and hardcore. This guitar is perfect for my genre of music. If this guitar was stolen from me, I would cry all the same back to Guitar Center and buy a new one! I love everything about this guitar. The slick LP shape, thin neck, Floyd Rose and EMG pickups make this guitar unbeatable. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 10
Eclipse-II Reviewed by: unregistered, on november 15, 2012
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Features: I got this guitar in 2008. I'm not sure when it was made. I know it was crafted by some super genius in Japan. 22 frets. The neck took some getting used to. I got the SW color eclipse, and the back of the neck is painted. Which is my one and only gripe with this awesome guitar. Neck is thin and has a great feel to it (other than said paint). It is a neck thru.. very nice! Solid and holds sustain like no other. All the other specs are the same as mentioned above; EMG pickups, gotoh locking tuners (imo, all guitars should have!) Which are friggin' awesome. My ESP never goes out of tune. I jam hard for a few hours and this baby stays in tune like nothing ever happened. // 10

Sound: This guitar definately suits my style. Heavy metal, blues, classical, satriani-ish type..stuff. I own a serious turd of an amp (not even worth mentioning) but I only use the head as a power source anyway. I have a halfstack, lets just leave it at that.lol. I use a Boss GT-10 multi effects/amp simulator pedal. That thing is epic! Just amazing, btw. The ESP with my gt-10 is just the most beautiful thing that has ever happened aside from franks red hot sauce on pizza rolls..uhm..yeah. Anyhow, this guitar w/the gt-10 can sound like anything. In a most excellent way. I did play it through the turd amp dry, and it still sounded amazing. Heavy, tight lows. Crisp (non distorted), bright highs on the clean channel. // 10

Action, Fit & Finish: I got my ESP straight from AMS. I will NEVER buy a guitar from a music store again. My ESP got here in absolutely perfect condition! It was like some ancient master from the mountain tops of Japan sent it directly to me as soon as he and his magic dragons crafted the guitar. Not aaaanything was awry. Perfect setup, (somehow) in perfect tune, no scratches... It was very well wrapped and protected. All I can say is Flawless. You can truly tell the amount of pride and hard work goes into making these. // 10

Reliability & Durability: I use this guitar for recording in the studio, but I think I'm going to use it live. Heck, if anything I might buy another one. One for the studio and one for the gigs. Now, here's where my experience may differ. As far as the strap buttons go.. I ALWAYS use DiMarzio strap locks on all my guitars. I never want to test my luck with expensive guitars and the mysteries of uncle gravity. I suggest them..highly. Time will tell with everything else, but 2 years have passed and it still rules! I do baby this thing. I clean it properly and give it the love + maintenence it deserves. // 10

Overall Impression: Like I said, I play a lot of different stuff and have different guitars for each mood..but! I use my Eclipse II more than anything. Perfect for metal! Just sayin. I would cry my eyes out and possibly sacrifice local cats to the almighty Athiesto if anything ever happened to my esp. I would definately buy another! Can't live without it. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 10
Eclipse-II Reviewed by: unregistered, on november 15, 2012
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Price paid: $ 1400

Purchased from: digotalplayroom.com

Features: My ESP Eclipse-II was made in Japan in 2007. It has 22XJ (Not quite as jumbo as other guitars but a good size) frets and a 24.75" scale set-neck construction with a thin-U neck and 3-pc. mahogany/ebony frets. The neck on this beast is absolutely amazing. Even my guitar teacher was amazed and he knows guitars. It's a Mahogany w/ maple top body and I have my finish in the stuning Vintage Black (VTB). Now the picture just doesn't do justice. The gold binding with black body is amazing and the black finish on the neck is a dream to brush your hands over. It is a Les Paul Takeoff but the ESP just has more edge and flair than a Les Paul. Mostly part to the cut-away with a horn tip. It has a 2 piece Gotoh Tune-O-Matic & Tail and has Gotoh locking tuners that lock automatically and lock down, awesome for drop tunings (such as Arch Enemy or Children Of Bodom). The electronics are Active EMG's with an 81 in bridge and a 60 in neck. Man those pickups roar with everything metal and death metal! It has vol. vol. tone pots wich may be dissapointing to some but not to me. I hardly ever use the tone pot so I don't care. I did get a free ESP case (square case) and tuner Tool, tuner intructions, fret board plastic gaurd, user manuals and about 20 picks. Very good deal for 1400 US. Case is upto everything, I bought this in the US and got it Shipped all the way to New Zealand so the case is very good. // 10

Sound: This guitar suits my music style ibn every possible way. I'm into death metal and black metal and all I can say about this guitar is wow! I play it through a Randall RG75G3 (not the effects one) and man this guitar cleans up! Haven't had a chance to play it live but practicing with my band it just goes over everything. It suits more of a rhythm player but you can do shredding and sweeping on it after you get used to it. I had moved from a Strat style to this and it took a couple of days to adjust (albiet I played it constantly) but this just takes and takes everything. The pickups battery lasts about 2000 hours if you spend the money on the battery. I haven't tried it with my Zoom pedal yet because it sounds soooo good already just with my Randalls distortion. It is a bit noisy on full Gain and level but that's easly adjustid with the level. Very good for pinch Harm. wich I use a lot of in my band. // 10

Action, Fit & Finish: My guitar came from the factory ready for everything! The action is unbelievable and low and fast and everything! The pickups where adjustic perfectly so that they where the same volume on either pickup and the guitar had no flaws in paint work or parts. The bridge was perfect neck was exelently straight everything was ready for drop tunings and everything. This thing doesn't go outa tune! It's amazing! And the black on gold was amazing! looked better in real life than the crappy picture on ESP. Man this guitar is stunning! // 10

Reliability & Durability: This guitar is a rock! I would happaly gig with it with no backup and the hardware is solid and won't loose the gold finish after lots of rubbing. The paint is on there well. Neck hasn't had any rubbed paint etc ever after lots ans lots on playing! Still on first battery from the factory for the EMG's and they still sound great! // 10

Overall Impression: This guitar is magic! If it was stolen I would go hunting for the guy that stole it and I would buy it again and again. Would have been nice if it had one of Alexi Laihos boosters in it. I love the whole guitar over and over. I take it everywhere! Don't let it outa my sight! I was thinking of getting this guitar or a 8000 dollar PRS. But I got this because I think it's very close to the PRS at less cost. And because I would have to save up for longer. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 8.8
Eclipse-II Reviewed by: RiseTheFallen, on november 15, 2012
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Price paid: $ 1000

Purchased from: Used

Features: This is an ESP Eclipse II handmade in 2008, Japan. It has a thin mahogany neck with 22 frets on a rosewood fretboard and the body is made of mahogany with a maple top. It almost looks like an Vintage Les Paul due to the professional distressed honeyburst finish, but the Eclipse has much more of a thinner body which makes it very well balanced. It comes with Seymour Duncan JB/59 pickups, which are very versatile and makes it great for almost all genres. It also has Gotoh locking tuners which will keep this guitar in tune at all times. Comes with a ESP hardcase. // 8

Sound: This guitar really screams when you put the distortion on, the sustain is unbelievable, its almost like that scene from "This Is Spinal Tap" where you can hear the sustain without playing! I play alot of different genres, Blues, Metal, Jazz, Funk, Post-Rock, Indie, and I have never had a problem with getting a sweet tone that suits the style. You can go from a really nice warm jazzy sound to a bright and clear sound without problem. I'm using it through a Marshall 8100 Valvestate. // 9

Action, Fit & Finish: As I bought it used, it was ready to play when I picked it up! I have had this guitar since July now and I haven't been bothered with anything on it yet, except one thing! The edges on the body are really sharp! It can really be annoying when playing a gig. Otherwise great it's great. // 7

Reliability & Durability: I'm a music student so I play live pretty often, it feels really good that you can trust that the guitar will stay in tune, cause it really does! I got mine with straplocks, which is a relief that I don't have to worry about the risks of the strap falling of and just focus on the gig! I don't need a backup guitar this will last forever. // 10

Overall Impression: I've been playing for 7 years now and I've owned several guitars before, but it isn't till now that I know what a great guitar is like! Really love this guitar, my favourite feature would be the pickups, Seymour Duncans really are quality products. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
More ESP reviews rating category latest review
+ LTD GUS-600EC Gus G 9.1 Electric Guitars 10/06/2014
+ LTD GUS-600 FR Gus G Signature 7 Electric Guitars 09/11/2014
+ LTD MH-103QM 8 Electric Guitars 08/07/2014
+ LTD KH-2 9.3 Electric Guitars 06/23/2014
+ LTD AW-7 7.8 Electric Guitars 06/09/2014
+ view all
Comments
Your captcha is incorrect