LTD MH-1000 Deluxe Review

manufacturer: ESP date: 11/15/2012 category: Electric Guitars
ESP: LTD MH-1000 Deluxe
The MH-1000 has a beautiful long scale design for the best of us rhythm/lead players, not to mention for the rest of us aspiring players. This one sports the sharp "Dinky Headstock."
 Sound: 9.8
 Overall Impression: 10
 Reliability & Durability: 10
 Action, Fit & Finish: 9.3
 Features: 10
 Overall rating:
 9.6 
 Reviewer rating:
 9.8 
 Users rating:
 9.3 
 Votes:
 115 
reviews (4) 49 comments vote for this gear:
overall: 10
LTD MH-1000 Deluxe Reviewed by: ohmerrymayhem, on november 15, 2012
2 of 4 people found this review helpful

Price paid: $ 750

Purchased from: American Music

Features: It's a quilted cherry red finish, which is gorgeous, bound body/neck/headstock with mother of pearl. Mahogany body, 3 piece maple neck, 24 extra jumbo frets. It's got Seymour Duncan pickups, a JB/59 set, that rip. It's got a string through bridge with a Tone Pros Locking Saddle piece. It has Sperzel locking tuners and an Earvana compensated nut. // 10

Sound: I play an array of music, anything from Metal to rock to alternative and ambient. Really, the only things I won't touch are country, pop, punk, and techno. I run it through a Peavey XXX 212 combo, using a DigiTech GNX3 through the FX loop. The pickups are phenomenal. The JB provides lush, full clean tones, and pulls a searing and brutal pummeling from an overdriven tone. All in the same, you can roll back the gain and have a readily warm bluesy tone. The neck pickup is warm and responsive, offsetting the JB's snap with a slightly darker, more rounded sound. This is true for both clean and distorted tone. The JB puts out a bit of hum, but it's nothin gthat can't be cancelled by slightly rolling back the volume. I can go from thrash to blues to fusion with this guitar wihtout being concerned with it's capacity to handle any of the styles I might want to do. // 10

Action, Fit & Finish: I bought it from a shop, so it was not a factory set up. Set up to it's optimum, it's an amazing instrument. The body is light and resonant, the string through bridge helps with this. The pickups were adjusted properly to begin with, but I lowered the bridge for personal preference. The action, I'm somewhat undecided on. For the first three (upper) strings, it's seemless. The action can lower almost all the way with minimal buzz, but offers some buzz to let the user know when the action is excessively low. The same could be said for the lower three (strings 4 through 6 respectively), but it's slightly higher than I've played on some other guitars. This, however, is an advantage. It trains the less esperienced player to play on slightly higher action (which, believe me, doesn't slow you down. The guitar was built masterfully) and this improves technique. There were no flaws, everything was fit and trim. The only gripe I have so far with this guitar is the Sperzel Locking tuners. They're rigid, and you have to pry on them to loosen the stoppers when changing strings. this, however, can be easily remedied. // 10

Reliability & Durability: This guitar takes a bashing and keeps going. It can riff with the best of them and jam with the rest. Everything about it is solid from the beginning, nothing seems or feels cheap of flimsy. The workmanship is top notch. I could take this gigging easily with no backup, save for my unhealthy paranoia of breaking strings. It's a lightweight tank. You don't need to worry about damaging it. // 10

Overall Impression: My overall impression is that I couldn't ask for a better fixed bridge guitar. While I prefer tremolos, this guitar is a screamer for anyone who wants a fixed bridge axe. I've been playing for upwards of six years, and own 11 guitars. The guitar is no nonsense, straight ahead, and easy to get to know. If it were stolen, after I tracked down the theif, I'd definately replace it, maybe this time with a trem. It's a beast. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9.8
LTD MH-1000 Deluxe Reviewed by: barcelona_rov, on november 15, 2012
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Price paid: $ 950

Purchased from: SamAsh

Features: This guitar I bought in transparent blue with the ESP hardcase. It was made in Korea in 2008, It has 24 XJ frets, 25.5" scale, with a rosewood fingerboard and has a quilted maple top. it is set-through joint with a magohany body and a maple neck, comes with grover tuners which are pretty good quality, and a Floyd Rose 1000 which is the same as an OFR just that not german, its made in Korea I believe, EMG 81/85 pickup ocmbination and a 3-way selector, one volume and one tone knob. // 10

Sound: I normally play thrash/metal kind off music (Metallica, Avenged Sevenfold, Megadeth, BFMV, Trivium, etc...) I use it with my Peavey Valveking 112 and this guitar fits prefectly, the cleans leave some desire but they are not the worst, the guitar come shielded very good, it has no noise or anything like it. // 9

Action, Fit & Finish: The guitar came with SIT 9s gauge strings, which are vero good but I changed them to Ernie Ball skinny top heavy bottom pack, the action was low and without fret buzz, soo it was great, the trem came set up preperly, it was parallel to the body and stayed in tune perfectly. Best guitar I've ever bought. // 10

Reliability & Durability: In the reliability department I can't tell you a lot as I've only been with this guitar for 2 months, but certainly feels like it is pretty solid and it could easily withstand a Live show and I believe I can depend on it and use it in a gig wothout a backup, but just for security I change the strap buttons for some Ernie Ball straplocks, but probably change them and buy the schaller buttons. // 10

Overall Impression: I've been playing for 2 1/2 years and play lots of fast stuff with lots of palmutes, this guitar handles all that and more, this guitar is just my dream guitar, has pretty much everything I wanted, and OFR, EMGs... There is nothing to hate in it, if it were stolen I would buy another one just like it without doubt. When I when to buy this guitar I also tried the Schecter hellraiser FR, both of them are with basically the same specification, but the LTD MH-1000 just felt better you know. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9.8
LTD MH-1000 Deluxe Reviewed by: terrenandmokona, on november 15, 2012
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Features: This guitar was produced in Korea 2008. This guitar features a set-thru neck, mahogany body, quilted maple top, maple neck, rosewood fingerboard, thin U neck contour, 24 XJ frets, black nickel hardware, ESP locking tuners, a locking TOM, two Seymour Duncans: JB (B) & 58 (N). // 10

Sound: I usually play something alt/rock, funk, jazz, punk, blues, metal. I favour RHCP songs the most! : D The shape of the guitar makes it look like it's suited for metal but it rocks on clean! : D I have a Peavey Vypyr and Rage with a ME-20. The sound is quite rich on clean compared to distortion. In the end, this guitar is pretty much versatile. // 10

Action, Fit & Finish: The action on this guitar is set to be low. When I got this guitar there was no fret buzz so I guess I was lucky. :P The pickups were fine too. The only flaws I found when recieving this guitar was that one fret was not filed properly and that there were minor finish flaws. // 9

Reliability & Durability: This guitar has been through hell with me and still is in tact. I dropped it a couple of times before, knocked it against wood and still it suprises me. :) I have also had it for about almost a year and the hardware is still good. The finish doesn't seem to wear off too. // 10

Overall Impression: I love this guitar. I think god made this for me. :) I have many other guitars but this guitar stands out from my guitar family. Jesus must be jealous. If I lost this guitar, I would end my life with a butter knife. This guitar is worth more than my dog. I love how this guitar is as light as a pillow. I don't hate this guitar as much as I hate my mother. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9.6
LTD MH-1000 Deluxe Reviewed by: unregistered, on november 15, 2012
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Features: Ok I'm not going to go over every detail of this guitar. I'll tell you what I feel you should know. Anyway, I have the blue quilted Floyd Rose Dual Locking Tremelo model. The guitar never goes out of tune! I was in the habit of every time I pick up a guitar I tune it, and every time I pick this one up I forget I don't need to tune it. Contrary to popular belief, it isn't that bad changing tunings. It takes me about 5 minutes. I Switch tunings from Drop D, D Standard, Drop C, C Standard, Drop B (Which I use heavier strings for and don't do that often) The Active EMG 81/85 Pickups are incredible. Along with SD Screamin Demons they are the best I've ever played/heard. The shielding on the pickups is great, I don't get any buzzing/feedback. // 10

Sound: I play mainly metalcore/post-hardcore/thrash/rock and it feels like it's basically built for the music I play. You can also get some nice cleans out of it too if you play blues/jazz/etc. // 10

Action, Fit & Finish: The finish is great. The neck is literally PERFECT for me. I've never picked up a guitar that felt better. It almost feels like I got it Custom made. The only problem is it isn't extremely fast. The finish seems to slow me down, especially when I've been playing a while and my hands start to sweat a little and stick. // 8

Reliability & Durability: I throw down when I'm playing. If you've ever seen a live metalcore/post-hardcore concert- that's what I do when I'm just playing for fun. I do spins, all kinds of crazy shit and haven't had a problem. Just use Strap-Loks. Would I gig without a backup, hell no. I don't care how perfect a guitar is... Always bring a backup. // 10

Overall Impression: I've been playing a little over 3 years now and I love the guitar. It's the best I've ever played. I've picked up Fenders, Gibsons, Ibanez Prestige's, Deans, Jacksons, you name it... Nothing comes close to this. That's my opinion. Some may disagree, but for me, this is THE guitar. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
More ESP reviews rating category latest review
+ LTD MH-103QM 8 Electric Guitars 08/07/2014
+ LTD KH-2 9.3 Electric Guitars 06/23/2014
+ LTD AW-7 7.8 Electric Guitars 06/09/2014
+ LTD F-250 8.7 Electric Guitars 05/05/2014
+ LTD EX-50 7.9 Electric Guitars 04/18/2014
+ view all
Comments
Your captcha is incorrect