LTD MH-400 Review

manufacturer: ESP date: 11/15/2012 category: Electric Guitars
ESP: LTD MH-400
The upscale MH-400 is absolutely packed with features. For starters, this is a set neck instrument with a quilted maple top and EMG humbuckers.
 Sound: 9.3
 Overall Impression: 9
 Reliability & Durability: 9.1
 Action, Fit & Finish: 8.4
 Features: 9.4
 Overall rating:
 9 
 Reviewer rating:
 9 
 Users rating:
 8.9 
 Votes:
 131 
reviews (10) pictures (2) 93 comments vote for this gear:
overall: 10
LTD MH-400 Reviewed by: SGStrummer61, on november 15, 2012
7 of 10 people found this review helpful

Features: 2006 version, made in Korea. - Set-thru neck construction - See-through-blue finish w/quilted maple top - Mahogany body - 3-piece maple neck - Rosewood fingerboard - 24 extra jumbo frets - Licensed floyd rose bridge - Locking nut - 25.5" neck length - Natural (wood) binding on body & white binding on the neck & headstock - Offset block inlays w/MH-400 at the 12th fret - EMG 81 in the bridge and EMG 85 in the neck - Black hardware - Grover tuners. // 10

Sound: Unfortunetaly, I use a Spider II, which has a pretty digital sound, but the EMGs make the distortion better, the 85 makes it pretty smooth, and the cleans are fantastic. Unplugged, this guitar actually has some natural reverb because if you put your ear near the neck joint as you are playing, you can hear the notes ringing. For this guitar can also get a pretty good bluesy tone by sliding back on the tone knob and having a little bit of overdrive on. // 10

Action, Fit & Finish: This guitar does look phenomonal, with its stained blue quilted maple top, the binding, and the inlays are all perfectly done and not a single blemish or flaw. The guitar also feels nice when sitting down or standing up because of the mahogany body. The guitar is lightweight and the neck isn't all too heavy considering its a maple neck. This thing truely plays beautiful. The action is as low as it can go without buzzing, and all frets are accessible thanks to the set-thru neck construction, which actually gets rid of a lot of the heel. The tremelo on this guitar is another high point. I can do dive bombs, harmonic drops, and Jack Owens all day and not go out of tune. Even though the bridge is recessed, it isn't by very much, but it still can go a good bit, more than 2 frets of a bend or 3. // 10

Reliability & Durability: This guitar is solid, from the construction of the entire thing, to the stabiliy of its parts, it isn't very fragile and can take a beating. I would still use a backup just because it uses a Floyd Rose and a string break can totally mess up the night, but a backup guitar is all you need. Other than that, this thing can go on for ever. // 10

Overall Impression: By and by, this guitar is amazing, especially since I paid $660 for this thing, it's a steal. I've played Gibsons and Ibanezes that play this good and sound this good. If this guitar got stolen, I would hunt down the person Who stole it and kick their ass. Or just buy a new one. This guitar is highly recommended for any level of expertise of guitar players. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 8.8
LTD MH-400 Reviewed by: eastern_riffs, on november 15, 2012
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Price paid: C$ 900

Purchased from: Long & McQuade

Features: This is a Made in Korea ESP LTD, see through blue color, Mahogany body, quilted maple top, maple-set neck. I believe this is a 2007 model- 24 extra Jumbo frets with a blazing fast neck! This neck is definitely the best neck I've played on- compared to the Jackson DKMG, Dean Razorback 255, Ibanez RGs (with the Wizard II necks), the MH-400 is definitely the best. The neck fit's right into my hands and lets me run it like Paul Gilbert on crack (OK, I don't know how that's possible really). And this guitar isn't just a one trick pony; comes with EMG 81-85, and surprisingly has an excellent natural sustain. It's great for high gain metal, but it's just as good for clean playing and blues. Comes with a Floyd Rose tremolo. There's two knobs, one for volume and the other for tone, and there's a 3-Way selector. The tone knob actually works, unlike a lot of guitars, and so does the volume. Good construction and design. // 9

Sound: I play in a metal band and this guitar is perfect for it. It's great with any amount of distortion. I run it through a H&K Switchblade and it sounds like a dream. The tone cuts through perfectly, and it doesn't sound muffled or muddy at all. I also play a lot of shred-ish stuff, like Paul Gilbert, and this guitar is awesome for it. It's clean, yet aggressive, and takes on any amount of distortion you want. However, one surprise this guitar has is that no matter how the MH series is marketed and targeted, this guitar is just amazing when playing some clean stuff. It's natural sustain, resonance and reverb are just astonishing. I haven't heard any guitar below a $1000 have these features, and I haven't seen a lot of high end ones have them either. Great surprise. The EMGs are very quiet pickups anyways and don't hum or produce any noise, and the 81-85 is definitely a great combo on this guitar. However, I put dual 85s in the guitar and modded it to 18V as I prefer it like that. But don't get me wrong, on it's own this guitar is a masterful work of ART. // 9

Action, Fit & Finish: The guitar was definitely well constructed and built to good specifications. Having said that, I notice flaws in all guitar constructions and this one was no different. These are minor flaws that don't actually need 'fixing', but it's not a bad idea to do so, especially if you're recording some songs at the studio and such. Firstly, the string guide had a wrongly screwed nut (it should've gone in 90 degrees flat, but it was screwed in at about 85 I'd say). This was causing my Lower A string to buzz a TINY amount on the first fret. I fixed that, took about 3 hours to do. Apart from this little thing, there wasn't anything else that needed to be fixed, and there definitely wasn't any rust or loose tuning peg or anything. Everything else was perfect, in I haven't had any problems with the guitar ever since. // 8

Reliability & Durability: I've played multiple gigs with this guitar, and literally, have never had any problems. The strap hasn't come off in all the 7 months I've had the guitar, and neither has any of the tuning changed when playing Live. In fact, the tuning stays perfect for 8-10 days on a stretch. I Switch between this guitar and my Schecter C7 Hellraiser in between gigs, and truly, I haven't encountered any problems at all. I don't take a backup to my gigs because I'm pretty sure this guitar isn't going to mess up on stage. It's a solid build, doesn't seem frail or anything. // 9

Overall Impression: Great guitar. For the price, it's majestic. I believe when it first came out it was about $1200, but it's slightly cheaper now; I paid CAD 900 for it. It really seems like a $1500 guitar. I've been playing for about 11 years now, and I own a Schecter C7 Hellraiser which is another great guitar, but not a right comparison to the MH, as it's a 7 string. I also own a custom shop guitar called a Scyther, made by a local group of luthiers. The Scyther is a wonderful guitar, it's built to my exact specs, and while it costs twice as much as the MH-400, the feel of them both is pretty similar. I play all my guitars through a H&K Switchblade, which is another good amp I feel, and the MH-400 certainly brings out the best in it. I really like the MH, it's a great guitar. I compared it to the Jackson DKMG, Dean Razorback 255 and Jackson RR5. I chose the MH because it's certainly a better play than the DKMG and Razorback, and while the RR5 feels just as good as the MH, it's got passive Seymour Duncans, and passives aren't something I'm looking to get into now, ever since I started playing actives. All in all, the MH-400 is one great guitar! // 9

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 8.3
LTD MH-400 Reviewed by: ShredIsNotDead., on november 15, 2012
1 of 4 people found this review helpful

Sound: This guitar sounds good for most music styles. I mostly play metal and shred, and it's excellent for those, but I've tried playing jazz and blues on it, and it still gives a great result. I use a Line 6 Spider II amp, and if you put the amp model on "insane", and crank the Drive right up, then select the bridge pickup on the guitar, with the volume and tone fully open, then you have a really great metal/metalcore tone. I could play Children Of Bodom riffs for hours on end using these settings. I'm sure this sound is possible to achieve on most modern amps, but I have yet to try it on a Marshall (I'm sure it would sound just as good, if not better). If you add a bit of reverb to the same sound, then select the neck or middle pickup, then you have an insane shred tone. I like to play a lot of neo-classical stuff, like Yngwie Malmsteen, and this guitar sounds almost as good as an old '70s Strat (like Yngwie's) so it's great for that too. As I said, I've tried playing jazz and blues, and for those, it delivers a really bright, clear tone, which I love. It's impossible to find a tone which sounds bad with this guitar. You just can't lose. It's pretty much noiseless as well (unless you're playing next to a computer). // 10

Action, Fit & Finish: The guitar was set up reasonably well, I think. I made some adjustments, though. I lowered the action a bit, adjusted the pickup height, and the intonation was a bit dodgy, so I reset that. Although these things should have been done at the factory/shop, I think it should be expected to have to set up your guitar, when buying online. I didn't have any problem making these adjusments (the intonation was a bugger, though). // 6

Reliability & Durability: I haven't used this guitar live, yet, but I look forward to doing so. I would use it without a backup, as I don't have a choice. I'm not planning on using a second-hand Squier Strat Live, although my home-made Les-Paul style guitar is pretty safe. Anyway, this guitar stays in tune very well, thanks to the thru-neck construction and the locking nut. The only problem I have with tuning, is that I Switch between Drop-D tuning and Standard tuning alot, and I have to get the alan keys out for that, as you have to retune all the strings, because of the unbalance that retuning the bottom sting by a whole tone causes. This is all down to the Floyd Rose tremolo system. If you want to retune alot, then I recommend getting the Non-Trem version of this guitar (the LTD MH-400NT), which is exactly the same, apart from there is no tremolo system or locking nut. The stings drop off the back of the bridge, through the body, and this makes the tuning just as stable. The finish is very glossy, and seems reasonably durable. I can't see it wearing off anytime soon. The hardware attracts condensation, but hasn't rusted on me, and looks great. The strap buttons are just as solid as the neck joint, which is saying something, as it is a thru-neck instrument. // 8

Overall Impression: This is a great guitar for playing metal, and shred. I've been playing since I was 9 (I'm now 14), and I've played lots of amazing guitars (electric and acoustic), I've made my own guitar, and I've played through lots of amps as well. Unfortunately for me, being 14, it takes me a long time to save up for new equipment, so my ESP is the only good guitar I own, as my self-built guitar isn't extremely playable, although it does sound good. I use a Line 6 Spider II amp, as I said earlier, and I don't use any effects pedals, as I don't need them (yet). If this guitar was stolen, I wouldn't replace it, as I can't afford to, but I would probably save for another couple of years, and then buy one again. I love this guitar mostly because it has helped my playing improve tonnes and it looks amazing. I just hate that little problem with the tuning. I will probably buy a Fender Classic series 70s Strat, once I have enough money, as it will be great for shredding, and then I can keep my ESP in drop-D tuning and use the Strat for playing shred. I get the feeling that most people won't take this review seriously, as I'm 14, but I have built a guitar from scratch (I even wound the pickups), I've worked out a Bach piece from piano music (I'm grade 5 on the piano), and I've taken advantage of pretty much every shop on Denmark Street (London), by playing as many guitars as I can get my hands on. I don't have guitar lessons either. So if the words "Why would I listen to the advice of a 14-year-old?" have come out of your mouth in the last minute or so, you can bloody well shove them back in there. // 9

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9.6
LTD MH-400 Reviewed by: Carrot, on november 15, 2012
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Price paid: £ 630

Purchased from: local music shop

Features: My guitar is a 2007 ESP LTD MH400NT (non trem). It's made in Korea. Specs: Set-Thru, 25.5 Scale, Mahogany Body, Quilted Maple Top, Maple Neck, Rosewood Fingerboard, 42mm Earvana Compensated Nut, Thin you Neck Contour, 24 XJ Frets, Black Nickel Hardware, Grover Tuners, TOM Bridge, EMG 81 (B) / 85 (N) Active p.u. , Finish: STBLK, controls are a master volume, master tone with a 3 way selector. This think looks amazing. // 9

Sound: I've got it tuned down to D Standard, but I do have it in drop C too. Probs guessed from the tunings that I play metal, metal or all kinds. I have other guitars too that I use for other tunings so I do play lots of other styles of music. I play this through a Line 6 Floor POD into a Hiwatt Maxwatt G40R but I've played it through many different things(Blackstar pedals and amps, valve kings) and it's just sounds amazing. I love the sound from the EMGs you can never go wrong with these pups in your guitar. Great for pitch harmonics too. // 10

Action, Fit & Finish: I can't really comment on much about the guitar from the factory setup because the shop I got it from did an amazing job setting it up for me, it's a dream to play every time I pick it up. Bridge was routed very well, bookmatched top was good( what ever that means)and the pickups are just perfect. No flaws in the guitar at all. // 10

Reliability & Durability: I've played this guitar a few times live, only did a few songs and we weren't allowed to proper rock out, but the guitar just wants you to keep playing it. The hardware is the best you can get so it's gonna last you a long time. I always change my strap buttons on all my guitar to locking straps. I just feel safer that way. You can always depend on this guitar no matter what you need it for, it will deliver the good and then some. It's built like a tank so it's gonna last a long time to come. unless it gets blown up or somethin silly. // 9

Overall Impression: As I said before I play mostly metal on this and it suits me just fine. can't get the right sound I want tho but that's due to Line 6 for the digital stuff they always use. I've been playing about 3 years now, most people think it's longer because how well I can play. My other gear consists of a Ibanez S7320 and a ESP LTD EC 401, but I'm getting an Orange amp and Blackstar effects soon so that will get me the sounds I'm looking for. If this was stolen I'd probably go for the 1000 NT just for the locking tuners and better build, but that's like 1000. I love everything bout this one, wouldn't change a think on it, now I have it the way I like my guitars. Before I was looking at the MH 250 NT but they were all out of stock so I had the better one instead, was a birthday present to myself. If you have looked at this guitar and thought it's for you then it probably is for you. Go and buy one, they are f--king amazing guitars. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9.8
LTD MH-400 Reviewed by: hessian101, on november 15, 2012
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

Features: The features of this guitar are many and high quality. The Schaller liscenced trem acts like an original floyd, The set thru construction allows easy access to all 24 of the highly polished frets, The active EMG 81/85, (not dual 81's as the website said) the high quality grover tuners. As for the woods used, The fact that the body is made of mahogany, but the top and neck are made of maple gives the guitar the bite that maple has and the depth of tone that mahogany has. The finish is just as good as the guitar itself. In your room, with the lights on, It looks a dark slightly greenish blue. In a bright naturally lit room, it looks pretty much like the photo on ESPguitars.com. Under direct sunlight, it looks bright electric blue. The quilt on mine was fantastic. The neck is somewhere between a Fender Strat and an Ibanez Wizard (perfect to me). // 10

Sound: This guitar suits metal perfectly. The EMG pickups scream. Right now, I have a Fender Frontman (soon to be either a Randall RG50TC or a Peavey XXX) But have played it on a Mesa combo, and it sounded sweet. It makes even the frontman sound good. The EMG's produce no noise, but when you pluck the string they jump to life. THe tone is well rounded. It is not completely limited to metal. The clean is not fantastic, but good. Blues is probobly its high point other than metal. // 10

Action, Fit & Finish: I don't know about the factory setup, as the guitar was set up by the guitar tech free at Drum City Guitarland. The pickups needed to be higher because they were EMG's, of course. The action was a bit high, but the action on this guitar can be adjusted so low that the strings are almost on the frets without buzzing. The top was well matched. Everything was fit very nicely, except for 1 thing. The nut was attached under a millemeter off center, but this is hardly noticeable (unnoticeable when you are playing). Also, there was some white-dusty stuff on the top 10 frets, but it just wiped off. // 9

Reliability & Durability: This guitar feels very solid, almost like it was made of a single piece of wood. The stock strap buttons are good enough for me, as I dont do any weird 'swing around the neck' tricks with it. I would never gig without a backup, regardless of what guitar it was. The finish is thick and beautiful. // 10

Overall Impression: I am simply in love with this guitar. It matches my style (METAL) perfectly. This guitar is better than I could have ever imagined. If This guitar was stolen, I would kill the one Who took it, and buy another. I compared it to an Ibanez RG1570, a Jackson Dinky, a Schecter Hellraiser, etc. None of them came close to the features you get for the price on this one. I hated the boring looks and neck of the RG (too small), I hated the body wood and neck joint of the Jackson, and the Hellraiser looked too flashy and costed more, probobly because of the original floyd bridge (which is no better than my Schaller liscenced one). // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 10
LTD MH-400 Reviewed by: Nycto, on november 15, 2012
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

Features: This guitar is absolutely legendary. This one was made in Korea, but I really don't think that matters as long as the product provides what it promises. It's a 24 jumbo fret guitar which, combined with the maple/rosewood neck and fretboard, makes playing very smooth and fast. The body is made of mahogany with a quilted maple top that looks and feels wonderful. The Floyd Rose on this guitar is absolutely perfect. I can whammy the crap out of the guitar and this thing stays in tune great. It has an active EMG 81 bridge pickup and an active EMG 85 neck pickup that both provide an excellent tone. There is one volume control and one tone control, but not much variety using the tone control. // 10

Sound: This is the perfect guitar for my music style, which is mostly metal. I occasionally play some classic rock, and it handles this beautiful as well. Even melancholy chords on a clean setting sound beautiful and haunting. I play this guitar through a cheap Peavey Rage 158 Transtube series that I hope to upgrade to a Line 6 Spider III soon. On any setting I play I get virtually no noise. The neck pickup adds the perfect amount of bass to every clean setting, but can sometimes sound a bit more noisy than wanted on distortion. // 10

Action, Fit & Finish: I got this guitar from a friend Who had already had the controls adjusted perfectly. // 10

Reliability & Durability: This guitar is a beast when it comes to durability. The strap buttons are larger and shaped a little different to make sure the strap doesn't come off, provided you aren't flailing around too much. Even if you dropped it, it probably wouldn't damage a thing. This is a good, solid guitar and is in near perfect condition even after being two years old. I'd use it on a gig without a backup. // 10

Overall Impression: I've been playing guitar for two years now, and this guitar beats any guitar I've ever laid hands on except for an expensive Gibson SG my friend owns. This guitar was half the price as his but sounds almost exactly the same. Wonderful guitar for the price. My favorite feature would have to be the Floyd Rose and locking system; other people have complained about theirs, but for me this thing is godly. There really is nothing I don't like about this guitar. If it was lost or stolen I'd buy another one as soon as I had the money. I had the opportunity to play this before I purchased it, and I suggest everybody do that whenever they make a purchase. Even if you hadn't played it, in this case you'd still have been impressed. For my playing style, (stuff like In Flames, Dragonforce, Opeth, Dream Theater, and Soundgarden) it is absolutely perfect. Grab a Boss distortion pedal and you'll experience angelic tunes from the gods, and pop killer squealies. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9.8
LTD MH-400 Reviewed by: unregistered, on november 15, 2012
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Price paid: $ 350

Purchased from: A Friend/Band Member

Features: My geet is a 2008 ESP/LTD MH-400.- Set-thru neck construction - See-through-blue finish with quilted maple top - Mahogany body - 3-piece maple neck - Rosewood fingerboard - 24 extra jumbo frets - Licensed Floyd Rose bridge - Locking nut - 25.5" neck length - Natural (wood) binding on body & white binding on the neck & headstock - Offset block inlays w/MH-400 at the 12th fret - EMG 81 in the Bridge and EMG 85 in the neck - Black and Chrome Hardware - Grover tuners. (Copied the tech specs from a previous review because they are the same) My favorite "off the bat" feature of the guitar is that it has white colored trim around the body that goes all the way up to the neck. All of the other MH-400's I've had the pleasure of playing have this disgusting brown color instead of white outlining the body and neck. // 10

Sound: I only one 3 guitars, and still being a new player, all I have to go off of and compare it to is my other electric guitar (third one is Taylor acoustic). My other guitar is an Ibanez RG 420, also with a licensed tremolo system. Honestly I can't get enough of how my guitar sounds. I play it through a Peavey Vyper 75 Watt Modeling Amp and the sound possibilities are endless. I spend hours experimenting with the different parameters of the amps and stompboxes, but the soul comes from the guitar. I love shredding, death metal, doom/grind, whatever. But the resonance and natural reverb is has when I play bluesy stuff, incredible. Sometimes it sounds so good I don't believe I'm actually playing what I'm playing. I know this is contrary to popular belief, but this guitar brings out the best in me, not me bringing it out of the guitar. Pickups are great, I can always find bring out whatever sound I can imagine with them, its squeals, hits beautiful harmonics, and shreds with the best. Only thing I love my Ibanez for, is that it doesn't need batteries for the damn pickups. That is the only thing that bothers me about this guitar. // 9

Action, Fit & Finish: I got my guitar from a friend who is also a serious member in a band called Fire in the Skies. It was setup perfectly when I got it so I've never had to take it in anywhere or adjust anything on it. I play with a really heavy set of strings, mismatched from two different sets because I'm picky, plus its dropped two steps to C Standard and its monstrous. I never even turn my amp past volume level 2 and I blow windows out of my house. The only real flaw I feel in the guitar is the tremolo system. It takes forever to reset the Bridge and tune the strings just right when you have a floyd, as fellows trem users know. But I wouldn't have it any other way because I love doing dive bombs, squeals, and other tricks with the floyd, and it never going out of tune. Absolutely perfect. // 10

Reliability & Durability: My ESP completely outshines my other guitars. It plays better, strings only break when I'm retuning and they need the change, plays awesome standing up or sitting down. I've had my strap on this guitar for about a year and it still feels as tight as the day I wrenched the sucker on. I would use a back up if I did play live, (which I don't because I'm not that good yet. :)), simply because of the fact that if a string ever did break, it'd screw up the tuning and be impossible to improvise or move the song to a different place on the neck to compensate for the lack of the string. I've only set this guitar up myself since I've gotten it, and it feels like it was made to last. The only reason I can see this guitar not lasting is by self error or dropping it, WHICH WILL NEVER HAPPEN. // 10

Overall Impression: I sleep with this guitar. Enough said. I can't get enough of it. Its takes a guitar like this to truly inspire the ambition to get good and devote your life to playing guitar. I wasn't into it much before with my Ibanez, but this guitar changed everything. I love that my guitar is also discontinued, has a way cooler paint job than other ones I've seen, because for some reason mine is unlike any other MH-400 I've played, and I love not having the poop colored rim around my guitar, like the other ones have. It honestly is pushing me more than I push myself to learn new styles or experiment with sound because of how well its set up. I haven't touched on this before, but the set neck construction, to die for my friends. Feeling as if its one solid piece of wood just makes it feel better than even the nicest PRS guitars I've played. I'd buy it again, ten thousand times over if I had to, and would mutilate someone if it were stolen/lost. Having played for only 3 years, I can already tell that I'll own this guitar for the rest of my life because I honestly haven't played a guitar that even comes close to it. And to hell with anyone who says Koreans can't make decent guitars. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 6.6
LTD MH-400 Reviewed by: unregistered, on november 15, 2012
0 of 2 people found this review helpful

Price paid: € 450

Purchased from: Private

Features: The neck is a 3-piece maple, made with set-thru method. It has rosewood fingerboard with pearloid arrowheads with model name at 12th fret. It's a 24 frets guitar. Body made in Alder, with a black lucid finish, and it's a Strat-shape. The tremolo system is a Floyd Rose Licensed. This guitar has an active electronics, with a couple of EMG81. It has 1 volume knob and 1 for the tone. The pickup Switch is a 3-way system. The tuners are Non-locking made by Grover. // 9

Sound: I play almost Old Thrash Metal (Metallica, Anthrax, Slayer, Sodom etc etc etc...) Heavy Metal and Blues too (But I don't use this guitar for some reasons). My amp is a Carlsbro GLX85, and I don't use any pedal (except the Death Metalfrom Digitech, but it's too noisy). This guitar sound pretty well. The distortions are really powerfull and defined. I can't say the same thing for the clean sound: In my opinion, the EMG81 are not good for the clean sound, they're too dirty. Maybe an EMG85 o EMG60A in the Neck can fix this problem. Overall, this is a good guitar for Hard Rock and all Metal stuff. All depends from your gear and settings. // 8

Action, Fit & Finish: Let's about the defects of this guitar. Let's begin from the action. The first time I picked up the guitar, the action was HORRIBLE. It was too high, and playing was impossibile. The problem was from the bridge. Fortunately, I fixed this too. Pickups: Another bad note for this guitar The EMG81 at the neck was too low, and there was too much differences between this pickup and the EMG81 at the bridge. But overall, the output was very low. I fixed this problem too. Other bad note: The tremolo system. This "Floyd Rose" was too hard too use. So I opened the cover in the back and I found a very nice surprise: 4 SPRINGS! What the f--k?! So, I removed one. Now It's way better. But the biggest problem of this guitar, it the tuning. I've an Epiphone Les Paul Custom with the same tuners (Grover), and they're awesome: great tune stability! But in this guitar, the story isn't the same. The problem doesn't come from the tuners, but from the tremolo system. If you use it too much, it lost his tuning stability pretty fast. This is a serious problem, because you can't do anything. The only thing to do is trying to replace it with an original Floyd Rose. But, in my opinion, is a waste of money. Another problem is the neck: This isn't a Metal neck! If you buy this guitar, is because you want to play Metal stuff, and you need a thin neck for scroll fast on it. It's too fat, for me. For this reason, I bought an Ibanez RGR570IPT from 1998, with the Super Wizard neck and Lo-Pro Edge tremolo. 1000 times better than this guitar. Oh, the jack imput sometimes "scratch". The first time I thought was the fault of the cable, so I changed with a Fender cable. No way, the problem persists. // 4

Reliability & Durability: I didn't try this guitar live, yet. The hardware is mediocre, but the strap buttons are good. // 8

Overall Impression: It match my style of music for his sound, but the neck and the tremolo system really sucks. I'm thinking of replace it... I like the pickups for distortion, but I prefer ALWAYS passive pickups. I like the finish and the reverse headstock too. I hate the neck, it's too fat, the tremolo system and his tuning stability. The best feature of this guitar is the aesthetics: really aggressive look. Sorry LTD, but I'm replacing this with an Ibanez RGR570IPT made in Japan in 1998: Super Wizard neck (Best neck I've ever tried), Lo-Pro Edge (One of the best Licensed Floyd Rose ever made) and DiMarzio Super Distortion on the bridge. My personal advice: Don't buy this guitar, search some old Ibanez: WAY BETTER! // 4

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 8.8
LTD MH-400 Reviewed by: Gallardo147, on november 15, 2012
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Price paid: $ 335

Purchased from: eBay

Features: My guitar is the MH-400 no tremolo edition. This guitar, having the serial # (Korea:W080****), was made I believe in 2008 in Korea. - Has 24 XJ frets with a neck scale of 25.5" - Mahogany body and 3 piece maple neck, with a Set-Thru joint - It has a See-Through Black finish (looks purple or blueish depending on the light source) - Strat shape with arched top - Tonepro Tune-o-matic bridge - Earvana nut - Active pickups - 1 volume, 1 tone, 3-way pickup selector - It has an HH configuration with EMG 81(B) and 85(N) - Grover Rotomatic tuners (unsure if they are locking) - ESP hard case // 9

Sound: I must say that I am a metalhead, playing things from Metallica to Pantera, to Bullet For My Valentine, to BTBAM, etc. This guitar with the EMG 81 is a metal monster and is great, it can handle crazy sweeps. I was actually expecting a bad clean tone from what I've heard from EMGs but I was pleasantly surprised by the EMG 85, as I also love other genres such as Blues, Jazz, Hard rock, soft rock, and acoustic, which I believe that this guitar can handle. I am currently using the Peavey Vypyr 15 practice amplifier, which is a modeling amp and comes with many effects, which sound beautifully with this guitar. The active pickups greatly reduce noise. The sound I believe is great, however, I find that the sound is very colored at times, and can even be too warm but this can be fixed with the settings. With the EMG 81/85 combo, I believe that this guitar can suit almost any genre, and it definitely suits me. // 8

Action, Fit & Finish: As I received it 2nd hand, I am not sure how it came from the factory. But I received it with extremely high action as well as some .11 strings (Too thick for my taste). The pickups were adjusted properly and the Bridge was routed correctly. The finish is absolutely beautiful, with no imperfections, no scratches or anything of the sort. The action and string issues were fixed with no incovenience and now the guitar feels great. Also, the feel of the Set-Thru joint is great and very smooth, much better that the cheaper feeling of a Bolt-On (Although not all Bolt-Ons are cheap). // 9

Reliability & Durability: This guitar seems like it could definitely handle live playing, the Mahogany makes it feel like a tank! The hardware seems very durable as well. I think that the strap buttons would need to be replace with strap locks as I don't trust them very much. If I installed strap locks, I would definitely depend on it. But I would use a back-up because of the issue of broken strings, not the guitar itself. The finish also looks very thick, as its withstanded much of my pick scratches and hasn't even peeled off. // 9

Overall Impression: This guitar is obviously directed towards metal, but to me it seems that it can handle almost any style that I could think of playing. I've been playing for about 2 years and own a 2002 Anniversary Edition Squier Stratocaser, and a 1992 B.C. Rich Warlock, and can honestly say that the LTD MH-400NT blows both out of the water. I don't feel I need to know anything about this guitar that I didn't know before my purchase. If it were stolen, I don't think I would buy another one because I doubt that I would stumble upon another great deal like I got for this one. I love its fast neck, and gorgeous look, I hate the tuning peg arrangement (as it is too close to each other). My favorite featur would have to be the EMG 81/85 pickups. I actually compared it to the Schecter Damien 6, and Hellraiser Deluxe, and I like this one better because of the thinner neck and Set-Thru neck joint, as well as the look. I'm kind of partial on having gotten a guitar with a Floyd Rose but I think that maybe the Tune-O-Matic is easier to manage. // 9

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 8.6
LTD MH-400 Reviewed by: oneblackened, on november 15, 2012
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

Price paid: $ 455

Features: My particular MH-400 is a 2006 model, made in Korea. 24 Extra-Jumbo frets are in a rosewood fingerboard, glued to a 3 piece maple neck (in the ESP 'Thin U' shape, a lot like a slightly thicker and rounder Ibanez Wizard) set into a mahogany body with a carved top and a gorgeous quilt maple veneer stained a very nice aqua blue. The body has a 2 piece back, much to my surprise (my H-1007 has a 3 piece back and was considerably more expensive). It has a Floyd Rose bridge (I can't comment on the stock one, since mine didn't come with the stock one - the previous owner swapped the stock no-name Licensed Floyd Rose for a Gotoh Floyd Rose) recessed into the body to allow for both dives and raises. The tuners are Grovers, though I'm unsure of the model. They hold tuning fine, although they don't really have to with a Floyd Rose vibrato. The pickups are active EMGs, an 81 in the bridge position and an 85 in the neck (mine had the 85 replaced with an EMG 60), wired to a 3 way blade switch and master volume and tone controls. // 9

Sound: The sound of the guitar is mostly suited for metal players - it's bright, tight, and meaty sounding, with crisp response under high levels of distortion thanks to the EMGs. Provided the right amplification, however, it can be very versatile indeed. I'm mostly a metal player but I'm also into jazz fusion, which this guitar does well, to my surprise. The tone of the EMGs, while somewhat flat, is very versatile due to their wide and even frequency response. I still prefer a good set of passive pickups, but for me it's not entirely worth replacing the pickups. It's wired correctly, and there is little noise to speak of. // 9

Action, Fit & Finish: I can't comment on the factory setup, but the guy I bought it from did a very good job setting it up before he sent it to me - the action is very low, with 10-46 strings on it in standard tuning. The only flaws were caused by the previous owners of the guitar - minor finish damage, nothing that affects the tone or playability of the guitar. The top veneer is actually what appears to be a single piece vacuum pressed onto the carved top, which is odd - getting a large enough quantity of large veneers of figured maple for a large quantity of guitars is expensive, and isn't something you see on budget guitars too often - it's usually a cheaper "photo top". // 8

Reliability & Durability: The guitar is very solidly built, a testament to the craftsmanship of the factory workers in Korea where it was made. The remaining stock hardware is in very good condition, even though the guitar is 6 years old and has obviously seen some use. The strap buttons have been replaced with DiMarzio Clip Locks, which are so far holding solidly, and aren't coming loose in the holes they're screwed into. I'd never gig without a backup, because one can never know when a string will break. If I had no other choice, I would with this guitar, since it's very solidly built. The finish is hard polyurethane - it's very hard to wear down, so that's really not a concern. // 8

Overall Impression: This guitar is a good match for my styles of music - that is, metal and fusion, with a smattering of blues. My last 2 purchases have been LTDs - this and an H-1007 - and I've been converted fully to the ESP camp. If it were stolen, I'd probably break down and cry, since this particular guitar has been discontinued in favor of the MH-350NT and MH-350FR, which aren't nearly as nice, due to their place of manufacture not being up to the same standards as the Korean factories are. The only other guitar I compared it to was an LTD M-401, which was selling for a similar price. This one definitely had the edge up on looks - it's a very nice looking guitar. I wish it had a Tremol-No, but that's a simple install whenever I have the money to buy one. // 9

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
More ESP reviews rating category latest review
+ LTD EC-50 8.5 Electric Guitars 12/26/2014
+ LTD Vintage-214 9 Bass Guitars 12/24/2014
+ LTD JH-600 8.7 Electric Guitars 12/22/2014
+ LTD F-50 8.3 Electric Guitars 12/19/2014
+ LTD Xtone PC-2-12 9.3 Electric Guitars 11/12/2014
+ view all
Comments
Your captcha is incorrect