LTD Viper-1000 Deluxe Review

manufacturer: ESP date: 12/09/2013 category: Electric Guitars
ESP: LTD Viper-1000 Deluxe
The Viper-1000 features a set neck, mahogany body, 3-piece mahogany neck, a set of EMG-81 humbuckers, a TonePros locking bridge, and XJ frets, a flamed maple top, black hardware, full neck and headstock binding, and abalone flag inlays and model name at the 12th fret.
 Sound: 9.5
 Overall Impression: 9.8
 Reliability & Durability: 10
 Action, Fit & Finish: 9
 Features: 9.5
 Overall rating:
 9.7 
 Reviewer rating:
 9.6 
 Users rating:
 9.8 
 Votes:
 104 
reviews (4) pictures (4) 12 comments vote for this gear:
overall: 9.6
LTD Viper-1000 Deluxe Reviewed by: Negative-creep, on november 15, 2012
3 of 4 people found this review helpful

Price paid: $ 1165.5

Purchased from: American Guitar Store

Features: - Construction: set neck - Scale: 24.75 - Body: mahogany w/flamed maple top - Neck/fretboard: 3-pc. mahogany/rosewood - Inlays: abalone flags w/name at 12th fret - Pickups: EMG-81 active set - Electronics: volume, tone, 3-way toggle - Hardware: black + sperzel locking tuners + Earvana compensated nut - Bridge: TonePros locking w/stop tailpiece - Binding: white w/abalone (neck, headstock) - Frets: 24 XJ - Colors: STBLK, STBC. I think everthing is perfect on this guitar but the color is to dark. On the website of ESP it's a lot lighter. I have the STBC and it looks purple. // 10

Sound: Today I played on it with my band and I was amazed by the tone deliverd by the EMG-81 elements. We play metal in the style like Mastodon. And this just sounds perfectly. I play on a Line 6 Spider 100 Watt. The guitar also sound clean perfect, verry dark. For the solos I play it just sound perfect I play just normal solos not very fast. // 10

Action, Fit & Finish: I asked the shop to put on Dadario 010 strings and to set it up right. The action is perfect. The strings are verry close to the EMG's but they don't hit any frets so it's perfect it also stays well in tune. The finish of the neck is great the binding is perfect. Only the color of the body is not realy the color you see on the website is far more purple loking. // 8

Reliability & Durability: I haven't played this guitar live yet but I think I surtenly will. Because I think this guitar is verry good bild. I don't expect to get problems with this guitar it's a very solid guitar. // 10

Overall Impression: I think this is a excenlent metal guitar. Because of the EMG's. I don't think this guitar is for many styles of music. It's sound very dark and very brutal. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9.6
LTD Viper-1000 Deluxe Reviewed by: enswinchester, on november 15, 2012
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Price paid: C$ 442.75

Purchased from: Long & McQuade

Features: Set Mahogany Neck With Mahogany Body 24.75 Scale With 24 XJ Frets Ebony Finger Board Thin U Neck ESP Locking Tuners And a Tonepros locking TOM Bridge Equipped With Seymour Duncan Custom-5 (Neck) And Seymour Duncan 59 (Bridge) Has an Olympic White Finish // 10

Sound: The Seymour Duncan Custom-5/59, used on a Line 6, Spider IV 75, sound amazing and even that's an understatement. They have a simply beautiful clean and when pumped full of gain, sound heavy as anything, making it the perfect guitar for pretty much anything Metal. I'm not entirely sure how it would sound with anything since I play only metal but when chords are played, they ring out clearly and when trying to pull off an epic pinch harmonic, you'll pretty much make it scream. // 10

Action, Fit & Finish: I don't know how well it was factory set, because it was used in the store. When I got it home, I set it up myself and had no problems doing it. I found that in one of the horns of the Viper, a bit of a bubble in the finish which surprised me a little since the rest of it was finished pretty much perfectly. I don't much like the stock tuners either, but the fact that they lock tightly and haven't come lose on me yet makes the fact they're stock seem very small. The placement of the slector Switch is very awkward though when playing, as you have to move your hand a little further than you should to Switch your pickups. // 8

Reliability & Durability: I played with this guitar live yesterday and I was so impressed with the guitar, I used it without having a backup at hand. It sounded great on stage and not once did my strap come lose at all. I would use again without having a spare guitar around, knowing that this Viper wont let me down. // 10

Overall Impression: Over all, its epic. The guitar just screams metal and when you play metal on it, it lives up to all expectations for hard rhythm, or fast leads, this guitar won't let you down. The Seymour Duncans are just the greatest thing about this guitar, with how thin the neck is being the second. The rest of it, is all as good as everything else...awesome. I would change a few things though, very, VERY minor things, such as the colour. I would make it dark red or something rather than having it as a pure white with gold hardware, and I would change out the tuners for Grover Locking Tuners. But other than that, this guitar is easily the best one I have ever played so far. If I were to lose this guitar or have it stolen, I would cry probably more than I ever have before. As much as I would love to be able to get another, I wouldn't be able to, as I got this guitar for a rare price as it was. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9.8
LTD Viper-1000 Deluxe Reviewed by: trtr6842, on november 15, 2012
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Price paid: $ 610

Purchased from: guitar center

Features: You can easily see all the specs from guitar center.com and other reviews maybe. The black nickel hardware looks great and on mine it was flawless except for one tiny scratch on the bridge. I've had the guitar for two years and the only problem I've had with the nickel is that some parts, especially parts you touch, develop tiny spots of corrosion that are hard to see but easy to feel. It has active pickups so there is a battery in that back which is easy to get to with the screwdriver. I have not had to replace it yet and its been over two years since I bought it. (I'm am fairly sure that unplugging the cord from the guitar and maybe setting the volume knob to zero when you let it sit helps with the battery life) The locking tuners are great, especially if youve never had them before, you don't need to wind the strings around a million times when re-stringing, but beware with the high strings, especially the b and high e, because when you cinch down on the string with the locking mechanism, it can actually damage the string to the point that it will shear right at the edge on the gripper, inside the tuning peg, so I recommend stringing the high strings as if they were on standard tuners, but lock them anyway. // 9

Sound: This is definitely a guitar for distortion. It doesn't matter what type, as long as its distorted. I play thrash metal and any sort of rock I can get the music for. I am playing it through a Vox vt 30 modeling amp which has a couple of pretty dang harsh and heavy distortion channels that this guitar just rips through. The guitar is not noisy. The only thing is that some metal (like Metallica) has mellow intro's with that awesome steely clean guitar, but even on the clean channel its hard to keep this guitar completely clean. This guitar also does a great job with picking up harmonics, including pinch harmonics. // 10

Action, Fit & Finish: The finish on this guitar was perfect except for the teeny tiny scratch I mentioned earlier. The guitar was set up well as I remember it, (it was two years ago) I think I adjusted the bridge height slightly, but it was pretty spot on. One thing I did and recommend is that you hold down the 24th fret on both E strings and then turn the two round headed screws on the the plastic part that holds the pickup to raise the pickups as close as you can get them to the strings (all while holding down the 24th fret, that is key) without the strings buzzing. This will give you a more evil and awesome sound. (if you plan on using a clean tone sometimes his isnt for you) Other than that I don't remember changing anything, except the strings it came with were crap. // 10

Reliability & Durability: I don't play live or with a strap much so I wouldn't know anything about the strap buttons except that they feel very solid, just don't know how well they hold a strap, bu I guess that also depends on the strap. The hardware (except from the minor corrosion spots on the tuners, which could most likely be avoided by cleaning every once and a while) has been very solid. // 10

Overall Impression: As I said before I play metal and I have been for over six years now with an awesome instructor. I have a Vox vt 30 (love that amp) and also a mexico made Strat with the bridge mounted humbucker. I would buy this guitar again and again if I had to (and had the money) and it is definitely a great guitar for the money, especially because guitar center gave me about $150 off because I had a coupon and they didn't have it in the store, but I ordered it there and they had it shipped to the store where I picked it up. I love everything about this guitar, hate nothing, and my favorite thing is the sound. (one thing, the strings seem a tiny bit stiffer on this guitar than on my strat, but easy to play still) my favorite feature is the sound ( I know its not really a feature), but it is anyway. I chose this one over others( especially the other ESP Ltd. Xxx 1000 deluxe modes (which are all vers similar except shape and pickups)) ecause of the way it looked (the neck is really long and the whole thing looks mean) and the way it played and the way it sounded. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9.2
LTD Viper-1000 Deluxe Reviewed by: les paul 1960, on december 09, 2013
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Price paid: $ 300

Features: This guitar was made in 2003, Korean factory. Has 22 XJ frets, maple neck, rosewood fretboard with a Les Paul scale neck. The body is made of solid mahogany, plain top, no top and the weight is less than my V100. The finish is a black non vintage paint, and it is very durable as it is.The pickups are EMG HZ-1, medium-high output, I think with ceramic magnets, 2 knobs (1 volume, 1 tone) and a 3 way LP style switch. The bridge is a TOM with tail piece, black and the tuners are ESP non locking, black finish. I bought it with an ESP case, but my friend told me it was purchased later. // 9

Sound: It can go from Jazz (the pickups are kind of equilibrated plain sounding), to metal. It gives you the great possibility to shape your sound from the amp eq. (9/10 for this). Somehow it lacks a little in the dynamics, my V100 stays better on this chapter. (8/10 for this). The background noise is minimal, and I changed the volume pot with a push pull for a split, and I can confirm that the noise increase is minimal as well, when I pull the switch. (10/10 for this). So we can play on it like every kind of music style, I tried Pantera, Death and Metallica (hehe, this had to be done on this guitar), to jazz (God it performs so well on the middle with those jazzy chords). // 8

Action, Fit & Finish: Here is the greatest achievement from the LTD factory, the action can get as low as possible, and the neck profile is the most comfortable I ever played after the stratocaster neck. Now I have 11-50 strings on it, I tried 10-46 and I didn't had to do a major setup, and the neck saddle (nut) performs well, no buzz or dead notes. The sustain could been a little better, but it is ok, you can do solos on it without thinking about losing the sound between the notes. I didn't had problems with this baby until now, and I hope that I will play her at leas some years before something serious has to be done on her. Some guys said the neck could get a little sticky on the back, but I think they don't wash their hands properly before playing her. // 10

Reliability & Durability: This guitar was played on big concerts by the Hand In Chains band, and performed great, and after 10 years is still in great shape (the finish is still in good shape, the neck is very stable and the tuners are doing the job very well (2 weeks of 1 hour per day playing, and only E string had 5 cents down detuning), so again that confirm the maple neck is strong and stable. The fret wires were never changed or leveled, but there are in like 95% good condition after 10 years of abuse, I do not bullsh-t you. // 10

Overall Impression: A good guitar that does the job I want, it can be played live without fear of retuning after every song, solid construction with very small tolerances and no finish flaws. I think of changing the pups with some Gibson 57's, and go a little classic with her, or some Zakk Wylde EMGs and go crazy. I can recommend this guitar for the intermediate players, for live or even for experienced ones for the studio (it cuts through the mix in a good way, no unwanted frequencies. It worth the 300 usd with the case included, if stolen, I will kill the guy first and than buy another one with the money from his pocket. // 9

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
More ESP reviews rating category latest review
+ LTD MH-103QM 8 Electric Guitars 08/07/2014
+ LTD KH-2 9.3 Electric Guitars 06/23/2014
+ LTD AW-7 7.8 Electric Guitars 06/09/2014
+ LTD F-250 8.7 Electric Guitars 05/05/2014
+ LTD EX-50 7.9 Electric Guitars 04/18/2014
+ view all
Comments
Your captcha is incorrect