Mexican Stratocaster HSS Review

manufacturer: Fender date: 11/09/2012 category: Electric Guitars
Fender: Mexican Stratocaster HSS
It is a 2010 Mexican made HSS Stratocaster with a maple fretboard with 22 frets. It's body is made of high quality Alder with a black finish.
 Sound: 8.5
 Overall Impression: 8.5
 Reliability & Durability: 8.5
 Action, Fit & Finish: 8
 Features: 8.5
 Overall rating:
 8.3 
 Reviewer rating:
 8.4 
 Users rating:
 8.1 
 Votes:
 33 
reviews (2) pictures (2) 14 comments vote for this gear:
overall: 9
Mexican Stratocaster HSS Reviewed by: Reventon11, on november 09, 2012
0 of 5 people found this review helpful

Features: It is a 2010 Mexican made HSS Stratocaster with a maple fretboard with 22 frets. It's body is made of high quality Alder with a black finish. It comes with a 5-way selector switch, 2 volume and 2 tone knobs. The guitar has one Humbucker and two single-coils, creating outstanding diversity. Mine came with a really good gig-bag. // 9

Sound: The humbucker is great for anything short of really heavy stuff, and the single-coils are fantastic for that bluesy sound. One con is, the single-coils sound a bit dull and closed. The single coild have a bit of noise to them but the humbucker is dead-quiet. The Strat is great for bright, diverse sound. // 9

Action, Fit & Finish: The pickups were perfectly set up but I did need to have the neck set up to remove buzz. The guitar was in flawless, perfect condition. The Bridge is not fixed, it comes with a whammy bar, it was perfectly fitted. Beautiful finish that comes in many, many colours. // 9

Reliability & Durability: This guitar is very strong, and very reliable. I can absolutly depend on it and the hardware will last a lifetime. It has one fault; the strap buttons are a bit dodgy, they're starting to wear after a year of use. The finish is great, very tough. I have knocked it plenty of times and it should have scratched, but it has remained perfect and without a scratch. // 9

Overall Impression: I play mostly Blues and classic rock and it suits my needs perfectly, if it was stolen i would buy it again but probably with Rosewood. I prefer the sound and look of Rosewood so that is my only regret.I compared with pretty much every other guitar in the price range and it definetly came out on top. I play it through a Legacy All valve amp with a Boss overdrive pedal, a Boss reverb and a wah wah pedal. // 9

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 7.8
Mexican Stratocaster HSS Reviewed by: unregistered, on november 09, 2012
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Price paid: $ 499.99

Purchased from: Guitar Center

Features: Specs: - Stratocaster body style with "Lake Placid Blue" polyester finish; white pickguard. - 21 medium-jumbo frets on a modern "C" shape maple neck; black dot inlays - Two single coil "Strat" pickups and one humbucker (dual coil) pickup with 5 position blade - Volume knob and two tone knobs - Chrome hardware // 8

Sound: This guitar is capable of a wide variety of tones, thanks to the two single coil and one humbucker pickups. As a fan of alternative rock and contemporary pop (a la Coldplay, The Fray, One Republic), I love the sound of the humbucker pickup, which has an edgy yet full tone. The single coil tone is somewhat muddy (which can be useful for certain types of music), but I find myself primarily using only the humbucker. The guitar is capable of blasting out some serious volume (using a Spider IV 15 amp) while still maintaining quality tone. // 8

Action, Fit & Finish: The reason I bought this guitar is its looks. This is a drop-dead gorgeous guitar. The white pickguard stands out against the metallic light blue body, and the light maple neck continues the excellent color scheme. The chrome hardware and black dot inlays are great accents. And of course, you can't go wrong with the comfortable and stylish Stratocaster body shape. Although the action of the guitar was good overall, I have dealt with buzzing on the low E string when playing it open. This buzzing is not audible when playing at a somewhat high volume through an amp. However, it does become a little annoying when playing more quiet acoustic songs. // 7

Reliability & Durability: I have owned this guitar for about five months, playing it 1-3 hours every day. I strum pretty violently sometimes, but the strap buttons are firmly secured and the hardware looks the same as the day I bought it. Although the pickguard is beginning to show a few scratches (as I said, I strum violently) they are only visible under certain lighting conditions. So far, the guitar has held up excellently and I expect to be playing it for a long long time. // 8

Overall Impression: I absolutely love both the look, feel, and sound of this guitar. I've only started playing electric recently, but have been playing classical (finger-picking) guitar for roughly three years and piano for over eight years. This guitar sounds great and is stylish, with great features at an affordable price. It definitely can't reach the level of a Gibson Les Paul or another premium guitar, but for a medium budget this guitar is hard to beat. // 8

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
More Fender reviews rating category latest review
+ DG-20S 8.3 Acoustic Guitars 08/01/2014
+ Classic '50s Stratocaster 8.8 Electric Guitars 07/28/2014
+ '64 Bandmaster Head 9 Guitar Amplifiers 07/22/2014
+ Competition Delay 8.2 Guitar Effects 07/21/2014
+ Kurt Cobain Jaguar 8.6 Electric Guitars 06/20/2014
+ view all
Comments
Your captcha is incorrect