Squier Strat Mini Review

manufacturer: Fender date: 11/09/2012 category: Electric Guitars
Fender: Squier Strat Mini
This 22.75 in. scale axe plays and sounds great. It features a double cutaway body, Maple neck, Rosewood fingerboard, 20 frets, 3 single-coil pickups, 5-way switching, master volume and tone controls, single-ply white pickguard, and a 6-saddle hard-tail bridge.
 Sound: 7.7
 Overall Impression: 8.3
 Reliability & Durability: 9
 Action, Fit & Finish: 8
 Features: 8.7
 Overall rating:
 7.8 
 Reviewer rating:
 8.3 
 Users rating:
 7.3 
 Votes:
 29 
reviews (3) pictures (2) 9 comments vote for this gear:
overall: 9
Squier Strat Mini Reviewed by: cs2sasuke741, on november 09, 2012
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

Price paid: $ 100

Purchased from: Fox's Music

Features: This is a really nice guitar, actually. It is just bigger than a rockband Strat controller. Great on hands between 10-13. The frets feel smooth, ebony. The strings that come with the guitar could be replaced though. The tuning knobs can also be a little coarse, so it can take a while to tune. It has a five way pickup Switch. A tone control for the neck and bridge pick ups, and a volume control. Three single coil pickups, and can give a good sound to whatever you're playing. I do suggest that they put a whammy in future models. // 9

Sound: It has a great sound. I play metal/emo/hard rock and it sounds great on all of those. I have also played some country (regretably) and some acoustic songs on it, also. The country sounds good on the bridge pickup, the acoustic, too. Though it can't get out tapping solos on it very well. I tried Hot For Teacher by Van Halen, and I have to put the volume all the way up on both my amp and guitar to hear all the taps clearly. Otherwise the guitar has good sound. // 8

Action, Fit & Finish: The entire guitar was put great, and perfect. Everything was in place, and feels great. The tuning pegs are the only problem. It is hard to turn them, so it can be difficult to get your tuning dead on. The only strings that it happens on are the Low e, a, and d strings. Otherwise the guitar was set up right. // 9

Reliability & Durability: The build on this is great. The strap pegs feel strong enough to last years. The neck is fitted rightly on to the guitar. The finish feels like they put enough so that you scratch it with a coin and would still be there. Everthing feels solid. I would go in to any performance without any back up at all. // 10

Overall Impression: I play metal/emo/hard rock and this is perfect, with the five way Switch. If you play country or any other kind of guitar based music, this will be great for you. This is a perfect first guitar for someone between the ages of 10-13 or someone with a small build. // 9

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 8
Squier Strat Mini Reviewed by: Cladroflcopter, on november 09, 2012
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Features: Year: Don't know. Frets: 21, i think nylon frets. Top: Solid Body wood: Don't know Finish: Black Body Style: Strat Bridge Stylee: Don't know Controls: Volume, Two tune knobs, 5 way selector Pickups: Don't know Tuners: Don't Know Accessories: none // 8

Sound: Music Style: It suits my style really well and my music style is rock Amps and Music effects: I use a Crate Amp and a Boss ME-3O guitar pedal and effects. Sound: Not to noisy without an amp. Sounds: Pretty Good variety of sounds that sound really good. // 8

Action, Fit & Finish: No Flaws and every thing else is good If you ever get this guitar, you probably won't be as satisfied as i was with it. so good luck with it (if you get it, haha.) the pickups are adjusted really well. Don't have much more to say except it's a good guitar. // 8

Reliability & Durability: Live PLaying: yes, it will withstand live preformance. Hardware: the hardware is really good and Will probably last a while. Dependable without backup: Yes, i would depend on it in a concert Finish: the finish is really good and will probably last a long while. // 8

Overall Impression: If it were stolen, i would buy something else, but it depends on the choices of guitar i had. I've been playing guitar for about 7 years I wish it had a whamy bar and a killswitch (i think thats what it's called.) I also own an Acoustic guitar and that's a really good guitar // 8

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 8
Squier Strat Mini Reviewed by: XRabie, on november 09, 2012
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Features: 21 thin-frets. Laminated, solid head. satin finish, shiny and black Strat body style. 3 pickups // 9

Sound: Very universal guitar sound. It fits my hardcore metal music fine, i use metal and insane settings, although I occasionally throw it on clean with an echo or two. It hums like an angel. Nice Volume settings, although it screams a little on max. Very wide variety, nasal high pitch pick tones, and deep low throat humming, and a lot in-between. // 7

Action, Fit & Finish: It was Standard make, everything about it is fine except the 10th fret. It has been worn down from use on the 3rd string, and now I have to press down harder on the 3rd string 10th fret to make the correct pitch, however it then bends up. // 7

Reliability & Durability: It will probably last many years of playing. The strap buttons are practically part of the body, so they aren't coming of anytime soon. I would definitely bring a backup, because anything could happen, from a string breaking, to a stupid homeless person throwing his booze bottle at it, otherwise, no reason, it seems strong enough to take a pounding. // 9

Overall Impression: I play hardore metal music, and this is an alright match, because it is so universal. It's not made to throw the insane riffs and solo's that my music has, but it makes learning easy. Since I'm new to my guitar, it's a very good choice for me, I can play most anything I want to on it (aside from divebombs and such), and it is easy to play. // 8

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
More Fender reviews rating category latest review
+ Jaguar HH Special 8.2 Electric Guitars 11/12/2014
+ American Telecaster Plus Deluxe Version II 8.2 Electric Guitars 10/07/2014
+ Modern Player Telecaster Plus 8.6 Electric Guitars 10/02/2014
+ Pawn Shop Mustang Special 9.1 Electric Guitars 10/01/2014
+ Super-Sonic Twin 7.2 Guitar Amplifiers 09/25/2014
+ view all
Comments
Your captcha is incorrect