SG Goddess Review

manufacturer: Gibson date: 11/09/2012 category: Electric Guitars
Gibson: SG Goddess
The SG Goddess is the perfect guitar for a guitar god in training. It is a pure rock and roll version of the SG with a slim '60s neck, alnico humbuckers, trapezoid neck inlays, and beaufiful burst finishes in unusual colors.
 Sound: 10
 Overall Impression: 9.5
 Reliability & Durability: 8.5
 Action, Fit & Finish: 7
 Features: 9
 Overall rating:
 8.9 
 Reviewer rating:
 8.8 
 Users rating:
 9 
 Votes:
 95 
reviews (2) 59 comments vote for this gear:
overall: 8.6
SG Goddess Reviewed by: unregistered, on november 09, 2012
6 of 7 people found this review helpful

Features: 2008 USA Gibson SG Goddess in ice burst finish. Mahogany neck and body, very lightweight. Madagascan ebony fingerboard, pearloid trapezoid inlays. Thin '60s neck profile, GOTOH locking tuners. Chrome hardware, 1 volume 1 tone with a three way Switch. 490R and 490T alnico magnet humbuckers, 5:8 heel length, 3'4 scale length. Wraparound bridge (easy to use) Nitro finish. Came with Gibson warranty, Gibson hardcase, Levy's strap, truss rod adjuster. For a 1200 dollar guitar, atleast some polishing items could have been included. // 9

Sound: Suits my music style, sounds really meaty and fat. I run it through a Roland Cube 15 and it sounds amazing. Quite a good clean sound, on rhythm with no tone you get an absolute jazzy/blues tone. Hardly any buzz at all. Very good tonal range. Quite a thin sound however, if turned up loud. // 10

Action, Fit & Finish: Well set up, fine action. Pickups came bit high, but with a few screws it was fine. Well routed bridge and not any loose parts. Tight jack and no blemishes. The one thing that bothered me at first was the wraparound bridge, it seemed out of place, but then I realized that it made the guitar lighter and was more comfortable and reliable. // 7

Reliability & Durability: Lightweight makes it good for lives, however, like most SG's it is quite neck heavy. However, this takes a matter of hours to get used to. Solid hardware, I recommend strap locks due to the position of the strap buttons. Definitely reliable, good finish. Built like a tank, good solid construction. // 8

Overall Impression: Very good match for me, I've been playing for 4 years, and this is by far my best guitar. My gear includes: Gibson Les Paul Studio, Ibanez SZ520, Fender 65 ri Mustang, Fender American Telecaster, Fender Mexican Strat Standard, Squier Affinity Strat, MD Bass 4, Yamaha FG245 Acoustic Guitar. By far the best. It actually came down to this or a Ri V. This felt more comfortable. Don't mind the "Goddess" it's not a womens guitar. It's an amazing guitar for anyone. // 9

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9
SG Goddess Reviewed by: unregistered, on november 09, 2012
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Price paid: $ 900

Purchased from: Guitar Center

Features: This guitar was made in December of '08 or January of '09, to my knowledge. Its a Gibson so it was assembled entirely in America. SG's are typically made of a mahogany body and a rosewood fretboard (22 frets), but this model was made with madagascan ebony fretboard and mahogany body. Since its an SG, its got an amazingly thin body and neck, which is great for gigging because it won't strain your neck too quickly. Plus, the neck is real thin making it great for playing anything from jazz to blues to metal. It was (i'm saying "was" because it is discontinued) available in several finishes, red, blue, purple, white and black. It has a volume knob and a tone knob, controlling both pickups, which can be a downside as opposed to other SGs and les pauls with individual volume and tone knobs. It came with grover locking tuners, which are alright. They can be pretty moody based on the temperature and gauge of strings. If you're playing in a warm room with 11's, you can pretty much bend as much as you want without having to retune too frequently. The pickups, 490r & 498t, don't have the Standard plastic or metal cover, but instead have a clear acrylic cover, so you can see the copper wiring inside (which looks pretty amazing I have to say). Overall, its a lightweight guitar, the neck is crazy fast, and looks & sounds amazing, but it only has 2 knobs, so for that I'll give it a 9. // 9

Sound: The pickups on this guitar are VERY versatile if you learn how to work with the single tone and volume knobs. In the neck there is a 490r, which is perfect for jazz, reggae and blues. Its got a mellow, clean sound but still warm. In the Bridge there's a 498t which is quite full sounding, has brightness, but just as much low-end growl. Perfect for hard rock, metal, sludge, or anything that requires an outrageous amount of fuzz (think black sabbath, fu manchu, Orange goblin, QOTSA). If you put the pickup selector in the middle, with both pickups on, and roll the volume off but have some overdrive, its perfect for classic rock (foghat, blue oyster cult, AC/DC). The amp I typically use is a Marshall MG100FX head going through a MG412A cab. The pedals that sound good with this guitar are the Big Muff Pi, Creepy Fingers Creepyface, MXR carbon copy, cry baby, POG2, and an an MXR blue box. Over all, this guitar can handle a really wide range of music. Reggae, jazz, blues, rock, metal, sludge, drone, psychedelic and most things in between are quite doable on this guitar. // 10

Action, Fit & Finish: the neck was really the main problem when I first got it. There were about 3 or 4 different dead spots. By that I mean, it didn't buzz, I couldn't get the note at all. The neck was bowed back pretty far. The Bridge pick up was lower than the neck pick up, (which was pretty much touching the strings) and the Bridge was a little low. Fixed all of that pretty easily though. This one is graded based on how it was in factory condition, not after doing personal tuning like pretty much everyone does. // 7

Reliability & Durability: This guitar is a tank. I've dropped it and hit it on things several times, with a decent amount of force, and the finish pretty much stays intact, while the wood doesn't seem to pay any attention at all. However, it is a Gibson, and all gibsons are made with a headstock at a certain angle degree. I don't really get how it helps with tuning like it says on their website, but if you drop this guitar on its back, the head will come off. Other than that, most definitely capable of playing live without a back up. // 9

Overall Impression: I've been playing for about 4-5 years now, and I've had this guitar for about 2 now. It can without a doubt handle a person with an eclectic taste in music. Only thing it wouldn't be a good guitar for would really be country, but I really can't stand to listen to or play that so it isn't a problem for me. If it were stolen, I'd most definitely try and find another one as soon as I could. I love pretty much everything, sounds amazing and looks terribly sexy, but I really wish there were more tone & volume knobs. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
More Gibson reviews rating category latest review
+ 120th Anniversary SG Standard 2014 Min-ETune 7.1 Electric Guitars 08/15/2014
+ SG Standard Bass 8.6 Bass Guitars 08/05/2014
+ SG Special Voodoo 9.2 Electric Guitars 06/09/2014
+ Les Paul Studio '50s Tribute Humbucker 9 Electric Guitars 06/09/2014
+ Grace Potter Signature Flying V 7.8 Electric Guitars 04/15/2014
+ view all
Comments
Your captcha is incorrect