SG Standard '60s Review

manufacturer: Gibson date: 11/09/2012 category: Electric Guitars
Gibson: SG Standard '60s
This guitar is a limited run SG and not to confuse anyone it has features from the 60's SG and The Standard SG out into one.
 Sound: 10
 Overall Impression: 10
 Reliability & Durability: 10
 Action, Fit & Finish: 10
 Features: 10
 Overall rating:
 9.6 
 Reviewer rating:
 10 
 Users rating:
 9.1 
 Votes:
 66 
review (1) 30 comments vote for this gear:
overall: 10
SG Standard '60s Reviewed by: Lilttle Angus, on november 09, 2012
2 of 7 people found this review helpful

Price paid: $ 1500

Purchased from: Guitar Center

Features: This guitar is a limited run SG and not to confuse anyone it has features from the 60's SG and The Standard SG out into one. This Guitar was made in november 2010 in Nashville, TN, USA. One ironic thing when I got the guitar on the case it said "Gibson USA" and next to it there was a sticker with a maple leaf that said case made in canada. It has a 60' neck profile with 22 frets with a rosewood fretboard with creme binding. The neck and body are both mahogany. It has a cherry finish and the iconic devil horn double cutaway. It has a tune-o-matic brige. It has passive Gibson burstbucker 1 in the rhthym position and burstbucker 3 in the treble position and both have coil taps. The tuners are the green grover tuners and it came with a hardshell case. This is worth the money. // 10

Sound: This guitar sounds fantastic clean with alot of reverb to replicate compression which gives it a rich bright sound that sounds great playing hendrix or any classic pete townsend riff and you can get the best overdriven distorted zz top or AC/DC riff. The burstbucker 1 is got a mellow bluesy sound to and the burstbucker 3 has a ripping heavy sound. // 10

Action, Fit & Finish: This guitar was ready to play straight out of the box everything was perfect. I changed the strings a day or two after I got it to some ernie balls. The hardware was flawless and the finish was flawless the electronics were made to perfection. I still haven't taken off the protective film off the pickguard. // 10

Reliability & Durability: This guitar will withstand playing live and then some.all the hardware is solid. This is a guitar I can depend on. The strap buttons are solid as a rock and the finish is this dark rich cherry that will list a lifetime. And the inlays are beautiful but I don't know if there acrylic or real pearl. Probaly acrylic since its not a custom. // 10

Overall Impression: I play hard rock and heavy metal and physicdelic rock. I've been playing guitar over a year now. If it were stolen I would hope there'd be another one in circulation so I could buy it. The thing that I love on this guitar is the tuners and the neck binding and the coil taps. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
More Gibson reviews rating category latest review
+ Explorer Vampire Blood Moon 9.1 Electric Guitars 09/15/2014
+ 120th Anniversary SG Standard 2014 Min-ETune 7.1 Electric Guitars 08/15/2014
+ SG Standard Bass 8.6 Bass Guitars 08/05/2014
+ SG Special Voodoo 9.2 Electric Guitars 06/09/2014
+ Les Paul Studio '50s Tribute Humbucker 9 Electric Guitars 06/09/2014
+ view all
Comments
Your captcha is incorrect