Duo Jet Review

manufacturer: Gretsch date: 09/30/2011 category: Electric Guitars
Gretsch: Duo Jet
Duo Jet features dual High Sensitive Filtertron pickups, "tone switch" circuitry, ebony fingerboard with Neo-Classical "thumbnail" inlays, Space Control bridge and Gretsch by Bigsby B3C Vibrato tailpiece.
 Sound: 9.5
 Overall Impression: 9.5
 Reliability & Durability: 8.5
 Action, Fit & Finish: 9.5
 Features: 9.5
 Overall rating:
 9.4 
 Reviewer rating:
 9.3 
 Users rating:
 9.4 
 Votes:
 38 
reviews (2) pictures (1) 4 comments vote for this gear:
overall: 9.6
Duo Jet Reviewed by: unregistered, on november 18, 2004
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

Features: I love my Duo Jet. It has a bigspy vibrato, dual humbuckers and great sound and playability. It has 22 frets, a fairly thin rosewood neck and Neo markers. It is a gloss black top made from arched laminated maple. Passive electronics. Non-locking grovers. Included with hard case and keys/allan set. // 10

Sound: It has a very nice sound. It suits my style completely. (rock, blues, blues rock, slide and other stuff). I am using a Fender Hot Rod Deville, a Boss Blues Driver, Metal Zone and Crybaby Wah. Is is not too noisy! Only a bit on the bridge setting. It can have a range of rich/full tone to a bright trebley sound. The dynsonic pickups give the guitar a real retro look and Vintage Gretsch sound. It has a tone control and a volume control for each pickup as well as a master volume control. The chromeplated tuners are high-ratio and stay in tune. Lets not forget the Gretsch Bigsby Tremolo tailpiece and roller bridge. This is truely a classic guitar with a Vintage sound. There's nothing else that sounds quite like it. // 10

Action, Fit & Finish: Action is great! There are no flaws. The neck is also made of mahogany with an ebony stained rosewood fretboard and hump block inlaid position markers. It has a scale of 24.6" and comes with an adjustable truss rod and pearl inlaid headpiece. The frets are made of nickel silver that looks brillient with the chromeplated hardware. // 10

Reliability & Durability: It is already a veteran of at least 15 shows, and it just keeps rockin'. The strap buttons need to be tightend. I would use it without a backup; strings are very easy to change. The finish is great. // 8

Overall Impression: I just love it. The guitar is of value and quality. Gretsch products are great products. The classic Gretsch Duo Jet traces its lineage to the earliest days of Rock music. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9
Duo Jet Reviewed by: green sturgis, on september 30, 2011
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Price paid: A$ 2200

Purchased from: a shop in Melbourne

Features: All the usual bits and pieces but oh man is the Bigbsy a sweet thang! TV Jones Pups etc... // 9

Sound: This is the clincher! Bored with Fender and Gibsons, our band needed a new guitar voice and I found it in a Gretsch Duo Jet. Crystal bell like clean tones for country and twang. Gets pretty close to a Ric tone with 10s Throw on some gain and hear the beast come out for rock. This is a multi-use guitar that I play jazz, rock and country on with no problems at all. To my ears, and my bands and Session clients, this guitar provides and incredible array of sonic landscapes. I play through a Vox AC 30, a Jackson or a Fender Twin most of the time. No need for any pedals, it's all wonderful valve tone and this guitar gobbles it up and records like a sweet mama! Throw some tubescreamer action on and be blown out the door. // 9

Action, Fit & Finish: This was a second hand model but in great condition. No flaws or blemishes, but even if it had minor ones I would recommend the Duo Jet for tone alone! Tuning pegs tight and reliable. No noise either which most engineers appreciate... // 9

Reliability & Durability: No problems with set up, strap locks no problems. Gig with it for two solid hours without any loosening of the strap locks. Tune? Locked in all night and utterly dependable. All onboard ware seems solid and sturdy after gigs and flights a plenty. This is a pro guitar which I record with and tour with extensively. On tour I generally use 62 RI Strat and a 330 Gibson as a back up now. This is truly an outstanding instrument, absolutely value for money next to other more expensive brands and has tone to burn for years. Forget reputation kids, go and play many guitars and then play a Duo Jet... I have about 20 guitars, all the usual brands but this is among the best sounding and best playing. Highly recommend it! Play one and you'll take it home. // 9

Overall Impression: I play rock n roll and do Session work ranging from folk to jazz to country to Cream style rock. This monster has it all covered. Of my many guitars this is in the top few and my precious white penguin which comes out only for sessions is the only one that outshines the Duo Jet. Stolen? I'd be crying, then I'd be out hunting the sob and then I'd get another Duo Jet! Best feature? Tone... Classic tone tone and more tone. All Gretsch's are wonderful instruments. // 9

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
More Gretsch reviews rating category latest review
+ G5434 Electromatic Pro Jet 8.6 Electric Guitars 08/01/2014
+ G5438T Electromatic Pro Jet 8.8 Electric Guitars 06/17/2013
+ G5105 Electromatic CVT III 8.5 Electric Guitars 11/30/2012
+ G5566 Jet Double Neck 8.4 Electric Guitars 04/27/2012
+ Electromatic Pro Jet 9 Electric Guitars 05/19/2011
+ view all
Comments
Your captcha is incorrect