Super Swede Review

manufacturer: Hagstrom date: 04/04/2011 category: Electric Guitars
Hagstrom: Super Swede
Classic looks and unparalleled tone. Thanks to its 25.5" scale and the pickup coil splitter, this beauty produces a variety of unique and powerful tones that will surprise and excite you.
 Sound: 8.7
 Overall Impression: 9
 Reliability & Durability: 9
 Action, Fit & Finish: 8
 Features: 9
 Overall rating:
 8.8 
 Reviewer rating:
 8.7 
 Users rating:
 8.9 
 Votes:
 103 
reviews (3) pictures (6) 73 comments vote for this gear:
overall: 9.8
Super Swede Reviewed by: 4949oz, on july 22, 2008
12 of 14 people found this review helpful

Price paid: $ 399.99

Features: Serious guitarists worldwide are jazzed about the reintroduction of the Hagstrom Super Swede especially at such an amazingly low price. Brilliant craftsmanship is evident in every detail of the mahogany body with carved maple top flamed maple veneer set mahogany neck and bound Resinator fretboard with pearl block inlays. The queen of the Hagstrom line the Super Swede sports Custom '58 humbuckers with thick rich bottom end and warm clarity on top plus coil splitting for single-coil sounds. H-Expander Truss Rod All Hagstrom guitars feature our revolutionary patented H-Expander truss rod. Providing tension at either end and running the entire length of the neck the rigid yet lightweight alloy truss rod allows for very low action and a thin neck earning us our reputation as the "Fastest Neck on the Planet." Resinator Fretboard Yet another Hagstrom exclusive the Resinator Fretboard is an extraordinary homogeneous wood composite that maintains a strong fundamental harmonic and eliminates wolf tones. Resinator Fretboards offer the articulate sound of high quality ebony but with more consistency and durability. Silky smooth reliable and fast the Hagstrom neck is a guitarist's dream come true. // 10

Sound: I hate comparing this guitar to other's, because it really is it's own creation on it's own level, but for purposes of communication of its attributes, comparison will have to suffice. Now, People complain that this guitar sounds dark. Well it's a gigantic frickin slab of mahogany, What do you expect? of course it's going to sound thick, and godly. Okay, I'll admit under typical distortions it sounds a little muddy, but with a quick uncomplicated flip of the EQ or, split the coils, which are amazingly quiet, and it brightens right up. Very versatile. I play punk, classic rock, jazz, blues, metal, country, weird foreign stuff like tinarwen, I try to emulate Ravi Shankar, I play everything, really, that's not bragging I just do. I'm strange and eclectic. And I have been able to find a tone for every style of music there is that sounds similar to an already recorded tone, but the best part is is you can take it, and make it freak out compared to what "set standards" should bea, is it versatile? Think of this, take a Les Paul, make the neck studier, yes I said studier, I mean a real Gibson Standard or custom by the way. Take a Strat scale and put it on the LP, So you can get that "violin" or bell like snap to the strings. Keep the Fretless Wonder of the Gibson however for the neck action, Now take the body and make it solid mahogany and essentially an ebony fretboard. Use Something akin to a LP's Oddly genius cousin for the electronics, put in a coil tap Switch, Make the bridge bolt each string at least an inch into the body through a resinator plate, so acoustically the back of the body resonates as loudly as the strings, and yes, that is not a joke, It really does do that. I nearly dropped the guitar when I heard that. What you get is something more smoky and ethereal than an LP, but with the delicate womanly nature of a Strat added in. For the coil splits imagine taking a Strat, eliminate the tremolo, use a Telecaster bridge, and make the body out of rosewood, this is what it sounds like. As for humbucking mode, like I said, the LP's oddly genius cousin, with no intensity loss or lack of punch. // 10

Action, Fit & Finish: Considering I bought it b stock and couldn't find a darn thing wrong, I can only imagine what a properly finished Hagstrom must be. The pictures at the website aren't doctored, guitar world even said that the finish is akin to guitars at least triple it's price. so I'm very happy with my purchase. The frets are well filed, god I'm not even gonna start, all I can say is there was not a thing wrong with it. // 10

Reliability & Durability: I can't say yet I've had it for 2 months and I'm too skiddish to let it out of my house, but I'm going to assume so, this thing is built like a tank I won't put ten because I don't know. // 9

Overall Impression: The only thing I don't recommend it for is punk, it lacks the highs a proper P90 or Telecaster would. It'll still do it though, and it sounds very aggressive, it just sounds too robust for punk in my mind. Very musically balanced output. Don't think dark or murky, think musically cool blues/jazz club smoky, as for metal, your standard metalhead will go for passives. The output on these is on the hotter side of vintage, about what vintage pickups would sound/ respond the day they came off the line. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 7
Super Swede Reviewed by: unregistered, on february 17, 2011
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Price paid: € 600

Purchased from: Online store

Features: 2009 Hagstrm Super Swede, 21 frets with a super slim neck and coil splittable humbuckers. 2 tone, 2 volume. 2 passive custom pickups with alnico magnets in them. Proprietary design and parts by Hagstrm. Most noteworthy is the Hagstrm stop tail piece I'd say. Came with a really good softcase. // 7

Sound: Neck pickup is really smooth and warm, but kinda overly bassy. Bridge pickup sings quite nicely and does a really good job when playing overdriven sounds. The coilsplit make for some nice smoout single coil sounds. Not fenderlike nice but nice in its own way. Pickup height/levels were set up very poorly on my guitar from the factory. // 7

Action, Fit & Finish: Action was super low but came with string noise on 6th fret as a result. The humbuckers were also set up very poor. Too bassy and neck pickup too close to the strings making it unplayable before adjustments. The poly finish feels abit overdone, like unbreakable-kinda-overdone. Especially noticeable near the neckjoint where its severly overdone. Everything else was good. Decent bookmapping on the top. // 6

Reliability & Durability: This thing will last an lifetime. No kidding. Its built like an tank. I guess the poly armour will stand the test of time too. At a gig I played with this guitar a drunk sob smashed it with a mic stand as hard as he could. Many other guitars woulda been splinters by this treatment, but the Super Swede is barely dented. This thing will not break. It will forever last and your arm will wear out long before the poly finish will. if this is good or bad I'm not sure about. Pickups are not threaded, so after adjusting the polepieces once too many times the wax just wont hold the screw anylonger and you can easily adjust it with your fingers... // 8

Overall Impression: I play everything from classical to hard rock with alittle bit of jazz on the side. I'd say this guitar is more suitable for rockish music than anything. Its build to last, it sounds good overdriven and it a weird but good neck (once you get used to it). Playing high on the fretboard is wierd since the cutaway starts abit early. Once you have done your setup on this guitar it plays just as good as any guitar, and the coiltap is kinda fun to play with. The Bridge pickup is further back on the body which makes it alittle different than your normal guitar also.. I kinda feel like I dig in too deep on the strings by accident all the time cause my arms are just so used to be further up the body. Not the average UG review where everything scores 9.5+ but an honest review on this guitar. I'm not sure I would get a new one if this was stolen. It was just something I bought to try out. Havent resold it you either. Feels different and I kinda like it. Last but not least. The very good things about this guitar. * The price! It's alot of guitar for this kinda money. * Its coolness. Your odd LP cousin-kinda guitar with a unique feel to it. * I dont know how common it is. but its something different to look at then your Standard fender/gibson/xxx guitars onstage. * It will last you an lifetime. * And its helluva cool guitar! // 7

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9.4
Super Swede Reviewed by: unregistered, on april 04, 2011
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Price paid: $ 540

Purchased from: Local Dealer

Features: It's china made I think?. The neck's very comfortable rather than my epi lp custom. Fretboard wow sing like an ebony but it's not an ebony I don't know what kind of wood they use. The body wow this is a tank it's havier than my other guitars not recommended for thin people. // 10

Sound: Bridge pickup sounded solid when mixed with distortion, the neck pickup is very determined to play jazz or blues type of music. Superswede has its own character when it compared to other types of lespaul guitars.I use a Vox ac15, I think they are a matching pair. // 9

Action, Fit & Finish: It was set-up really good, the action was perfect. But it gets a little buzzy sounding with low strings on low frets, I return to the store to re-setting, after resetting the problem disappeared and you can play it as you like.The action, fit, and finish were outstanding for the price, and which is why I gave the guitar rating a 8 // 8

Reliability & Durability: This guitar seems pretty reliable. It definitely will withstand live playing without backup, but for the absolute certainty you might have another instrument. The strap buttons are solid. The finish is also solid. The hardware was made to serve forever. Everything is sturdy and very well constructed. // 10

Overall Impression: I have been playing music since 20 years ago, I play various types of music such as jazz, hard rock and reegae. This guitar can play all kinds of my music style.I have a Epiphone Les Paul Custom and Fender Telecaster highway one. I don't like to compared of my guitars but this one has a different class. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
More Hagstrom reviews rating category latest review
+ F20T 8.5 Electric Guitars 04/15/2014
+ Viking Deluxe Baritone 8.8 Electric Guitars 08/01/2013
+ F200 8.7 Electric Guitars 07/10/2013
+ Viking Deluxe 9.6 Electric Guitars 05/10/2013
+ HJ800 9.8 Electric Guitars 02/12/2013
+ view all
Comments
Your captcha is incorrect