RG2570Z Review

manufacturer: Ibanez date: 11/10/2008 category: Electric Guitars
Ibanez: RG2570Z
RG2570Z - The 2570 gets the new Edge Zero trem and retainer bar-less nut for 2008. Prestige 5 piece Wizard maple/walnut neck. 18mm 1st fret - 20mm 12th fret. 430mm Radius rosewood fretboard. Ghost sharkfins. 43mm nut width. Jumbo frets. Basswood body. Edge Zero trem. Direct mount p/u's. Dimarzio IBZ neck p/u. Dimarzio IBZ mid p/u. Dimarzio IBZ bridge p/u. Cosmo hardware.
 Sound: 10
 Overall Impression: 10
 Reliability & Durability: 10
 Action, Fit & Finish: 10
 Features: 10
 Overall rating:
 9.5 
 Reviewer rating:
 10 
 Users rating:
 8.9 
 Votes:
 41 
reviews (2) pictures (1) 10 comments vote for this gear:
overall: 10
RG2570Z Reviewed by: jefffelker40, on september 25, 2008
7 of 8 people found this review helpful

Price paid: $ 750

Purchased from: ZZounds

Features: Made in 2006 in Japan, 24 jumbo frets bound rosewood fretboard, wizard prestige neck, nice and thin, and fast, alder body with a paint job splotch paint job to add fine detail, i got mind in vital silver used for $750 with hardshell case, the body style is that of a "superstrat" an average rg, thin light, and an all around great guitar. It has a 5 way pickup selector with 3 Dimarzio/ibanez pickups, not bad at all, Gotoh tuners work fine and are very responsive, the edge pro tremolo works really well for a non Floyd Rose, i have had no trouble at all with this guitar. // 10

Sound: it suits my musical style famously as i refuse to play a guitar with less then 24 frets and i like my action low and fast, i play this thing clean it's got a bright warm sound, it can play clean and i know it can play distorted too, it's meant for metal. // 10

Action, Fit & Finish: The set up is perfect, the pickups are fine, everything has been routed fine. The only thing i wish i would have thought of before buying this is the placement of the volume knob gives you little room to rest your hand and play over the bridge, it's a minor complaint. // 10

Reliability & Durability: the guitar will be around for years, it's solid, and it's reliable the strap buttons are solid, and better then other guitar strap buttons i have used, they are more flared. // 10

Overall Impression: i play everything but rap and country, i used this too play lynyrd skynryd and then System Of A Down, the Who, even a little srv, this guitar is good for many styles, been playing for a little over 3 years, i've owned an Epiphone g400 and an ibanex x series, and this is my favorite, if it were lost i would probably get something with active emgs, not that this guitar has any problems i just don't really like to tread the same ground over and over, if it were stolen, i would never get the same guitar. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 10
RG2570Z Reviewed by: Wyrmidion, on november 10, 2008
3 of 4 people found this review helpful

Price paid: $ 999

Purchased from: Guitar Center

Features: My guitar was made in Japan, Fujigen Factory, in 2008. 24 Jumbofrets on a bound rosewood fretboard, with wedge sharktooth inlays. Basswood Body, 5piece Maple / walnut Wizard Prestige neck! About the finsih of the guitar, it's textured with color dots, an image says more than a thousand words, but imagine you had a big toothbrush with color in it. you pull the straws back and let go and you get this dots all over, it's something like that! I'll try to get an image up. Most of you know the Ibanez RG-series, it's a Superstrat type body, and has the new Edge Zero bridge with ZPS 3. passive high output DiMarzio/IBZ pickups, one volume, one tone, 5 way selector for the HSH configuration. the tuners are gotoh locking, came with a nice molded hardcase with red fur-like material, included, and a manual for setup. not that it was needed. // 10

Sound: I like a lot of different music, some acoustic, some classical, and a lot of rock/metal! Personally I think this guitar has the makings of one kickass guitar, the humbuckers are high output and deliver lots of lowend at the neck, really squeals those harmonics at the bridge, and splitting the humbuckers with the single gives really clear clean playing! The single is very nice for bluesy sounds. have yet to try it on a bigger rig however, just got a small 15watt practice amp that doesn't deliver the volume I want, but has all the tone of the guitar. // 10

Action, Fit & Finish: the guitar was excellently setup from the factory, action is just right, the pickup height is right, but the single has less output so it's closer to the strings, you hit it easily with the pick, but I don't think it matters really no flaws anywhere that I could find! // 10

Reliability & Durability: the guitar body being basswood, it needs some extra carefulness, since any bumps to the body will give it a nasty dent. the hardware seems realiable, the strap buttons are bigger than usual meaning you can practically use it without those straplocks, but some might need them anyways I would use this as my single guitar if I was playing songs in only one tuning, but changing between multiple tunings takes some time with this one, but once you've got the tuning right, it holds it without flaw, despite trem abuse! and besides, you can change the knife-edges on this trem, so it will last for as long as you want it to. // 10

Overall Impression: I think this guitar has everything I need, apart from a fixed bridge. but you can't get everything, that's why you get more guitars:) I've been playing about 1 year so far, own a Jackson Kelly KE-3 (which is totally inferior to this one), and a J&D Strat thingy, my first guitar. If this guitar was stolen I'd buy it again, because it's just such an unbelieveably comfortable guitar for those that like slim necks and great tonal versatility. I did choose between a cheap Gibson les paul and this one. and I don't regret it a bit, this one is so much better for me that has slightly smaller hands:) couldn't be happier. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
More Ibanez reviews rating category latest review
+ DT520 Destroyer 8.3 Electric Guitars 09/29/2014
+ RG140 Roadstar II 9 Electric Guitars 08/21/2014
+ RG3EXFM1 8.1 Electric Guitars 08/20/2014
+ RGIR20FE Iron Label 9 Electric Guitars 08/19/2014
+ S5528LW 8.8 Electric Guitars 08/18/2014
+ view all
Comments
Your captcha is incorrect