RG5EX1 Review

manufacturer: Ibanez date: 10/11/2011 category: Electric Guitars
Ibanez: RG5EX1
This Guitar is made in Indonesia. Made of a Basswood body, it has a 3-Piece maple neck, Wizard II Neck Profile. Its a nice thin neck for easy shredding.
 Sound: 7.8
 Overall Impression: 8.2
 Reliability & Durability: 7.8
 Action, Fit & Finish: 7.8
 Features: 8.4
 Overall rating:
 7.6 
 Reviewer rating:
 8 
 Users rating:
 7.2 
 Votes:
 54 
reviews (5) pictures (3) 50 comments vote for this gear:
overall: 7.8
RG5EX1 Reviewed by: Bxesparty, on september 02, 2010
9 of 11 people found this review helpful

Price paid: $ 399

Purchased from: Guitar Center

Features: I bought this guitar for my 15th birthday. This Guitar is made in Indonesia. Made of a Basswood body, it has a 3-Piece maple neck, Wizard II Neck Profile. Its a nice thin neck for easy shredding. The neck has a Rosewood fingerboard with shark-tooth inlays with 24 frets. Since I already had a guitar in black I decided to get this guitar in Gray Pewter, Kind of looks olive green to me unless I'm color blind. Its a super-strat style guitar with a Reversed Headstock. It comes equipped with an Edge III tremolo bridge which stays in tune nicely. It has 3 pickups, INF3 humbucker for neck, INFS3 Single coil middle position, and the INF4 humbucker on the bridge position. Next to that is 1 tone and 1 volume control nobs and a 5 way pickup selector. Since it has a tremolo it has locking pads with Ibanez tuners I believe. This model was pick up from the store. // 9

Sound: This guitar fits my music style. I play a variety of music ranging from Jazz, classical, and Progressive Death Metal. Since I live in a small room I own a Roland Micro-cube. Its not the best amp but It works. I've played the guitar in store but I forgot what Amp I used. It sounds pretty good on distortion but it kind of gets muddy. The INF pickups are great, but I would rather exchange them for Seymour Duncans or DiMarzios. I mostly used the bridge pickup which is really quiet when idle unlike the middle single coil and neck pick up it doesn't produce a buzzing sound. They sound decent though. Clean sounds relatively good with out any distortion. // 7

Action, Fit & Finish: When I came to get this guitar at the store, there were two of the same guitars on the shelves. This one had a bad setup. The action was high, it had .11s. the bridge was not adjusted properly, the fine tuners were mixed up. The guitar was in good condition though. I actually got the guitar setup for free. I got a nice low action with (some fret buzz). The finish was not harmed at all, everything seemed intact instead of what was stated above. The Middle pickup was too high and was interfering with my playing so I lowered it. The two humbuckers are in a decent height. // 6

Reliability & Durability: Will this guitar withstand live playing? Sure it would because of its locking pads and the tremolo it will stay in tune, but since I play on D Standard Tuning, I would bring a backup guitar. I would bring a backup guitar anyway. The Strap buttons are pretty good, but since I don't go wild on stage there isn't a change of the strap breaking. The finish is really good, I sweat a lot (lol) but the finish remains nice after abusing it the guitar, no scatches or dents. The hardware will last a long time. // 9

Overall Impression: In conclusion this guitar was my 15th birthday gift well that was May 5th, but it fits my music style. I've been playing for more than a year now, I haven't bought any new gear though. If this guitar were to be stolen, I would hunt who ever did and hack them with a a rusty knife, ha!, just kidding but I will buy it again. I love this guitar, since its my second guitar made by Ibanez, I would buy another Ibanez guitar. I love its Edge III tremolo due to its great tuning stability. I only wish it had better pickups, and I need a better amp. // 8

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 8.4
RG5EX1 Reviewed by: unregistered, on september 08, 2010
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Price paid: $ 300

Purchased from: Guitar Center

Features: For year made and I can't tell you much, but it's made in Indonesia. It has 24 frets on a maple neck, basswood body, an awesome flat black finish, and a super-strat style. The Edge III trem is amazing for the price, though you have to do setting up by yourself a little bit, it is nice. You have 1 each of volume and tone, fine tuners, and I love it. You won't sound like Herman Li, angels singing, but for 300, I got a sweet deal from the guitar center guy, probably hates me now, it is amazing. // 8

Sound: The best style for this is hands down metal and shred. It's not great for Satriani and Li, but it is still good. For me being 15 and playing for 3 years, it is great. I use it with a Mimx 30 Amp, and I can't say how many sound effects you can get with that lol I love it, the Infinity pickups are good for they're style, nearly no feed back and a nice bright sound. You can get literally infinite variety through the Mimx amp and this guitar. // 7

Action, Fit & Finish: Out of the factory the set-up needed work. I didn't want anybody touching my baby or having to lose mula, so I spent a lot of time fixing the trem setup, I demand perfection, and I now have it. Now the trem will and can not go out of tune. The intonation was sharp but I spent a little time and its fine now. Finish is wearing off in some areas but hardly at all. I have no complaints about the hardware, but you just have to spend a little time to get thee right set-up. // 9

Reliability & Durability: This is the most reliable guitar I've played. Everything is in perfect condition, obviously built to last, I would play with a backup, if I had one lol, and I just love it.The strap buttons have no issues, for live playing it is great because the trem has no potential to go out of tune. // 9

Overall Impression: I love to play Satriani and Li type music, even though this guitar is not made for this style it fits just fine. I managed to get it for 300 due to a big, but easily fixed, dent in the finish, brand new but on a guitar center sale, and some persuasion of guitar center from my dad lol.If it was stolen I would first be very angry, then cry lol, then go on a hunt for the thief. Money wise, buy this guitar. Great trem, and if your 15 and non pro, its awesome, and if your 30 and traveling the world touring, its also great.I have nearly zero experience with buying guitars, I'm not a teen who buys everything with his parents money, so right now I just have this sick thing and another Ibanez beginner strat. I know a lot about guitars, I just need more experience, thanks for reading. // 9

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 7.4
RG5EX1 Reviewed by: unregistered, on november 24, 2010
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Price paid: $ 400

Purchased from: Guitar Center

Features: This guitar was made in 2008 in Indonesia. It features a thin neck with a rosewood fingerboard and 24 jumbo frets. The body is made of Basswood. The finish is plain black, not glossy. in the pictures online it looks grayish, but actually it's just matte black. The body shape is of a superstrat, with HSH pickup configuration and a floating Ibanez Edge III trem. The pickups are Standard Ibanez passive pickups. INF4 in the bridge, INFS in the center and INF3 in the neck position. There's a 5-way Switch to change between these as well as a volume and tone pot. The guitar came with the trem tools, but that's it (no case, strap; etc). // 7

Sound: I play anything from blues to styles like metalcore, power metal, Alternative, Punk rock... At home I pracrice with my Peavey Vypyr 30, and there's a tube Marshall (don't know what model exactly) where I practice with my band. The guitar is extremely versatile - with the right amp setting it can do anything. But it lacks a bit of something to go to the end in any style, except for basic rock sounds like for punk. For the higher gain stuff the pickups lack punch, especially the neck pickup for blazing solo's. For the crystal-clear clean sound you can't really get it either, but it's close; with the middle-bridge setting. The pickups aren't too noisy, but I've found that they easily make feedback, compared to my friend's EMG's. The bridge pickup is aggressive and very good for crunch too high-gain rhythm tones, but it's too aggressive for cleans - moving over to include the single coil pickup solves the problem though. The single coil in the middle produces a stratty clean, though I never use it by itself, only combined with either the bridge or neck pickup. The neck pickup is very warm and round, perfects for some clear solo's without biting treble, which is perfect for going up to the 24th fret, which can hurt a bit the ears if done on the bridge pickup. It's very nice for cleans, very round, clear sound. // 8

Action, Fit & Finish: The guitar wasn't extremely well set-up, the action and floating trem were fine but the pickups were way too high (almost touching the strings...). The hardware seems fine, except for the place where you insert the trem bar which is a bit loose but this isn't bothering at all. // 7

Reliability & Durability: I've gigged quite a few times with it already, the finish got chipped at one place but it's hardly noticeable. It seems it will last quite a while, although the pickups seem a bit flimsy (they move when you poke them). The strap buttons are solid, but I wouldn't try flips without straplocks. I don't have another guitar (sold my first axe to buy this one), and so I gig without backup - I trust it, but not completely, I would rather have a backup. The finish doesn't seem to be wearing off (I've had it for 2 years), I think it's going to last. // 8

Overall Impression: I play almost every style, and this guitar does all of them fine (but not perfectly). I've been playing for 4 years, this is my second guitar, other than this I own a Peavey Vypyr 30 with a Sanpera II pedal, as well as a Behringer UM-800 Ultra Metal distortion pedal. If it were stolen I'd hunt down the asshole and rescue my beloved guitar. Or I'd probably get a more expensive guitar, such as an LTD with EMG's. I just love the neck of this guitar - it plays perfectly, it's perfectly shaped, my fingers just glide over the fretboard. The pickups aren't that good though, it's the main weakness of this guitar. It's the best guitar for me in its price range; at the time it was the cheapest one with HSH configuration, 24 frets and a floating trem that I found. And of course the extremely comfortable neck. I do wish though it had some nice little EMG pickups though - that was make it one great axe, it's all it's lacking (maybe a mahogany body as well perhaps). // 7

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 8.8
RG5EX1 Reviewed by: unregistered, on march 09, 2011
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Price paid: $ 290

Purchased from: Guitar Center

Features: This guitar was built in Indonesia in 2008. I believe it is a Guitar Center Exclusive model. 24 Jumbo Frets, Edge III Tremolo, Standard RG body with HSH pickup config with INF4/INFS3/INF3 setup. 5 way switch, locking nut, Ibanez tuners. Reverse Headstock. No case included. // 9

Sound: I play mostly metal, I'm an EMG guy but the stock pickups surprised me. My Live rig is a JSX Half stack, my practice setup is a Peavey XXX Combo. No excessive noise with this guitar. If I had to live with the stock pickups I probably could, but I will be swapping them out for EMGs shortly. // 8

Action, Fit & Finish: The first thing I noticed about this guitar was the finish and hardware. Mine is the pewter model with matching hardware. Quality wise the guitar seems to be put together well. My only complaint is that they could have taken a little extra time filing the edge of the frets. Compared to my other Ibanez (Korean 270DX) the frets feels a little rough sliding up and down the neck. As noted by others the hardware finish seems to wear fairly quick, but in my opinion it just gives it character. // 9

Reliability & Durability: I haven't played live with this guitar yet but based on my previous experience with Ibanez I can confidently say I doubt I will have any problems with this guitar. I've heard complaints about the Edge III trem not staying in tune, but you have to take into consideration that floating trems are very picky and they require precise setup and maintenance. I'm using .10-42 on my guitar and it holds tune just fine. I always play live with a backup, but if I was forced to use this without a backup I really doubt I would have any problems. // 9

Overall Impression: I've been playing for 18 years. I've owned 23 guitars, and right now this is my main guitar. I'll let that speak for itself. Are there things that could be improved? Yes. Are there any show stopping flaws? None that I've found. Learn how to setup a trem, take care of the guitar, and it will take care of you. // 9

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 7.6
RG5EX1 Reviewed by: unregistered, on october 11, 2011
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Price paid: $ 350

Purchased from: Guitar Center

Features: I am not sure of the year on this guitar, but it was made in Indonesia. It has 24 Jumbo frets with a Rosewood fingerboard. I got mine in Pewter, which looks very nice, I think. It has a superstrat body and a reversed headstock. The bridge is an Edge 3 tremolo system and the guitar has active electronics. There is a 5 way pickup selector along with one tone knob and one volume knob. There are 3 pickups: The bridge pickup is an INF4 humbucker, the middle is an INF3 single, and the neck is an INF5 humbucker. It has locking tuner pads. It came with a set of allen wrenches for the tremolo and tuner pads, but nothing else. // 9

Sound: Well I play a wide range of stuff, from Blues to Thrash Metal, but mostly Thrash Metal. I have a Line 6 Spider Jam and the guitar sounds great on all settings. I admit at first I thought it was going to be purely a metal guitar, but the neck pickup has a very rich and full sound that sounds nice on a clean setting. The bridge pickup sound is bright but can sound a little tinny and almost weak. I get around this by using some reverb though. I typically use the bridge pickup when I play thrash because it fits my distortion settings which I modelled after the "Kill 'Em All" sound. My only complaint in this section would be that the middle pickup buzzes a little bit, but it's really not that big of a deal. The tremolo system is very good. I use it a pretty decent amount and I find myself having to tune my guitar maybe once every few weeks (with my previous one it was once a week minimum). As far as variety goes, this guitar can play almost anything. // 9

Action, Fit & Finish: The guitar was set up nearly perfectly when I got it. The action and intonation were great. I was getting some noticeable fret buzz early on but that was an easy fix. The only flaw I could tell from the start is that the cap for the pickup selector switch keeps falling off, which gets annoying, and the switch is slightly bent. // 8

Reliability & Durability: This guitar will definitely withstand live playing. It feels solid as a rock (although it looks like it's made of metal or something so that might be contributing to it, haha). The hardware seems okay, except for the cord jack. Twice one of the wires came loose and I had to solder it back on, which was a pain. This seems like a pretty important feature, and my experience has left a lot to be desired. I am still getting some sound problems (like with iPod headphones, sometimes when they get old they only work if you hold them in a certain position) but I believe this is actually the cord's problem, not the guitar. The cord jack is also placed on the bottom curve of the guitar, so when you play sitting down, the weight of the guitar rests on the cord. So unless you have an L shaped plug, it will put stress on your cord and has caused two of them to stop working for me. Next, (and this is partially my fault for bumping it into stuff in the first place) I also noticed that the finish seems to chip rather easily. There are now two tiny dents in the finish where you can see the wood underneath. They're both the size of a pin head, but they bother me. It might seem unfair that I rated 4/10 just for the one problem, but they basically failed at designing the most important part of an electric guitar. The connection to the amplifier. // 4

Overall Impression: Again, I play mostly thrash metal, and this guitar fits that genre perfectly, but it has a wide range of genres that it is more than capable of playing. I've been playing guitar for almost 2 years now, and my only previous guitar was my Squier. If it were lost or stolen, I would definitely get it again. I love how it looks and how perfectly it fits my style. If I had to pick one thing I hate about it, it would have to be the wiring in the cord jack. To me it just seems like an unforgivable thing to mess up on an electric guitar. My favorite feature is the tremolo system. I was a little skeptical at first because it took so long to tune it, but now I barely ever need to tune it, and the tremolo allows me to experiment more with my playing. Originally I was looking at an Epiphone SG standard, but then I played this guitar and since I liked it a lot more, and it cost basically the same amount, I settled on this one. Honestly I can't think of anything more I would want on this guitar. // 8

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
More Ibanez reviews rating category latest review
+ RGIR28FE 8.9 Electric Guitars 10/21/2014
+ SAS32EX 8.6 Electric Guitars 10/20/2014
+ GSR250 8.7 Bass Guitars 10/07/2014
+ DT520 Destroyer 8.3 Electric Guitars 09/29/2014
+ RG140 Roadstar II 9 Electric Guitars 08/21/2014
+ view all
Comments
Your captcha is incorrect