S570DXQM Review

manufacturer: Ibanez date: 06/12/2012 category: Electric Guitars
Ibanez: S570DXQM
This guitar is one that you will love and will make you a very creative and up-spirit musician when you play it. This guitar sounds very good for full chords and very hard striving power chords. Classic distortion fits this guitar best to me, and blues overdrive sound perfect.
 Sound: 8.7
 Overall Impression: 9.3
 Reliability & Durability: 9.3
 Action, Fit & Finish: 8.7
 Features: 9.3
 Overall rating:
 8.3 
 Reviewer rating:
 9.1 
 Users rating:
 7.5 
 Votes:
 33 
reviews (3) pictures (2) 10 comments vote for this gear:
overall: 9.6
S570DXQM Reviewed by: MileHighManiac, on january 26, 2012
0 of 2 people found this review helpful

Price paid: $ 650

Purchased from: Musician's Friend

Features: This guitar is one that you will love and will make you a very creative and up-spirit musician when you play it. It has looks that kill (I have the Bright Blue Burst, but the black is just as nice on the eyes). The quilted maple top is amazingly detailed and makes you feel like you just bought a guitar with a PRS or Framus-quality finish on it. The carved top is even a bonus. The body is made of mahogany and is finger-width thin at the edges, but still has a very comfortable weight and feel on your body. The maple 3-piece Wizard III neck is thin, but not too thin, and plays like no other. I love it so much because cramps of other necks are gone and feel good whether I'm pulling out some Paul Gilbert licks or am barring some blues chords. The 24 jumbo frets play smooth and the action can sit really low over the rosewood fingerboard with the Unique and Sexy looking S-series inlays. The specials ZR Tremolo is literally a dream. Every little hassle about FR's are gone because you can go insane with it and will DEFINITELY stay in tune for eternity. You can even break a string and it won't go out of tune, and changing gauges is a breeze with the little knob thing on the back. The system works so great that is saves me about 20 minutes worth of messing around trying to get a Floyd Rose together, but instead it gives me more time to make everything adjustable perfect and up to my specs. The truss rod is easy to deal with using Ibanez's cool screw-less truss rod cover, It is responsive and reacts with every little change. It has a 5-Way pickup selector, 1 tone knob, and one Volume knob that really change the EQ just right. The Volume knob is perfect, but I just with that the Tone knob was just a little more responsive. The Pickups are great. They are all Infinity pickups, one is alnico, one is single coil and the other has ceramic power. They are all very responsive. The bridge pickup is very powerful for harder rock riffs and makes the solos clean to hear with a good amount of sustain. The 2nd position between the single coil and the bridge gives a very classic feeling and in my opinions sounds very good with light distortion, but sounds the best when played on clean settings. The single coil is responsive and sounds pretty much like a telecaster, but not so much a Strat, and it sounds perfect for blues or metal rhythm. This pickup surprisingly gets fairly good response to harmonics for a single coil. The sustain isn't high, and if I had a large selection of pickups to choose from, I wouldn't choose this one, but if you play more rhythm stuff, It is great. The neck pickup is perfect for solos. The 4th position is definitely the best sounding on clean settings and holds sustain like a dream. This pickup alone is very loud and clean, and doesn't get drones out by distortion which is why it is perfect for hard and classic rock. I'm very happy with how this guitar's stock pickups sound. I only wish the single coil gave more output. No big deal though. The double locking tuners keep this thing exactly in tune because of the ball bearing systems inside it, even after driving around with it in a case all day long. I know that all this probably sounded like I'm trying to sell you the damn thing but everything here is stated exactly how I feel about it. This guitar has so many features and perfect little add-ons that I don't go anywhere without it now. Musicians Friend sent this thing inside a box, in a box, in bubble wrap, in a box, inside a box. It came out so perfect that I danced with joy when I first saw it because it felt like I had just received a specially made guitar for myself. It is beautiful. The Allen Keys are strong and come in a nice little plastic bag that is easy to keep in my pocket. The manual is pretty standard, and it did not come with a case but I got that covered. This Guitar has everything I need! // 10

Sound: I play mostly just straight up hard rock, lots of Classic rock, metal, blues, bluegrass, and everything in between. It holds great sustain because of the body, even though the pickups could have been just a tiny bit more loaded with output. Each pickup setting is very unique and sounds clean with even the most thrashiest distortion. Every thing comes in clearly when you play it and solos are very easy to get how you want them to sound. On clean settings, the 5 pickup selections make you feel like you have a choice between about a dozen acoustic guitars. Solos are loud and clear and notes ring very brightly. This guitar sounds very good for full chords and very hard striving power chords. Classic distortion fits this guitar best to me, and blues overdrive sound perfect. Metal Drive more depends on the amp and FX settings you got. The mahogany body makes this guitar very bright, but thick sounding. I feels like its a small step below that hard driving crunch from the weight of a Les Paul or a gretsch. The volume knob is extremely responsive and shapes tones very well. The only problem with the tone knob is that I feel that it isnt the most responsive and I can't sometimes get that very bassy sound out of it. This guitar is dynamic for every genre of music that you wish to play, to put everything I just typed in a nutshell. // 9

Action, Fit & Finish: This guitar came perfect. I don't know what to say about the stock strings but I immediately put on some D'Addario 10's and it plays perfectly. The thing that I like about the Wizard 3 maple neck is that is thin, but not too thin. I plays super smooth and you can fly on it non-stop. But it also has a bit more of a C shape to it unlike the Wizard 2 neck, which makes chords very comfortable and a joy to play. It is also very wide, and my hand has not cramped up once, even after some hardcore 3 hour sessions. It is very cozy and is definitely something I wish my other guitars had. The frets are very wide and the rosewood fingerboard is very responsive and the intonation is perfect. I like my action low, and this guitar does it. After a bit of truss rod adjustments and a quick bridge height change, I have the string practically within 1.5 mm of the fret and there is no buzzing at all. All my frets came dressed perfectly. A very relaxing guitar, but will definitely roar with my playing, is how I see it. // 9

Reliability & Durability: This guitar is tough. It has only been here a month and has already taken a few hits and some hard licks but it shows no sign of wear. Don't let its small size and thin edges trick you. This guitar has a bit of a muscle-like weight to it that reassures you that it isnt a fragile little sissy guitar. It can really take a hit. Live playing is a breeze as it sits very comfortably on the strap with its lightness and saves your shoulder and wrist some unwanted pains in the long run. Definitely my go-to guitar for a very long time, this one is. I probably wouldn't even rely on a backup if I had a choice, honestly. I have a very strong Faith for this guitar. It sits very well in the case I bought for it and the finish is definitely something that is very very unique. Bumps haven't shown up at all on this guitar. It literally reflects like a mirror and looks like a truly Vintage high price guitar. It's sleek and sexy looking, and the color even changes with the light. When it sits bathed in sunlight, it matches the sky and gives some crazy glares on the wall, but in artificial or dim light, it looks darker and very purple. It is a very extreme guitar that will last a lifetime for me. // 10

Overall Impression: This is my perfect match. It I had to marry a guitar, this would probably be it. It has only been here for about a month and already has at least 70-hours of play time under its belt. It is really hard to ignore and its features helps me be very creative with music and ideas for some new stuff. I can't really afford many nice guitars, and I have only owned a handful, but I practically, eat, sleep, and breathe guitars. I have played almost every kind of guitar there is and know them inside and out, and I can truly say that this one of the nicest guitars I've gotten. If your on a budget, this guitar will make you feel like you've just bought a PRS Custom 24. It feels like one and looks like one for a 1/4 of the price. I'm running mine through a big, ol' Crate amp with my main pedal, a Boss Distortion DS-1. The Zero Resistance bridge has changed my entire outlook on floating trems and having fun adjusting all the little things on this guitar can be enjoyable. I have encountered no problems with this yet. I love this guitar. If you want a very versatile, sleek, quick, and display worthy guitar, well, I can gladly say that Ibanez has made just that. Whoever built and designed this thing deserves a round of applause. Ibanez has got some great workers because this a true work of art. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 8.8
S570DXQM Reviewed by: Dragonfyre137, on may 10, 2012
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Price paid: € 629

Purchased from: Thomann Cyberstore

Features: The Ibanez S570DXQM is available since February 2012. It has 24 jumbo frets, which is something new to the S-series, as the older models all have 22 frets. The body is made of Mahogany with a Quilted Maple Top and the Wizard III neck is made of Rosewood. As this is an S-series, it has a very slim and light body. Bridge: ZR Bridge with ZPS2. The whammy-bar is pretty nice, it keeps the strings in tune for quite a long time, I didn't notice any big differences before and after using it for a while (I admit, I had to tune it again after 30 minutes of whammy-abuse, but I don't think I'll ever need to use the tremolo that much during a gig). PickUps: Passive, 1INF1 Humbucker (Neck), 1INFS1 Singleoil (Middle), 1INFS2 Humbucker (Bridge), 5-way-switch (more about that later). The Guitar comes along with a 3m amp wire and a gigbag, though Ibanez also could have included a multitool as they do with the premium- and prestige-series. However, no big deal: You'll find several hex-wrenches included. // 9

Sound: My musical style is mostly metal (power and speed metal, for example HammerFall, Sonata Arctica, DragonForce, Nightwish) and sometimes 80's Rock and Classic Rock, so I was looking for something very comfortable and having a nice sound. The woods deliver a very warm tone and thanks to the pickup-combination and a 5-way-switch the S570QMDX has a pretty decent variety of sounds (if you play around with it you might even make it sound a little bit like Mark Knopfler from Dire Straits). Since Ibanez is known for making good metal-guitar, this is what I expected. Surprisingly I got that and even a pretty decent allrounder for other musical styles. Though if you like to play Classic Rock, Country, Blues or something with a little less Gain than for example HammerFall, you'd better take Strat. The Infinity pickups are exactly what you'd think of them: Ibanez' attempt on making cheap and well-sounding pickups. Now I can't say I'm disappointed, but I can's say I instantly fell in love with how they sound, either. They are nothing more and nothing less than quite good stock-pickups. Still better than the INF3-pickups in my humble opinion. But I guess most of guitar player change the stock-pickups sooner or later, so let's not be too harsh here. // 9

Action, Fit & Finish: The Quilted-Maple finish is very beautifull and so is the total appearance of the guitar. The fret-markings are very original (instead of dots as you're mostly used to, the S570QMDX has something like a wave), though the fretwork could have been a little bit more precise: Here and there I get the feeling the frets weren't round up very well so the guitar wouldn't have to cost more. But perhaps it's just me. Also there's a little finish flaw at the backside of the guitar, right where the neck is screwed to the body, but you barely see it. I didn't have to adjust the bridge or the string tension or anything but the tuning before I could start playing, which barely took 5 minutes, thanks to the fine tuners (I play the guitar one semitone lower on Eb). Everything else is perfectly fine. I know some people who actually hate the slim body and light weight and can't play with a S-series at all, so make sure you like it and could play it for perhaps 1-3 hours before you decide. // 8

Reliability & Durability: I didn't really have the opportunity to play the guitar live or anywhere else yet but my own room, but I can assure you the guitar is pretty solid. I didn't notice any flaws or anything that would make me believe it would fall apart anytime I'd take it into a rehearsal room. You can actually see that the S series has workman's guitar as they are very slim, light and the flat neck is screwed on to the body very well. // 9

Overall Impression: I've been playing guitar for almost 2 years now and I've been looking for quite a while for a guitar that would suit my style better than a Fender Squier for 100. I wanted to get a guitar that would last for a really long time and that would really fit my expectations. I don't own that much of equipment than the S570 and my Peavey Valve King 112 (an Ibanez Wheeping Demon Wah-Wah-pedal is on it's way) and I have the impression that both my new Ibanez and my Valve King were actually made for each other. If I could go back in time I'd definitely buy the Ibanez S570DXQM again, despide the small finish-flaw at the backside. I can't tell what I love most, but I definitely like the tremolo, the fine tuners and the overall optics. Pickups are okay, but I'll change them for active EMGs anytime soon (birthday is coming). // 9

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 8.8
S570DXQM Reviewed by: jamicmac5, on june 12, 2012
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Price paid: £ 250

Purchased from: Bought 2nd hand, 1 month old and totally unused

Features: My Ibanez is a 2011 model. It's got 24 frets, with a very thin, fast neck perfect for any metal player. It's got a beautiful Quilted Maple top on a mahogany body, maple neck. It's finished in blue and looks beautiful for it. It's got a very very thin body, which is the first thing I noticed about it. It is extremely light (My guitar before this was a Strat and compared to this it's almost half the weight) but doesn't loose any sustain for it. It has passive stock pickups with INF1, INFS1 and INF2 (from neck to bridge). It (of course being an Ibanez) has an Ibanez floating bridge, but this one is very nive, It stays in tune extremely well, and it's very easy to set up with inbuilt string tension wheel and intonation tool. It has a 5 way selector which functions as normal in 1, 3 and 5, but in 2 and 4 splits the humbuckers and combines the middle pickup with the near coil of each humbucker. It also has a master volume and tone control, both of which are a bit noisy when operated, which is a pain, but only to the extent that you get a little hiss when you move the knob. Solution to that is just to be a true metal head and keep it all on full tone and volume all the time. The tuners are 'own brand' Ibanez ones, but with the locking nut they work very well, and are fairly accurate (not as accurate as my old Gotoh locking ones though). This guitar for me did NOT come with a case, and I would advise anyone getting a case for it to get a hardcase, the headstock (as cool as it looks) has a habit of being quite sharp, and has made holes through the many gigbags I've bought for it. The guy I bought it from also gave me a s#! * tonne of picks, and several leads. One final piece of advice the Stock strap pins are not that good (certainly wouldn't advice using them live) so I replaced them pretty fast with some 9 Schaller Straplock copies off amazon, these are absolutely brilliant. I can even do proper guitar flips with these (especially seeing as how light the guitar is). I've seen several reviews of the ZR bridge in this thing which say that part of it broke when they abused it. This is no longer the case. Ibanez have totally fixed it in the new model guitars (but any case if it does break I've taken a look and they've made it VERY easy to swap out the bit for a new one off StewMac) The bridge is otherwise fantastic, very very smooth even with the stabilising ZPS springs, and because it's ballbearings, you know it wont wear down and end up being out of tune after a year. // 9

Sound: I play a range from almost entirely clean Ballady songs, to proper thrash metal. I play it through a Peavey XXX (with JJ6L6GCs) and a Bugera 333 Combo (which I've put JJE34Ls into). This guitar is EXTREMELY versatile, the stock neck pickup is very warm and full, sounds excellent through the XXX's clean channel, and is perfect for getting a really warm round clean sound. I find the neck pickup too fat to put any distortion on it however. The middle pickup has an almost acoustic tone, it's got a lovely high end, giving a very nice glassy sound, also only really any use for Clean sounds though. I have never found much of a use for the 4 position in my guitar (if we call 5 neck and 3 middle) as I never much liked that position in my old Strat, but for those who like a nice warm, slightly quacky Strat sound this will be perfect. The stock bridge pickup is Okay. That's all. It is nice clean, not much to say about it. But if you start putting it through any heavy distortion you can expect it to get fairly muddy. It's not unlistenably muddy, but it's noticeable. It's got a fairly high output (more than the BareKnuckle Painkiller I replaced it with, which is just shy of 16KΩ) but that's about it's only real good point. If you buy this guitar with the intention of playing Rock or Blues (with not much gain) then it's fine, It'll do the job, but if you want a lot of gain then this isn't the pickup for you. I'm talking about it a lot because I think it does have it's merits (clean sound is very nice) but certainly for any lead sounds it's just a bit mushy and not very tight. I would not advise it for anything chuggy either. With the BareKnuckle Painkiller in it this guitar ABSOLUTELY screams. It has as near as any soloist will need to infinite sustain (I exaggerate a little) and with such a fast neck, solos really do sound incredibly through it. To anyone looking to buy this guitar and change pickups, assuming you're sticking with Passives (which you must because there really just isn't enough wood to find somewhere to stick a battery) it's a doddle. The only place you can go wrong is having the two wires the wrong way round and reversing polarity (which is what I did) but even that gives a very nice out of phase sound in the 2 position (especially as it splits the humbucker). Noise wise not much to say. The neck pickup is fine, the bridge pickup is fine, the middle pickup is a single coil, so if you expect to use it on distortion you'll need a noise gate, but even my 18 Behringer NR300 does the job for that. The 4 and 2 positions are a little noisy considering they should be humbucking, but still nothing that will be show-stopping. // 8

Action, Fit & Finish: I can't tell you how well the guitar was setup from factory, because I got it second hand (even if it had only been played twice, it was still set to the guys preference). But honestly with the help of a few YouTube videos this guitar is extremely easy to setup. Ibanez have made everything very simple. With the same allen wrench you use to lock/unlock the nut, you can change the action at the bridge. They supply a little screw in the bridge itself (it looks like a fine tuner stuck into the bridge, but it's actually an intonation adjuster. Simply unscrew it from the bridge, screw it into the back of the saddle, and then unlock the saddle, (you don't even have to detune) and you can set the intonation while it's still in tune. Very useful. The spring tension wheel at the back is also very useful, it helps you set the bridge level much more easily that having to whip out a screw driver and do it by hand. And more accurate too. The truss rod adjustment is simple too. I'd say Ibanez have probably created the most easily customisable guitar I've ever seen actually. I have no other complaints about this guitar, the only flaws I've found are that my pickup rings are a bit oxidized, but be that because they're a bad metal, or because the guy who had it last left it around in his (rather damp/smelly) apartment for a month, I'm fairly sure it's not something anyone who will look after this thing well will find a problem. That being said it proves that the guitar can cope very well with mistreatment, as despite being left in a damp room for ages, there's not a single other thing wrong with it. Only one small complaint of the bridge is that (although the intonation tool is very useful mostly, ) I've found it can't do the bottom string, as it needs to be further out, and the tool gets caught on the edge of the route. // 9

Reliability & Durability: This guitar will DEFINITELY withstand some serious abuse. I like to throw my kit around a bit live, so it's been smacked in to things with some force before, and not even dented. The finish is very hard to chip or dent, it has got a few scratches, but mostly from my belt while playing, and Nothing that is noticeable without a bright light and very good eyesight from 10 Cm away. The strap buttons are terrible, Replace them instantly. Get some strap locks or your guitar will get dropped. But saying that, I've never liked any strap buttons that aren't strap locks because I like to chuck my Shit around. I would absolutely gig on this guitar without a backup, it's never failed me yet, and I can't see it ever doing so unless I set it on fire or blow it up. It's really well made, especially for the price I paid, my only occasional worry is that the pickup which I put in may come loose, but that's just because I'm paranoid, and it was a first time job. Never has yet though. // 9

Overall Impression: As a player who plays in a lot of genres, and likes to experiment with different sounds, this guitar is a winner. It has some exceptional cleans, and this thing shreds like nothing else. What with being in the dangerous position of living 3 minutes from my local guitar store I've played some top range guitars of almost every other thinkable metal brand (Jackson, Schecter, ESP, Gibson) and none of them play quite like this guitar. I've been playing about 4-5 years now, and gigging for only 1. I own a Peavey XXX and also the Bugera copy of it the 333. (The 333 has E34Ls in and the XXX has 6L6s in) and this guitar sounds awesome through both. If it was lost/stolen I would Definitely buy it again, although maybe in white this time, because I think it looks cooler. I love how thin and fast (and light) this guitar is. I hate that the stock Bridge pickup was not that great for a proper metal sound (even though this is clearly a metal guitar). My advice with this guitar, if you have the money to buy it, DO, but only if you can afford to fiddle it. You will want to upgrade the Bridge pickup at the very least, and probably look at upgrading the neck and middle as well. (I'd get an SD rails style thing so you can get rid of some of that hum) If you intend to get active pickups put in, DO NOT get this guitar, it is too thin and the space inside the electronics cavity is too small to fit a battery. And if you go routing any more holes in the poor thing it'll just float off into space it's so light. I wish it came stocked with better Strap pins, and pickups (but then it wouldn't be as cheap, cause Ibanez would think it was one of their premium guitars and charge you a grand for it) That's all. It's a really excellent guitar, especially if you want to mod it a bit. // 9

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
More Ibanez reviews rating category latest review
+ RG140 Roadstar II 9 Electric Guitars 08/21/2014
+ RG3EXFM1 8.1 Electric Guitars 08/20/2014
+ RGIR20FE Iron Label 9 Electric Guitars 08/19/2014
+ S5528LW 8.5 Electric Guitars 08/18/2014
+ Artcore AFS75T 9.3 Electric Guitars 07/10/2014
+ view all
Comments
Your captcha is incorrect