SA260FM Review

manufacturer: Ibanez date: 06/09/2011 category: Electric Guitars
Ibanez: SA260FM
The SA260FM is thin around the edge to give you great comfort, and thick around the neck, pickups and bridge to give you great tone. Features a mahogany body with flamed maple top, IBZ pickups, SAT Pro bridge and more!
 Sound: 9.1
 Overall Impression: 9.4
 Reliability & Durability: 9.4
 Action, Fit & Finish: 8.9
 Features: 8.7
 Overall rating:
 9.1 
 Reviewer rating:
 9.1 
 Users rating:
 9.1 
 Votes:
 149 
reviews (7) 53 comments vote for this gear:
overall: 9
SA260FM Reviewed by: poopsmith666, on september 18, 2006
19 of 20 people found this review helpful

Price paid: $ 395

Purchased from: Axe Music

Features: Tuners are sealed unbranded mini-tuners that are smooth and accurate. Headstock is distinctive scalpel-shaped six-on-one-side that is faced with veneer of the same flame-maple that covers the body. Nice touch. Nut is a neat and tidy black plastic nut abuts the rosewood of the fretboard. Neck is the maple neck is slim and very playable, a feature of Ibanez guitars on which you can rely. They seem to use the same neck across many models, enjoying economy of scale and uniform stringency at the quality control stage. Fretboard is medium-chocolate rosewood with an attractive grain. The traditional fret markers are white pearloid on the face, while the markers on the side of the neck are a more eye-catching abalone. Frets are the medium frets are nicely polished for a smooth playing experience. Body is the mahogany body, Stratoid shape with a carved maple slab on the top. The carving is quite pronounced and seems to make the body "fall away" from the strings, making for a very comfortable and uncluttered playing experience. The back of the body is finished in black but the edge of the maple top is visible, giving the impression of a wooden binding. Bridge is the Ibanez SAT vibrato unit, balanced very well on the three springs visible through the access panel on the back of the body. The individual string saddles are actually made in two pieces. The main saddle unit moves backwards and forwards on an allen screw to adjust intonation. The string itself rests on a separate component held within the saddle which is adjustable for height. This arrangement gives increased stability to the intonation of the bridge, an important plus for a vibrato equipped guitar that lacks a locking nut. The vibrato arm itself is a slot-in, removable type. Pickups are one SAT30S humbucker sits at the bridge and is teamed up with two AS2 single-coils. The humbucker is labelled as a True-Duo humbucker, so when the coil-tap is engaged Ibanez claim it produces a true single-coil tone rather than the half-hearted, "half-a-humbucker" tone found on some other coil-tapped guitars. Controls are master volume and master tone with a five-way selector switch that gives all the familiar Strat-style combinations. Unusually it is the volume control that acts as the push-pull coil-tap. Strap-buttons are medium sized in the standard locations. Output jack is situated on the face of the guitar at the bottom of its very own little rabbit burrow. // 9

Sound: I was very impressed with the tonal scope of each pickup when played individually. The bridge humbucker is packed with great brash highs and had the power to sweetly overdrive the valves in our test amp. But equally the single-coils have a great depth of tonal complexity, the neck pickup on its own produced a monster tone that had me twiddling with Texas Rock riffs and heavy blues. With such excellent single-coils as a comparison I pulled the coil-tap with anticipation. And, yes, the tapped 'bucker joined in the fun on equal sonic terms with its sisters. From classic rock to heavy metal, this guitar will do it all, with the right amp and possibly pedal. // 8

Action, Fit & Finish: Action is very good from the box. Finish is the flame-maple top glows seductively under the sapphire finish. Constructed from two pieces of maple, the top is nicely book-matched. The back of the body is finished in black but the edge of the maple top is visible, giving the impression of a wooden binding. The finish is excellent throughout, and provided that there is no deliberate scratching, the finish will hold up. // 9

Reliability & Durability: The wide tonal palette means you won't need any other axe for the gig. As for the durability, providied that you don't smash it on stage, it is practically indestructable. As I said before, the finish is just superb. It will get the job done for a good long time, given proper care is taken and it is not abused. // 9

Overall Impression: Another bulls-eye for Ibanez. A lovely neck, excellent pickup voicings and drop-dead-gorgeous to boot. One amazing thing about this guitar is how comfortably it sits on the strap when you're standing. It almost seems to vanish into your body, leaving no distractions between you and the strings. At the price this is one kick-ass guitar. If you were thinking about buying a Fat Strat type of guitar then I would strongly suggest you buy the Ibanez SA260FM. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9.3
SA260FM Reviewed by: petrucci_owns86, on october 01, 2007
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

Price paid: $ 453

Purchased from: Guitar Showcase

Sound: This guitar suits any musical style well, but it fits best with the rock/metal/shred genre of music. The True-Duo humbucker system is good, but even on the humbucker setting (volume knob pushed down) it still has a single coil edge to it, but nothing too severe. On a distorted setting, this guitar sounds very good, and the whammy bar works great. All 3 pickups sound good, except if you've always been a humbucker person, the 2 single coils may take some getting used to. // 9

Action, Fit & Finish: The action out of the box was pretty much dead on. A small problem is that for anything other than Standard tuning and any string gauge other than.009-.042 will require adjustment to the string saddles on the SAT Pro bridge to retain the intonation. The bridge is a great alternative to a Floyd Rose-style trem, being that the SAT Pro bridge does more or less the same thing. Word of warning: if you break a string, all the strings will go either flat or sharp (mine went sharp), because the trem has lost it's balance. I suggest replacing the broken string right away; it's bad for the trem to be off balance for long periods of time. Also, adjusting the height of the tremolo may cause the springs underneath the back plate to scrape on the inside of the guitar; at least on my guitar it did that. My advice is to just stick with the height that the tremolo came at. This guitar contained no flaws when I got it, except for the low E string's saddle was missing a small string support on it. I'm not sure if this is normal or what, but either way it doesn't affect the sound of this guitar. The only really noticeable problem of this guitar is the tuning problem. I'd suggest buying this guitar along with a replacement rolling nut (about $30-40) and some quality locking tuners (about $60-80); you're gonna need them if you use the trem half as much as I do. If you can only buy the guitar and not the accesories too, at least use this decently affective remedy. Loosen each string one by one, pop the string out of the nut, and draw on the groove in the nut with a sharp pencil for about 2-3 minutes per groove. This lubes up the groove, and the strings won't get caught in the nut as often. This should tide you over until you get locking tuners and a rolling nut. Those 2 items will pretty much solve tuning problems for good. Let's move on to the True-Duo humbucker system. It is a great, innovative system that switches the humbucker to single-coil mode and back again. You can create all sorts of sounds with a combo of the True-Duo system, the other pickups, and the volume and tone knobs. Although, if the volume knob is in the single coil mode, use of the trem may accidentally hit the knob or push it back down to humbucking mode. Overall, the parts on this guitar are very high quality, and out of the box, the only real improvements needed are some locking tuners and a rolling nut. // 9

Reliability & Durability: It may be light, but I think this guitar could withstand just about anything. I would definitely play this without a backup. The only thing to worry about would be breaking a string, but that is easily fixed as long as you have an extra string, a microphone, and a couple of good stories to tell. But please don't take it to a gig if you plan on using the whammy bar a lot, but don't have locking tuners and a rolling nut. You'll be needing to tune up in the middle of a song, and that just isn't very cool. If it were lost or stolen, I'd buy a new one in a heartbeat. // 9

Overall Impression: Like I said earlier, it matches up with anything in the rock/metal/shred genres. I've been playing for 2 years, and this guitar betters my Epiphone Les Paul in so many ways it's not even funny anymore. The pickups are better, it has an awesome trem (a great, cheaper alternative to a Floyd Rose), and let's just face it, it looks bitchin'! Pics on the internet don't do justice to how godly the Orange flame top looks! My only wish for it to have is some locking tuners and a good roller nut. But I'm getting those soon. I hate nothing about this guitar, and I love just about everything about it down to the pearl inlays on the side of the neck (but it doesn't have pearl fretboard inlays). Everything you can imagine is adjustable on this guitar, even down to how stiff the tremolo bar is in the bridge. Overall, a solid choice for any music that has fast guitar solos! // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9.4
SA260FM Reviewed by: Gui_Lux, on october 27, 2009
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Price paid: € 350

Features: Check the previous threads for all the features, even though mine is an older version of the 260FM (it hasn't got coil taps), they're the same. The only complaint I had, and apparently we all share it, is that it doesn't stay in tune when using the trem. The solution was mentioned before, some locking tuners (mine are Schaller, worth the money, seriously) and maybe a graphite nut. Didn't change the nut, it's not really necessary. It doesn't eliminate the problem, but it helps a lot! Of course, you can't expect them to put locking tuners on a guitar in this price range // 8

Sound: I mostly play rock, from heavy metal to bluesy stuff, but occasionally some jazz. And even though mine hasn't got the coil taps, this is still a very polyvalent guitar! Use the bridge pickup for everything that has to scream, the neck pickup for the bluesy, more 'round' sound. I don't really use the middle pickup (actually, now that I think of it, I NEVER use it...). Weirdly, my bridge pickup broke down (the guy at the shop told me he'd never seen it happen on an Ibanez), so when it was time to change it, I changed it to a Paf Pro. What a difference! The original humbucker isn't bad, but it's not great either. I'm using the SA260 on a Marshall DSL 50 or a London City Pershing (great amp for it's price btw), on a 4X12 London City cabinet. Of course, it rocks. Whether you play a fat blues with the bridge pickup, or a super heavy metal thingy with the humbucker, it's just awesome. With my band we play some pop rock stuff, older rock and songs that require a clean sound. Our other guitarist plays on an Ibanez Prestige (don't exactly know which one) on an Ibanez tube amp. Basically, he paid 800 for the same thing as me. Clean? They sound almost the same. Distorted, there was a difference, but now with the Paf Pro, mine sounds even better. // 10

Action, Fit & Finish: Action, Fit & Finish... Well, like every Ibanez, it was just perfect. Incredible how they manage to do it, but everything was set up perfectly. I did lower the bridge pickup a bit, but that's just me, it wasn't really necessary. After 4 years now, the action is still perfect, the finish is exactly like the first day, what more can you ask? // 10

Reliability & Durability: I've had this guitar now for 4 years, and the only thing is that the humbucker failed, and the guy from the shop told me he'd never seen it happen before. I've played at gigs with it without a backup, and if necessary, I'll do it again. It has never failed on me, it feels rock solid (though it's a very light guitar), all the components still feel like new, the finish is still perfect, With a tad of polish, I'd be able to resell it as a new one. Not a trace on this baby, and I'm not really the most caring guy! Hard rock is meant to be played hard, and that's what I do. And this awesome guitar just takes it all, shows no pain, sounds like it should. // 10

Overall Impression: Like I said, it's a very polyvalent guitar, it'll play anything. I've been playing for 6 years now, started with a Yamaha Pacifica 112 that I replaced with this one, recently bought a Prs SE Custom semi hollow (great sound too). Amp-wise I had a Roland Cube 30, now replaced by a London City Pershing + 4X12" cabinet, and a Marshall DSL 50. They're all a perfect match, though that's not a hard one, now is it? The Ibanez is so amazingly flexible; you can play it with anything. It's incredible what you get for so little money. If stolen, I'd probably buy it again. When I decided to buy another guitar, I wanted something that would sound a lot better than this one. For a Fender or a Gibson, you'd have to go 2000+ to find one with a decent finish and sound that would make a difference. Deusenberg wasn't bad, but that was 1400. That kind of tells it all, doesn't it? Conclusion: if you're thinking about buying this guitar; just do it. You'll get an amazing sound from the neck pickup, and the bridge will sound perfect with some disto. Eventually, you'll change the tuners. And it's probably the only thing you'll ever have to change. (my apologies for my English, it's my third language, I'm not used to talk/write it) // 9

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 8.4
SA260FM Reviewed by: boogie_maan, on april 29, 2010
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Price paid: € 380

Purchased from: Mitros Music

Features: The first thing I wanna say is that I will be REAL and CRITICAL, and won't gve this guitar all tens just because I own it. For a refference point, 10 is a PERFECT guitar. Full model name is Ibanez SA260FM-AMB (mine guitar). It was made in 2007 in China. It has a three piece mahogany body (at least, mine has). It is normal for a guitar in that price range. One piece mohagany body cost more... The body is a double cutaway (Strat-style with sharper and nicer "horns") with a gentle arched top and a flat back. It is outlined (wouldn't actually say binded) with some white material. The guitar is lighter than a MIM Standard Strat, so don't be afraid of that mahogany body. It has a three piece maple neck with a rosewood fingerboard and a satin finish.The fingerboard has a 16" radius, and the width at the nut is 43mm. Rosewood seems a bit lighter in color and smooter than normal, but also is harder than most rosewood fingerboards I've seen. It has 22 medium jumbo frets. It has the usual, round, white fret markers. The fingerboard is bounded with wood, and you can't see frets going in the fingerboard, and it's a realy nice touch. The truss rod can be adjucted both ways (Double Action Truss Rod). Truss rod access point is at the headstock. It has a SAT Pro II bridge (it's a non-locking, fully floating type of tremolo, and can be set to just dive), which works just fine, and has a very smooth surface for palm muting. It has a cheap nut made out of plastic (it's a bad nut). Tuners are non-branded, non-locking, and work just fine. Nothing wrong about them. "FM" means that it has flamed maple veneer (NO, IT'S NOT A FLAMED MAPLE TOP, IT'S VENEER, BECAUSE IT'S JUST 1mm OR SO THICK! ). "AMB" is name of a color. The headstock has a matching flamed maple veneer with matching color, which is nice. It's pretty orangy. It's a HSS (one humbucker and two single coils) guitar with passive electronics. The bridge humbucker is a TRUE-DUO bucker. It means that it doesn't split a humbucker, but it has a third (hidden) coil that you use when you pull the tone knob up (switch to single coil mode), so you get a real single coil, not a half-humbucker PU. It has one tone and one volume knob. It has chrome hardware. It has a barrel style output jack on the top of the body with a very nicely routed hole at an angle. It has everything that a normal electric guitar needs. // 8

Sound: And now, the important part. I play it through a Vox V847 wah, Marshall Bluesbreaker II pedal and a Marshall MG15DFX amp... And I did hear it sing trough some Fende Hot Rod Deluxe (awesome), big 100W MG Marshall (very good). Well... It's stupid to say that you can play any style or any genre on it... It's a musical instrument.. Of course you can play anything... I hate when somebody saiz that... But this gutar does have a lot of tonal textures in it... It's very, VERY versatile. The single coils sound nice... They do have some of that sounn that I can only describe as usual, stock Ibanez thinish sound... But the key word is SOME, not all the way, but just a bit! They respond pretty well to dynamics (soft and hard playing). The thing that I like is that they have well balanced highs and lows. You can get a lot of Fender out of it IF you want to... You know... The twang thing (; the neck PU could be warmer, but it's still ok, the middle is just the way I want it to be. When you put it 4th postion (neck and middle PU), and use some gain and turn the tone knob all the way up to dampen the sound... I SWEAR you can get a realy nice Santana sound with a Marshall Bluesbreaker II pedal. The humbucker is brighter than most humbuckers, and I like it that way... I don't like muddy humbucker sounds on a clean channel. It realy does have some single coil vibe in it. It has nice harmonics (because of that weird single coil nature). When you Switch to a single coil in the bridge postion, you get... A single coil sound, but not all the way. True duo system does sound better than a regular split humbucker, but the sound is a bit muddy. It is twang-y and all that, but a bit less than a regulat SSS guitar on a bridge PU. I think that this has to do with the fact that the single coil PU (the third coil) is further away from the bridge, than it is ona SSS gutar, and it is under the humbucker coils, so it is pretty far away from the strings. Don't get me wrong, it sounds good, it just doesn't sound the same as a bridge PU on a Standard SSS guitar.It suits rock/blues/funk/pop sounds best. Overall, it sounds great, and not just for the money. It put to shame a MIM Standard Strat COMPLETELY! I picked up a realy nice piece, bit generaly the SA series guitars from Ibanez resonate very well, and have nice sustain. When you strum a chord and put a ear on a unplugged SA, you can hear A LOT of things going on in there. It comes to life. That's a good thing. It's a reeealy good sounding guitar. // 8

Action, Fit & Finish: When I tried it at the shop, the action was too low and caused a lot of fret buzz and the trem wasn't paralel to the body. I realy can't say if the workers at the shop screwd it up, or it came with a bad setup frome the factory. The PU-s were adjucted nicely, but I lowered the single coils for a woodier and warmer sound, and set it up nicely and it was great. You can get the action pretty low if you want to... Strap buttons are rock solid and big enough so you realy don't need a strap lock. I played it A LOT standing up and never had a belt slip from a strap button. The Switch and the controls are smooth, tight, there is nothing wobbly about them. Tere were no scratches or anything and the finish was flawless. The finish is pretty thin (but durable) actually, which is a good thing, as it lets the guitar vibrate, and doesn't choke it down. I've had it for 9 moths now, and the chrome hardware looks just as good as new. Even the ring around the humbucker, which is nice, because some higher end Ibanez's humbucker rings wear out easily. The white outline on the body is a nice touch. The output jack grips tightly on a cable which is great. I did mind the neck feel. It felt a bit boring and uncomfortable to me. I like narrower, rounder necks (small radius) with rounded (rolled off)edges on a fretboard. Thies one was flat (16 radius), pretty wide and had sharp edges. But I had it reshaped to my specs by a luthier. Now it's a dream to play on. The stock neck gets a 7 from me, and now, after some reshaping done, it gets a 9.2 (have in mind that this is a highly subjective thing, and that you might love the stock neck). The neck joint is a beaty. It's my favorite shape of a neck joint and doesn't bother you when you play on higher frets. NICE WORK, IBANEZ! Fretwork was OK. Generaly, this guitar looks and feels great. It inspires me every time I pick it up, and that's important. Your instrument MUST inspire you. // 8

Reliability & Durability: As I said. The finish looks durable, strap buttons are solid, hardware looks new after 9 months of playing it every day... The guitar didn't fail me yet, and doesn't seem like it plans to. It's a well built axe, and I think it will last for very long time. I would gig without a backup... I will gig with it without if I realy have to. I don't have one reason to doubt this guitar... // 9

Overall Impression: Well... Here we go. If it was stolen I would hunt that asshole down and break his legs in 78 places, and then I would get my guitar back. But if I couldn't hunt the asshole down, I would DEFINETLY buy another one. It's a great instrument. To me, the gratest thing about is that with this guitar, you have a great, well built base that you can upgrade. It's a Diamond in a rough. It wouldn't be fair not upgrading it, because I think it gives you only 60% or 70% of what it can give you with stock PU's and stock hardware. And still, with that 60% - 70%, it sounds amazing. I plan on putting two of Dimarzzio Area 61's in it and a DiMarzio Paf Pro in the bridge, some locking tuners (I've already blokced the tremolo, and installed a good bone nut), some quality pots and put any guitar from 0 - 1500 to shame with this baby... I have no doubt that it can do it, and I DON'T plan on sellin' it. I picked up that one in fifty guitars that resonates a bit better than the others, I was lucky I guess. But it doesn't matter, the others I tried sounded great too! The only bad thing generaly on it was a stock nut, because it goes out of tune when you use your tremolo, and tonaly, it isn't the best realy. If you plan on using your tremolo (I blocked mine, and lost the trem effects, but gained a fuller sound with better sustain), you should put some quality nut made out of some low-friction material, or a roller nut. Tuners will do fine, but just maybe it would be better if you put locking ones. Then, you will have great tunning stability. I mostly play some blues oriented rock, Hendrix, RHCP, and some pop music... It suits all that very well tonevisely. The stock neck did feel like a neck of some rough, heavy metal guitar, but after a luthier reshaped it for me... If you have small hands, you might find the SA neck a bit big, but if you have larger hands, you will probably love it. So... Don't expect a mirracle, this is a great sounding MIDDLE PRICED GUITAR. But it has character and potential to become ASS-KICKER that laughs at Fenders, high-end Ibanezs, and other overpriced guitars if you invest some money and effort in it. And one more thing... Don't get discouraged by some people that are spoiled by 3500$ Gibsons, Fenders and PRSes that talk bad things about cheaper guitars. They lost their ways, and I feel sorry for them. Find a decent guitar that you can afford, and one that FEELS good to you. It doesn't need to have the best PU's and the best tremolo in the world. When you grab a neck of a guitar and play a couple of licks and it FEELS right, you will know that that's the one to buy. You will sound better than with any Fender, Gibson or Suhr, if you bond with that guitar. (don't get me worng, hihg end instruments are great, but they don't have to bee the right choices just because they cost much). I hope you enjoy this guitar as much as I do. // 9

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9.8
SA260FM Reviewed by: tom_martin_123, on september 15, 2008
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Price paid: £ 280

Purchased from: Rimmers Music

Features: This guitar has a 3pc SA neck with medium frets. It has a flamed maple top on a mahogany body, in super Strat style. The bridge is a SAT pro II, which i must say is excellent for trem. It has a 5 way pick-up selector, 2 tone controlls and one for volume. The guitar has 2 single coil pickups at the neck and mid section, and a humbucker at the bridge, but that can be switched to single coil. This model doesn't come with the locking tuners and floating trem, but these, for me, aren't really needed. // 9

Sound: I all sorts of music from blues too heavy metal and this can handle it all! At the moment I use a crappy practice amp that doesn't make the most of this guitar, but I played it on a spider valve 212 at my friends' house and it amazed me. The sounds are rich and bright sounding on all settings and the mixture of single coils with the humbucker that with the flick of a Switch you can go from jimi hendrix blues to heaver stuff like Metallica. This guitar really can play anything, but is probably best at heavy metal. Overall, the sound is perfect. // 10

Action, Fit & Finish: This guitar is very well set up, being an Ibanez. The pickups are also well adjusted, the bridge came routed properly, it came set up pretty much perfectly, flawless. It is also finished really nicely and it looks gorgeous. All this makes it really easy to hold and play. // 10

Reliability & Durability: I haven't had this for that long but it seems pretty solid. I'd be quite confident to gig this, I believe it could withstand it with ease. Nothing has fallen of it or stopped working up to now and until it does. // 10

Overall Impression: As I said earlier, many styles of music.. but mainly blues and classic rock and this fits any style well. I probably would have asked for them to throw in a free case when I bought it looking back, but that's just so I could get it to a gig. If it was stolen of lost, I would definitely buy it again, it's as good as a guitar that could cost up too 1000 for a quarter of the price. I love the looks of this guitar, I love the sound, I love everything. I would recommend this guitar to anybody // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 8.8
SA260FM Reviewed by: unregistered, on january 06, 2011
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Price paid: $ 490

Purchased from: Bentley Music.Co

Features: -Made in China, 2010 -22 medium size frets -3 piece maple neck -rosewood fingerboard -Bolt on neck which sits deep inside the body. -SAT PRO II bridge..floating tremolo type -Flamed maple top... some people say its veneer.. My local luthier said its thicker than veneer..and therefore it's categorised as maple top. I have the transparent lavender burst model and it's awesome. The finish is glossy and beautiful. This guitar has the super-strat shape and feels great. It's rather light eventhough the body is mahogany. It has two knobs one for volume and the other one is for tone, plus it has the coiltap function. The reviews above stated that the volume has the coiltap function..but I don't know why my tone knob has it instead. Tuners are non-branded and non-locking but very smooth. The Nut's a black plastic non-locking nut. There is a 5 way selector Switch and the pickup configuration is H-S-S.the single coils are Ibanez stock but the humbucker is Ibanez's very own True-Duoe humbucker..which can be split. All electronics of this guitar are passive. The headstock is also finished with the same lavender burst. And the inlays are white and round. The strap buttons are chrome and rock solid. The back of the guitar is finished with the same color except that it's not as glossy. The light body and stylish figures of this superstrat give it a high sex appeal. // 9

Sound: I play metal, hardrock, indie, alternative and classic rock. I gotta be honest, this is my first electric guitar and It's definitely a beginner's dream. All of the pickup positions give you unique sounds that for all styles of play. The single coils have a very fenderesque sound. I use it with an MG15FX Marshall and it sounds bloody awesome.the middle position with some amp distortion gives you an amazing fat sound.the bridge humbucker is great for rhythm. and it can deliver the 'Metallica' sound. The first position with some overdrive sounds like Slash leads. The pickups aren't noisy at all..the humbuckers are bright and not muddy and when split in a clean setting gives you a pure Acoustic sound. Although the trem arm is the floating type...its not possible to make extreme divebombs..its more for the light vibrato effects. In my opinion this guitar would please all Slash, Santana, Metallica, Ozzy and ACDC fans. Its aggresive and bright.Bending the notes in this guitar would give you unimaginable highs better then cocaine. // 9

Action, Fit & Finish: The stock setup on my guitar was perfect. I have no complains.the action was set low but there's no fret buzz at all. The neck is very smooth and easy. Suitable for shredders. The fretboard is hard and smooth as well. Pickups came well adjusted except that some of the wiring work can be seen quite clearly which is a con. // 8

Reliability & Durability: OK..so Its been just 2 weeks since I bought this guitar and 2 days ago it fell flat from the stand. I was devastated, but to my surprise the guitar was all perfect. The fall was pretty bad but there was no dent, cracks or whatsoever...and it was pretty much was unscratched. So I think its safe to say that this guitar is very much durable. The neck is strong, the headstock has been fitted firmly and the plastic nut is kinda solid as well. I can't say anything about the finish since its just been 2 weeks...but all the hardwares are solidly in place and the chrome finishing looks like they'll last. The strapbuttons are rocksolid, firm and you wont be needing straplocks at all. The SA260FM would actually suit live playing more than room-practice. Its a fine built guitar no doubt. // 9

Overall Impression: The thing about this guitar is that you can never beat it at its price. I tested a few ibanez, PRS, and LTD guitars before I came to this..and all the other guitars at this price range feel like toys when compared to the SA260FM...I compared it with an LTD MH-50 and an F-50..and it definitely stoodout..the tone and sounds that you can get with this guitar is clearer and punchy. It puts many high-end Ibanez models to shame. For the price you can't get a better guitar with versatility. Overall, I just love how it plays, sounds, feels and delivers. Its amazing and it makes you a proud owner. // 9

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9.2
SA260FM Reviewed by: JamesEatWorld, on june 09, 2011
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Features: I won't go into too much detail as several other people already have; but its set up with a tremolo bridge, very similar to a Standard strat, which allows you to whammy down but provides pretty solid tuning stability. Its a non-locking Bridge system, which is too be expected with a guitar that's not 100% focused on SHRED guitar. It comes with two stock single coils and a humbucker which can be toggled between using a 5-point selector, providing pretty good versatility. Just the one volume and tone knob each, however I've always found one of each is perfectly adequate, and any more just confuses things. The finish on mine is a grey colour, but I mostly see either amber or purple; I really like the finish, it looks good in pretty much any genre, and works well with the (super)strat style body. // 9

Sound: The humbucker lets this guitar down; I play in a hardcore band, and this guitar suits it to a t, when the amp settings are enough to compensate for the weak-ish 'bucker. Its not the worst by a long way, but it could have a bit more grunt. This aside it really does produce some intense sounds, and the single coils are better than average for a Standard guitar. I play it through a line6 spider 4, using crunch with the humbucker and insane with the neck pickup. This works well and can produce versatile range of sounds. I also jam, playing stuff like ska or indie; and I find this works well too, it manages to keep up when jamming, and definitely better than most other Ibanezes however a good old-fashioned tele does the job much better. The Tremalo will never be as good as a locking system, and I'm glad its not trying to be, but just a solid way to add a bit more expression; but don't expect to be getting dimebag squeals out of it, you'll need a FR or a whammy pedal for that. // 10

Action, Fit & Finish: The action is brilliant, nice and low which is exactly how I like it. The single coils are nice and can get a pretty good sound out of them, however the humbucker is lacking, but is easy to replace so its not too big of a deal. Other than that all the hardware and componants work well, no complaints from me. // 8

Reliability & Durability: The guitar looks pretty solid, I would probably use it with no back-up if I was only going to be playing songs suited to it; however in practice I will probably bring along my trusty SG as well to cover any humbucker-ey gaps the Ibanez missed. However just in reliability terms I think it will do alright on its own. The strap buttons are more solid than most, and the hardware looks like it will stand the test of time. Even though its a thin guitar and looks like its pretty delicate, I think its pretty solid, and will do well. // 10

Overall Impression: Overall I love it! For this price I was expecting a restore job, and to need to modify it; however it only looks like it needs a good pickup change and that's about it, top notch guitar. If this was stolen I would definitely buy another, or one higher up in this range. I would recommend this guitar to anyone, as it would suit almost all genres, but any metal-heads and hard-rockers out there this one is built for you. This guitar is awesome and well worth the money. // 9

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
More Ibanez reviews rating category latest review
+ RG140 Roadstar II 9 Electric Guitars 08/21/2014
+ RG3EXFM1 8.1 Electric Guitars 08/20/2014
+ RGIR20FE Iron Label 9 Electric Guitars 08/19/2014
+ S5528LW 8.5 Electric Guitars 08/18/2014
+ Artcore AFS75T 9.3 Electric Guitars 07/10/2014
+ view all
Comments
Your captcha is incorrect