UV777 Review

manufacturer: Ibanez date: 01/17/2013 category: Electric Guitars
Ibanez: UV777
This is 2005 model Steve Vai Universe series 7-string electric guitar with DiMarzio Blaze series pickups and disappearing Pyramid inlay.
 Sound: 9
 Overall Impression: 9
 Reliability & Durability: 8.5
 Action, Fit & Finish: 9.5
 Features: 9
 Overall rating:
 8.1 
 Reviewer rating:
 9 
 Users rating:
 7.1 
 Votes:
 137 
reviews (2) pictures (1) 13 comments vote for this gear:
overall: 8.8
UV777 Reviewed by: Dyuha, on november 15, 2005
19 of 20 people found this review helpful

Price paid: $ 1600

Features: The debut of the Steve Vai's JEM in 1987 and the introduction of his Universe 7-string changed everything. It's impossible to think of any one person who has done more for the evolution of Ibanez guitars than Steve Vai. The contoured basswood body with 24-fret Prestige JEM neck provides easy access to all registers. The deep routed tremolo cavity allows pitches to be lowered or raised. Vai's choice of specific DiMarzio pickups, combined with Ibanez Split-5 wiring, provide incredible tonal versatility. Steve Vai's Universe -- the guitar that ignited the 7-string revolution -- allows almost effortless transition from 6- to 7-string techniques. - UV Prestige neck - 5pc. maple/wenge neck material - basswood body - 24 large frets - Bound rosewood fingerboard - Edge Pro 7 bridge - DiMarzio Blaze (H) Neck Pickup - DiMarzio Blaze (S) Mid Pickup - DiMarzio Blaze (H) Bridge Pickup - Disappearing pyramid inlay. Basswood is a comparatively lightweight wood, which makes it very comfortable for extended playing. With a good balance of highs and lows, basswood is right in between alder and mahogany in sound character. // 9

Sound: This guitar sounds great, nice high end and very warm. The DiMarzio Blaze pickups are great, they are probably the best pickups for 7 string guitars. The sustain is great. It has a killer 5 piece neck that is flat and wide. Very bright yet full sound, and it can do anything: the distorted tones are amazing and the clean sounds are outstanding. This guitar will work even for country -- it will cover the whole spectrum of music, but obviously it's designed for shreders. // 9

Action, Fit & Finish: From a set-up standpoint, there is something very nice about how rigid the extra thickness of the 7 string fretboard is. It seems that you can get your action lower because the neck is very flat and straight, yet the neck continues to be very thin for ease of playing and comfort. The Lo-Pro action is very precise and with perfect care has resulted in great response. The construction is precision craftmanship to say the least. There are no flaws on this particular instrument -- everything is sturdy and in place. Perfect in every way. Ibanez deserves great recognition for this. // 9

Reliability & Durability: Although the guitar seems very solid, you should have a backup axe because of the floyd rose. It's very reliable, you hardly could doubt this in Ibanez guitars. Be sure, this baby can withstand lots of gigs. The strap buttons are solid and easy to take strap on and off, yet it doesn't look as if the strap would have an easy time working it's way off by itself. Its chrome hardware is nice, won't oxidize or anything. // 8

Overall Impression: Even if this guitar suits almost every music style, it's not the beginner's instrument (especially with its price). This guitar is fairly versatile with sound and has an easy reach. I would recommend UV777 for at least intermediate players -- this is a decent (if it's not the best) guitar to start striking the new techniques (and it's not only Korn, Limp Bizkit, etc). Be creative, this guitar could become your best friend. // 9

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9.2
UV777 Reviewed by: maowcat, on january 17, 2013
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Price paid: $ 1650

Purchased from: Music store in Ohio (ebay)

Features: - Abalone disappearing pyramid fret marker inlays - Mirror pickguard - "Light without Heat" pyramid logo below the bridge - Full body, neck, and head binding provide staggeringly fabulous looks - Double-locking Ibanez Lo-Pro Edge 7 recessed trem - DiMarzio Blaze humbuckers at the neck and bridge - Blaze single coil in the middle - Basswood body - Quartersawn maple neck - 24 fat frets - Rosewood fingerboard No idea when this guitar was made but it must have been in the last couple years, pickups are passive, regular tuners, steel nut (which is awesome btw). I'm addressing most of the features in the review itself so the one main thing I wish this guitar had was a fixed bridge. One point off for lack of fixed bridge and two volume knobs. // 9

Sound: I play mostly metal/rock of any genre and I can say this suits them very well, the low B stays tight when set up properly, I will warn if it isn't set up properly the entire guitar sounds... Off. Used it with a solo rectifier through a Marshall JCM 900 4x12 and AmpliTube 3/Guitar Rig 5. Tonally it's heavy on the bass and high mids, lower on the low mids and balanced highs, but it's really up to the eq on your amp to make the sound you want, you can still get a great mid range crunch with these pickups though, this is just what it sounds like flat. A little noisy but nothing a noise gate can't handle, this is the one thing I like about the Blackouts on my Schecter Blackjack, minimal noise and this is the one area that these pickups fail in. When it comes to tone recreation this thing is Greatttttttttttt, the 5 pickup combinations give you an endless array of sounds that can be achieved. Heavy and clean tones are where this guitar shines it's best and if your like me and prefer to have a slightly more metal tone to your rock songs this is an incredible guitar, it's still more than capable of doing mid range crunch tones I just haven't experimented with it enough. 1 point off for slightly scooped mids and slightly noisy. // 9

Action, Fit & Finish: This was a factory second guitar might I add. There was absolutely zero imperfections on the finish and couldn't have looked any better. The setup was decent but the strings felt a little loose, I was also used to heavier gauge string though, I've since blocked the tremolo (which I can't comment on unfortunately since it's my only seven string and I play live shows) and it feels great. The pickups are at a perfect height absolutely no complaints there, everything is properly routed. My one complaint is the finish, it is a hard 1mm thick layer of Jesus knows what, won't take a point off for that though, you just have to be careful to not bump it to hard as you should with any guitar with a retail value of $2700. // 10

Reliability & Durability: My only complaint about this guitar is the black finish, it definitely chips too easily instead of denting. This is something Ibanez must address with the next one but I feel it's unavoidable considering the nature of the finish and how f--king shiny and awesome the it is. The rest of the guitar is solid, neck is beastly most people can't play the guitar because the neck is so fat (but it's super flat too which is perfect for people like me with bigger hands). All the hardware is high end I couldn't complain about it's durability. If I had the floyd rose engaged I'd have to have a backup, but since floyd rose's are completely useless when you only have one seven string for live play I have the tremolo blocked. Point off for the durability of the finish and the reliability of the floyd rose. // 9

Overall Impression: If your going to think about buying this guitar brand new and blocking the tremolo, buy a Ran guitar, cheaper and better made imo, it'll take six months though. I've been playing for 6 years now, I own a Schecter Blackjack ATX C-1, Mesa Solo Rectifier with a Marshall JCM 900 Lead - 1960 4x12 Cab and now this. If it was stolen or lost I'd wait the six months and get the Ran Crusher, for the sole purpose of the fixed bridge, unless Ibanez comes out with a prestige fixed bridge 7 string, fat change though. The only reason I bought this guitar was the price and the Ibanez neck, and I'm extremely happy with it, it plays well, sounds nice, and looks damn awesome. I'd replace the Floyd Rose with a fixed bridge and strengthen the finish if I could, and put another volume knob on for the neck pickup (and leave the single coil at full). Highly recommended guitar, but don't buy and block the trem like I did, if I had the patience to wait six months for a Ran I'd do it, but when you work an entire summer in the Yukon with the plans of buying a guitar as soon as your done you get a little greedy. // 9

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
More Ibanez reviews rating category latest review
+ Artcore AFS75T 9.3 Electric Guitars 07/10/2014
+ AF71F 8.8 Electric Guitars 07/07/2014
+ SZ720 9.2 Electric Guitars 07/07/2014
+ RGT42DXFX 7.6 Electric Guitars 06/24/2014
+ RG370DXL 8.8 Electric Guitars 06/17/2014
+ view all
Comments
Your captcha is incorrect