DK2 Dinky Review

manufacturer: Jackson date: 05/28/2012 category: Electric Guitars
Jackson: DK2 Dinky
PRO Series
Alder Body with Flame Maple, Bolt-On Rock Maple Neck, Die-Cast Tuners, Rosewood Fingerboard, 24 Jumbo Frets, Master Volume, Master Tone Controls. JT580 LP Double Locking 2-Point Tremolo Bridge.
 Sound: 9
 Overall Impression: 9.2
 Reliability & Durability: 9.3
 Action, Fit & Finish: 8.7
 Features: 9.2
 Overall rating:
 8.4 
 Reviewer rating:
 9.1 
 Users rating:
 7.7 
 Votes:
 183 
reviews (21) pictures (4) 59 comments vote for this gear:
overall: 10
DK2 Dinky Reviewed by: holy_wars_jw, on june 02, 2008
7 of 9 people found this review helpful

Price paid: £ 349

Purchased from: GAK.co.uk

Features: I have the DK2L seen as tho I'm left handed ( haha bet your not laughing). it was introduced in 2006. It has 24 jumbo frets with MOTO Shark Fin Position Inlays, It has an alder body with flame maple veneer on trans finishes, a rosewood fingerboard. the bridge is a floyd low profile JT580 double locking tremelo, ( sick for playing metal \m/. for pickups it has a Seymour Duncan tb4 humbucker which is immence gives a reet nice metal and chunky sound. and it has two single coil pickups both been Seymour Duncan stk-1 pickups which give it a nice clean jazzy sound great for playing blues and stuff like that, it has a 5 way pickup Switch which gives you a lot of choice. // 10

Sound: I play mainly metal ( thrash ) and been left handed it is definantly the best left handed guitar to play that genre, I like jazzy stuff aswell which you can also play on this Jackson, I play it through a Line 6 and through my POD xt, it plays superb has a nice heavy solid sound for playing the heavy riffs and then when you want to relax and play some blues and stuff like that it has a nice ring to it and a nice warm sound to it. from playing other guitar Jackson are probably the only guitar make that you can play every genre on and it will play up to the part, they really are immence and they look sick no matter what model you get. you wont be dissapointed. // 10

Action, Fit & Finish: when I got the guitar it was set up perfectly for what I play, I didn't have to change anything or alter anything. nothing has gone wrong with this guitar it doesnt't knock itself out of tune or have any marks on it, I've knocked it a few times and you really wouldn't know that I have haha, there built really solid and it's still going strong and sounding good. I've had it just over a year now and I've been playin for 3 years and it has definantly been the best guitar I've played. // 10

Reliability & Durability: this guitar will definantly withstand playing Live, it is immencely good, the hardware will never fail. this would definantly be my first choice guitar when going on stage, as it will step upto the part and it's soo dynamic and durable. everytime I pick up this guitar it's like the first day when I got it, it's still perfect, the only thing I've had to change is the strings twice, first time because I snapped the bottom e, and 2nd time I wanted some new ones on. // 10

Overall Impression: this guitar can play any genre of music and be immence and make a big impact, and for what I play it is too good. I've been playin for 3 years now and play through a Line 6 amp, with my POD and it sounds super nice. if I lost it or had it stolen I'd find the bellends that did it and knock them out then take their wallets haha then my guitar, but I would probably get another Jackson probably a custom king v, but if not the same one I have now. there is nothing I hate about this guitar well the body can be annoying sometimes, because some days I hate tht shape but it's really comfortable to play when sat down and easier when stood up. to compare this guitar with any other guitar this one is best by miles, but I'm left handed and have a short choice of choosing a guitar but if your right handed there's probably better guitars for the job but this is an immence guitar I really recommend it. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9.6
DK2 Dinky Reviewed by: unregistered, on july 15, 2004
2 of 7 people found this review helpful

Price paid: $ 746.55

Purchased from: Mr. Entertainment

Features: This guitar was built in the USA (which makes the best guitars). The guitars pickups were duncan design. It had 3 tuners for the person going hardcore in his music. The body style was like a Strat but nothin like a Strat. If you know what I mean. // 8

Sound: I loved the sound for my music. Any kind of rock (punk, metal , h. metal, emo, you name it I play it) there was no un wanted noise. So it made my heavy metal shit a hell of a lot easier to play. It would probably go good for any other kind of junk you wanted to play with it. // 10

Action, Fit & Finish: The guitar was well made. The pickups looked beutifal on the guitar. There was no flaws on the guitar. I loves my guitar. // 10

Reliability & Durability: This guitar can play in live which I have to do next year. The hardware will live just as long as I will. Lol. I can totally depend on this guitar. The finish is real thick. I think it will last a long time. // 10

Overall Impression: As you know I play any kind of rock and this guitar fits my life very well. I also own a Gibson Les Paul. And I use that for other tunings instead of standard. I have been playing for 5 years. If this guitar was stolen I would by another one. I love about its sound. No feedback. Crisp clean sound for everything. My favorite feature is the Duncan design humbuckers. It's all about the sound. I compare this to my Les Paul. The sound is both nice for playing live. A really nice design. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9.2
DK2 Dinky Reviewed by: Cobain-is-God, on april 12, 2004
1 of 2 people found this review helpful

Features: 2003 (or 02 not too sure). Manufactured in Japan. 24 Frets. 1 Volume, and 1 tone control, with 5-way selector. S/S/H setup. Passive duncan design (crap knock offs that will be changed). Body is alder with maple neck and rosewood fretboard sharkfin inlays. XJ frets has red flamed top. Dinky style body. Jackson Floyd Rose Liscensed. Came with hard case. // 8

Sound: Suits my style well (heavy metal), sounds decent on my Marshall MG-100FX, needs new pickups, not too much buzz. Needs some work on the pickups. It is very versatile. // 8

Action, Fit & Finish: Action is perfect for me, had to adjust pickups because they were too close to the strings when I would use the trem it would it them, everything else is flawless and has beautiful finish on it. // 10

Reliability & Durability: Definitely sturdy enough to withstand live playing, hardware is nice, finish seems fine so far, strap buttons are solidly fastened and I will definitely use it for gigging...but always have a back up. // 10

Overall Impression: It can be fitted to just about any style of playing and it should last a long long time. If it were stolen I wouldn't hesistate to get another one, maybe just a different color. I love everything about it except the pickups are cheap and if you get one I suggest you got the extra mile to get new ones. I tried out multiple guitars and this one came on top by far. The only thing I wish it had would be a real floyd and maybe some realy duncan pickups. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9.4
DK2 Dinky Reviewed by: Mustafa Jimjam, on august 21, 2006
1 of 2 people found this review helpful

Price paid: $ 823.5

Purchased from: Local Music shop

Features: It has an awesome design, you can get many different 1s but I went with the hot rod flames. It was made in Japan. The pickups are Seymour Duncan which give a really heavy metal sound. 24 frets. Also a maple bolt on neck which goes really well with the body design. Selection of 5 pickup settings. // 10

Sound: I play heavy metal music, bands like Megadeth, Judas Priest and Metallica and this guitar is ideal for that style of music. The acoustic sound is very good also. I use a Marshall 30dfx with a Zoom G2 pedal which makes the guitar sound perfect. The range of pickups give you different sounds so you don't have to change the pedal sound you can just change the pickup. // 9

Action, Fit & Finish: The only downside to this guitar is because of the floyd rose double locking tremlo system it does take longer to down tune. It wont take that long so if it doesn't sound right the first time don't panic you'll look like a fool trust me, I know. Other than that I absolutly love this guitar as soon as I put it down I want to start playing it again. that's why I don't have a job. // 9

Reliability & Durability: I have snapped a few strings but thats about it. If you change the strings before you go on stage it should definitely hold out. This guitar is so easy to play my other guitar is a Flying V and that is all over the shop, when you put it on and let go of it the headstock ends up facing the floor but this just guitar stays in place. // 9

Overall Impression: This guitar is perfect, I was torn weather to by this guitar cus it cost quite a bit of money. Just think of all the jelly beans I could have bought with 450 quid. I have been playing for 1yr and 8 months and I play with a Zoom pedal which just makes guitaring so much better. If it where stolen I would go shotgun crazy in a supermarket, but after I got out of prison I would definetly buy the same guitar. Buy this guitar I urge you! // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9.8
DK2 Dinky Reviewed by: unregistered, on november 10, 2006
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Features: The DK2 is made in Japan. It has 24 frets and a very thing/fast neck that is great. It has and alder body and rock maple bolt on neck. It's shaped kinda like a Strat, in my opinion, like one on steroids. It comes with a Floyd Rose liscensed bridge. When mine arrived I was very dissapointed to find out that they forgot to send me the tremolo bar. It has a 5-way pickup selector, and the first just turns the sound off completely which is nice. It has one volume and one tone knob, which is really all it needs. // 10

Sound: I use a Marshall MG100 Half Stack with digital effects. When I got this guitar I thought it would sound real heavy, and I played it and it sounded just plain normal. I had to mess with the controls a bit to get a heavier sound, but I think it's because my amp does not have all that much gain. If I played it on my friend's Crate combo amp, then it would be suitable for metal, but my Marshall just doesn't sound the same. // 9

Action, Fit & Finish: I got this guitar and it was already tuned to Eb, but I tuned it back to stnadard because that's how I play most songs. The strings buzz a tad around the first few frets, I might take it to a nearby GuitarCenter and have them set it up so there isn't any buzzing for a price. I bought the DK2 in the Eerie Swirl color, which I was not sure about because of how much it looked purple on the site, but then I went to a guitarshop and saw it and decided. I was going to get the Crimson Swirl, but I didn't like the chrome hardware. There were absolutely no flaws in the finish at all. Fingerprints and smears haven't been any problem at all. // 10

Reliability & Durability: I'm expecting to play this guitar at school somewhere around February in a talent show with my band. Just by playing this guitar I trust that the hardware will last and it will not go out of tune every five minutes. The strap buttons it came with were alright, but I decided to put the Schaller strap locks I had on it just in case. I am not the gentlest with guitars, but I don't think it will show. // 10

Overall Impression: I play every kind of rock I can think of. I have played for over a year. Better guitars have somehow helped me play better. This guitar is easier to play on than my old guitar, an Epiphone G-400. It also would always go out of tune and it frustrated me to no end. I can honestly say I hate nothing about my Jackson. If it could have anything, I would want it to have a set neck, but still probably unfinished. I think a set neck sounds better, but I settled for the DK2. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 10
DK2 Dinky Reviewed by: unregistered, on january 10, 2007
1 of 3 people found this review helpful

Price paid: $ 677.1

Purchased from: Local Guitar Dealer

Features: Made in Japan (2005) the features on the Jacson Dinky DK2 are phenomenal for the price. There are 24 jumbo frets, an alder body (nice weight), Floyd Rose floating tremelo system, 5-way selector and volume and tone control knobs. The DK2 also has Seymour Dunacan pickups wish sound amazing. My axe has a transparent blue colouring and of course the famous pearl inlay shark fins on the fret board. The body shape is perfect for someone like me who favours the Strat or Washburn bosy shape. // 10

Sound: As I paly metal (mostly Iron Maiden) the Dinky suits this style very well indeed. I use a Marshall amp without a pedal but cna easily obtain the ideal sound without this effect. The DK2 sounds good on both a clean and heavy sound and attains rich tone on the clean setting. // 10

Action, Fit & Finish: When I received my DK2 it was set up perfectly and there wasn't a blemish on it. The locking system keeps it in tune perfectly so no problems there. The playing action is superb and the neck is as straight as a die. Pretty low and smooth at the same time. // 10

Reliability & Durability: Obviously I haven't had my Dinky too long but I am sure that it will be a solid guitar and will withstand most things I out it through. The strap buttons seem pretty solid so I would never use a back up. It is a pretty dependable guitar. This is a pretty reliable and durable axe! // 10

Overall Impression: Essesntially the Jacson DK2 Dinky is a perfect fit for the type of music I play (metal). I have treid Strats, Washburns, BC Rich's in the past and this guitar surpasses them all. It has a certain edge and quality to it that most other axes don't have. Attitude! If it were stolen I would certainly buy another one and be very upset at the same time! I have been playing for around 20 years so am obviously quite experienced. All in all I have few if any gripes with the Dinky. It is an amazing metallers guitar for the price. Well worth the money! // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 6
DK2 Dinky Reviewed by: unregistered, on april 15, 2008
1 of 2 people found this review helpful

Price paid: $ 638.67

Purchased from: Andertons

Features: Made in Japan. 24 jumbo frets. Bolt-on rock maple neck with Scarf joint head stock. Fingerboard: rosewood with compound 14 to 16 radius. Alder body finished in black gloss. Seymour Duncan JB TB4 humbucking pickup at the bridge and 2 Seymour Duncan STK-1 single coils for neck and middle positions. 5-position pickup selector. Floyd Rose Licensed Jackson low profile JT580 LP double locking 2-point tremolo. Jackson cast tuners. Only came with small toolkit for adjusting the bridge. // 8

Sound: I had read many of these reviews and decided to check out a Dinky DK2 for myself, I played one in the shop and was straight away sold. The neck alone was worth buying the guitar for as it feels perfect for my hand and plays very fast. Rather than buying that one however I wanted one in Black so another one soon arrived and I collected and paid for it. (There is a point to this story). I play mostly Metal and rock through a Marshall JCM2000 DSL 50 Half-stack, and this guitar fits very well. It looks the part and the neck allows fast playing. The pickups are fantastic as others have reported and with the alder body produce a crisp and bright sound perhaps a bit too bright for some styles of music. Playing around with the volume and the tone controls accross each pick-up position yields lots of differences in tone, especially with a valve amplifier. For the price the sound is excellent and compares very favourably with higher priced alternatives. // 9

Action, Fit & Finish: Ok here is the less impressive part. As mentioned above, I bought this newly arrived guitar having not played this exact one, which in hindsight was a mistake. The guitar was basically not setup at all, not even close to being in tune. Floyd Rose was not parallel to the body, lots of fret buzz with a high action (neck needs major adjustment), some almost dead notes above the 15th fret where they are fretting out. The trem bar is loose. The intonation needs adjusting. The two single coil pickups are leaning towards the back of the guitar rather than parallel to the strings. On the positive side, all these problems can be resolved I hope and I have now given this over to a guitar tech to rectify. The finish itself is beutiful and the pickups produce no background noise, frets are nicely aligned and seated. I will have to rate this a 1, as to be honest I expected better. Guitars should not be allowed to leave the shop with the problems mentioned above. // 1

Reliability & Durability: It all appears very solid, I certainly would not gig without a backup however. The strap buttons are large and securely mounted, the finish appears solid. I suspect like many guitars, if you look after your instrument it will serve you for many years. // 6

Overall Impression: Have played for around 20+ years and have owned many guitars during that time. I have been generally impressed with the Dinky DK2 and for the price it is an excellent purchase however follow my advise. When possible see and play the guitar in the store before buying it, checking these things over can save you a lot of time and money later! Common sense I know, I made the mistake of trusting my instinct and hoping it would be correctly setup on arrival. // 6

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 8.4
DK2 Dinky Reviewed by: DarkAngel33, on june 11, 2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Price paid: $ 420

Purchased from: Guitar Center

Features: - 24 jumbo frets - One volume knob and one tone knob - 5 way pickup selector - Duncan Designed pickups with SSH configuration - Alder body with a rosewood fingerboard and shark fin pearl inlays - Floyd Rose Licensed Tremolo system // 8

Sound: I mostly play metal or other types of rock. There's a big tone variety. // 8

Action, Fit & Finish: Mine came with low action and the pick ups are ok. I did not find any flaws (yet). I've had mine for over half a year. // 8

Reliability & Durability: I'm pretty sure this guitar will be good on stage, but I haven't tried to yet. The finish on my guitar is very good. I've accidentally scratched and bumped it many times, and it does not reveal the wood. It's a very dependable guitar. I would use this guitar w/ out a back up, I'm fully confidant in it. // 8

Overall Impression: This is the best metal guitar I think I've found. But that's MY opinion. It's suits my music styles just fine. If it were stolen or lost, I would definately buy another one. I love it so much! I love absolutely everything about it. My favorite feature is the thinner neck. I have small hands, so it's easier to play. If anything, I wish it had 2 humbuckers, but Jackson already made some models with 2. I'll probably buy the other Dinky models! // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 8
DK2 Dinky Reviewed by: unregistered, on july 20, 2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Sound: I am playing this guitar with a Peavey XXX 40W tube amp and no effects whatsoever. My favorite styles are rock, heavy metal, and blues. The pickups were changed to a SD Hot Rails (neck), SD Strat Lipstick Tube (middle) and SD Invader (bridge). This setup is very versatile and very powerful, and create more sounds than the standard setup which was mediocre. The sound is full and rich, with lots of grind and sustain. Some fret buzz on the low E string still remains after switching to 10-46 strings and resetting the action. // 8

Action, Fit & Finish: The guitar was supplied just fine. The first moment I played this guitar I knew it was a hot rod guitar and in a totally separate class than my Yamaha Pacifica. The frets were in perfect condition and the neck felt incredibly fast. The binding and inlays on the neck are a good value for a guitar of such a affordable price. // 8

Overall Impression: It's difficult to stick to owning just 1 or 2 guitars, but if you need just one guitar for rocking out and you love to shred, this one is it. If I had to do it again, I'd invest in one Jackson over $1000 and skip the upgrades on the DK2. I can't really rate this guitar a 5 since I know there is alot better out there. But I plan on having this guitar for decades to come, it's easy on the fingers and loads of fun to play. // 8

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9.5
DK2 Dinky Reviewed by: ethereal sin, on january 21, 2006
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Price paid: $ 400

Purchased from: Top 10 Music

Sound: I've not owned many guitars, but I have played my share of them. This guitar is up there with the more expensive guitars. My cousin owns a Gibson Les Paul and I believe this sounds just as good distorted and even better clean. I play this guitar on a Crate CR-280, and I couldn't be happier. No matter what I play this guitar comes through for me. Whether I'm playing fast thrashy riffs of Metallica or clean chords this guitar sounds great. For optimum clean performance, set the pickup selector Switch for the neck pickup. // 10

Action, Fit & Finish: The guitar was set up excellent. Sure, it had a flaw or two but nothing serious or that couldn't be fixed. When I got it the action had to be adjusted a very tiny bit because it was a little high around frets 1-5. Also the volume knob tends to get loose and rattley but that's easily fixed. As for the body, it's great. I've had this guitar for about 2 months, and lets the say I'm pretty clumsy. This guitar has already taken a beating, but it doesn't even show. // 9

Reliability & Durability: It's a pretty durable guitar. I don't play live, but if I did I would definitely put my trust in this guitar. Because it seems sturdy, but I would always have a backup playing live, no matter what guitar I was playing. // 9

Overall Impression: My overall impression is just wow. I play all types of music and this guitar rips through all of them like nobody's business. If this guitar ever got stolen I'd buy another in a heartbeat. I compared it to many other guitars before buying. My cousin's Gibson Les Paul, a Fender Strat, a few Ibanez guitars, and a Fernades guitar, and this guitar surpassed all of them. If you're looking for a guitar, but don't have a lot of cash, this will save your life! // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9.8
DK2 Dinky Reviewed by: tubab0y, on april 17, 2006
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Price paid: $ 300

Features: This guitar was made in 2006 in Japan. Great guitar, 24 frets, speedy, thin neck, jumbo frets, ebony fretboard, blue with orange and yellow flames finish, dinky style body, floyd rose licensed bridge, S/S/H Duncan Designed passive pickups, locking nut. Think that about covers it. // 10

Sound: I play everything, but mostly satriani and hendrix stuff. I use it with a Yamaha 25W amp, and once in a while a chorus pedal. It has a rich sound, much better than my last guitar, a Squier Strat. It can give you any sound you want to. // 10

Action, Fit & Finish: Perfect factory set-up. The strings stretched a bit at first, but that's probably because it sat on a shelf for two months before I bought it. The finish has a tiny crack by the neck, but that's why I got it so cheap. No complaints. // 9

Reliability & Durability: Never used it live, but I'm sure it will hold up to it. The hardware seems great; pickups are a little weak, but that's ok with my playing style. The strap buttons were great, though I replaced them with home-made straplocks because of my playing style. I don't think I would need a backup guitar. The finish seems great; I can tell it's nice and thick, though it does show fingerprints easily. // 10

Overall Impression: This guitar is a great match for any style of music. It's perfect for the couple years I've been playing. I would definitely replace it if it were stolen. I love everything about it; the floyd rose is awesome, almost flawless finish, speedy feeling neck. I compared it to the Ibanez JS1000, which is about the same, and the only difference was that the Ibanez had a little better pickups. If it had one improvement, I would put better pickups in. I love this guitar. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9.6
DK2 Dinky Reviewed by: mysistermeac, on january 26, 2007
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Price paid: $ 756

Purchased from: musikborsen (sweden)

Features: It's made 2006 I think and it's made in Japan. It has 24 frets, and a maple bolt on neck. Mine hade Duncan Designe pickups but I changed to real duncans instead. But the Duncan Designes is pretty good too. 5 pickup settings, the singelcoils makes it very nice to play clean on, and the humbucker handle's the distortion well. // 10

Sound: I play mostley trash/alternative metal (Trivium, Metallica, Megadeth and before System Of A Down), and the guitar fits my style perfect. The humbucker and the neck is what I most like about this guitar. I'm using a Kostum 35 w amp and a Behringer Ultra Metal. it's not that noisy, and I use a lot of dist but I don't hear any shouting or something like that, so it's nice. Very full and bright sound, it has a very heavy sound but it still not to bassy. // 10

Action, Fit & Finish: The guitar set-up/action was perfect, and the pickups we're adjusted good. The only "flaws" the guitar got was some fingerprints at the black finish, but that was after I've justed it for a while and yall know how it is with a black finish. I didn't like the flames in the beginning, but after I played it I fall in love directly. The volume controls was a little loose but nothing serious, they didn't fall off they're just kind of loose. // 9

Reliability & Durability: I can really trust this guitar Live I think, really nice and thin neck. The hardware seem's like it will last at least 10 more years. The strap buttons are just perfect, nothing wrong with them. they're kind of big but I like that becuse then you know that it will not fall to the ground. I'll use it at a gig without a backup, actually I have a gig soon and I'm not using any backup then. I think the finish will last for ever. // 10

Overall Impression: I play Trivium the most, and I must say this is a perfect match. I noticed that they're solo guitarist (corey beaulieu) used a Jackson V before, and the neck on this is kinda the same so it's perfect. I've been playing for almost 4 years now and I sold all my other 3 guitars and bought this, becuse I wanted only one guitar that was perfect for me. If it we're stolen I would probably call the police, get out myself and look after the bitch, and if I found him I'd kill him. I love the neck and the pickups, and I hate the blackfinish becuse it gets very dirty fast. When I bought it I tried out a lot of Jackson guitars, mostley DK's and some Rhoads and a schetcer 7-strings, and this was the best of all of them. I wish it had 2 humbucker and 1 singel coil in between, but it's nice this way too, becuse you get a very good clean sound out of it. // 9

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9
DK2 Dinky Reviewed by: rrfan, on may 21, 2007
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

Price paid: $ 526

Purchased from: poweralley.com

Features: This the Jackson "Pro Series" DK2T made in Japan. It features an alder body, string thru tune-o-matic (fixed) bridge, bolt-on maple neck w/rosewood fretboard and 24jumbo frets, 14-16 compound radius, two humbuckers (Seymour Duncan Jazz & JB), 3 position Switch, and one volume and one tone knob. It gets a 10 for having a compound radius and name brand pickups (not OEM or "designed by") at this price. // 10

Sound: I wanted an all purpose rock guitar that could play anything from alternative to most metal. I don't like Duncan pickups so I swapped them for a Dimarzio PAF Pro (neck) and Tone Zone (bridge. I also replaced the 3 way blade Switch with a Stew Mac Mega 5 way Switch which gives me bridge both coils/ bridge single coil/ bridge & neck single coils/ neck single coil/ and neck both coils. I love this set up. The Switch gives me tons of variety and the Tone Zone is a killer pickup IMO - especially on an alder body where many pickups (like the JB) sound too thin. Plus, the TZ has more gain than the JB so it's better suited for rock. I play through a DigiTech 2120, Mesa Boogie 50/50 power amp into a Marshall 2 speaker cab. My 8 rating is an average of the guitar before and after my modifications. // 8

Action, Fit & Finish: Factory set up was the usual, high action, poor intonation. You should always re-setup a new guitar. One of the tuning peg nuts was loose as was the nut for the volume knob. From what I know, that's not too unusual for low & mid level guitars, but disappointing anyway. I also had to flip the D, A & E saddles around (they come reversed for some stupid reason) to get proper intonation. After the guitar was set up properly, I got very low action with almost no buzz (@ 17th 3/63 high E & just under 4/64 low E). After my luthier installed an Earvana OEM nut, intonation was dead on for almost every fret. FWIW, the Earvana nut really does works, but do not try to install the OEM version yourself! One of the best things about this guitar is the neck. It has a slick satin finish and is very fast, but the profile (i.e. back of the neck) isn't super flat like the Ibanez Wizard neck. It's almost perfect for me, just a tad thin, but I like somewhat thicker necks anyway. Other then the loose bolts, overall fit and finish was very good. However, this was my second one. I sent the first one back because there were chips on the neck binding and the neck itself sat too high in the pocket. Again, rating is an average of before and after mod/final set up. It does not include the first DK2T I returned. // 8

Reliability & Durability: This is a solid guitar, and I expect it to last a long time. The black hardware finish is susceptible to coming off, but no more than any other guitar. Strap buttons are nice and big, no need for locking straps unless you plan to swing it around in circles. I would never gig without a back up, but you could with this. // 10

Overall Impression: I bought this guitar because I wanted a dependable, all purpose fixed bridge, rock guitar. After the modifications & proper set up, it's my favorite guitar along with my Wolfgang (which costs 3x as much). I would definitely buy it again (& make the same modifications) if it was stolen. In fact, if I start playing a lot of gigs, I may buy another anyway. This isn't the perfect guitar for me, but after playing over 10 years and owning at least 10 different mid & high end guitars (incl. Gibson LP, PRS, Ibanez Prestige RG, USA Jackson, ESP), my perfect guitar will have to be a custom build. Overall, I give this guitar a 9 despite some of the quality issues. For me price matters. You can't compare $500-$600 guitar to $2000-$3000 guitar. This guitar screams good value. With a little better quality control & factory set up, it's a 10/10 steal out of the box. Keep in mind that even though I don't like Duncan pickups, this is the only guitar I know of for under $600 (street) that features name brand pickups. The compound fretboard radius is another high end feature and offer great playability. FYI, I paid $526 plus case at poweralley.com which was the cheapest price I found by $40-$50. The price includes a free set up, but I didn't want to wait do my own set ups anyway. It's the second guitar (the first, an ESP NT-II arrived in flawless condition), I've bought from Power Alley and definitely recommend you check out their prices before buying. // 9

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 7.8
DK2 Dinky Reviewed by: jrnjd, on september 12, 2007
0 of 8 people found this review helpful

Price paid: $ 150

Purchased from: mooresville music, IN.

Features: Not sure of the year, fairly recent. Made in India with 21 frets. Super thin neck good for metal, medium frets on rosewood fretboard. solid top satin finish (mine is black) double cutaway, active dual humbuckers (not sure of make/model) that sound better than most other guitars in same price range, tremolo bridge (with a little tweaking now stays in tune) 1 volume knob, 1 tone knob and 3-way selectror switch. Not sure about tuners but have not had problems out of them. Very good beginner guitar, I reccomend anyone wantiog to learn to play rock/metal, get a dinky. the price is small but the sound is not. // 8

Sound: I play rock/metal so this guitar suits me well. I usa a Kustom 65 watt 1X12 celestion amp with built in effects (chorus, reverb delay, slap back, flanger and vibrato. You can really wow people with some heavy power chords with distortion and plenty of gain but you wont send anyone to their "special place" on the clean channel, it is not bad but it has dual humbuckers so it is not a good blues or contemporary guitar. I like the fact that you can get pinch harmonics on this relatively inexpensive guitar fairly easily, especially in lower tunings. // 7

Action, Fit & Finish: This guitar was the one I learned to play on and I had it professionally set-up after I got fairly decent. It didn't change very much, the action was still low and still sounded the same, I wish I had just left it alone. It was like throwing money out the window. Like I said earlier the tremolo bridge needed some adjusting to stay in tune but that was pretty simple. // 7

Reliability & Durability: I am not in a band so I can not say whether it will withstand Live playing, I have played for friends and family and it is fine but I don't get too wild. Hardware seems fine, strap buttons are fine, I do not have strap locks and the strap has never came off. If I did play gigs I would play it without a backup, but I think I would be nervous playing a Gibson without a backup, you never know. The finish is fine after 2 years of almost daily playing. // 9

Overall Impression: I play rock/metal and this guitar is definately a screamer. I have been playing for over 2 years and I also own a First Act electric guitar (J you N K) and a Tradition Strat style with a humbucker single single set-up so I can do the blues thang. Maybe to have the bridge adjusted but that would be all. I would buy a Jackson again but a better model now that I am a better player. I love the raw metal sound it has and I hate the headstock, it is hard to tune on the fly. I had onl; y been playing for a few months when I bought this guitar so I did not know a lot about them to be able to compare. I simply played guitars until I found one that sounded good, felt good and fit my budget. Voila, here we are talking about a Jackson DK2 Dinky. Unless we own a Gibson SG or Les Paul or a Randy Rhodes RR1 or a PRS Custom etc. we all want our axes to have something they don't, am I right? // 8

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9
DK2 Dinky Reviewed by: unregistered, on june 24, 2008
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Price paid: $ 700

Purchased from: Guitar Center

Features: My Jackson DK2 Dinky Pro Series is amazing. It has 24, easy-to-reach, jumbo frets, with a rosewood fret board. The wood on the body is alder with a flame maple top to show the unique design through the beautiful transparent blue paint. The neck has to be the best neck I've ever played. it's finish is makes it so easy to manuever around, and feels great on the palm of your hand. It also isnt thick so you don't have to over expand when trying to reach certain notes. It has a liscensed black Floyd Rose tremolo system, with Jackson tuning heads. There are two knobs, one volume, another tone, and a 5 way Switch. There is a Bridge humbucker, a single coil middle, and a single coil neck pickup. They all work great, and are very hot, giving you the best sound and the best harmonics. They are made by Seymour Duncan. Besides the guitar, there was nothing included. // 9

Sound: I play all rock n roll going from The Beatles to Iron Maiden, so my tone and style ranges. This guitar is great for everything. Put on moderate distortion and your playin' Cream, crank up the high gain and your playin' Metallica. I use a Crate GTD120 solid state amp, which is just OK, and I'm getting probably the best tone out of it with my Jackson. The thing rips. On the clean setting, on the bridge setting, it can be a little tinny, but if switched to the neck setting, you get a real warm bluesy sound. The harmonics are great, natural, artificial, and tap, and it has great sustain. // 8

Action, Fit & Finish: The guitar actually was setup up amazingly. This is my first time straying from Gibson and Fender, and I have to tell ya, this thing has less problems than any Fender I played. The Pickups were all perfect height from the strings, and the Floyd was set up just how I like it. Everything was routed great, and looking into the cavaties, it's very neatly wired. No problems were encountered yet with this guitar (Knock on Wood). // 10

Reliability & Durability: This guitar most definetley will withstand Live playing. I would play a show without a backup. This thing has gone through some tough times, and yet it's still in there with no dents, and everything staying in place. The strap buttons were the only thing I didn't like. They were very small, and the strap would not stay on very well, so I replaced them with Schaller strap locks and now they're fine. // 8

Overall Impression: Overall this guitar is great. It matches my style of music completely. I have now been playing for 2 years and I've had it for one year, and it's lasted, and I've really had time to fool with it. In my opinion, this thing is better than a Fender Strat. I'll keep this until I die. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 8.8
DK2 Dinky Reviewed by: michael_hagoo, on july 03, 2008
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Price paid: A$ 800

Purchased from: Billy Hyde Music

Sound: I play metal and the guitar really suits it, but it also produces a great clean tone. I wouldn't recomend using it for stuff like AC/DC or Led Zeppelin it dosnt produce a very good crunch tone but is awesome for Metallica, Van Halen, Trivium, Iron Maiden, Pantera, Anthrax and all the heavy stuff. I'm using a Line 6 spider 3, 15 watt amp (no effects). Even when I put a lot of distortion on it still plays quite cleanly but not as much as I'd like. It sounds Great on a clean setting an does not make any noise. On a distorted setting it sounds amazing the distortion I get out of the pickups blew me away. I compared it with my old crappy squire and the Jackson produces a much heavyer yet much cleaner tone and the pickupps really do make a difference. The distortion makes the squeels with the whammy even greater. // 8

Action, Fit & Finish: Everything on the guitar was set up fine exept for the flyde rose wasn't tuned properly and the stings buzzed against the fretboard which I went and got fixed. The volume and tone controls were loose when I got it but it was easy to fix myself. // 9

Reliability & Durability: The guitar has withstanded very well so far, I haven't had any dameges with the harwarwe and it has held up well. The strap buttons are extremly solid and unlike my last guitar have not come loose at all. The finish is great and I have not got ONE major scratch in it's 3 year time with me, my last guitar got extremly scratched very easily in having it for only half a year. I would definetly use it at a gig exept it is a bit heavy but dosnt seem to give me any pains or problems. // 10

Overall Impression: The guitar sutes my music style very well. I've been playing guitar for about 4 years now. I also own a Squier Strat (which is crap) a bass and bass amp. And a drum kit. And a Line 6 Spider 3, 15 watt amp. There is nothing I wish to have asked before buying the guitar, I asked everything that I needed, advice: always ask about the guitar you are buying and anything that you don't understand or that you are curious about on the guitar it is a major help! Iff it were stolen I would probebly buy a different guitar although I love this one there are better guitars out there. My favorite feature on the guitar is the Floyde Rose, and I hate how it is too heavy but other than that it's great. When I was choosing the guitar I was either going to get this one or an Epiphone Les Paul shaped one(I'm not sure what model it was) I chose the Jackson because it had a Floyde Rose, it looked better and sounded amazing. // 8

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9.6
DK2 Dinky Reviewed by: EL1XER, on october 02, 2008
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Price paid: $ 450

Purchased from: Dude in Cali

Features: Was made in Japan, not sure when, I think it's an 06, it has 24 frets and a nice maple neck. The body is alder with a laminated top that sounds top notch. it's a Strat style guitar but with the Jackson headstock that could take an eye out. Mine has a gloss black finish and looks great with the dark rosewood fingerboard. It has a Jackson floating bridge made for them by Floyd Rose and amazingly good sounding duncan designed pick-ups that are passive. It has a 5 way selector, a volume knob, and 2 tone knobs. It has locking tuners, but I'm not sure Who makes them. All the hardware is chrome and looks amazing with the gloss black finish. Mine came with a hard case, patch cord and a few picks cus I got it second hand. // 9

Sound: I play a lot of metal, and this guitar screams. It works perfectly and I have a achieved a sound that is reminiscent of Metallica and Megadeth though my Berhinger GMX 212 amp, and I'm not using any effects pedals. It has a raw, thrashy sound with a good full tone, which is what I was hoping for and I love it. it's not noisy at all when using the humbucker. Although I use it primarily for metal it is a quite versatile guitar and can achieve a great clean sound and a great classic rock tone. It can also pull of wicked dive bombs and pinch harmonics. Overall, it is a great sounding versatile guitar. // 10

Action, Fit & Finish: The action on this thing is perfect, although there's a bit of fret buzz near the top, but it is inaudible when the amp is at a decent volume. The pickups are adjusted perfectly for metal and everything is in good working order. The bridge was routed fine and there were no imperfections what'soever, there were no crooked pick ups or loose pieces at all. Perfect right outta the factory. // 10

Reliability & Durability: This guitar blows minds when playing Live, no hardware has ever come loose, nothing has ever gone wrong with this beauty, the strap buttons are completely solid (which was a problem on my last guitar) and never came loose. I would bet my life that I would never need a back up when gigging with this masterpiece. The finish had only been scratched once, because I banged it off the wall pretty damn hard, it doesn't have and lick markings and there's No Doubt in my mind the finish will last as long as the guitar. // 10

Overall Impression: This is a perfect match for The Music I play, metal. I've been playing for a year now and play for at least 3 hours a day and I only tune this about once a month. If this were to be stolen I would definitely buy another Jackson, because of the quality and workmanship. I love everything about it, there's nothing to not like. y favorite thing about this machine is it's versatility, t can play anything from Zepplin to Children Of Bodom, I had looked at other guitars before this, particularly ESP's and they almost always had a factory default, this thing is perfect. I chose this because it suited my playing style and skill level and had incredible bang for the buck. The only thing I wish it had was a Seymour Duncan Dimebucker at the bridge, but thatd shoot the price way up. // 9

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 10
DK2 Dinky Reviewed by: unregistered, on september 07, 2009
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Price paid: $ 500

Purchased from: Local Shop

Features: Jackson DK2FS (Firestorm). I cannot find this thing ANYWHERE. It is a Standard DK2 Dinky but it has a gain boost on it. The Jackson website used to have it on there but it isnt anymore. I got this about 4 years ago & I have gone through 5 other guitars since then, none of them came close to this one. It is Japanese made, with duncan designed pickups (H,S,S) I switched out the Bridge & put in a Duncan Invader. It has a Floyd Rose Bridge with the locks on the nut, and a bolt on neck. It is a pretty Standard guitar but is by FAR my favorite guitar I have ever played. I have owned (Schecter C-1 Plus, Jackson Kelly, DKMGT 2007 model, and 2008 model, ESP MH-300) // 10

Sound: I play in a Metal/Punk/Thrash Band and this is Perfect for that, the neck is thin and fast & the bridge gives me amazing ability to do weird stuff in solo sections. I have ran this guitar through numerous rigs but right now I run a Marshall AVT50 head through a Hughes & Kettner Warp 4X12 cab. I have a DigiTech Grunge, Line 6 Uber Metal, and Morley Bad Horsie Wah that I use. The only time it gets a Little bit noisey is when the gain booster is activated which I don't use very often. The Pickups give it a HUGE range of tonal possibilities, I have gotten very Raunchy Distortions and even Smooth bluesy cleans and Crunches. The middle pickup is there for show in my opinion, it would probably be good for country as it is very twangy. The neck pickup is deep & creamy. The Bridge (which is not original in the guitar) Can be Extremely saturated or super clean. // 10

Action, Fit & Finish: I bought it from a local store that offered free setup when you buy from them so I had it set up after a few weeks although it was in great condition when I got it. The pickups sat a little low for my liking but that was easily adjustable. There were no physical or cosmetic flaws to this guitar when I bought it. // 10

Reliability & Durability: I have put this guitar through hell and back. VERY VERY dependable. I have dropped it, dropped stuff on it, thrown it around, ran into things with it and it works like Brand New. I thought about getting strap locks for it but I have never had any problems with the buttons on it. I have used this many times without a backup and it has never failed me, although the few times I have takin a backup it was good because I have popped a few strings on stage. The finish is great, mine has plenty of scratches and dents but I have yet to wear the finish down where my arm rests or where it constantly rubs against my belt. // 10

Overall Impression: I play Mostly metal and this guitar is Perfect for it. I have been playing for almost 6 years and have owned many amps & guitars & effects. Out of everything this is the one piece I will never get rid of. I love the action on this guitar, when I change the strings it will throw it off a little bit but within an hour of playing it is back to the way I like it. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 10
DK2 Dinky Reviewed by: unregistered, on january 17, 2011
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

Features: 24, jumbo, frets and rosewood fretboard. Slim neck, so much nicer than the Strat copy I'd been playing. Strat style body. Jackson made Floyd Rose bridge (never given me any trouble). 1 volume, 1 tone knob and a five way toggle for the pick-ups. Seymour Duncan pick ups, very nice. Jackson tuners, seem solid, I use the locking nuts and theyre very reliable, I almost never have to tune the guitar, it stays where it is despite my playing. // 10

Sound: I play metal mostly, but I'm moving into acoustic, blues and funk styles, writing material in those genres too and it does them all brilliantly, it does clean leads very well and is very versatile. I use a Line 6 spider 3 and I have my own amp settings to use, its always sounded exactly the way I want. Theres no excess noise to speak of except for the odd blunder I'd make myself. Its an instrument that can easily go from brooding blues sounds to intense metal leads with perfect harmonics, the only limit to its sound is its player. // 10

Action, Fit & Finish: The only issue was the bridge, it wasn't set right when I got it, but it was easily fixed and the only problems the Floyd Rose has ever given me were caused by my inexperience as opposed to a fault in the product, after that it was flawless. (its just told me to type more so I can finish the review, I haven't gotten anything more to say but hopefully the contents of these brackets will do) // 10

Reliability & Durability: Live playing? Yes, but the finish is easily scuffed unfortunatly so it'll do what its supposed to just don't go whaling it off something hard-edged yeh? The hardware has remained solid since I got it and the strap buttons I feel I could depend upon in a life or death situation, like the scene in jurassic Park where the guy is hanging above a drop to an inevitable death and he's saved by his strap. // 10

Overall Impression: It could do any genre of music my ability as a player defines how it'll sound, its the perfect palette for an artist to work off of, I don't have anything to ask of it. I have formed perhaps too strong an attachment to it, I sometimes look at it and can't believe its mine or watch it sleeping or cry after making love to it. I've named it kate beckinsale. If it was taken, I'd want it back, if it were lost I'd go find it. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9.2
DK2 Dinky Reviewed by: djmessina, on may 04, 2011
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Features: I believe this guitar was made in 2010 in Japan. It has 24 jumbo frets with a rock maple fretboard. I bought it in white, and the finish is flawless. It has the Standard Jackson Dinky body shape, and the controls consist of a volume knob, a tone knob, and a 5 way "blade" style selector switch. The pickups are in a H-S-S configuration and are real Seymour Duncans. The Bridge humbucker is a JB, and the 2 single coils are STK-1's. The tuners are Jackson non-locking but work quite well. It also has a Floyd Rose Bridge which is of course double locking, and really keeps the guitar in tune very well even with liberal use of the tremolo. The guitar came with a hard shell case with the "Jackson" logo on the outside. The case is awesome and has a plush interior to protect the guitar, as well as a lock and 2 keys included. The only tools included were a few allen wrenches of various sizes, which are basically all you need. Also, the compound radius fretboard is super comfortable no matter where on the neck you're playing. Definitely a plus! // 9

Sound: I play modern hard rock and 80's metal, which is why I purchased this guitar. It sounds amazing. Pinch harmonics are pulled off with ease using the Duncan JB Bridge pickup. I also have a Slash Les Paul gold top and a Schecter 7 string with EMG active pickups and I gotta say, the harmonics on this guitar blow the others away! I run it through a Krank Rev Jr. 20 watt head and a Jet City 2 x 12 cabinet and it sounds unbelievable with the amp's gain channel, and even sharper through a Metal Muff pedal. I also have a Black Label chorus in the effects loop and I can get a huge, full sound. Clean sounds seem a bit flat to me, though there is decent clarity to the notes. I didn't really buy this guitar to play clean anyway, so it's fine with me. All in all, perfectly suited to my tastes. // 10

Action, Fit & Finish: This is where I was most surprised with this guitar. It came to me perfectly set up and flawless. The action is super low right out of the box and the intonation is spot on. This is unusual in my experiences. I usually have to take new guitars and have them set up right away, but not in this case. The Floyd sits perfectly level in the recessed cavity so no spring adjustments were necessary at all. The frets are polished and smooth all the way up the neck and they are all seated fine. The finish has absolutely no flaws at all, not even a smudge. The only thing I am going to change is the strings. I prefer to use .10's and it came with .09's. This is Standard though and thicker strings are just a personal preference of mine so no big deal. // 10

Reliability & Durability: I don't really play live, so I can't comment on whether or not it will withstand the rigors of live playing. If I were to guess though, I would say that you should probably have a backup guitar under most circumstances anyway. The finish, while flawless, seems like it might be a bit thin and subject to getting nicks and dings. // 8

Overall Impression: Since I am a fan of 80's hard rock and metal, this guitar is perfect for me. Its classic body style and pointy headstock are awesome! I've been playing for about 10 years or so on and off, and I only wish I had bought one of these back in the beginning. It's so easy to play, I think learning the guitar would have been so much easier on this guitar. There isn't much I would change on it except for maybe the tuners, and like I said earlier, thicker strings. That's it. If it were stolen, I'd replace it without a second thought. I compared this guitar to the Charvel So-Cal when I was shopping for a new guitar, so it was a toss-up. Both were great, but I liked the look of this better. // 9

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 7.6
DK2 Dinky Reviewed by: xlog, on may 28, 2012
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

Price paid: € 600

Purchased from: Thomann.de

Features: I don't know the year it was made, I bought it in 2010 the Left-Handed version. Here's the specs: Left-handed electric guitar, Dinky Pro Series, alder body, bolt-on rock maple neck with rosewood fretboard, Thomann 24 jumbo frets, 1x Seymour Duncan humbucker & 2x Seymour Duncan single coil pickup, JT580 LP double locking 2-point tremolo, 5-way switch, black hardware. Pickups are passive so, it only have one tone and one volume knob, simple. A second could be great. The locked tremolo is great, it's a Floyd rose and the guitar doesn't detune at all, and even if, you can retune it by the screws on Floyd. // 8

Sound: It was my second guitar, when I bought it I wanted a high quality guitar and I'm served! Beginner 2 years ago, I played only metal and rock, no solo or difficult stuffs etc, now with the time I can review this guitar. First you know that is was made for rock and metal but: I play, almost everything, Rock, Metal, and now Blues, Jazz a little. Those pickups are amazing! The humbucker can give you a big distortion it's hot, the middle pickup I don't use it because the neck one do the rest. The neck pickup give you a beautiful clean sound, round, bassy, and compressed, I love it. You can play Ska, or any clean style with no problem, its clean as hell and compressed. Because of the Floyd I don't detune it to Drop C or else, and just in Standard with a MetalZone trough a Marshall amp, it's amazing how many type of sound you can have. // 8

Action, Fit & Finish: The guitar was set perfectly, the action is low for fast shredding, easy to play I was surprised how you can play a note easily. The neck is thin and slide well, you can access to the highest note with no problem. No flaws on my guitar. I rate it 6 because you can certainly find more playable like my Fender Strat, I'll try smaller strings to see. // 6

Reliability & Durability: This guitar is very resistant, 2 years of gigging and the only problem that I have is a mass problem which a fix with some aluminum paper in the hole. I've lost my strap many time so I change form some straplock, no problem anymore. Well equilibrate guitar, I played it without any backup and I thrust this guitar. Some sign of picks scratches on the body with the time but it doesn't get through the paint. No problem with the wear. // 8

Overall Impression: This guitar match my style pretty well, I wish it has less action, to play faster (hard to swep actually maybe the strings?) I've a Fender Strat to play blues, but this guitar can do it too, but with a different tone. Its a beast in distortion and clean, I recommend it. // 8

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
More Jackson reviews rating category latest review
+ RR3 Rhoads 8.9 Electric Guitars 12/12/2014
+ DKMGT 9 Electric Guitars 12/09/2014
+ JS32 Rhoads 8.5 Electric Guitars 11/05/2014
+ JS32Q 9.8 Electric Guitars 09/23/2014
+ RR24XT Rhoads 8.6 Electric Guitars 08/28/2014
+ view all
Comments
Your captcha is incorrect