JS20 Dinky Review

manufacturer: Jackson date: 09/30/2010 category: Electric Guitars
Jackson: JS20 Dinky
The JS20 is a winning combination all around - cool Jackson looks, superb feel and quality, and a price that's easy on any budget. The hum/single/single pickup configuration provides plenty of versatility for any style of music.
 Sound: 9.4
 Overall Impression: 9.8
 Reliability & Durability: 9.4
 Action, Fit & Finish: 9.8
 Features: 8.8
 Overall rating:
 8.9 
 Reviewer rating:
 9.4 
 Users rating:
 8.3 
 Votes:
 96 
reviews (5) 5 comments vote for this gear:
overall: 9.8
JS20 Dinky Reviewed by: unregistered, on september 24, 2005
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

Price paid: $ 225

Purchased from: Big Apple Music

Features: I don't know when it was made but it was made in India. A Bolt maple neck with 22 jumbo frets. Rosewood fretboard is so easy to play barely touch it and ur set to go. Chrome knobs, one tone and one volume knob with a 5 way Switch to go between the Jackson humbucker and the two Jackson single pickups. Came with a cord and the strings that were on it at the store. // 9

Sound: I listen to everything except country and play most of itm: metal, rock, punk, you name it. I'm using a little Fender Mini Twin, mostly a headphone amp but the two 2" speakers do fine. The sound is great clean and distorted. // 10

Action, Fit & Finish: The finsih is clean, no scratches or small scrapes even after a few dinges and a lot of heavey playing. Factory setup was amazing, I might need to change the strings but thats a given. // 10

Reliability & Durability: Really durable. I drove 200 miles and this guitar didn't lose its tune. The strap buttons are solid and don't look like they will go anywhere. The only downside is that it is a little heavy but I just got a wider strap to fix that prob. The whole setup was great from the factory, I am not going to change anything. // 10

Overall Impression: This guitar is able to do what ever I am able to play. I've only been playing for a few yeasr but people who have played for decades have sat down and loved this guitar from the moment they pick it up. If it was ever stolen I would beat that person in their sleep with a stick and take it back. Well worth the money. I chose this over some of the Ibanez package guitars because this was soo much easier to play, and the sound was better. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9.6
JS20 Dinky Reviewed by: unregistered, on february 28, 2005
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Features: I don't know when but it was made in India. It has 22 Jumbo frets; the neck is maple, and the fingerboard is rosewood. Yes the top is laminated ect. My guitar finish is Tabbaco sunburst. Machine heads: chrome, die-cast tuners. Pickups: 2 Jackson JE14 single-coil and 1 Jackson JE10 humbucker. Neck joint: bolt-on. And its scale is 25 1/2". Last but not least it features a whammy bar. // 10

Sound: I play anywhere from country to hard core punk on this baby, and to tell you the truth it doesn't almost cut it but yeah, it fits right into my collection. I use a Brand X amp and its perfect. Altought, I say alot of good things about it, its got isues. For exemple, if you need to slide thru the neck really fast, you might experience ugly sounds but other wise you can do just about anything perfectly. // 8

Action, Fit & Finish: When I first saw it, I fell in love and frankly I still am. I don't care what you people say, the pickups are fine. There is one thing that bugs me tought the plug-in part is kind of loose to begin with and that can't help on the long run. // 10

Reliability & Durability: I'm sure this guitar will live. And it never untunes. The harware seems like its gona last and the strap buttons are quite good as they are. I can depend on it and I am. I wouldn't esiate 2 only bring this guitar to a gig. It never gives out. The finish is great! // 10

Overall Impression: It's a good match for all. I've been playing for a long time now and I can tell you I got wows from people who have been playing for decades with this guitar. If it got lost or stolen I'dd buy another one of these quote it's a threat for any experience level. I love everything about it exept the player when he/she gets to tired. I have bought another guitar before this one and I returned it 'cause this one was a still. (Samick Malibu). I wouldn't change a thing. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9.6
JS20 Dinky Reviewed by: unregistered, on april 04, 2005
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Price paid: $ 236.21

Purchased from: Archambeault - Musical Instrument Store

Features: My Jackson JS20 Dinky was made in India. It came with 22 jumbo frets and a rosewood fingerboard (12" radius) on a bolt-on maple neck mounted to an Indian Cedro body. My particular guitar came with a flame maple veneer and transparent red finish. It has a Fulcrum tremolo bridge. Chrome volume and tone knobs are present, as is a five-way Switch for the 2 Jackson single coils and Jackson humbucker. // 8

Sound: This guitar is great for a wide variety of styles. Personally, I play a lot of punk, metal, ska, and rock, and I've always been able to produce a great tone to suit whatever I'm playing. My principle amp is a little Peavey Rage 158 TransTube, and I can get sick amounts of distortion with this combo. In fact, sometimes the guitar can get a little too distorted, to the point of sounding noisy, but for the most bart, I can get a really big, strong, rich tone out of my Jackson. Also on the downside, the pickups tend to hum a little at really high volume/distortion. But overall, excellent sound. // 10

Action, Fit & Finish: The fit and finish on this guitar was great from the get go. Really nice action, pickups were perfect, everything was great. No flaws that I've found yet. I bought it, brought it home, plugged it in, and it was ready for anything I could throw at it. // 10

Reliability & Durability: I haven't had any problems as of yet. Everything seems very solid, and I'm sure it would stand up to a live gig. The hardware seems tough and dependable. The strap buttons seem fair enough for stock. The finish is still as bright and glossy as when I bought it. I would definitely use this guitar without a backup. It's a workhorse! // 10

Overall Impression: Overall, this is a great guitar. It's gorgeous to look at, a joy to play, and it sounds great. On the downside, it is a bit heavy, but not excessively so. I would definitely buy another if I lost it. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9.2
JS20 Dinky Reviewed by: Shredder XXX, on february 06, 2007
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Price paid: $ 494

Purchased from: Alans Music

Features: Aiight, mine is a 2006 model Jackson JS20DK, it's your basic 22 fret neck with a rosewood fingerboard, the body is super-Strat style solid basswood with a metallic blue finish. Mine has and original double locking floyd rose trem, though you can get them with a Tune-O-Matic stoptail. The stock pickups were pretty average passive pickups, so I swapped 'em for an EMG 81 set. It's comes with one tone and one volume control and a 3 way blade selector, it's got locking grover tuners. // 9

Sound: So, I play a whole lot of everything, ranging from chuck berry to megadeath, and as far as sound goes I'd say this guitar has everything you could ever want for those tones, and everythin in between. I'm playing this through a Crate GT65 and a Crate 4X12 Cab, with a whole bunch of effects pedals. From what I can gather after having played it for around about a year, it has a all round fuller sound, perhaps a little on the dark side for some styles, but it'll still pull it off if you try hard enough. // 10

Action, Fit & Finish: I got the guitar in damn near perfect condition, then the next day I somehow dropped it and, suspense, it's still perfect. The pickup heights were a lil off, and the action was a little to high for my liking. Apart from those minor flaws, the thing was all set up n ready to go straight outta the shop. // 9

Reliability & Durability: This guitar can and will withstand Live playing, I play in a band similar to SOTY, not only in sound, but stage presence too, so as you can tell this guiatr definitly gets a beating, especially when my "crew" manage not to catch it when I throw it to them. I've got the ol' strap locks on it after an unfortunate guitar spin incident where my singer got knocked out. As a rule I'll never play a gig without a backup, for two reasons, saves me from changing tunings on stage, and incase I destroy one of my guitars. But if it was entirely neccesary I would and could play Live with this lil number. // 9

Overall Impression: Like I said before I play everything, and I play in a screamo-ish band, this guitar is capable of every style more or less, but it excells in metal and punk. If someone stole this, I'd first find them and kill them, the go right ahead and buy the next model up, just for the pickups. I've been through about 7 guitars in two years, starting with some dodgy samicks, up to a couple of Ibanez's and an Epiphone SG, but I've found perfecting in this guitar and a J&D LP. The only real flaw with this guitar is it's sub-par stock pickups, but that can be fixed with one quick replacement job, then you'll be set for the best guitaring experience of your life. // 9

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9
JS20 Dinky Reviewed by: Calamity Lamb, on september 30, 2010
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Price paid: £ 170

Purchased from: GAK

Features: I'm not sure what year it was made in, but I know that it was made in India. The neck is made of Maple and it's bolt on, and the fingerboard is Indian Rosewood (a lot of india in this guitar). The body is made of India Cedro (Cedar I believe) and the body is what I've heard described as 'super-strat'. I bought it in black, but it comes in natural, red and blue aswell. The bridge is Strat style, there is a 5 way selector Switch and a volume + tone nob. The pickups are HSS passive, and are all made by Jackson. The headstock has non-locking Jackson tuners and the guitar came with a great gig bag. // 8

Sound: I play metal, leaning more towards the chunky metal riff style (Stephan Carpenter of Deftones being one of my major influences for my style) and I'm playing through Peavey Vypyr 30 amp. When playing with the bridge, playing has a great bite to it and sounds really, really nice. I occasionally play with the single coils but they really don't do it for me. On a lower gain setting, they sound pretty nice if you're playing something a bit less heavy, like say, The Smiths or Team Sleep, a good defined bass-ey sound but they hum a beast if you have the gain anywhere past 12 o'clock. An example of what I would use the single coils for is Kyuss' 'Asteroid' and it delivers really well on that kind of song, but not on much else, unless you play with very little gain. Back to the bridge 'bucker now, it sounds really nice, but the sound can get quite muddy, especially with higher gain + lower tuning (I play quite a bit of drop C) but it still sounds really powerful and picks up harmonics and the like with ease. // 9

Action, Fit & Finish: This is amazing to play, its incredibly smooth and you can riff and solo away with no problems atall, which it really a necessity with me, I would definitely recommend the JS20 for this reason. No adjusting needed to be made apart from when I changed the action to accommodate chunkier strings (it cam fitted with 9's) and it plays just as good, if not more smoothly now. // 10

Reliability & Durability: I have had very few problems with the guitar in the time I've been playing it. There are a few bumps and scratches from things being dropped on it, and one the saddles has mysteriously had a large chunk cut out of it, which I didn't actually realise until changing strings. One problem I've had with it is that the input for cables comes loose very easily and regularly, even when really tightening it, it still comes loose very quickly. Another is that the trem arm dosnt want to seem to come out and just goes further in if you loosen it, but this isn't really a major gripe for me. I have not played this live yet, but I'm sure it will survive it easily, it hardly ever comes out of tune, even after a few hours of playing, it will only need a very small amount of adjustments (namely the g string, which seems to come out of tune a lot more easily than others). // 8

Overall Impression: This is my first guitar that wasn't a handmedown from my brother. It should serve as my main guitar until something awful happens to it and it gives up the ghost or goes missing, but that shouldn't be a problem. It's a great guitar to learn and improve on and I don't regret buying it. Viva La Jackson! // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
More Jackson reviews rating category latest review
+ RR3 Rhoads 8.9 Electric Guitars 12/12/2014
+ DKMGT 9 Electric Guitars 12/09/2014
+ JS32 Rhoads 8.5 Electric Guitars 11/05/2014
+ JS32Q 9.8 Electric Guitars 09/23/2014
+ RR24XT Rhoads 8.6 Electric Guitars 08/28/2014
+ view all
Comments
Your captcha is incorrect