SC 250 Review

manufacturer: Paul Reed Smith date: 03/03/2010 category: Electric Guitars
Paul Reed Smith: SC 250
22 frets with a 25 inch scale length. Wide fat mahogany neck, rosewood fret board with abalone bird inlays.
 Sound: 9
 Overall Impression: 9.5
 Reliability & Durability: 10
 Action, Fit & Finish: 9.5
 Features: 10
 Overall rating:
 8.8 
 Reviewer rating:
 9.6 
 Users rating:
 7.9 
 Votes:
 17 
reviews (2) pictures (3) 17 comments vote for this gear:
overall: 9.8
SC 250 Reviewed by: unregistered, on january 20, 2010
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Features: 22 frets with a 25 inch scale length. Wide fat mahogany neck, rosewood fret board with abalone bird inlays. Manufactured in 2008 in the USA. Gold stop tail bridge. Gold phase II low mass locking tuners. Uncovered SC 250 treble and bass humbucker pickups. 3 way toggle switch, a volume and tone control for each pickup. Single cut body. Hardshell case. // 10

Sound: The SC 250 has a very hot output treble pick up and almost Vintage sounding bass pickup. The bass pick up has an amazing tonal quality, plugged directly into the mixing board, with very little reverb the pick up had a comparable tone to my Gibson acoustic. Simply amazing for an electric guitar. Switch to the treble pick up, with some delay, again directly into the board, MAN this baby screams, it was amazing how much this cut through the mix while retaining awesome tonal quality. Mind you this is directly into the board. Plug this baby into any Mesa Boogie head and it almost screams perfection. Plug it into a Vox amp with just the bass pickup activated, man this baby can get some extremely awesome clean tones. // 10

Action, Fit & Finish: The action for the guitar is great considering I got it a year after PRS shipped it to the manufacturer. A little buzzing up past the 12th fret but nothing to noticeable. Other than that everything on this guitar was simply perfect right out of the box. // 9

Reliability & Durability: This thing is extremely reliable, it stays in tune amazingly well. I only have to tune it once a week, which is great considering I am OCD about my guitars tuning. 4 months of heavy use and no dings, dents, drop outs, scratches, I would absolutely gig without a back up(if I HAD to) and feel confident with it. // 10

Overall Impression: I like to play a little of everything from Johnny Cash, Jimi Hendrix, and Bob Seger, to more modern stuff such as Doors Down, Creed, and Seether. For almost all musical style this guitar would be a perfect match. This guitar is the best investment you could make in an instrument. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9.4
SC 250 Reviewed by: unregistered, on march 03, 2010
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Price paid: $ 2500

Purchased from: Musiciansfriend.com

Features: Thick Mahogany Body Top Wood Maple Top Wood Options 10 Top Flame or 10 Top Quilt 22 frets Scale Length 25" Neck Wood Mahogany Fretboard Wood Rosewood Neck Shape Wide Fat Inlays Abalone Birds Adjustable Stoptail Tuners PRS 14:1 Phase II Low Mass Locking Tuners Truss Rod Cover SC 250 Hardware Type: Nickel Treble Pickup SC 250 Treble Bass Pickup SC 250 Bass Pickup Switching: Volume and Tone Control For Each Pickup with 3-Way Toggle Pickup Selector On Upper Bout // 10

Sound: This guitar suits my music style fairly well, which leans towards rock/hard rock. My amp is a Mesa Boogie Rectoverb (essentially a Single Rectifier in combo amp form). The guitar is a bit heavy for my taste (musically). This is quite possibly the most powerful guitar I have ever played. The distortion is not fuzzy or muddy; rather, it is explosively in your face. The distortion is absolutely crushing. The pickups do not possess the clarity of EMG pickups, but they have a lot more presence. These pickups blast through whatever drums, bass, or other guitars you may be playing alongside. The sound very closely mimics the Mark Tremonti sound (insanely heavy). I love Mark Tremonti, but his sound is a little heavy for my taste. For playing very heavy Creed-like rock this guitar is perfect, but it's a little heavy for other styles of music. // 8

Action, Fit & Finish: It is a PRS guitar. That should speak enough about the setup, finish, etc. PRS, regardless of how much you like the sound of their guitars, by far has the tightest quality control. As far as hardward is concerned, this guitar is flawless. I ordered mine from musiciansfriend. Factory setup was superb. This guitar has the perfect balance of string height/action, volume, and tone. // 10

Reliability & Durability: I replaced the strap buttons with strap locks, so I can't comment on that. I have never had a string break, the guitar never goes out of tune--no matter how long you play. Again, it's a PRS. The hardware, the paint job, the neck, all are perfect. I especially like the locking tuners. A very fine touch. // 10

Overall Impression: This really is a phenomenal guitar. My only complaint is the pickups, but it's really a matter of personal taste. I don't think this guitar, heavy as it is, would work very well with metal. I just don't think you have enough note clarity. Again, this best fits Creed-style rock. It is Les Paul-like, but the sound is more modern than vintage. For everything except the pickups, this guitar is the most perfect instrument I have ever played. The pickups are just a matter of personal preference. // 9

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
More Paul Reed Smith reviews rating category latest review
+ SE Torero 9.4 Electric Guitars 12/09/2014
+ S2 Mira 8.9 Electric Guitars 08/05/2014
+ SE Custom 24 8.6 Electric Guitars 06/17/2014
+ SE Paul Allender 8.9 Electric Guitars 06/09/2014
+ Custom 24 S2 8.6 Electric Guitars 05/19/2014
+ view all
Comments
Your captcha is incorrect