EVH Wolfgang Special Review

manufacturer: Peavey date: 01/08/2013 category: Electric Guitars
Peavey: EVH Wolfgang Special
Peavey and Edward Van Halen designed the EVH Wolfgang Series as the pinnacle of modern tone and design - an instantly recognizable modern classic.
 Sound: 8.8
 Overall Impression: 9.5
 Reliability & Durability: 9.3
 Action, Fit & Finish: 9
 Features: 8.3
 Overall rating:
 8.9 
 Reviewer rating:
 9 
 Users rating:
 8.8 
 Votes:
 32 
reviews (4) pictures (6) 14 comments vote for this gear:
overall: 9.4
EVH Wolfgang Special Reviewed by: f-e-z, on may 07, 2007
1 of 2 people found this review helpful

Price paid: $ 457.5

Purchased from: Sounds Great

Features: My Wolfgang is a 2001 US guitar. It has 22 frets on a single-piece maple neck with a maple fretboard. It's a dark burst quilted and laminated maple top with a maple body. It's a pretty unique body style, with only the follow-up guitars by Peavey and Ernie Ball similar to it. It has a floyd Roas non-floating tremolo system which provides the authentic EVH dives. Also note the D-tuna, a simple device on the trem that pulls out and puts the guitar into drop-D tuning. Snaps back into place for concert pitch. Perfect tuning everytime. There is only one control, that's volume, in true EVH fashion. The pickups are Seymour Duncan Zebra humbuckers, designed and co-built by Eddie to his own specs. There are two of them. The tuners are Grover, and there is a locking bnut for tuning stability. Gator flight case included free. // 9

Sound: I myself play quite a bit of Van Halen, but it is more versatile than expected. It can cover the whole '70s and '80s era of rock, and loves to be cranked with some dirty overdrive. I am currently usin a Epiphone Valve Jnr. 5watt head with a 1X12 Marshall cab, with a Boss distortion and Marshall Guv'nor. The sound is something else. It isn't really more noise than you can handle, even through more powerful setups, and too much noise can be corrected by a simple turn-down. Very full sound courtesy of the body and neck. The gFloyd Rose makes for some very authentic sounds and some unique noises that even a rookie could create on first picking up this guitar. My only criticism of the sound is the clean. It sounds cheap, like something you would expect a 150 guitar to do. // 9

Action, Fit & Finish: The guitar was set up perfectly when I bought it. Whether this was because it was second-hand, I don't know, but the Neck and action are just perfect. The neck is slim, and yet feels solid, and professional. The action is probably as low as it can go without buzzing, but there's never any hint of buzzing when playing, even if you're thrashing the living daylights out of it. The pickups are screwed straight to the body for optimum tone, so there's no room for adjustment, but there's no need to adjust them. Top is perfectly matched, couldn't tell it was 2-pices at first. The bridge is routed fine, and there's not too much or too little tension for those huge dives. The guitar contains no flaws whatsoever, the pickup Switch is noisless and smooth. // 10

Reliability & Durability: Considering Eddie built these to be played by himself Live, they will withstand a beating. Mine has not yet been gigged with, but has had a number of 'incidents' at home involving younger brothers and a guitar-hating mother. e.g. it recently had a Fender acoustic dropped onto it's front, and there's not even a scratch. Hardware is completely solid; Bearing in mind I bought this 2nd hand, and it's already 6 years old, it still looks Brand New. Strap buttons, again, are an EVH design, so they would have to be solid or he'd just send them all back. I would not use it a gig without backup, but only because some of the songs I play require a clean guitar, which is the Wolfgang's downfall. // 9

Overall Impression: This is a good match for the classic rock I tend to play. Not sure how it will cope with other genre's, but I suspect it won't be so awful that you take it back. I have now been playing for almost 5 years, in which time there have been 5 guitars minimum in the house (Fender US Stratocaster, Epiphone Les Paul, Montana acoustic, Fender acoustic, Peavey EVH Wolfgang). I have to say, the Wolfgang is the best guitar to play out of those 5. Albeit, only the Epiphone and the Pavey are my own, the rest my dad's, but the'yre always out and it's good to see how they compare to the Peavey. Dad still retains his Strat is the best guitar he's ever played, but I have my opinion and it's with the Wolfgang. We also own (excluding those mentioned earlier) 2 30watt Fender amps, a HH100watt bass head, a 250watt bass cab, Peavey Milestone series 1 bass, and sea Jim Dunlop crybaby. I wish I had asked for fingertip surgery, cause I was playing this (literally) till my fingers bled, and I still carried on, that's how good it is to play. I would definitely buy this again if it were stolen, after I got out of prison for murdering whoever stole it. If it were lost, then, I would buy it again after much hunting and looking. Ease of play, great overdriven tone, appearance, versatility, and sound. Hate is a strong word, but only the fact it doesn't sound good clean at low volume. I did not compare this to anything else simply because I think it's in a class of it's own. I chose this one because it stood out, and as soon as I played it I thought "Yes, this is the one." I only wish it came with the disclaimer "warning: this guitar will make you sound like EVH, but you'll probably never be as good as him." // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9.8
EVH Wolfgang Special Reviewed by: Whitey5150, on may 07, 2009
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Price paid: $ 680

Purchased from: Guitar Center (Used)

Features: My Wolfgang is a 2002 Peavey Wolfgang Special, and I think it has 22 jumbo frets. It has an all maple neck I think and by the sound of the tone the body is basswood. It has a Orange/Yellow quilt top finish and obviously it is a double cutaway. It came with a Peavey Floyd Rose (FR liscensed) and it has passive electronics. It has a 3-way selector on the upper cutaway and it only has one knob: the volume knob(I replaced the original one on mine with a MXR pedal knob for the EVH feel). When you Switch the 3-way selector up, it goes to the bridge pickup, mid is mid, and switched down is the neck pickup. I'm not really sure what kind of pickups are in the guitar, but I'm sure they are the Peavey/EVH manufactured ones. Also, I bought my Wolfgang used, so the bridge pickup might of been replaced (not sure). It has grover non-locking tuners (locking not needed with FR), and it came with a hard shell case. Very cool. // 10

Sound: Since I am a Van Halen man, this guitar fits my preferences perfectly. Also, I play a little blues, and the guitar also suits that very well. I use a Line-6 Spider III amp with a Ibanez TS9 pedal (The amp, well, its as if the distortion is at 80% of what you want, so the pedal to me puts it up to 100%), When the guitar is on the bridge setting, it really gives that kickass tone. Also one thing unique about the Wolfgang is that it allows you to do things that you can't do on another guitar. Like you can make harmonics easier on this guitar then other ones. The neck pickup is perfectly for blues, but I don't recommend clean blues or jazz. This guitar doesn't seem to sound very well at the clean level on a amp. (Then again, my amp is solid-state, so don't count on that) If you really know how to fit yourself into a guitar and how to use one, this guitar will basically welcome you to it. // 9

Action, Fit & Finish: This guitar is VERY sturdy, and the action is perfect to my standards. It is so low it nearly touches the frets. The bridge pickup was adjusted perfectly for my kind of tone (Early Van Halen tone) but like I said, the neck sounds very nice, but not the best pickup for a clean channel. The routing for the Floyd was done very well, and it looks professional, so no complaints from me. The only flaw for I'd say is that the whammy bar for the floyd is a little loose, and it sometimes makes the guitar noisy, but its nothing major. // 10

Reliability & Durability: Once again, the guitar is very solid. Everything is screwed in tightly, and everything is right where it should be. When it comes to how long it'll last, well, the guitar has been around for seven years already and it looks nearly Brand New. So in my opinion, yes it'll last for a very, very long time. The strap buttons are very solid, no problems there. This is a guitar that can VERY dependable, besides the fact it cannot make the best clean tone, it can fit a wide variety of tone for rock, blues, and sometimes metal. Also the finish is similar to that of a Les Paul, so I'd say that that will last a long time too. // 10

Overall Impression: Since this is a Peavey/EVH Wolfgang, it obviously meets my standards. I have been playing for about 5 years and I own a Les Paul and a Ovation Acoustic. And to be honest, if you have questions about this guitar, just simply play it. It'll literally answer your questions. And for me I have none, it totally fits my standards. If I had lost this guitar or if were stolen, of course I would try to replace it. For one the price can be as low as 600 dollars from time to time, and it is a very great guitar for more then just Van Halen fans. What I love about this guitar is that I can do horse whinny harmonic on it, which I can't do on my other guitars. It has the kickass tone of a Les Paul, and it also allows you to be more creative with the Floyd Rose and the D-tuna (D-tunas do NOT come with the guitar, Mine just happened to). // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 8.2
EVH Wolfgang Special Reviewed by: trashedlostfdup, on november 29, 2010
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Price paid: $ 500

Purchased from: used

Features: I got my Peavey Wolfgang Special HardTail three months ago, and waited to review it until the honeymoon period has passed. It was made in the USA in the late 90's (I think 98 or 99, but don't know for sure). It has 22 frets medium in size, a maple fretboard and neck, with a basswood body, with a rich gold finish (think goldtop). This is the guitar EVH switched to after leaving EBMM, and is very similar. It has a two piece tune-o-matic bridge, that is very dense and solid. The pickups are made by Peavey and resemble the DiMarzio Tone Zone and the Air Norton, and it has just a simple volume knob and a backwards three way toggle switch. I got it with the origional EVH striped gig bag. // 7

Sound: Suprisingly it fits my style perfectly, as I am really not a fan of Van Halen, or the 'brown sound'. I use it for a hard driven rock/blues. The most amazing thing about this guitar is how it resonates unamplified, it resonates almost as long as my Gibsons. I use it with my Splawn Pro Mod in gear three OD2, with an occasional boost. This guitar sounds so similar to a Gibson (498t, 500t) that most people could not distinguish it blindly. // 9

Action, Fit & Finish: Since I bought it used, I do not know how it was fron the factory, although the previous owner filed the nut and saddles, but I am unaware as to the reason why. The guitar was very cleanly put together, the neck pocket is extremely tight, the fretwork is flawless. My only small complaint is that the way the surround is around the pickup selector makes it pop out of the neck (down) position into the middle position. // 7

Reliability & Durability: This guitar is going to have a long life, even with the heavy abuse I put my guitars through. I would never gig without a backup, but it is just as relaible as any qulaity guitar is. The finish is relatively thick, I would actually like it thinner, it doesn't scratch easily, and is pretty durable, although it has a few dents. // 9

Overall Impression: I have played about eight years now, and have only had this guitar for three months, it is a winner. I own four Gibsons, another Wolfgang, and about twenty more guitars, and this gets an equal amont of playing as the Gibsons do. If the guitar was stolen, I would have no choice but to replace it, as it is one piece of equipment that defines my tone. I love how this guitar plays, it plays like no guitar I have ever owned. I will likely be buying one more, if it pops up for a good price. // 9

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 8.4
EVH Wolfgang Special Reviewed by: T4D, on january 08, 2013
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Price paid: $ 355

Purchased from: ebay

Features: Made is a black USA made with "Wolfgang" neck profile, Unfinished maple neck and fret board, Double locking floyd rose tremolo 1 volume, 1 tone, 3-way Switch, Schaller tuners, D-Tuna Drop D device. I got mine second hand from eBay with EMG pickups, I replaced the 81 with a blackout pickup in the bridge cause this guitar just screams "play solos". One noticeable missing feature is pull back space behind the floyd rose rose,. There like only haft a step specially with the Drop D device.? I really am thinking of routing out more space so I can really pull back on it. This guitar will makes you want to play with the tremolo. // 7

Sound: Sound of the body wood is bright and solid not muddy compared to my other guitars with EMG's and or blackout this is a bright sounding guitar, tone control work is a nice addition over the other Peavey EVH model. It is a rock guitar for many reasons it's light and the EVH body shape is nice to stand up and play with comfort and the body weight is not on the heavy side, it has good sustain and I like the switch being in the Les Paul position. I mainly use VST plugins into the Computer with band and a Line 6 X3, Carvin 1000watt & 200 watt tube -> 4 Marshall cabs. // 8

Action, Fit & Finish: The neck it what makes this guitar very special the "Wolfgang" shape is legendary, it has that feeling of a very well worn in neck very comfortable (even Warmoth now has this shape as an option for customs necks) for chords or lead it's great the action is low the neck is by far the main thing that makes this guitar special Move on from the neck, it's really a pretty standard Basic guitar I would even use the word "budget" it's no frills no fancy design. Just body pickup neck as you look down at it it's not a PRS or Les Paul it's straight body bolted onto neck simple,. ( what more do you want?) Rating this I will give it a 10 for the neck and action (important). Build and finish a 7 because it's missing a pull back cavity behide the floyd rose. 9 for the final because how it plays I think is most important. // 9

Reliability & Durability: Solid well built guitar I can not Imagen any problems? Good well made hardware, solid design, no frills solid guitar that I have had for 2 years and can not see any issues with it in the future. The tuners and good no need to replace and the Floyd rose tremolo is of a high standard to solid well built. The wired also is well done lots of shielding thought the internals. So no hum's and unwanted noise. I installed DiMarzio strap so no comment on strap buttons. The paint on mine is basic black but looks good. // 9

Overall Impression: I've been playing 20+ years playing blues, jazz to metal well alot more of metal and this is a rock or metal guitar for sure (that is why I put blackout pickups on mine). But I could easily see a blues player enjoying this guitar with the right pickups. I have 20 guitars Plus many more over the years and this is definitely in the top group up there with my PRS, Les Paul, Strat etc. If lost I would be searching for another the very next day. Again the neck is truly what makes this an Great guitar to me. The "basic design" is part of it's charm it's like the designers went since the neck is this good why bother doing anything else. That missing pull back behind the floyd rose has me asking "Why didn't they do that?". // 9

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
More Peavey reviews rating category latest review
+ VTM 60 8.3 Guitar Amplifiers 12/22/2014
+ Triple XXX Head 8.4 Guitar Amplifiers 12/08/2014
+ Envoy 110 8.7 Guitar Amplifiers 11/10/2014
+ PXD Twenty-Three III 8.8 Electric Guitars 10/07/2014
+ 6534+ 7.3 Guitar Amplifiers 09/15/2014
+ view all
Comments
Your captcha is incorrect