EVH Wolfgang TR Review

manufacturer: Peavey date: 02/16/2007 category: Electric Guitars
Peavey: EVH Wolfgang TR
This guitar is very versitaile. With the Floyd Rose tremolo you can make some pretty crazy sounds, very versitaile and excellent to pull off some really neat EVH style tricks.
 Sound: 10
 Overall Impression: 10
 Reliability & Durability: 10
 Action, Fit & Finish: 10
 Features: 10
 Overall rating:
 9.3 
 Reviewer rating:
 10 
 Users rating:
 8.6 
 Votes:
 27 
reviews (2) 20 comments vote for this gear:
overall: 10
EVH Wolfgang TR Reviewed by: unregistered, on april 05, 2005
2 of 3 people found this review helpful

Price paid: $ 1.58

Purchased from: Music Depot

Features: - Made in USA - Medium neck, wide fretboard - 22 jumbo frets - Unfinished Birdseye maple neck - Birdseye maple fretboard - Flame top - Double locking floyd rose tremolo - 1 volume, 1 tone controls - 3-way Switch - Schaller tuners - 2 custom Wound EVH humbuckers - D-Tuna Drop D device. // 10

Sound: The guitar is the inventing of trail and error of Eddie Van Halen. But the guitar is very versitaile. It will cover rock, metal and anything surrounding that. But I use it mostly for rock, suits me very well. I don't have the greatest amp in the world (Fender Sidekick Reverb 20). But! I have played it through a Peavey Triple XXX and a Vox AD50VT it it sounded excellent, very clean no humming (the pickups are dipped twice in a special wax to prevet humming). The pickups are HOT, veyr hot harmonics scream and the sustain is rich and strong. With the right gain/overdrive settings you get a very brownish sound, excellent! With the Floyd Rose tremolo you can make some pretty crazy sounds, very versitaile and excellent to pull off some really neat EVH style tricks. The humbuckers make the guitar stand out, its really one of the best features. // 10

Action, Fit & Finish: The action is nice and low, smooth playing and your hand slides on that neck (because it is unfinished). The pickups are screwed directly into the body to get that rich full tone out of the wood, no adjustments needed. The guitar is pretty much perfect, nothing really wrong. // 10

Reliability & Durability: This guitar is giggable, it can take abuse. Everything on the guitar will stand up its that durable. The strap buttons are solid no need for strap locks unless your paranoid. The finish is very strong, smooth and very beautiful the flame top stands out in a 3D-ish type figure, it's very breath taking. // 10

Overall Impression: Personally I think this is the world's best guitars. Its incredible tone, versatility and so what if its a EVH Signature, it plays like an old shoe comfortable and reliable. The electronics are out of this world and the beauty of this guitar is mind blowing. For a guy at my age to deserve such an instrument, it's blessing. Nothing else I've owned has ever ever come close. I love the looks, sounds and well I love the damn guitar! Comapared to a high end Ibanez, Jackson, or even Gibson this is on top no doubt. But since production has halted in October 2004, these guitars are now becoming collectables. I wouldn't trade it for anything. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 10
EVH Wolfgang TR Reviewed by: f-e-z, on february 16, 2007
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Price paid: $ 457.5

Purchased from: Sounds Great

Features: This is a 2003 US Wolfgang. It has 22 frets on an unfinished neck that is one piece of maple. It has a solid, laminated quilted top in a dark burst, and it suits the guitar very nicely. The body style is pretty unique, double cut so the access is brilliant. The bridge is a Floyd Rose, designed by EVH, so it doesn't float, but it's still amazing, it holds the tuning superbly, and has a D-tuna so you go into drop quickly without fiddling around on the locking nut. The electronics are quite stunning, passive, and wound by EVH. They blow your mind when you want them to, make you sound amazing in front of your mates, and are so responsive. There is a 3-way selector Switch, and a volume pot, that's it, no messing with tone "The louder it ism, the better the tone". There are two humbucking pickups, they're Zebras, not sure if they're Duncans or not, but they are amazing, as I said, wound and waxed to EVH's specs, so they have to be good. The tuners are Grovers, and are solid, They feel like they've been hewn out of German mountain ranges, so solid. The shop threw in a Gator flight case cause we paid in cash, awful nice of them. // 10

Sound: The guitar suits my style to a T. The only problem is, it is very difficult to get a good clean sound oput of it, but when you look at the signature on the headstock, it's easy to see why. With some dirty overdrive, lots o' treble, an inch of bass and half a mid, with some reverb thrown in, you can get some wild noises out of this beast. I play mostly old rock from the '70s and '80s, so it suits very well. It is a wee bit noisy on overdriven settings, especially with both pickups on, but that's not really a problem, not as if you need to wonder which one of your controls is volume. The guitar, for a signature, can make an interesting variety of noises. It can be bluesy and deep when you want som, e tinged licks, and can punch you in the face when you crank up the gain for some '80s stuff. // 10

Action, Fit & Finish: This guitar is the most perfect action I have ever played on. Apsolutely delicious. Everything was perfect. The action was low, and I mean low, but not too low, so there was no buzz as is the case normally with such a low action. The pickups screw direct into the body, so there isn't really a complaint on them, they are fine where they are. The top has been properly bookmatched, and the bridge properly routed, come on, this is EVH. The guitar has no flaws. No loose this or rusty that or mis-cut things, all round perfect. // 10

Reliability & Durability: This will withstand live playing without a doubt. It's hard-wearing, but light, and everything on it is solid. The hardware will probably outlast me, and I'm only 15! It's all solid, all perfect, but importantly, it doesn't compromise on anything. The strap buttons are solid, no need for locks, unless you are thinking of playing upside down or something. I would use this with no backup, definitely. The finish seems as though it will last, it's a very thick laminate, and it doesn't look suceptible to wearing or dulling over time, with the proper care of course. // 10

Overall Impression: I play old rock, and it suits that perfectly. I have been playing now for 18months, and also own an Epiphone Les Paul Model, a Marshall Guv'nor, and an old Fender 25 watt amp. I wish I had asked for some tips on how to change the strings, it's a nightmare, but, mind, so is undiong a locking nut and tuning the hard way. I would buy it again, if I could, they're not made any more, so I would have to hunt one down. I love to play it, and the way it sounds, and my favourite feature is the D-tuna. I hate nothing about it.I briefly compared it to the EVH Ernie Ball signature, and the lines that they and Peavey have done to replace the Wolfgang, but this stood head and shoulders above them. A D-tuna for the high E as well would be nice! // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
More Peavey reviews rating category latest review
+ PXD Twenty-Three III 8.8 Electric Guitars 10/07/2014
+ 6534+ 7.3 Guitar Amplifiers 09/15/2014
+ Vypyr VIP 2 7.6 Guitar Amplifiers 06/02/2014
+ Rotor EXP 8.8 Electric Guitars 05/23/2014
+ Vypyr 15 7.9 Guitar Amplifiers 04/28/2014
+ view all
Comments
Your captcha is incorrect