Generation EXP Review

manufacturer: Peavey date: 09/26/2012 category: Electric Guitars
Peavey: Generation EXP
Peavey builds a Generation EXP guitar for every musician and style, from country to ska to nu metal. Featured ceramic pickups are perfect for "hot" tones like bright, clean guitar and scorching distortion.
 Sound: 8.3
 Overall Impression: 9.2
 Reliability & Durability: 8.7
 Action, Fit & Finish: 8.5
 Features: 8.7
 Overall rating:
 8.3 
 Reviewer rating:
 8.7 
 Users rating:
 7.8 
 Votes:
 58 
reviews (6) pictures (3) 7 comments vote for this gear:
overall: 10
Generation EXP Reviewed by: unregistered, on march 17, 2004
4 of 5 people found this review helpful

Price paid: $ 399

Features: I believe this is either a 1990 or '91 Generation, SN#04149689, but it may have been made as early as '89 if the last two digits of the serial number are any indication. I bought it new in the showroom in Santa Cruz, CA. It is Tele-style 6-string with mahogany neck, deep mahogany tigerwood finish with gold hardware. Neck pickup is single-coil, bridge pick-up is twin coil, both are covered in black plastic. It is a very solid and quite heavy instrument. I can't say the guitar has tons of features, but for what I want it to do, it is perfect. // 10

Sound: I play almsot strictly originals, sort of a mix between Bruce Hornsby (without the piano) and Tom Petty (without the whine). I use it with all V and T knobs full, on the neck pick-up only; I have never used the bridge pickup. I run it through a ART SGX2000 Express Pre-Amp, through a ADA B200S Stereo BiPolar Amp that drives two separate enclosed cabs each containing a single 12' JBL SRO speaker. // 10

Action, Fit & Finish: This guitar was taken from the showroom floor and immediately plugged in and played. Whatever adjustments and set-up they did at the factory was right on. It is an absolute tank. The gold plated hardware on the knobs and bridgeplate has seen better days, and after 15 years I suppose new frets are finally in order, but the thing is just a pure workhorse dream and has never let me down once. The action is perfect. I have never had the intonation adjusted, it has never been worked on by any luthier, and it NEVER goes out of tune. It's almost spooky in that sense. // 10

Reliability & Durability: This guitar has spent years by the Pacific and years in the high desert and has shown no problems of any sort. Indeed, I can depend on it like a faithful dog. For both live performances and home studio recording, it is the only electric guitar I've used for the past fifteen years. (I have a very fine Guild acoutstic/electric but rarely use it.) // 10

Overall Impression: I've been playing for nearly 40 years. I have owned 9 electrics, 8 acoustics and 5 pedal steels, and this is far and away the most sturdy and reliable instrument of them all, hands down. Perhaps this guitar chose me, because I chose it strictly on impluse, simply for looks and the ultra-affordable price--a snap-decision without even playing the guitar (!!) which is something I have never done before or since. Consequently, it has turned out to be the best musical investment I have ever made. I have owned guitars costing three and four times as much that can't hold a candle to it. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 8.4
Generation EXP Reviewed by: unregistered, on january 19, 2006
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Price paid: $ 217.77

Purchased from: Sound Control - London

Features: Brand spanking new piece of kit, 3 pickups: 1 humbucker at the bridge plus 2 single-coils middle and neck positions. Mine is blue, cool colour and looks great. Rosewood neck. Doesn't come with anything which is a shame, don't know where you'd get a hard case that fits it, if anyone knows let me know. // 8

Sound: A very versatile instrument. I have a Gibson Les Paul Classic, a Gibson LP faded double-cut and a Fender Strat and I reckon this toy can cover a range of styles from blues, jazz, funk, rock, metal, country and more. // 8

Action, Fit & Finish: A very playable guitar. The action is just dead right. The neck is a bit sticky having no coating on it but that may well change as it ages. // 8

Reliability & Durability: Haven't played it live yet, just in the house (through a new Peavy Delta Blues 30 watt valve amp) and it sounds the DBs. I guess the bridge plate might rust with time, difficult to tell. The plastic knob on the end of the pickup selector Switch is loose, the guitar I bought had that bit missing so I pulled the part of another one hanging beside it on the wall! Just needs a bit of glue I guess. It feels a real solid guitar so should stand up to knocks and bumps ok. // 8

Overall Impression: For value for money, this is incredible. It plays and sounds 80% to 90% as good as my Gibsons and Fender but at a fraction of the price. I play mainly blues and rock and like a bit of jazzy stuff thrown in, this guitar is actually perfect for all of that. It can do grunge, clear ringing tone, soft, liquid jazz and is a really lovely instrument to play. I've had it for 1 week now (bought Jan 14th 2006) and can't find anything wrong with it. Value for money is incredible, I wanted something really cheap as (another) backup guitar and this is miles better than its price would suggest. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9.2
Generation EXP Reviewed by: wildyoda2, on june 08, 2007
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Price paid: $ 179

Purchased from: Daddy's Junky Music

Features: This guitar is a tele-shaped, American made guitar with s/s/h configuration, a five-way Switch, one tone and one volume control. There is no piezo pick-up on this model. There is on the "pro" model (similarly named but I don't know exactly). Very simple, very effective with a one-piece maple neck with truss rod and a rosewood fingerboard with 21 medium (almost large to me) frets. Mine is a nice Candy Apple Red which is actually subtler than you would think. It has a string-through design, and individual saddles adjustable for height and intonation on a nicely designed bridge/tailpiece plate. The individual tuners are sealed and non-locking. // 9

Sound: This guitar is wonderfully versatile and simple thanks to the s/s/h configuration and five-way switching. Rolling off the humbucker gives a deep, warm, rounded jazz tone that allows the tremolo of my Acoustic 150 to Shine. Of course the single coils brighten things up a bit without being too brash and the humbucker is capable of some hard crunch and distortion through my Vox Pathfinder. These pick-ups are strong but subtle, very well-rounded but they allow your playing to show through without overpowering. An excellent combination for a beginner or a seasoned pro Who wants tonal variety not over-the-top performance. Surprisingly good in a guitar this cheap! // 8

Action, Fit & Finish: This guitar was very nicely set-up when I picked it up. Knowing the music store, I'm sure it came from the factory this way. The salespeople don't seem too keen on perfecting set-ups on the display floor. I made some very minor adjustments for height and intonation, but only for my personal preference. The only thing wrong I could find with this guitar is a small chip in the finish on the bottom side by the output socket, nothing else! The frets and nut are perfectly finished. Two strings trees avoid any ringing. Tuners, knobs and Switch all work smoothly. I made a mistake by trying to remove the adhesive from the neck plate with kitchen scrubber that was too abrasive. Now it's dulled a bit with surface scratches but that's clearly my own fault. // 9

Reliability & Durability: Everything seems solid and dependable with this guitar. I expect all the hardware to last as I don't abuse my instruments. This would be an excellent choice to gig with without a back-up. No tremolo/vibrato to break strings with, easily re-strung if you do, a variety of sounds available with the simple h/s/s configuration, inexpensive if it gets stolen, broken, spilt on whatever. The finish might be a little thin but it'll still take many years of playing to wear it out and that should only add character anyway. // 10

Overall Impression: This guitar was a complete surprise to me. I went into the shop just to check things out, not intending to buy anything. I hadn't played a Peavey in a while and this was in a stand on the showroom floor in front of me. I picked it up fully expecting to return it a second later, but I ended up walking out the door with it! I have been playing for 30 years. I have owned and played many guitars over that time. This one stands out on it's simplicity and versatility. It's a great all-around guitar at a CHEAP price! It might not have the "best" sounding pickups but you won't find better for this price. I love the whole set-up, string through body, no tremolo/vibrato, s/s/h configuration, two control knobs, 5-way switch, it all makes for a simple, effective, no-fuss, no glam guitar. I probably wouldn't get another one if this was stolen because I've already got way too many guitars, but if I had found this one first I might not have as many. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 8.4
Generation EXP Reviewed by: BurnzyRock, on december 26, 2008
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Price paid: C$ 250

Purchased from: musical strings and things

Features: This guitar was bought new in 2005, and it has held up well since then. It has 21 frets, easy 1-volume 1-toner dials, and a 5-way selector. It's finish is a cheap transparent, but is very pretty. It's neck is made from what seems to be Ash. It's accesibility to tune is easy, and is easy to play. // 9

Sound: I, myself like to play many types of music. Metal, alternative, punk, blues, I play it all. And, that guitar can make the sound of them all easily. Although I must admit it would not sound as as good as a guitar meant for that genre. It's sound is rich and full, and can make a good and easy switch from heavy to soft. // 8

Action, Fit & Finish: This guitar is very good and easy to play. The pickups are adjusted almost perfectly and sounds Brand New. But, this guitar has one flaw. Then again, what guitar doesn't? This guitar's flaw is that it's finish will just easily chip off if hit. Mine has just 3 or 4, and all are very noticable. Not big, but still noticable. // 8

Reliability & Durability: I have yet to find a technical flaw on this guitar. It's hardware is good and solid, and has held up over the years, maintaining it's sound. I have had it as my primary guitar for more than three years now, and has held up so far. And, other than the chipping problem, it's finish is good, and doesn't seem to fade. I have played many gigs, and it has held up good so far. // 9

Overall Impression: Like I said earlier, I play lots of types of music, including stuff I write myself. This guitar works well for all. Even though I do own an Epiphone Dot, which is a jazz guitar, and used to have a Peavey Rotor metal style guitar, I would rather have this. // 8

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 7.4
Generation EXP Reviewed by: belavista man, on july 29, 2010
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Price paid: £ 100

Purchased from: A friend

Features: Mine is a fairly new model, I think. The guitar is not marked with a date or place-of-build though. It features three pickups (two single coil and a humbucker on the bridge), a five-way pickup selector, tone and volume knobs, and a piezo. The bridge is a Fishman bridge, which seems quite durable and reliable - though it's not a whammy bridge. The guitar itself is built to look and feel like a Telecaster - the machineheads are alike to those found on a Tele too. The Peavey requires a battery, which fits into the back, making it an active guitar (don't leave it plugged in overnight! I've made that mistake before now - it wears the battery down fast). // 8

Sound: I use this guitar mainly for clean songs. It sounds brilliantly clear and crisp, especially if you blend the piezo well with the Standard pick-ups. There's so many options when it comes to the clean channel! I mean, you got your 5 way pick-up selector (which gains something near to a Strat sound with some success), your tone and then your piezo. Blending all these features well enough, you can get near any sound you like! It sounds truely beautiful with a chorus effect on it. I do feel that the guitar isn't built for overdrive though. I've tried it on overdrive before now, and it usually doesn't sound right. I've compared it the overdrive sound of my Vintage TC200B, and there's no competition. // 8

Action, Fit & Finish: My guitar is glitter-gold-painted, with a black scratchplate and black binding (white edge on the S-plate). The previous owner, actually my college tutor, had already had the action and pick-ups set up. Despite this, the action etc. needs little up-keep. The hardware/chrome seems to be holding out well. It's not rusted or fallen apart in any way as of yet - and I've had it for about half a year now. // 7

Reliability & Durability: It feels quite flimsy in the way it's built - the input crackles, the strap buttons are loose, for example... Maybe that's to do with it being second hand, but it's something to take into consideration. I'm not sure it'd last you forever, but how should I know? I'm not going to live that long. // 6

Overall Impression: Personally, I love the guitar. I think it's great. In my band, we do songs like Oh! Darlin (The Beatles), Take Me To The River (Al Green) and Back To Black/Black and Gold (Amy Winehouse/Sam Sparro), and the guitar is really suited to it. Again, like I said, I've tried it out on our more over-driven songs, like Message In A Bottle (The Police) and Proud Mary (CCR/Tina Turner) - it just doesn't sound right. It sounds weak. If you want it for clean songs, it's a great thing to have in your arsenal. // 8

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 8.6
Generation EXP Reviewed by: unregistered, on september 26, 2012
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Price paid: C$ 350

Purchased from: West Edmonton Mall

Features: I bought this guitar in 2004. It has a volume knob, tone knob, and five-way selector switch. There's a humbucker-style pickup and two others further down the neck. The five-way selector is alright, but to be honest... I keep it cranked to the right for the brightest, crispest tone all teh time. The others, to me, sound bass-ey and dead. // 8

Sound: I play and record original stuff, and it's a variety of styles. I get away with playing some rock, metal-y stuff, folk, country, whatever. The versatility of this guitar has been one of my favourite aspects. But, like I said, I don't have much use for 3 or 4 of the options on the five-way selector... Two of them seem usable to me, the others are there because... That way you have a five-way selector switch. Maybe it's for the look-cool factor. // 8

Action, Fit & Finish: I haven't adjusted anything on this guitar (besides the usual stuff, changing strings, etc) for almost a decade. It's a beast. It is heavy, but I don't take it on hikes, and it doesn't cause me any trouble, so what do I care... I bought it because it looked awesome and ended up with a tank of a guitar. // 9

Reliability & Durability: This guitar's durability, versatility, and good looks have been the best things about it. I've moved 5-6 times since buying it, jammed it onto moving trucks, put it in the back of cars, put it on airplanes, all in a soft case (I will not do that anymore now that I have a real appreciation for the thing), and the guitar still works great. I play every day, mostly practicing and recording. No gigs. // 9

Overall Impression: I would buy another one if I didn't think it would be uncool to own two telecaster-style guitars. If it were lost or stolen I'd replace it with another hot-looking EXP Generation. I love that I bought it on impulse, purely based on looks (I knew barely anything about how to distinguish a good sound on a guitar when I bought it), and it ended up surprising me and serving me so well for almost 10 years. I would love to have something to compare it to, but I can't. I've never owned or played a Fender Telecaster or Squier Tele. This is my only electric. I also have a bass and acoustic. And what makes it so hard to move onto another electric is that this guitar is so damn good at everything. And for the price you pay, you cannot go wrong. // 9

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
More Peavey reviews rating category latest review
+ Triple XXX Head 8.4 Guitar Amplifiers 12/08/2014
+ Envoy 110 8.7 Guitar Amplifiers 11/10/2014
+ PXD Twenty-Three III 8.8 Electric Guitars 10/07/2014
+ 6534+ 7.3 Guitar Amplifiers 09/15/2014
+ Vypyr VIP 2 7.6 Guitar Amplifiers 06/02/2014
+ view all
Comments
Your captcha is incorrect