Raptor II Review

manufacturer: Peavey date: 10/13/2007 category: Electric Guitars
descr
 Sound: 7.3
 Overall Impression: 8.3
 Reliability & Durability: 7.8
 Action, Fit & Finish: 6.8
 Features: 8.3
 Overall rating:
 7.5 
 Reviewer rating:
 7.7 
 Users rating:
 7.3 
 Votes:
 3 
reviews (4) 2 comments vote for this gear:
overall: 7.2
Raptor II Reviewed by: foolSTAR, on february 19, 2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Price paid: $ 189

Purchased from: Red's Pawn Shop

Features: My Peavy Raptor II... also my first guitar. 21 Frets(weird)with a mahogany neck and head. Face of the neck is staind a darker color the the rest of the neck. Laminated top, 2 humbuckers (model comes with only one in it, but second can be easily installed). 2 control knobs, volume and tone. 3 Pick ups, clean medium and heavy distorted-ish sound. The guitar has a transparent finish on it with the type of bridge with the coiled springs that hold the strings (forgive me for forgetting the name, slipped my mind). Tuners do not lock, made of steel and are rather small. Thin neck with nice round backing, average size frets. Guitar came with a soft gig bag. // 8

Sound: This guitar is awesome for you power chorders out there who play deep, low end rock. With the right pedals and adjustments this guitar can also play a very well mid-range jazz set. It's high end sound is nothing to be desired, tho it's amazing low end sound makes up for that. I use a Marshall Lead Combo with it, and it sounds great. I also changed bands while using the guitar to a heavier rock band. I use a sub instead of a speaker in my amp which accents the low end sound of the guitar and worsens the high end sound, which pretty much sucked from the get go. The 5th and 6th strings (B + e) have a whine/ear piercing type sound to them, this has been tested on 3 different sets of strings as well. This goes well with a Wah pedal or a Crybaby pedal and a good lead. The sound again has a deep power to it. I wouldn't suggest purchasing this guitar if you are a big lead player, due to the lack of rich sound high end and the high elevation of the 18th+ frets at the beginning of the neck. I like the guitar when i am playing a breakdown or a lower verse but the guitar is below satisfaction when you break into leads. // 6

Action, Fit & Finish: This guitar was bought "used" but it was brand new at the store. The guitar was bough offline on accident and a guy just came in and sold it to the pawn shop without even trying it. I've been using this guitar a little under a year and it's beginning to fall apart. The volume knob has become loose and the construction of the guitar's lock which holds the knob down is horrible. It has NO ( i repeat) NO locking device to hold the knob to the guitar, it's just held on by the plate that it sets on. The guitar can be put together and taken apart with ease, and the neck is amazing. It has a perfect balance between durable and thin, and a great bend to it. The guitar stays intune very good. // 6

Reliability & Durability: The Reliability on this guitar is a 5, the durability is a 2. This guitar sounds good live, and has a good look to it. (Exact look of a Telecaster). The hardware on it sucks, as it is already breaking in under a year of medium use. The paint and finish are VERY good, only 3 scratches in the paint were me being an ass and slamming my guitar. The strap buttons are solid, but a bit on the small side. I depend on this guitar, being the only one I have at the moment I have no choice. I would use this guitar with no back up anyday, but the longer you use it, that confidence would fade. The plug-in where the chord comes in from the amp is starting to loosen from the guitar. Again, I reinforce this point. Durability-2, Reliability-5. // 8

Overall Impression: I play some funk-ish/rock-ish/technical-ish stuff with this guitar. A tom Morello or Mike Enghinger type sound. It works very well with this, but as I lend it to my friends who are way into Hendrix or SRV, they seem to be disapointed in it's performance high end. Had I known of this guitars durability, I probably would not have purchased it. The only time you hear anythign good about Peavy guitars is when people buy custom models of famous guitar player's guitars. There's a reason for that. If the guitar came with a few more control knobs, 2 mor pickups and 24 fret's I would love it to death. It has a GREAT rock sound to it, and that is probably the best thing going for it. // 8

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 8.4
Raptor II Reviewed by: byrnnryb, on may 04, 2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Price paid: $ 310

Purchased from: UngaBunga Music

Features: 21 frets (weird), 5 way pickup selector, 1 volume knob, 1 tone knob. S/S/H pickup config. Transparent finish (blue for me), body is nearly identical to a Strat. Vintage style bridge. The guitar itself is $140, but I bought the gig pack (guitar, 15W amp w/dist, cable, gig bag, tuner, picks, extra strings. // 8

Sound: I mostly play rock/metal, so the humbucker will do it very well most of the time. I use the 15W Rage amp that it came with, and even just with that, if you play with the EQ a little, you can get some real good sound. However, you can get it to where the high sound from the humbucker sounds awful, so I stay away from turning up the high frequency on the EQ too much. The guitar handles the dist. Just fine, even when i Switch to the single pickups, they do fairly well with it. // 8

Action, Fit & Finish: I've had this guitar for roughly 6 months, and already the plastic on the pickguard is starting to come off, but that's the only flaw i can find (you can't even tell where the plastic has come off). No scratches dents or anything like that yet, and i take it to every performance I have. // 8

Reliability & Durability: A fairly reliable guitar, everything feels very solid, and plays well, finish doesn't come off, solid strap buttons, although I would keep a backup just in case, though I doubt you would need it, but I haven't had it long enough to put it through all its paces just yet. // 8

Overall Impression: I am very impressed with this guitar, it's a solid, well built, reliable guitar. I've been playing for +/- 4 years, and this guitar can keep up with me. I'll be adding on some digitech effects soon, and i've already tried them on this guitar, and they sound great. It's not how it compares with other expensive guitars, but how it compares with other guitars in its own price range, and if you can't tell by now, it blows them away. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 7.6
Raptor II Reviewed by: AC/DC_Rocks_Ang, on october 15, 2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Price paid: $ 99.5321

Purchased from: Ted Goods

Features: 21 Frets, nice color, and a nice neck. Nothing else came with it. // 8

Sound: I usually use my Peavey Backstage amp (don't ask why) and it soudns ok, but when used with alot of distortion it sounds pretty bad. It can usually play all kinds of music but the pickups I have on it usually make it overdrive when the knob is set at 3 or 4. It has a nice bright sound to it but I think it's played best with clean. I usually play rock or metal and it sounds ok. It sounds amazing when it's plugged into my friends Fender amp though, gives is really good distortion. // 8

Action, Fit & Finish: The pickups were ok, but they aren't very good with very high distortion and overdrive. The strap pegs are really small which usually makes the strap fall off, I can't remember how many times it fell off when I was performing. The volume and tone knobs are really lose which usually causes it to turn alot when I even slightly bump the guitar. // 6

Reliability & Durability: Yes this guitar will withstand live playing as I have done it before. The hardware seems it will last, its in good condition and I bought it second hand. The strap buttons are ok, but they are a little small which can be a problem. Yes I can depend on it, but I would probably use a backup just incase, and yes the finish is still shining on it. // 8

Overall Impression: I play lots of rock and it sounds great with Fender amplifiers. I have been playing for a couple years and this was my first guitar. If it were stolen I'd probably go buy an Iommi G-400 as I hear good reviews about it. I really hate the strap pegs on this thing but I love how it's a nice solid beginners guitar. I wish it had a better pickups standard. // 8

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 7.4
Raptor II Reviewed by: Korzack, on october 13, 2007
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Price paid: $ 237.9

Features: I got given this as a first guitar in 2003. YOur usual Strat copy Starter Kit, 21 frets, rosewood fretboard, maple neck & headstock. No idea about the body wood, but I'l guessing alder or something like that. 3 single coil pickups, and a tremolo bridge. 1 volume and 1 tone control. I tore off the 'made In...' sticker very early on, but I'll presume China. I got it in a big ol' Starter Kit (158 rage amp, lead, pick, gig-bag, that kinda thing. The box is handy for extra storage though) In the usual way, it's pretty damn generous, so I'll give it a 9. Also made at least an attempt to make the body design unique, which is a first. Nothing major, just the second cutaway isn't so severe, so it'salmos Tele-like in that respect. Also, the tuners are 3 and 3 rather than 6 on 1 side. // 9

Sound: The 3 pickups aren't really that good. The bridge coil has a nice sound for the usual stuff - y'know punk, rock, blkues etc. Just don't try to play reign in blood anytime soon/ The other 2 pickups are just mud in electromanget form. It might not be set up right, but the sound's a bit cheap as well so I'm guessing it's right. THe middle pickup works well with the bridge, but I don't touch the neck unless I'm trying to imitate cpalton (in which sense, it actually works with the tone rolled down). Again, it's only a newbie guitar, but I'm not comparing this to a Gibson, so I'll give it a 7. It handles distortion & overdrive quite well, so it has it's up sides. Might definitely want to upgrade the pickups to Fenders or Duncans, so I don't have to shell out for a Fender. // 7

Action, Fit & Finish: Was set up all right, so far as I can see. Tolds tune pretty well, even after going ballistic with the trem a while. Only problem I had was after a few weeks, the jack holder broke, so had to send it to the store to pull it back out. Apart from that, and a few extra nuts to hold the jack holder in place, it's been solid. I'll be lucky to get more than 50 for it if I tried selling it on, so I won't. Simple. // 7

Reliability & Durability: I've already covered the only problem I had, which I'm fine with. To be honest, I used it for a recording & it was all right, and it's a handy backup, but it's not a main guitar. The strap buttons. Were better than the strap that came with it, that was complete crap. It holds leather straps & the like just fine, but I don't use anytyhing weaker anyway, so just use locks for safety. // 7

Overall Impression: It's a good beginner's guitar, for sure, anyone looking af Squiers should be gently pursuaded to look at one of these. I've had this thing for 4 years, & I'm keeping it because I can't be bothered to sell it for beer change, which is what I'll get for it. Again, it's not 'Blackie', but it's solid enough for someone learning the ropes, & it still gets picked up every now & then. // 7

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
More Peavey reviews rating category latest review
+ VTM 60 8.2 Guitar Amplifiers 12/22/2014
+ Triple XXX Head 8.4 Guitar Amplifiers 12/08/2014
+ Envoy 110 8.7 Guitar Amplifiers 11/10/2014
+ PXD Twenty-Three III 8.8 Electric Guitars 10/07/2014
+ 6534+ 7.3 Guitar Amplifiers 09/15/2014
+ view all
Comments
Your captcha is incorrect