V-Type EXP Review

manufacturer: Peavey date: 01/18/2013 category: Electric Guitars
Peavey: V-Type EXP
24 frets, 13 degree pitch headstock, rosewood fretboard, two ceramic humbucking pickups, three-way switch, reverse six-in-line headstock.
 Sound: 9.7
 Overall Impression: 9.3
 Reliability & Durability: 9.7
 Action, Fit & Finish: 9.3
 Features: 9.7
 Overall rating:
 9.2 
 Reviewer rating:
 9.5 
 Users rating:
 8.9 
 Votes:
 42 
reviews (3) pictures (2) 15 comments vote for this gear:
overall: 9.2
V-Type EXP Reviewed by: unregistered, on june 29, 2004
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

Price paid: $ 229

Purchased from: Musicians Friend

Features: - Made in Korea - 24 jumbo frets with dot inlay - Solid top - 3 way selector with volume and tone - Dual humbuckers - Maple neck and rosewood fretboard. - Grover tuners // 10

Sound: I play metal type of stuff, like Metallica and Pantera but I also play stuff like Led Zep and Santana. I even play some Beethoven. Works for all of them. I use a Drive CD 200 and it has built in distortion, sounds fantastic, not noisey at all. Has a nice full sound great sustain n what not. Everything about this guitar is great. // 10

Action, Fit & Finish: Right out of the factory, it's was almost perfect. The Action was dead on, but the pickups were a little too high, but not too bad. I bought the refurbrished one, I can't tell why it was taken back to the factory, nor do I care, its great all around. I had some problem with the Floyd Rose, but it was my own fault, it's fixed now. // 8

Reliability & Durability: I would and will definatly take this to a live gig, its one of the most solid guitars I've ever played nothing on this guitar seems to budge at all. Would I take this to a gig without a backup. You bet. // 10

Overall Impression: I play anything that sounds good to me, from Slayer to Beethoven. It works for all. I've been playing for 1 year and 7 months. Give or take. I have a Hohner Acoustic and a Drive 20 watt amp. If this were stolen. I would hunt the guy down. If I couldn't find him I would buy a new one. I'm actually thinking about buying a NTB series V-type. My favorate feature has to be the neck, it's really small so you can go super fast with alot of ease. I wish it had a Floyd Rose Original not a licensed one. // 8

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 10
V-Type EXP Reviewed by: unregistered, on march 29, 2012
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Price paid: $ 450

Purchased from: eBay

Features: 24 fret, Gibson scale neck! Bolt-on version that was made in Korea. Everything is perfect on the guitar. Everything is done perfect to shred. Sound is very alive and feels like a musical instrument. I've owned the neck through version of this guitar (the black glossy one with inlays and other ornaments) and that felt to me like a piece of furniture (same feeling I have from Gibsons). So, my 10 out of 10 for everything on this guitar including pickups (which are stock and are amazing). // 10

Sound: I play it through Laney VC50 with Celestion G12T-75 speakers. Sound freaky good for metal as well as for jazz (I am more on metal side, folks). // 10

Action, Fit & Finish: Frets are big, jumbo. Neck is great. Nothing to add... // 10

Reliability & Durability: Stays in tune after it was dropped or hit! // 10

Overall Impression: My last guitar to own. Before I was buying/selling through Ibanez, Gibsons, PRSs, Carvins - all are history, V-Type is the one I have for 5 yeast now and think only about music not about the instrument! // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9.4
V-Type EXP Reviewed by: T4D, on january 18, 2013
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Features: I have 2 of these wonderful guitars made in Korea. A Red flaming maple top one with a Floyd Rose and a white one hard tail I prefer hard tail guitar in general (trouble free guitar playing) so after I got the Floyd rose one, I kept an eye out for a hard tail version on eBay. Once I got the hard tail I let my brother borrow the red one cause he fell in love with it. The first thing that stands out is the Abalone binding around the whole guitar body and fretboard very well done and look amazing just hang it on the wall and WOW. Some may not like the body style but hey you're not going to buy it so who cares. If you do like the shape you will enjoy it even more once you own it. // 9

Sound: I have no comment on the pickups that come with it from the factory, I got both guitars second hand with EMG pickup 81 and 85 already in them, I would say the tone of the wood is middle to treble tone, the body weight is average but it's a little more lighter sounding then a thick tone, both guitar sound nearly exactly the same ( minor differences hard tail vs Floyd rose). Neck thru body also gives good sustain. All the electrics are well shielded and well placed so no noise. I mainly play though VST and computer but also play Line 6 X3 & Carvin 1000 watt JCM 900 and 4 cabs mainly metal but also blues etc all sound great. // 9

Action, Fit & Finish: Very low action is the first thing I noticed on both guitars and all setup well, the flaming top on the red one is prefect, the white gloss paint is excellent add to this the excellent job done with the Abalone binding and the fret dressing and finish is better than some USA Fender's and Gibson's is own. I have to say the workmanship on these are of the highest standard well done some guy (or girl) in Korea. The neck is on the thinner side of the scale, giving very fast feel and a joy to play solos and chords on. This does feel to me like a rock shredding guitar but I can Imagen jazz or country player enjoy it too. // 10

Reliability & Durability: Solid well build guitar I cannot see any problems for anyone. The head stock does have a steeper angle then normal so maybe a problem if you drop your guitar on its head regularly? I replaced the strap buttons with DiMarzio straps so no comment there. The paint again is top quality on both my guitars and cannot see any issues or areas of damage, the neck thru body construction is as solid as it comes, with excellent access to the higher fret board. The Floyd rose model also has nice pull back routing for those notes that are just a whammy bar pull up away from. // 9

Overall Impression: Sorry I have to give this a 10 for a cheap Korean built guitar this thing ROCKS, this level of VALUE and QUALITY is hard to get nowadays. I have 2 and the second one my brother took because he feel in love with it, the finish the action, the neck, the workmanship all top quality on both the guitars I have. If I lost my hard tail version I would get my Floyd Rose version from my brother if I lost that,.. I would be searching the next day for a replacement. A Korea made Peavey V-type will always in my collection. I think it's a classic just like a EVH, PRS, Strat, Les etc. It has its own personality maybe more in the metal area but a great guitar for a cheap price however you look at it. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
More Peavey reviews rating category latest review
+ Triple XXX Head 8.4 Guitar Amplifiers 12/08/2014
+ Envoy 110 8.7 Guitar Amplifiers 11/10/2014
+ PXD Twenty-Three III 8.8 Electric Guitars 10/07/2014
+ 6534+ 7.3 Guitar Amplifiers 09/15/2014
+ Vypyr VIP 2 7.6 Guitar Amplifiers 06/02/2014
+ view all
Comments
Your captcha is incorrect