Jetstream HB Review

manufacturer: Reverend date: 05/12/2010 category: Electric Guitars
Reverend: Jetstream HB
The Jetstream guitar has the Reverend Bass Contour knob which rolls back the bass frequencies of the pickups.
 Sound: 9
 Overall Impression: 9
 Reliability & Durability: 9
 Action, Fit & Finish: 9
 Features: 9
 Overall rating:
 7.5 
 Reviewer rating:
 9 
 Users rating:
 6 
 Votes:
 4 
review (1) pictures (4) 10 comments vote for this gear:
overall: 9
Jetstream HB Reviewed by: RossZ88, on may 12, 2010
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Price paid: $ 599.95

Purchased from: Saratoga Guitar

Features: -BODY korina solidbody. Black back and sides with cream binding. 18-1/4" x 13" x 1-3/4". -PICKUPS two Reverend humbuckers, output/tone calibrated for each position. -NECK bolt-on, maple, amber tinted satin finish. -TRUSS ROD dual-action, access at headstock. -SCALE 25-1/2". -FINGERBOARD bound rosewood, 12" radius. -FRETS 22 medium jumbo. -NECK PROFILE medium oval. -NUT 1-21/32" (42 mm) width, graphite. -TUNERS Reverend Pin-Lock Tuners. -BRIDGE TOM w/ stop tail. -CONTROLS custom volume & tone, Bass Contour, 3-way. -FINISH Flame Maple Tobacco Burst // 9

Sound: I play jazz, blues, funk, rock, and r&b. This guitar is very well suited to cover these styles. In terms of jazz, it's more geared toward jazz-blues. The neck pickup is slightly cleaner so you can get a nice "bell tone" chime out of the pickup. The neck pickup also is very clean when you throw some overdrive and distortion. The bridge pickup is like a PAF style pickup but slightly hotter so you can cover some awesome rock tones. Not so much voiced for metal but that's where a good metal stompbox comes in. The Reverend pickups are voiced very well, they're touch sensitive and can produce nice overtones. The Jetstream guitar has the Reverend Bass Contour knob which rolls back the bass frequencies of the pickups. It's a great feature because when playing rhythm you can roll back the bass to give a nice little "spank" and single coil-esque sound. (No single coil "quack" just a thinner sound.) For the lead playing just roll up the Bass Contour and you get that full, rich sound back!! // 9

Action, Fit & Finish: The guitar was set up very well. It had been hanging in the store for awhile, and it played very well. I had the tech give it a quick once-over and he hardly did anything to it. The flame maple tobacco finish is a cool look. The Jetstream has a cool Vintage look to it and the finish gives a great compliment. There was a couple pick scratches on the pickguard but, that was to be expected. // 9

Reliability & Durability: I've gigged with this guitar since I purchased it. It's built TO BE PLAYED! The locking tuners keep everything in tune, the strap buttons are very solid. I can totally depend on this guitar for any gig. It's been tested through numerous performances and it's built to last. Unless you were playing guitar with a chisel then you would have to worry about the finish wear. // 9

Overall Impression: My impression of this guitar is that 1. It is incredibly underrated and 2. It's a players guitar. I've been playing since I was 13 and this guitar is simply a knockout! I wouldn't sell or trade it. If it were stolen, I'd buy another one in a heartbeat. I love the tone, the feel of the guitar, and the reliability. The only thing I wish it had was a tremolo in the bridge. The model I bought didn't have that feature but, I still love the guitar. Reverend Guitars are awesome, and I highly recommend trying one for yourself! // 9

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
More Reverend reviews rating category latest review
+ Sensei HB 8.5 Electric Guitars 11/03/2013
+ Jetstream 390 7.5 Electric Guitars 07/13/2012
+ Manta Ray 290 7.1 Electric Guitars 04/30/2012
+ Unknown Hinson Signature 8.6 Electric Guitars 06/10/2011
+ Volcano 9.4 Electric Guitars 02/01/2008
+ view all
Comments
Your captcha is incorrect