Bullet Special Review

manufacturer: Squier date: 10/03/2011 category: Electric Guitars
Squier: Bullet Special
The Bullet Special guitar is designed to offer a no-nonsense version of the current Bullet guitar with basic features that appeal to most guitarists.
 Sound: 7.8
 Overall Impression: 8.7
 Reliability & Durability: 8.4
 Action, Fit & Finish: 8.3
 Features: 7.9
 Overall rating:
 7.7 
 Reviewer rating:
 8.2 
 Users rating:
 7.1 
 Votes:
 56 
reviews (11) pictures (3) 19 comments vote for this gear:
overall: 8.8
Bullet Special Reviewed by: unregistered, on july 25, 2005
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

Price paid: $ 79.99

Purchased from: Musician's Friend

Features: Made in Indonesia, standard Squire Bullet Special edition. The finish is a beautiful ice blue metallic. It compliments my Takamine EG560CSB perfectly. I am quite taken by the build quality of the guitar. It was exactly what I was looking for in terms of electronics. Just one pickup and a volume knob. Actually I was in the market for a P-90 Gibson Junior but the price was out of my league. The guitar came with a two tool Hex Key set. Hard not to give it a excellent rating, as it's price alone is a no brainer as well as being backed by Fender. I would love to drop in a Black Dove pickup for that P-90 sound. Maybe down the road. // 10

Sound: As for my musical ability. it's mostly old sixties and seventies rock. Pushing it through a Kustom KAA30 acoustic amp along with a bank of Danelectro mini pedals (flanger, phaser, vibrato, wah and EQ). The EQ helps immensly with cleaning it up. Alone it has rougher sound than I expected from a Fender. With the effects tho it rocks all over the place. // 8

Action, Fit & Finish: I'll tell you what, I took it out of the box and haven't put it down yet. It may need a little neck adjust (or maybe I'm just more comfortable with the Takamine). As the width is sligthly thinner than the Tak. But I'll take it in to the shop as soon as I put it down. Like I said before the finish is perfect (really rich looking). The neck is unfinished kinda like an Ibanez which I abhore. But this is smoother somehow. And the fretboard and frets are just right. As for everybody jumping on the tuners these seem fine and hold tune OK. Remember it is a 79.99 guitar gang. Overall I'd say good is the grade. // 8

Reliability & Durability: Haven't had it out yet but it impressed one of my old guitar playing buddies who wants to get together. I can hear him now "Hey why don't you play the Tak. And I'll hop on the Bullet". I can't say how pleased I am for the money I spent. On the hardware, fit, finish; man I'm sold. It also is very light and has a nice balance which is a big plus. // 8

Overall Impression: Overall good match for my style. Been playing for over 25 years not the most technical player but I've pleased the people I play for. Like I said earlier a P-90 would be nice and might happen down the road but for now armed with the Takamine and Bullet I think I'm set. As long as it's blue it must be good! // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9.6
Bullet Special Reviewed by: GetLostInIt776, on june 07, 2005
2 of 3 people found this review helpful

Price paid: $ 89.99

Purchased from: Musician's Friend

Features: Ok this guitar was made in Indonesia in 2004. It's got 21 frets, with medium jumbo frets. It has a rosewood fingerboard, and it's a standard scale. I believe this guitar is made of something very cheap like poplar or the like. It is extremely light though, so I'm down with whatever tree died for it. The neck is made of maple. The finish is a super ugly silver that I plan to paint over, and as far as I know, that is the only color this guitar is available in, though I think I saw it in Musician's Friend with a blue version once. It is a Strat body style, with a HardTail Strat bridge. It has only one volume control and one humbucking pickup. The only problem is the original pickup is s--t, so I replaced it with the almighty Seymour Duncan SH-8 Invader. The tuners are also s--t, and I plan to replace them with some nice Sperzels. // 10

Sound: Uhm, well as far as I can express, this guitar fits my style perfectly. I play mostly punk rock, or whatever I think sounds alright. I found that with my other guitar (which is an Oscar Schmidt semi-hollowbody) I get bogged down and distracted with pickup and tone configurations, and this guitar (with the SH-8) provides the perfect tone I need that can cut through anything in its way. I'm using this guitar with an old nasty Peavey amp that I hate and throw things at and the guitar still sounds alright, so I'm convinced it's a rad thingy. There's no varitey in tone other than amp settings and how and where you pick. Which is good. Less is more. // 10

Action, Fit & Finish: Well for a $90.00 guitar this was perfect from the factory aside from strings. The strings lasted me about 30 minutes. And that was on the ride to get new ones. Yeah other than that the action was fine, I lowered it a bit, I haven't had problems with fret buzz or anything like that, and it's held up really well so far. Its a tought little thing. // 10

Reliability & Durability: This guitar is a rock. I pull full confidence in it's ability to perform live, because only shitty guitarists can't overcome simple problems. The only real qualm I have with this guitar is the tuning stability, and tuners can be replaced for a relatively low amount of money. // 8

Overall Impression: Well this guitar is as close to perfect as I could ask for right now. Sure, it's missing a few nice little nuances, but I can deal. The things it needs to have are a new paint job and new tuners. The thing I love most about my guitar is the one volume knob and one pickup configuration. I hate really complicated gaudy s--t and this guitar is the simplest design out there. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 7.3
Bullet Special Reviewed by: unregistered, on april 27, 2005
1 of 2 people found this review helpful

Sound: The sound of this was great. When I had no idea what I was doing now after 2 years of playing I still plug it in once ina while turn up the distortion listen to the feedback. The hum and crank up the volume and let loose sum crazy solo's and I still think hey this gets the job done. I liked this guitar. // 6

Action, Fit & Finish: Here's where your gonna lose points. The action sucks the finish is a good sturdy finish but it's a basic finish easy to do nothing special the jackplate comes loose god thats annoying. Put some locktite on it and it will never move again, but it wasn't that great. // 6

Overall Impression: I thought it was a great guitar to learn the basics. You don't want to spend 700 dollars on a guitar and find out you don't have what it takes or you don't like it. Well anyways the last thing I wanna say is I've re-finished this guitar the old finish stripped down nice and when you paint it in the Van Halen 2 style black with yellow stripes and give it all new expensive pickups and buy all new hardware and new neck and spend 700 dollars on it. It becomes your best guitar the body is all thats left of this guitar but I think it'll stand the test of time. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9
Bullet Special Reviewed by: JU5TIN, on february 01, 2006
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Price paid: $ 102.7

Purchased from: Long & McQuade

Features: This beauty was made in Indonesia and features a maple neck and I couldn't tell you what the body is made of but it is light as hell, such a change from my Les Paul. It's got 21 medium jumbo frets on a rosewood fretboard that on mine looks stained or lightly painted on the top to darken it, not sure about that but whatever still looks fine. It's got a great blue metallic finish and works well with the chrome hardware. It has a hard tail non tremelo bridge which is great for people that dont like knocking there guitar out of tune all the time. The pickup is ok, great for the price, and has a much better clean tone than the distortion happy SD Invader I have in my other guitars which is what I was looking for. I'm going to replace the pickup down the line but for now it's a welcome change. The tuners? forget about it, they suck and need to be replaced if your at all serious about playing the guitar on a regular basis. The stripped down look of it makes me think of the Tom DeLonge Strat, and who doesn't love that guitar? This is a great starting guitar but still great for someone more expierienced. // 8

Sound: The sound is what you would expect from a guitar in the $100 range, it'll do fine running through a decent to good amp but dont expect miracles from your 10watt practice amp. I'm running it through a Traynor YCV40 and a DF7 Distortion Factory pedal and have no complaints. Theres no noise when the volume is down to 0 and the amp's not in standby, something lacking in my other guitars. You've got 1 humbucker in the bridge position, it's more versitile than you think so use your imagination, your not stuck with any one musical style with this guitar. But again it's not great for every style. // 8

Action, Fit & Finish: The action was wicked high for me, but maybe not for someone else, but it's easily changed, and it came with those wimpy Fender strings, I think there 9's or something, pretty thin. The finish is flawless as far as I can see and you can easily slide up and down the neck. The pickup height was fine but the pole peices arn't adjustable, I might complain but I dont know how to properly adjust them anyway. // 10

Reliability & Durability: This guitar is a rock, super light which is great for people who move on stage and the hardware should last a long time (the tuners might last forever but won't keep your guitar in tune for more than an hour, so change them). The strap buttons are solid and are a much better design than some I've seen on some Les Pauls, you almost don't need straplocks, but I put them on anyway. I'd say gig it without a backup, but if your super paranoid than maybe bring a backup, but I can't see why you would need one. // 10

Overall Impression: You guys play punk rock? Me too and it's great for it, I've never owned a guitar with more than 1 pickup and havn't had a complaint yet. If punk is your thing, this is a guitar I highly recommend, it's so easy to play and won't turn begginers off who are trying to learn. Theres more love than hate with this guitar, I hate the tuners and even the volume pot could be smoother but other than that theres nothing I don't love. I'd buy another one in a hearbeat if it were stolen or were lost in a fire or whatever. This is one of those gems that begginers to expierenced players can benefit from, it's so cheap but you wouldn't know it from looking at it or playing it. I was so surprised at the quality, but what can you expect from a company backed by Fender? // 9

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 8.6
Bullet Special Reviewed by: Fender_punk, on november 15, 2006
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Price paid: $ 118.5

Purchased from: long and mcquade

Features: This is a korean made ice blue metallic squire. It's got 21 frets on a rosewood fretboard. It's a Strat style body. The only thing different about the shape from a Strat is that the body is thinner. It's got a hardtail string-thru bridge so you feed the strings right through the bridge itself. It came with a squire humbucker. Just one and a volume pot. The tuners are kind of Vintage but the backs of them are like the normal Fender Strat ones. // 9

Sound: The sound of this guitar is quite good. I bought it because I couldnt afford/ find a tom delonge Fender and it was extremely similar. Now I own the Tom DeLonge and there pretty comparable guitars. I bought it and installed a Seymour Duncan invader. It sounds great for punk which is mainly what I play. Even the stock pickup wasn't bad, sounds better then the hum's in the mexican strats anyway. At the time I played it through a Fender FM 212R and it sounded really good. Some people argue you can't get a good variety of sound. This guitar would not be very suited for blues or somehting like that but it can get any kind of rock sound easily. // 9

Action, Fit & Finish: The guitar was set up decently allthough the action is pretty bad. I don't play it much but I'll go home and adjust the truss rod when I get a chance. The pickups werent in there long before I replaced them but they were fine. I kind of modified this guitar a lot. The guitar is ice blue metallic with a black pickguard. I purchased all black hardware for it (input, tuners, strap locks). Since the bridge isnt anyhting special iw as looking to maybe replace that with a black bridge but haven't been able to find one of it's kind. I also plastered the guitar with stickers to give it a nice punk rock feel. // 7

Reliability & Durability: I played this guitar live for over a year. It's great. Nice and light so if you jump around and stuff like I do, it's good for that. I replaced most of the hardware but not because it lacked in quality, I just wanted a different look. I still use this as a d-tuned backup sometimes. I would never play without a backup in case of string breaking but the guitar itself is worthy of being played without one. // 9

Overall Impression: I play punk rock. So does this guitar. If you like the idea of tom delonges guitar but can't afford it or find it, buy this. It's absurd how cheap it is. I have been playing for 4 years. if it was lost I'd be pissed but I own 4 guitars and I hardly play this anymore since I got my tom delonge. I love the way it looks and it's simplicity. I hate how the logo looks on the headstock (just black with no outlining or anything) and I hate the action being so high (I'm fixing it). This is the best squire I've ever played. // 9

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 7
Bullet Special Reviewed by: punkrocker25, on may 09, 2007
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Features: Overall I find this guitar doesn't have a whole lot of features, I mean one pickup and 1 volume knob? Pretty basic, however good for the beginner, I bought this as my first guitar and it's definitly easy on the wallet. The humbucker is good for my punk rock style, however it plays good clean as well. // 6

Sound: Even though it is a simple guitar it suits my rock/punk music style really well with the humbucker, but I am also using a Line6 Spider II 15 with it so the amp channels greatly improve it. Because it doesnt't have single coils it isn't noisy at all, I don't get any feedback on any channels and that is one thing that pleased me. It has good variety in sounds but as I said that may be my amp doing the job. I must say though that for $99 CAN you would think this would be a crap guitar but it has much better sound than expected. The 2 things I found not so good was the sustain on certain channels and it doesnt't stay in tune very long (no more than 1 or 2 good practices tops) due to the lower end parts, but still overall good. // 7

Action, Fit & Finish: The first Bullet I picked up for some reason was electronically a dud, so that was disappointing coming from squire, but the one I picked up later was set up well, haven't had any issues with the patch cord input or the knob or strings, but I found coming from the factory the strings were set quite high. The finish was perfect when I got it but the body and pickguard scratch quite easily, not noticable from a distance but definitely up close, but the finish has been great and hasn't worn yet after about a year. // 8

Reliability & Durability: This guitar will be ok Live but if you are playing something like it it would be nice to have a backup just because it is so light that it feels not too durable, but it has taken a few bumps from myself and has seemed to stand up fine to all that. The only piece of hardware that would ever concern me is the bridge because at one point I had a problem with the screws always coming loose. It took a while to get it sorted out but eventually I got them to stay in there, but I wouldn't want that failing on me while performing. // 7

Overall Impression: Overall it is a good match to my simplish punk rock style, even tougher and more demanding music as well. I bought this as my beginner first guitar and it has done a good job of that, now I would like to invest in a new one but I would definitey recommed it to beginning guitarists who don't have a lot of cash to spare. I like it's versatility in terms of styles but not so much the lack of features. I have played friends squire strats and I personally prefer the Bullet to them, to me it feels better and has better sustain but that may just come with working it in. // 7

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 8.4
Bullet Special Reviewed by: unregistered, on december 25, 2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Price paid: $ 100

Purchased from: Guitar Center

Features: The Bullet Special Edition has about 22 medium frets. Squier keeps it simple witht the single coil humbucker, and the only knob is the volume. It comes in 2 colors...a kind of silver color (much like the color of Billy Corgan's Fender Strat), and a dark blue (which I have). It has a laminated top. The neck is solid wood, and the tuners are non-locking. Unfortunately it doesn't have switchable distortion. // 6

Sound: The style in my mind is not exactly what I was looking for,eventhough I am a beginner. I wanted a more heavier sound like the music I listen to (deftones,tool,apc). With the guitar I purchased a 15w Crate Amp. It goes together amazing with the amp. The only thing I don't like on it is the pickup. The pickup is ultra sensitive which equals a lot of unwanted sound. // 8

Action, Fit & Finish: N/A // 10

Reliability & Durability: As a beginner guitar this thing can outlive anything. Its reliable also. I have dropped it like 2 because of the strap but it only got a microscopic scratch. // 10

Overall Impression: This is a great beginner guitar... not the best, but great. // 8

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9.6
Bullet Special Reviewed by: unregistered, on july 12, 2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Price paid: $ 151.2

Purchased from: Used

Features: My Bullet Special was made in 2003, in Indonesia. It has 21 medium jumbo frets and a rosewood fingerboard I guess, the neck is thin, I like that. I guess it has a laminated because that's what the other review says. It has a maple body. It's orange, I like that very much, it's also available in dark blue and metallic, it has a black pickgaurd. It' actually just a Strat but with one humbucker and one volume knob. It doesn't have a normal string-thru body bridge like a normal Strat, the strings don't go through the body. The humbucker is active. It only has one volume knob, you don't need more. Tuners are non-locking, that's the only bad thing about it. I bought it used so I got no accessories with it. // 8

Sound: I play punk mostly, the humbucker suits my stile very well, you can get a nice distortion with it and it sounds well on all the amps I played. I use my dad's boogie amp mostly and it sounds well with it, I will soon buy a Peavey bandit 112. I use no effects with it. It's a nit noisy because of the humbucker but it doesn't matter much to me. It has a pretty full sound and when you don't play on an amp it also sounds very well. // 10

Action, Fit & Finish: There wasn't anything wrong with it, and the action is good to. // 10

Reliability & Durability: I did one gig with it and it did its job very good, maybe I'll put new tuners on it because these are non-locking. Maybe I'll put a semour duncan super distortion in it when I'm rich but everything is good now. I've putted straplocks on it but the original strap buttons weren't very bad. I can depend on it and I don't need beackup for this guitar. The finish is good, I dropped it and I have no scratches, only some on the pickgaurd. // 10

Overall Impression: I love everything about it! // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 6.4
Bullet Special Reviewed by: jiverdude, on july 07, 2010
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Price paid: $ 40

Purchased from: Pawnshop near Seattle!

Features: Well, this one's nearly identical to the picture above. Mine is a darker red color. Black pickguard, black hardware(tuners, generic sealed ones that go out of tune, plan to replace them, and black bridge. Also, black input tray). One humbucker, stock. Ohmage wise, it measured at 12-13k, so it's not a wimp 'bucker. Still, might get a replacement/upgrade. 21 frets. Rosewood fretboard/maple neck w/ skunk stripe. 2 string trees. Pretty basic, stripped down axe. Strat shaped, one volume. C'mon ppl, you know what's being reviewed here. I bought mine used, in a pawnshop, for 40 bucks. With a gig bag. Deal was: pickup, for some reason, had disconnected from volume knob. The soldering/wiring was an issue. And the gig bag, a Rockbag by Warwick, it's threading had come undone. So, as part of my rock n roll upbringing, with a side of punk ethics, DIY, I got it for 40 cheap ones. And proceeded to take it home. I did: re-soldering of the loose wires inside the pickguard, cake, and twice sewed the gigbag so that it was intact again. Also, fixed the intonation. Adjusted the truss rod, bridge saddles, gave it fresh strings. Tightened any loose whatevers. Bathed it/cleaned it up. NOW, plays quite nicely. Cool!! Also, has medium jumbo frets, very comfortable. // 8

Sound: Like it's simplicity, straight forwardness. Basicness. I use a Rage 158 from peavey, with Zoom 505 and DigiTech RP100. And have played it for over a year now. Got it 06/09. I saw these @ Musicians Friend.com, and local music stores. This one's broken in; it was not well taken care of. Got some scratches, buckle rash on back of guitar. Nothing serious at all, but still. I really have taken to this one. I like it's sound, although it's limited b/c of the one humbucker. Pretty much rock guitar is all that can be played. Clean settings, well, ok sounding. Not bad, but it's made to rock. And if that's your point, then this is the one. // 5

Action, Fit & Finish: Like stated, did fixing up myself. Now it plays great, IMO. Since it was used, again, can't say original condition, but I got it playing well again. Contained flaws? Um, some of the screws were rusty; those could be replaced. The Volume Knob Screw was loose; the washer was, and was tightened. Can't think of much else..it was fixed by me. // 7

Reliability & Durability: Strap buttons, well, I had to re-drill holes to place them. No big deal. Just the bottom button, that's all. The upper bout button is still intact. I'd gig with this one on lower end gigs, like playing in a cheap, smoky bar where I wouldn't take any of my higher end guitars. So, when Joe Drunk wants to pretend he's a Rawk Star, and grab my guitar while he's stumbling over, won't worry about it. LOL!! Never play anywhere without a backup. Finish is ok. This is really a beginner/intermediate guitar, so I'm not worried about it lasting forever. However, for what it is, it's not bad. // 5

Overall Impression: This is a good beginner's guitar, and could stay thru a player's intermediate stage as well, with upgrades. One could do alot worse than this guitar. It's got some quality to it, so get one. These Squiers have come a long way in quality. Some are junk; this one, could be a keeper, and with upgrades, could be a decent playing guitar. Recommended. // 7

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 6.8
Bullet Special Reviewed by: ashes-ashes, on july 04, 2011
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Price paid: $ 99

Purchased from: local pawn shop

Features: Mine was made in Indonesia ('04). My sister bought this for $99 at a local pawn shop, She gave it to me for $20 (easily the best $20 I've ever spent). It has one humbucker, one volume knob. 21 frets, Standard scale. I believe it's called "Lake Placid Blue" but I could be wrong on the name, it's just a sparkly metallic blue, with a black pickgaurd. But to be honest, The guitar looks a little awkward. Having one Bridge pickup, there's a 5" gap of nothing but pickgaurd. I put a few stickers on mine to make it look less plain. I swapped out the volume knob with a black dome knob. And with a bright red strap, It looks great. // 6

Sound: I play a bit of everything, and this guitar finds a way to fit that, nearly every time. I runs through a Danelectro Fab Metal pedal ($20) to a Crate Flexwave 120/212 ($250 used). I mostly play pop punk, but eventually I get tired of power-chords. It handles classic rock, but could be better, it needs more push for the solo's. I've been able to play death metal on it. I have the pickup raised 3/8". I use elixir heavy nanoweb strings, and yellow delrin picks. // 7

Action, Fit & Finish: I had to set the guitar up myself. Stays in tune to an extent. I have to retune every other day. I don't like the quality of rosewood, at all. Otherwise, no problems. // 6

Reliability & Durability: I'm not currently in a band, so I've never gigged with it. But I wouldn't have any hesitation bringing it to a stage. It's very lightweight. When I play, I through it around a lot, and I trust the Standard strap buttons, but only because the strap I use (no name on it, but it's a brilliant design) holds the buttons very snugly. // 8

Overall Impression: For the the price, its a 9, but overall a 7. It's a fun guitar that you can through around, and not worry about it. A very enjoyable guitar, but at the end of the day, I would rather have a Les Paul. // 7

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 8.6
Bullet Special Reviewed by: Lucifarion, on october 03, 2011
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Features: I own a 2002 Indonesian made Bullet Special in bright Orange (just like the pic). The finish is very nice. It has a 21 fret maple neck with a rose wood fretboard, the neck is a classic V-shape (think 50's Strat). The body is made of plywood but that doesn't in any way shape or form effect the sound negatively. It has a single humbucker single volume set-up as mentioned before. The bridge is a through bridge hardtail. It has Vintage sized tuners that are OK. I got mine used as a part of a trade for an Epiphone Les Paul Studio (which was in OK condition but not mint just didn't like the weight of the Les Paul), I got a great deal on it as I got this and a Jackson JS1R Dinky (plus cases and a patch cord and a straps, and all of the tools that are needed [hex keys and the special Jackson truss rod tool]). // 8

Sound: I play mainly metal and classic hard-rock, and this guitar suites my style just fine. The humbucker is much cleaner then the Epi Les Paul I traded in... Although I find the sound a bit thin (fender produces less then amazing humbuckers). I have been playing for 17yrs and have owned every type of guitar you can think of... This Bullet Special sounds as good if not better then my MIM Fender fat strat. As there is no tone knob the tonal variety is obviously a moot point. I have played it through my Yamaha Budokon practice amp with a metal zone petal, I've also played it through Marshall stacks and combo amps, as well as PA's and it sounded pretty good then as well. // 8

Action, Fit & Finish: I have no idea how it was from the factory as I got it used. When I got it it had really high action, once I took care of the action it was fine. The neck is nice and straight and has a very Vintage feeling v-shape. The pickup was at a good height. As far as flaws I have two quams with this beast 1. The volume knob does two levels full volume and no volume (kinda handy as a kill switch though). 2. The tuners are crappy, I can tune it and play it for a couple of hours without having to retune, but they're not very precise. The Finish even used was perfect. As I stated before the guitar is made of plywood... I won't hold that against it as it definitely doesn't effect the sound negatively. The black hardware is actually not to bad, I would have preferred if it had a through body tail but that's OK. // 9

Reliability & Durability: Ok as far as reliability, this guitar will definitely handle live playing. Because of the plywood body it's light and it's freakin Bullet proof. Like I said before the tuners are a bit crappy (and will be replaced with locking ones in the near future) and the volume knob has basically on and off. I never gig without a back-up that's just logical. The poly on it is thin but is very strong it's been dropped by me more then a few times since I got it and other then one scratch on the lower horn (from having leaned over a wooden deck railing while I had it on) it's flawless. It's poly paint so it's durable as hell. The strap buttons are good but I will be upgrading to locking in the future. The Pickup is reliable and I have found no bad coils, but I will be swapping it out for either an EMG or a Duncan Blackface in the future because I prefer active pickups as apposed to the passive one in the Bullet now. // 9

Overall Impression: As I said before I play mainly metal (Trivium, Tool, Metallica, Megadeth, etc) and classic rock (Zeppelin, Sabbath, Hendrix, Floyd, etc) and this guitar even stock is fine for my style of playing. Again as I said before I have been playing for 17yrs, and got this axe simply 'cause I loved the colour (the bright Orange is so cool) and because I had a really good experience with my first Bullet (SSS). I will say this anyone who blames equipment (aside from technical problems of course, and those happen even on the most expensive gear) for their short comings is a tool. I currently own a few different guitars, in my stable I currently have a 2001 Squier Bullet SSS in black, this Bullet Special, and a Jackson JS1R, as well as a Squier Strat. But in the past when money was not an issue I owned MIA Strats, MIM Strats, Epi Les Pauls, SG's, Godins, MIJ Teles, Ibanez RG's, and Deans. This Bullet is a great guitar unless you're a snob, and if you're a snob well stop worrying about your gear and start worrying about you skills. I wish it had a better pickup and a tone control. If it were stolen I'd be upset even if only because of the great hemi Orange colour and the V-neck. I compared it to tonnes of other guitars before I settled on this one as part of a pair. I played a couple of Schecters, and Ibanez, a Dean ML series, and even an Epi Explorer, just to name a few. As I got this as part of a trade in with a Jackson JS1R it was a much better deal then the rest. Plus it plays great and sounds not to shabby. Plus it kinda reminds me of the classic Charvels and Jacksons from the '80's. // 9

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
More Squier reviews rating category latest review
+ Vintage Modified Jaguar 2012 8.3 Electric Guitars 07/09/2014
+ Standard Telecaster 8.7 Electric Guitars 05/15/2014
+ Vintage Modified Jazzmaster 8.9 Electric Guitars 04/29/2014
+ Bullet Strat 7.6 Electric Guitars 04/28/2014
+ Bullet HS Telecaster 7.7 Electric Guitars 03/26/2014
+ view all
Comments
Your captcha is incorrect