WG587 Review

manufacturer: Washburn date: 06/02/2011 category: Electric Guitars
Washburn: WG587
This fully professional seven string features a maple neck with rosewood fingerboard, a fixed bridge for absolute tuning stability, and a humbucker-humbucker pickup configuration that creates a wide range of tone. The alder body is lightweight but solid, so it can take plenty of abuse as it goes back and forth to the lesson room to the garage. The fingerboard is made of rosewood and the neck is maple.
 Sound: 8.5
 Overall Impression: 9.8
 Reliability & Durability: 10
 Action, Fit & Finish: 9.3
 Features: 9.3
 Overall rating:
 9.3 
 Reviewer rating:
 9.4 
 Users rating:
 9.1 
 Votes:
 47 
reviews (4) 15 comments vote for this gear:
overall: 8.6
WG587 Reviewed by: MESAexplorer, on august 09, 2006
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Price paid: $ 180

Purchased from: Music123.com

Features: Finally a 7 string guitar in your price range, that's what I thought. And picked this guitar up for $180. The guitar has Washburn pro on the plate covering the bolts on the back of the body, but it has made in china on the back of the neck. It is a very low priced 7 string, most likely alder or basswood becasue it's a cheap guitar. 24 med. jumbo frets on a bolt on neck. 2 hot humbuckers, not the best sounding when clean but damn good when dirty. 7 Grover tuners and a HardTail bridge, volume and tone knob, 3 way pickup selector. I got it in metallic grey, the finish was overall good, there were a few places in the lower and upper horns where it was a little bit rough but no big deal. It's meant to be played not looked at. It doesnt't have a locking tremolo so. // 8

Sound: I play a lot of prog, thrash, heavy metal, shred, everything really on this guitar. It usually gives me a desired tone whenever I play with it and it meets my needs. I use it with a Mesa Boogie F-100, Fender Twin Reverb, and have used it on a Peavey XXX, and Crate FXT-65, this guitar had a good clean sound until I replaced the bridge pickup with an Invader, now the bridge sounds thin but the neck has an entremely full sound. It has quite a lot of feedback, that's my biggest grip with this amp, but with a noise supressor I have no problems with it. If it had Ibanez on the headstock this guitar could be sold for $300. // 7

Action, Fit & Finish: Out of the box this guitar had very crappy strings, I replaced them and cleaned all the waxy coating off of this guitar. After I put the new strings on and had to raise the action because I use a very heavy set. I raised the pickups as much as possible before they touch the strings to get the highest output possible. The paint was very nice, a few rough spots, no bigger than this circle O so and I don't find that a big deal at all. The 17-24 frets aren't very smooth, I can still bend on them but there is just a gritty feel to it. Everything on this guitar is good quality, the nut, excellent tuners (I love Grover), and the guitar as a whole is definatly worth the money, but I really want something with a locking trem. // 9

Reliability & Durability: I've played with this guitar live probably 20+ times, I only had trouble with it once and that was when the input jack came loose. I tightened it up and put a little super glue on it and it's been fine since. The strap buttons are very solid, but it being an RG shaped guitar you can't really put straplocks on the upper horn due to the placement of the button and the length of the screws. After I installed the Seymour Duncan invador the 3 way selector does cut out my signal if I jiggle it but that's my problem not washburns. It's a very well built guitar despite the low price. // 10

Overall Impression: I play everything but jazz and country with this guitar. I'd play those if I had the knowlege in those genres. The only thing this guitar is lacking IMO is a locking trem. This guitar give me the tone I want when paired up with any half decent amp. The low price of this guitar is amazing, the pics of it on the site didn't do justice, I would have bought a red one if I knew it didn't look Pink as it does on music123. If this guitar was stolen, I'd be very upset until I finished saving up for a UV-777 or Ibanez 1527. At the time I bought this guitar I was comparing it to the Agile 7 string, Ibanez's $350 7 string sorry I don't know the exact name. I chose this one because of the low price and haven't regretted it at all. Overall this is a great guitar for the price, just make sure you are sure you don't mind a guitar without a trem. // 9

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9.8
WG587 Reviewed by: unregistered, on june 07, 2007
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Price paid: $ 200

Purchased from: music123

Features: I don't know what year it was made, I really don't care. For 200 dollars you can't complain. The sustain on it last for awhile with the stock pick ups. I liked them so much I didn't change them. Besides the neck, I don't see much difference between this and the Ibanez 7 string. Stays in tune, sounds great, feels great, what more can you ask for (besides a trem). But I don't like trems, to much work. This is perfect for metal. // 10

Sound: I use this on a crappy Marshall 15 watt practice amp with a DigiTech Death Metal pedal and still sounds great. When I use this on my Vox AD30 it sounds amazing. The harmonics on it are fine, better then normal. If you don't think it sounds that great, maybe it's the player instead of the guitar. // 9

Action, Fit & Finish: Its sexy. I got it in black. The picture on Music123 was sort of faded and looked gray, so I didn't expect this guitar to look this nice. I play it maybe 4 to 5 times a day for a hour or two. And it's still in perfect condition. No loose screws, jacks, etc. Just a amazing guitar. // 10

Reliability & Durability: The strap buttons are too small. My old strap kept slipping off and causing the guitar to drop. So I got strap locks. Problem fixed. I can depend on it in a gig. I highly ever doubt the finish will wear off. It's a tuff, reliable guitar. It's just kind of heavey, but that's because it's solid. // 10

Overall Impression: I play metal mostly and obviously this guitar is meant for metal. I compared it with lots of other guitars, I like to search around before I buy something. It was either this or the Ibanez 400 dollar 7 string. I played both, not much of a difference. So I saved my money and got this. I don't regret it. If this was stolen, I'd buy it again in a heartbeat. I don't really hate anything about it at all. It's solid made. In fact, I think I might buy another one in red. All in all this guitar is amazing for the price and a must have for any metal head. It's 200 dollars, what do you have to loose? // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9.6
WG587 Reviewed by: unregistered, on march 19, 2010
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Price paid: $ 125

Purchased from: craigslist.org

Features: It was made in China, I believe, in 2004. It has 24 frets and a really flat neck. The neck is easily comparable with the Ibanez rg7321. The only difference is that the neck doesn't have any finish on the back, so it feels like it's been sanded down, making it easier to play. A Strat style body, with a metallic silver finish makes this thing look awesome. it has a Tune-O-Matic bridge with 2 passive, unknown, humbuckers (just typical Washburn stock pickups) and a three way Fender style pickup selector. It also has some great Grover tuners. // 9

Sound: It has a great low end. The pickups sound great distorted, they have a great chunk to them. They are also great for harmonics, and pinch harmonics. It's easier to get harmonics on this guitar than my Jackson RR3. I play mostly metal so it suits my sound just great. When you clean up the pickups they can get a little muddy, but it's not bad. It has a little fret buzz, but that's expected with a 7 string. Over all the stock pickups are fantastic, but if you're a jazz musician you might want to change them. If you're looking for that sic Korn sound though, this thing is amazing. // 9

Action, Fit & Finish: The action is great, it sits nice and low and plays insanely fast. I like the setup on this guitar more than any of my other guitars. The pickups where setup great. I haven't had to change anything on this guitar. Nothing was wrong with it except a slight chip on the headstock from the previous owner. // 10

Reliability & Durability: I haven't had a chance to play live with it yet, but this thing packs a punch and it can definitely take everything you got in a live setting. The hardware is great quality, the strap buttons are fine, but I'll Switch to a DiMarzio strap anyway (I've got those on all my electrics). I would gig without a backup if I changed the strings, the one's I have right now are pretty old. // 10

Overall Impression: I play mostly metal, with some hard rock and rock. I even play some more chill Jack Johnson/John Mayer stuff. This guitar is great for all of it. I've been playing it only for a week now, but I've already adjusted to the 7th string. It wasn't hard, it made sweep picking easier because there's more room to roll along the neck. I also own a Jackson RR3 and a Fernandes Dragonfly (the old series, which had a hss setup, and a Vintage tremolo). I would definitely buy another if it were lost or stolen, it's just so cheap to buy from people. I compared with other Schecter models and the Ibanez rg7321, this is easily the best in my opinion. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9.4
WG587 Reviewed by: ShaneCallaghan, on june 02, 2011
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Price paid: € 250

Purchased from: Music-123.com

Features: It was made in 2004, in china, 24 frets with medium frets, it feels like a 25 inch scale, rosewood fretboard but I'm not sure what the body is made of. The neck is a beast, it's thicker than anything I've ever played. It's got a tune o matic bridge, metallic red finish, 3 way pick up selector, 2 pickups that are pretty HOT though passive, Grover tuners. Mine didn't come with anything, no strap, cable or even a thank you. Just a big cardboard box and masses of bubble wrap (fun for 2 weeks!) // 10

Sound: This is a brilliant rock and metal guitar, it's got a nice chunky sound and with high gain it sounds luscious. It is a brilliant guitar for metal. It's a tad noisy but nothing a noise suppressor can't handle. The Bridge pick up is a nice hogh output humbucker that has a tight sounding chug and the neck humbucker is quite warm and smooth. // 9

Action, Fit & Finish: When I got it, I lowered the action, it has a tiny rattle of the strings but nothing that comes out on an amp, I raised the pick ups slightly to meet the strings nicely and I threw on a heavy gauge string set and intonated it so it sounded brilliant. I was annoyed that I had to set it up myself but I think whoever had originally set it up did so you could play with a slide. There was a dent on the top aswel below the Bridge but it was solid besides that. // 8

Reliability & Durability: The pick up selector seemed a bit flimsy when I got it, but 6 and a half years later it's still working fine. I gig this guitar more than any of my other guitars because I know it's reliable, it'll stand a beating, I recently dropped it down a set of stairs, picked it up, and played half an hour later, it only needed to be retuned. It's still fine 6 months on. The strap buttons were starting to come out a few years ago but I think that's due to the sharp upper horn on it, but I fixed it simply. This guitar was built to last. // 10

Overall Impression: First of, when you look at this guitar, don't think of it as a cheap 7, look at it in a cheap 7 string that has better value for money than some guitars worth 3 or four times it's value. This guitar is a perfect example of a company designing a guitar to work and not have any flashy floyd rose, no speed neck, no locking tuners, no killpots, coil tapping, active buckers. It's just a rock solid piece of wood with 7 string on it. If this were stolen, I would probably cry for a year. It's my favorite guitar. If I could change this guitar, the only thing I would change would be the scale, it's just not big enough for me, but I don't care, I will file my fingers down to fit this thing if needs be. I love it. I have considered putting new pick ups in this, but I don't think it would be as good. If you see one, buy it, even if you have no intent to play it as your main guitar, just buy it in the knowledge that it won't f--k up. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
More Washburn reviews rating category latest review
+ WI66PRO 8.6 Electric Guitars 04/28/2014
+ RX50 7.8 Electric Guitars 03/26/2014
+ MG40 6.2 Electric Guitars 03/04/2014
+ Rover RO10 7 Acoustic Guitars 01/15/2014
+ Cumberland J28SCE-2 4.8 Acoustic Guitars 05/29/2013
+ view all
Comments
Your captcha is incorrect