X12 Review

manufacturer: Washburn date: 08/05/2009 category: Electric Guitars
Washburn: X12
It includes sealed Schaller style tuners, heavy metal control knobs and a smooth, fast hard maple neck with rosewood fingerboard. It differs from other X series axes in that it comes with 2 humbuckers, three position switch and a hardtail.
 Sound: 8.5
 Overall Impression: 8.5
 Reliability & Durability: 9
 Action, Fit & Finish: 7.5
 Features: 8
 Overall rating:
 8 
 Reviewer rating:
 8.3 
 Users rating:
 7.6 
 Votes:
 28 
reviews (2) 2 comments vote for this gear:
overall: 7.6
X12 Reviewed by: unregistered, on march 10, 2005
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Price paid: $ 148

Purchased from: Elevation Music

Features: - Year: 2004 - Frets: 24 jumbo - Body wood: alder - Neck wood: maple - Fretboard: rosewood - Body style: standard/Strat - Bridge: HardTail - Controls: 3-way toggle, tone, volume - Pickups: Washburn HH config - Tuners: Schaller tuners - Accessories: instrument cable. // 8

Sound: The X12 has a great sound for the price. I play mostly rock and alternative but you can play a wide variety of music and they all sound nice. Only used it with my little 20 watt practice amp so far, and the sound that comes out is good. Get a nice amp if you want to really hear this baby roar. // 8

Action, Fit & Finish: Out of the box the guitar was set up fairly well. I did have a slight buzzing at the first fret 'cause the nut wasn't cut very well. With a little tinkering, it was a quick fix. Action was actually very nice, no adjustments were needed to make it better. // 6

Reliability & Durability: Being a $150 guitar many people wouldn't trust the X12 on stage. However, I would use it on a gig. It's a solid little guitar made by a reputable company. When you feel the X12 in your hands you can tell that it's a nice instrument. I can definatly see this guitar lasting for a good while. You should have no problems with the finish wearing down. Strap buttons definatly aren't goin' anywhere. // 8

Overall Impression: This guitar is very versatile, but it suits rock music best. If it were lost or stolen I would definatly get another. Can't beat this guitar for the price. The feel of the guitar is really nice. Every time you pick it up you'll feel proud that you own it. I was unfortunate enough to get an X12 with a slightly defective nut, but I'm sure most are just fine. Don't let this one flaw keep you from buying this overall great guitar. Some better pickups would have been nice, but the Washburn HH ones that come on it are better than most in this price range. // 8

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9
X12 Reviewed by: unregistered, on august 05, 2009
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Price paid: $ 200

Purchased from: J-Ville Guitar Arkansas

Features: The model I have is a 2007 model that was made in china of all places. It comes Standard with 24 jumbo frets on a rosewood finger board. The neck isn't really flat but the width of its as thin as a wizard II. has a laminated quilted maple top. The double cut away makes it very easy to reach all of the frets. Has a hard tail string through bridge and passive pickups. Just Standard volume and tone knobs with a three way selector switch. Two Washburn HH pickups gives it mass controll to make it sound like a beast or a kittin. Standard Washburn non locking tuners actuall work just a well as grovers. // 8

Sound: i use an old Vester amp plugged into a Crate plugged into, blieve it or not, an Acoustic bass amp. I use an Ibanez de7 delay pedal and an Ibanez Smash Box. I've almost every genre on this thing and it has put out to full potential. When you get this guitar don't think as it being already compleat with your sound just think of it as a canvas. Right now I'm using it for mainly progressive metal because of its versatility. When you have the switch in the bridge position you get a clean sound that rival's les paul's lead. In the bridge/neck position you get a very ballsy and very very clean roar. In the neck posion it sounds as if all of doom is on its march. but all that is for just playing metal. You can use this guitar to do any type of music you want. // 9

Action, Fit & Finish: When I got this guitar from the factory the only problem was the action which had to be ajusted only slightly. Everything was routed properly it was almost in perfect condition exept for one thing. Now this might be just me but I hate a shit load of gloss so I stripped it and now its perfect. Exept the coating on the actual magnets on the pickups rusted from so much use and so did the fine tuners on the bridge. The bridge fine tuners might want to be replaced but as far as the pickups go leave them alone because you will get such a rad sound you won't know how to describe it. // 9

Reliability & Durability: This guitar is built solid, the perfect work horse guitar. You can put this thing through hell on fire and it would still rock. The only is that your hand sweat could rust the megnents in the pickups. I replaced the strap buttons not because they wern't solid but because it just wanted straplocks. // 10

Overall Impression: This guitar is a good match for any type of musician it's the perfect canvas for creating work and then perfecting and then playing. I've been playing for 8 years now and I own everything from a Les Paul to a Telecaster this is by far one of my favorite guitars to play live and in the studio. If it was stolen I think I would go ape shit because of my connection to this beast. The only thing I wish is that the body was a little thinner. Buy it and make it your own. // 9

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
More Washburn reviews rating category latest review
+ XM-STD2 8.3 Electric Guitars 08/13/2014
+ WI66PRO 8.6 Electric Guitars 04/28/2014
+ RX50 7.8 Electric Guitars 03/26/2014
+ MG40 6.2 Electric Guitars 03/04/2014
+ Rover RO10 7 Acoustic Guitars 01/15/2014
+ view all
Comments
Your captcha is incorrect