EG112 Review

manufacturer: Yamaha date: 04/03/2012 category: Electric Guitars
Yamaha: EG112
The combination of two single-coil pickups and a humbucker produces excellent sounds for a wide range of musical styles, with the benefit of a five-position selector switch to extend the choice of tones.
 Sound: 7.3
 Overall Impression: 8
 Reliability & Durability: 6.7
 Action, Fit & Finish: 7.5
 Features: 8.2
 Overall rating:
 7.6 
 Reviewer rating:
 7.5 
 Users rating:
 7.7 
 Votes:
 138 
reviews (6) pictures (1) 37 comments vote for this gear:
overall: 7.6
EG112 Reviewed by: Eggmond, on march 13, 2007
6 of 7 people found this review helpful

Price paid: $ 252

Purchased from: Sounds Around

Features: This guitar was made in Indonesia and has 22 medium/jumbo frets. It has a Strat-shaped solid basswood body, maple neck and rosewood fretboard. It is fitted with passive pickups featuring two singlecoil pickups and a bridge humbucker and has a one tone, one volume setup with a 5-way pickup selecter. The bridge is a classic vibrato style with a whammy bar. The neck is slim and very easy to play. // 8

Sound: I was blown away by the sound of this guitar considering its price. The pickups are particularly good and the variation of sounds you can get are excellent. It is well suited to most styles but it is classic rock/blues where it preforms best. It can do metal but people looking for an uber-saturated sound might want to invest in an active humbucker. It sounds clear even when distorted and cleans up very well giving a jazzy sound when two pickups are used together. // 8

Action, Fit & Finish: The action, like all Yamaha's, was perfect. Low without being buzzy, playing this guitar was a breeze. The finish was good but there was a few blotches around the neck. The pickups were adjusted reasonably well but needed some fine tuning to get my desired sound but they should suit most people. // 10

Reliability & Durability: This guitar lasted well for it's first year but then started to develop problems. The nut came loose and had to be refitted and one of the machine heads started to come loose due to worn threads. The pickup selecter got very stiff and sometimes got stuck in-between settings resulting in silence. This however, was fixed. // 4

Overall Impression: This guitar is aimed at the beginner and does the job very well. It is a joy to play and only its reliability lets it down. It is very versatile and can handle a wide range of music convicingly. Anyone looking for a first electric guitar or a spare guitar to thrash at gigs should definatly look into it. // 8

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 6.6
EG112 Reviewed by: unregistered, on december 06, 2010
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Price paid: $ 290

Purchased from: Divertas/ Yamaha, Bucharest

Features: My Yamaha EG 112 was made in 2001, in Indonesia (according to the label still on the back of guitar's head), and it was new when I bought it. 22 frets, thin neck (very comfortable), 648 mm scale. Information about the wood in this guitar may vary, but mine was certainly made of alder (the body), maple (the neck) and rosewood (the fingerboard). Finish is Black, for a Strat body style, but improved a little bit at the cutaways, for easier acces to higher notes. Vintage Strat tremolo, passive electronics, 1 Volume, 1 Tone, 5 way selector, SSH configuration, non-locking tuners. Although is usually comes in a package, mine was only provided with a bag, a strap, a cable and 3 picks. // 8

Sound: I owm it for 9 years. It suits my music style, that's why I bought it (the other reason being the price). It plays very well stuff like Pink Floyd, Deep Purple, Clapton, and generally hard rock an classic progressive, but also blues and rockabilly. My equipment includes a Korg AX 1G processor and a Vox Pathfinder 15 amplification. I've also played it on many different pedals and amps. It is quite silent - especially in intermediate pickup positions -, the sound is versatile and, generally speaking, the quality of the pickups is better than the general quality of the guitar itself. Neck pickup is warmer than the middle, but toghether they deliver a beatiful blues sound. The humbucker does its job, without being trully special. If you want to play som3thing heavier than 80's metal, just get another guitar. A special point is the middle pickup: it realy is there for a purpose: you can get a much different sound form it than from the neck pickup (it's suitable for Hendrix, for instance). // 7

Action, Fit & Finish: The guitar was terribly set from the factory and the dudes at the Yamaha dealer in Bucharest weren't able to help too much: their top-sellers at the time were the keyboards, thus the maintanence crew didn't know about the guitars more than I did. Thank God I knew quite a few. The pickups were adjusted, however, by a friend of mine who is a professional guitar player. This guitar is very peculiar because it has "highs" that are very high and lows that are trully low. The top was superbly finished and so was the neck: they both are in almost pristine condition after 9 years. The joint between the neck and the body, though, isn't very beautiful (it is functionally perfect, but I've seen better finishes on much cheaper guitars). The hardware is chromed and it has withstand the test of time... with the exception of the saddles: Yamaha, for curious reasons, has chosen a very cheap metal. The have rusted in months, so I had to replace them. An equally cheap package of chromed saddles, bought in the UK for 10 quid, did the job, making me wonder why was Yamaha particularly cheap on that matter... The tone and volume knobs still work perfectly, with no buzz or noise whatsoever, while the pickup selector was a different story. It broke in a couple of months, but the guys at Divertas didn't manage to find a replacement (and anyway they told me they will replace it with anotherolne of the same quality), the only one available for service being somewhere in Bosnia (!). I've cleaned the selector once or twice, the used it as it was. Now, after so many years, it repaired by itself (!!!). It works fine now, no buzzs, no incomplete contact. Tuning pegs are not very precise, but they stay tuned for a reasonable ammount of time - a gig, for example (I must confess I don't use the tremolo too often). I don't pay attention to this particular detail, because my ear and my experience make me re-tune the guitar - every guitar - everytime I take it out of the case. As for action, it was too high from the beginning and stil is higher than I'd like, no matter how much I've reffined the setup. // 5

Reliability & Durability: I never pplayed it live, but that friend of mine who adjusted the pickups once borrowed it as a backup for his Gibson Les Paul. The hardware seems to be solid enough: the strap buttons are perfect, the paint is very thick and the gloss is still there... but you don't choose the gig guitar because of the hardware and beginners guitars are rarely played live in real concerts. For this purpose, I own a second guitar, a Yamaha Pacifica 120S, who is far better in terms of sounds, volume, playability and so forth. I like to practice with it, late at night, the headphones in my ears and the processor providing a huge range of sounds. If stolen, I'd buy a different make and a different type of guitar, because it took me long to fix the guitar and some of the flows simply couldn't be removed. I have to admit that I like it as it is, being aware of its limits from the very beginning. // 6

Overall Impression: As I've already said, it suits my style and my inherent limitations. I play the guitar for about 30 years now, but I quitted playing in bands some 20 years ago. ONce in a while I jam with my friends or perform a one-man show for my mates. My playlist includes Pink Floyd, Deep Purple, Rolling Stones, Clapton and stuff like that. The guitar was a good match since I bought it and, although I consider buying a different guitar now, I would still keep the EG 112 in my range. Assuming that I'm not ready to pay 2500 euros for a decent Strat, "Breathe" or "Comfortably Numb" sound great on this old entry level. There was nothing I wished to have askd before buying it: I wished I had a vider range of offers to choose from in 2001. If stolen, I'd regret, but I'd buy a different make and a different type of guitar, because it took me long to fix the guitar and some of the flows simply couldn't be removed. What I love? Its versatility, hence the pickups. What I hate? Yamaha being cheap on details, those who make the difference between a real guitar and something which only looks like one. It is certainly better than beginner guitars from makes like Cruzer, Stagg, Encore or Dimavery. Compared to Squiers and Epiphones, it sounds much better - it's solid wood against laminated -, but I still haven't seen one of these having so many ennoying little problems like the Yamaha. // 7

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9.2
EG112 Reviewed by: xxxmegadethxxx, on august 04, 2008
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

Price paid: $ 20

Features: Not sure what year it was made, but it was made in Indonesia, it has 22 frets, rosewood fretboard, bolt-on maple neck, basswood body, Strat body (Strat copy actually), Vintage vibrato system with whammy bar, not sure about passive or active, has a volume and tone control, 5 way Switch, 3 pickups, 2 single coil, 1 humbucker (I think the humbucker makes the least amount of static noise), non locking (whammy bar screws up tuning), and it only came with a gig bag. // 8

Sound: I play metal, and although it doesn't really look like a metal guitar, it is capable of sounding metal. Since I am poor, I use a small but loud honeytone amp which cost as much as the guitar! And I use no effect pedals. Only on two of five selector positions does it not make a static noise. On one it sounds good, on the other one it has a weird clean and distorted sound. It sounds pretty good, good pinch harmonics (but other guitars make better). If I turn the tone down on clean and put it on the strange selector setting, and pluck softly it makes a good bass sound! // 9

Action, Fit & Finish: Different from my acoustic it doesn't really have a problem with tuning, so that leads me to believe it was put together properly. Pickups are pretty good, although the humbucker is a little too small for its "pickup space" (is that even a term, I don't know), but it's even, well aligned, bridge does better with lower tunings and lighter strings. Well since I bought it used, it had a couple scrapes, the nut may meed a little more cutting because the 6th string sometimes gets loose (rarely), and the selector Switch is a little hard to move but that's about it. // 9

Reliability & Durability: It has withstood Live playing, the hardware does look quite durable, the strap buttons are solid, but one was loose, but I fixed it. It really is a dependable guitar, but I would still have a backup. I think no matter what guitar you have you should always have a backup however. The finish is good and lasting quite well, I think it should last. // 10

Overall Impression: I play metal, but even though it doesn't really look metal it sounds metal. I've been playing this guitar for about 5 months, all guitar for about 3.5 years. I also own a honeytone amp and a small Livewire cable, no effects. I also own a nylon acoustic guitar from Mexico. I would have asked if it came with anything else like an amp or any other gear. If it were stolen I would have to get this guitar again because I can't afford anything else. I like the neck, it's very smooth unlike my acoustic. I don't really like the pickguard though. It would look cooler without it. It's pretty much like a Stratocaster and I would choose this over a Strat because this is cheaper and just as easy to play. I wish it had the plug on the front like a real Stratocaster. Overall a good guitar for beginner to intermediate. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 7.6
EG112 Reviewed by: cohen5250, on june 03, 2009
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

Features: This Yamaha EG 112 fat Strat copy electric guitar was made in Indonesia. It's body is made of solid basswood. The neck is made o maple, and it has 22 frets and a rosewood fretboard. The body has a black gloss finish, and the back of the neck finish is natural satin. It has a Strat-shaped body (duh!). It's got a humbucker pickup in the bridge position, a single coil pickup in the middle position, and a single coil pickup in the neck position. All the pickups are passive. It has a Vintage Tremolo bridge. There as a 5-way blade pickup selector, a master volume knob, and a master tone knob. // 7

Sound: I am a metal player, but I like to use this guitar for cleans and some rock. I am playing this guitar through a Peavey Vypyr 75 watt solid state amp. I have to say it isn't a very versatile guitar in terms of sound, not much output, but hey, it's a Strat copy. // 6

Action, Fit & Finish: I can't comment on the factory setup since the guitar was given to me by my best friend's dad. The action is pretty good for such a cheap guitar. There is a little bit of fret buzz here and there. The action is pretty low, but nothing to cream yourself over. I could probably lower it a little bit more and not get buzz. Also, the set screws on the bridge potrude and rip up my hand when I tough the bridge (I am an anchorer for the most part). Not a huge problem, I could just put a piece of tape over the bridge or just stop anchoring, haha. Other than that, there is nothing wrong with the guitar. // 8

Reliability & Durability: I've only owned this guitar for a little bit more than a week and I've been hitting it all over the place. Only got two scratches. Quite a durable guitar if you ask me. I like that the guitar has these enourmous strap buttons. It took me a while to equip the strap, but it's worth it to not have the guitar falling when I play, like my friend's guitars do. There are no problems with the finish, it definitely won't peel off or anything like that. I am only a beginner, this is my first guitar, so I don't gig, but I am fairly certain that this guitar would survive gigging conditions. Very well made guitar. // 10

Overall Impression: Not the best match for me, a metal player, but I will definitely be playing this guitar for a long time. I will be ordering an Ibanez ART300 soon, which I will review. If I keep this guitar long enough, I will probably swap the bridge pickup for something more metal, like an Invader or a JB. Overall, it's a really solid guitar, just not what I'm looking for sound wise. // 7

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 6.2
EG112 Reviewed by: parmi, on october 12, 2010
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Price paid: £ 99

Purchased from: Local shop

Features: I got this guitar is 2009 but am not sure in which year it was made. It's your basic Strat style guitar; 5 way switch, Dot inlays. It was a bridge humbucker though. It came with a gigbag. // 9

Sound: I play alot of music and this guitar is ok for them. I can get a variety of tones through my Roland Cube 15X and Zomm pedal, but the pickups are very disappointing. But for 99 I hardly expected a great sound. // 6

Action, Fit & Finish: The guitar was set up terribly at the factory. The pickups were absolutely horrific and the action was too low. I had to pay extra money for it to be set up properly but it was good after that. I got it in metallic black and it looks quite nice. // 6

Reliability & Durability: I dropped it and it easily got dented, but in my opinion it added to the look of it. I would never gig with this, let alone without a backup. In worst case scenario it would be my backup (I would use my Epiphone Les Paul. The finish seems like it will last a few good years. // 4

Overall Impression: This was my first guitar and I don't regret it, but I wish I'd spent another 50 on an epiphone. I wouldn't reccomend it unless you are on a very tight budget. If you do buy it make sure you get it set up. After a year of playing it, I started to hate it because it would go out of tune alot, and I realised how bad the pickups were. // 6

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 8
EG112 Reviewed by: Sudaka, on april 03, 2012
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Features: The year is '93, made in Indonesia: - 22 jumbo frets - Strat style basswood body maple neck, rosewood fingerboard - black gloss finish, white pickguard - Vintage tremolo, stock tuners. - HSS passive pickup configuration - Master volume and tone (highs) controls, with 5 position pup selector Came with a sh-tty cable, a strap and a gigbag. Pretty decent beginner set up, particularly because I bought it used in a store. // 9

Sound: I'm used this one with a Laney HCM30 at the beginning, and then upgraded to a Vox VT-50. I have to say that this guitar is versatile, the bridge pickup is good when using overdrive/distortion, can go metal, particularly from the '80s, it ain't bad for AC/DC tone, and the single coils work great for cleans. I love the neck pup, with or without distortion (the way I see it, it has a nice sound when distorted, with it single coil tone...). I haven't had problems trying to achieve any tone with this guitar, even though the amp is the important thing when you're after an specific tone. This guitar, can do the job for any of them pretty good. The tone is even, maybe goes to the bright side, and rolling the tone know down a little is a must, because it can get harshly trebly. The single coils are rather noisy, but the humbucker is not. Soundwise, this guitar won't color you tone too much, but won't hold you back either. // 8

Action, Fit & Finish: The guitar came nicely set up. The pickups were fine, though I lifted the bridge and neck pups a little (a little, cause too much would give you a nasty undefined sound) and put the middle pup all the way down, since I don't use it, and it came in the way of my pick. BUT, here starts the issues, but I have to say, MOST OF THEM ARE BECAUSE OF THE AGE OF THIS GUITAR: - frets have a lot of wear, thus making it buzz a lot. - the finish has became scratched a lot on the back, particularly where you'd put the guitar on your lap. - trem has become rusty - tuners became somewhat loose, and it has to be retuned everyday. It stays in tune for the day, but you'll need to do minor adjustments from a day to the other. - noisy pick up selector - the jack becomes loose all the time. The guitar itself has no issues, it's just overall wear, and since this is an entry level guitar, it is not prepared to last a lot of time in mint condition... Still, I'd like to say that the neck is really comfy, fast, the action can be lowered pretty much, and the feel is great, haven't Epi's neck's are fat, and Squier's are way too round. // 7

Reliability & Durability: Well, as stated above, time has not been kind with these guitar. It wasn't great when I bought it, and I didn't give it much maintenance, so you can imagine... This guitar might withstand live playing, but when new, and not for a lot of time. The finish is easily dinged or scratched. The hardware works ok, but it won't last 20 years. However strap buttons are solid. You can depend on this guitar to have a good overall tone and to learn, but giggin it is recommendable only if you can not afford for something better. Therefore you won't be using a back up. If not, this guitar should be your back up guitar. That is a good role for it to do, cause if you need it, it has great feel, and won't let you down with the tone. This guitar is pretty old, so it's only natural for it to become this worn, so bear that in mind. // 6

Overall Impression: The time for justice: bearing in mind that my guitar's issues come from it's wear, and that for the time it has (19 years), it has no major functional failure (still usable, and no pick up is failing...) I have to say this guitar rocks. I've been searching, and nothing on the price gets even close to this one in regards of build quality, sound and feel. I doubt any Squier or Epi (to name entry level brands) can get to it's twenty's and be completely functional as these. I love this guitar, it the best tone and feel you can get for the price, and it will only start failing after 10+ years, so I highly recommend it! If it were stolen, I'd cry because of the attachment I have to this guitar, but I wouldn't buy another one, cause now I'm a bassist. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
More Yamaha reviews rating category latest review
+ AC3R 8.9 Acoustic Guitars 10/30/2014
+ THR10X 9.3 Guitar Amplifiers 09/08/2014
+ DDS-20M Digital Delay Sampler 7.4 Guitar Effects 08/21/2014
+ TRBX504 9.3 Bass Guitars 08/15/2014
+ FG730S 9 Acoustic Guitars 07/11/2014
+ view all
Comments
Your captcha is incorrect