Pacifica 112V Review

manufacturer: Yamaha date: 03/11/2014 category: Electric Guitars
Yamaha: Pacifica 112V
It is a perfect guitar for blues, rock n' roll, punk, classic rock and even hard rock with the help of the humbucker. But if you are into shredding and very heavy stuff, you shouldn't buy it, that humbucker is just not "evil" enough for that style.
 Sound: 8.8
 Overall Impression: 9
 Reliability & Durability: 8.5
 Action, Fit & Finish: 8.5
 Features: 8.5
 Overall rating:
 9 
 Reviewer rating:
 8.7 
 Users rating:
 9.2 
 Votes:
 51 
reviews (4) pictures (7) 14 comments vote for this gear:
overall: 8.6
Pacifica 112V Reviewed by: sehnsucht721, on january 17, 2012
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

Price paid: € 245

Purchased from: Senia Romania

Features: - Made in Indonesia and being one of the most affordable guitars in the Pacifica Series(which debuted in 1990). The Pacifica 112 model first appeared in 1993 and was substantially improved in 2007. - Thin Neck with a very comfortable feel - 350 mm Fingerboard radius - 22 Jumbo frets - Rosewood Fingerboard - Maple Neck - Alder Body - Available in: Natural satin, Old violin sunburst, Raspberry red, Sonic blue, Black, Silver metallic (mine is black) - Fat Strat body style - Vintage style vibrato with block steel saddles - Passive Pickups - Master Volume, Master Tone, 5 way switch - Splits the bridge humbucker at the pull of the tone knob - Yamaha 'custom wound' Alnico V H/S/S Pickups - Enclosed tuners all chrome plated - Came with a cable and tools // 9

Sound: I play all kinds of rock music, starting from blues, to rock n' roll, to heavy metal and experimental music. It is a perfect guitar for blues, rock n' roll, punk, classic rock and even hard rock with the help of the humbucker. Although, that humbucker is not powerful enough for really heavy stuff like thrash metal and shredding. It works pretty fine, but there is room for better. I get very cool sounds using IK Multimedia's Amplitube 3. I also have a Fender G-DEC Junior which I don't use very often. I highly recommend this guitar for blues players of players who are in search of sounds like U2 and Pink Floyd's songs. It really has a brilliant clean tone, and with some effect pedals you will get the best sounds. // 8

Action, Fit & Finish: The build quality is amazing, it looks gorgeous! The action is perfect, the pickups are very well adjusted... The setup of the guitar is flawless! The tremolo system could be better though.. Very well finished guitar. It really is a true pleasure to play on it! // 9

Reliability & Durability: I don't own this guitar for a long time but it really seems solid and durable. It will act really good playing live, the strap buttons are good, my strap never slipped off, the hardware seems pretty good. I would depend on it on a gig, without a backup. The finish is solid, and I think it will last very good. // 9

Overall Impression: It matches perfectly to any kind of rock music, even heavy metal. But if you are into shredding and very heavy stuff, you shouldn't buy it, that humbucker is just not "evil" enough for that style. If it were stolen, I would probably buy another one, or maybe I would buy a Lag Arkane 100, because I am more into heavy stuff right now. I love the action on this guitar, the way it feels, the way it looks and more important, the way it rocks! When I was to buy a new guitar I had to choose between this and a Lag Arkane 100. I chose this one because I liked the clean sound better, I was literally in love with it's clean sound, but both of them are very good guitars! I wish the humbucker packed more punch than this one... Maybe one day I will change it and this guitar will be much better! // 8

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9
Pacifica 112V Reviewed by: colinthelips, on september 28, 2012
2 of 3 people found this review helpful

Price paid: € 280

Purchased from: The Sound Factory

Features: This is a lovely guitar for the price, it has a an alder body with alnico single coil flat poled p/us, it has a gloss finish and a satin finish on the neck, the fingerboard is made from rosewood. It has a Strat style body but is not the exact same, it has the contour of a Strat and all that and it has a modern style bridge and saddles with a tremolo arm. There is a 5 way p/u selector switch and you can switch between humbucker or single coil in the bridge position by pulling/pushing the tone control knob and it has a main volume knob. Standard type tuners, all the hardware on this guitar is die-cast and not chrome. // 8

Sound: Good sound for this guitar considering the money it costs new, which isn't much, there is a good enough variation in sounds between the different p/u positions and ya can get a good wide range of sounds from it like a Fender Strat. Brilliant for the money but wouldn't stand up to the standards of Fender ect. // 9

Action, Fit & Finish: Good action on this guitar however though when I got mine I changed the action and then the strings started buzzing like mad and I had to get the top nut replaced but it's ok now, this guitar feels more expensive than it is, if ya want to buy this guitar don't be afraid that's its gonna feel real cheap like a Westfield or that, its far superior compared to other electrics in the same price range and I have gigged this guitar a few times. // 10

Reliability & Durability: Very reliable guitar, gives f--k all tuning problems when ya use the tremolo arm unless ya dive bomb it every 5 seconds, which I wouldn't recommend doing because it could break the guitar ya need to remember its a low end instrument and won't stand up to a trashing. // 8

Overall Impression: Great guitar for the money, unbelievable bargain. I know of a lad who has a Gibson SG and a Yamaha Pacifica 112V and he rather playing the Pacifica than the SG so that speaks for itself but it just depends what sound your into really. A great thing about this guitar is the humbucker on the bridge cause you can switch it to the single coil if you want so you have the choice if ya don't want that big heavy hum buck sound. Would recommend this guitar for beginners or people who are literally scraping pennys together like myself but need something good and decent for gigging with a good sound, this is the guitar for it. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 7.6
Pacifica 112V Reviewed by: ShaneCallaghan, on january 30, 2012
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Features: I don't know if I should do this review but ei'll put it out there anyways. This is a heavily modified version based on the 122V, a friend of mine owns this and loaned it to me for a while so I would like to review it and it's components. Finish: Dipped swirl Blue and Silver Neck: Sanded down on the back to a more comfortable grip, but we never measured it's actual thickness so we don't know what it is. Fingerboard: A nice rosewood fingerboard, extra jumbo fretwire. Body: It's a fat Strat shape. Pick-ups: This is the fun bit, one humbucker in the bridge, an EMG 85 active bucker, crunchy as hell but still has the basic characteristics of an EMG, doesn't sound really different from any other EMG equipped guitar, pricey or not. Tuners: Grover bean heads. Bridge: Black Vintage style Wilkinson trem bridge. // 7

Sound: This is mainly used for prog metal sounds with a wee bit of electro music breaking through, hence the single pickup and bare bones style. The EMG gives the output it needs to blister through all of the layered effects and drones it's being played with. It is a tad noisy, but that may be the amateurly soldered wiring. It can Drive any amp, squeals harmonics and chugs tightly. // 8

Action, Fit & Finish: As far as I remember being told, it was set up well out of the box and only took a quick tuning and was good to go. When he installed the emg, just went with the recomended height of "as close to the strings as you can get it without rubbing". It is as all Strats are, comfy necks but needed better edges so he had it sanded down. The finish doesn't matter anymore because he sanded the whole thing down to bare bones and refinished it. It was gloss black and had nickel hardware which is all gone now. // 7

Reliability & Durability: This thing has always been bulletproof, but that is the way of the Pacifica. Tunings stable, necks straight as a die, strap buttons are still in place in the 5 years it's been around, hardware is solid and the finish on the bridge and tuners and such are well protected by whatever they used to coat them because there's no scratches or nicks from watches, rings or anything. This guitar has been used live and didn't have any mishaps, just worked fine. Still does. // 8

Overall Impression: As listed above, electronic and metal is what this guitar is used for. This guitar covers them well, though all you need for these genres is a HOT pickup in the bridge and you're sorted. Been playing for 10 years, played loads of high output guitars and this is up there with some of the best of them. Not saying that customised cheap guitars are as good as pricey ESP's, of course they're not, but they can get a good sound out of them and aren't so devastating if they fall or drop or something. Wish it had a better nut, let the strings slide a bit better, no amount of filing or shavings of graphite will do it. // 8

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9.4
Pacifica 112V Reviewed by: SPAZ64, on march 11, 2014
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Features: This guitar, made and/or assembled in Indonesia, was made in 2004. It is a solid alder wood body, with a maple neck and rosewood fretboard. It is a solid top, painted red, has a 3-ply pickguard (white/black/white), an HSS (Humbucker in the bridge position, two single coils, one in the middle, one in the neck) pickup layout, an internal spring tremolo system (similar to that of a fender stratocaster), and one volume, one tone knob. It also has a five-way selector blade (Humbucker, half hum with middle pickup, middle pickup, middle pickup and neck, neck pickup). // 10

Sound: This guitar sounds amazing with all types of music: anything from country, to blues, to jazz, to metal, to electro-rock - even stoner rock! The sound is very similar to that of my mahogany body Guild X-79, perhaps even better tonal qualities due to the rosewood fretboard, and is relatively versatile due to its push-in/pull-out tone knob, which when pushed in, has more of a "twangy" sound to it. the electronics are extreme well done for such a cheap guitar, so there isn't much excess fuzz or rattling. The frets are also very nicely layed out, which again is surprising for a budget guitar, so not much fret buzz. // 10

Action, Fit & Finish: The guitar's setup is of very high quality with well setup electronics (as mentioned above), with the exception of a slightly wobly volume knob (creates audible buzz in the amplifier when touched while playing and is sometimes hard to turn), and a tremolo bridge that is easily put out of tune after 3-5 hits on the "whammy bar." Of the flaws, not many were present except for loose tuning heads, which didt't help with the easily-thrown-out-of-tune tremolo bridge. The setup is fast and comfortable as well, allowing for fast played solos, with the only downside being tired hands because the neck is so thin. // 8

Reliability & Durability: I have played this guitar live before for n hour long show at a coffee house as temporary guitarist in a friends band, and can say that it holds up very well live, although I did have a backup (a rented Gretsch Country Gentleman with a Bigsby) and had to use it at least twice while a friend of mine retuned the Pacifica. The hardware has lasted a very long time, with the exception of me having to replace the middle pickup which had faulty wiring, and seems to be very good for stock electronics. The finish is difficult to scratch and the strap buttons, which I have since replaced with Dunlop strap locks, held up very well, and even have foam pads to protect the finish. // 9

Overall Impression: As an experienced guitar player who has been playing since the age of seven, I can vouch for this guitar as an ultimate bang-for-your-buck guitar for both experienced players, and beginners alike. I have been playing the guitar for around a year and a half now, and would likely not buy a new one if it were stolen or lost, just for the fact that it isn't very important to me, seeing as I could likely buy another type of guitar, get some new items in my inventory. I love just about everything on this guitar, and have compared it to many other Stratocaster style guitars. I would recommend this guitar to anyone looking for a hybrid between a Stratocaster and Les Paul. If I would want this guitar to be changed at all, I would get rid of one single coil, move the humbucker to the neck or middle, and put a Tele style pickup with a Bigsby bridge and maybe a thicker neck (for comfort) just so that I would have the most versatile guitar possible. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
More Yamaha reviews rating category latest review
+ AC3R 8.9 Acoustic Guitars 10/30/2014
+ THR10X 9.3 Guitar Amplifiers 09/08/2014
+ DDS-20M Digital Delay Sampler 7.4 Guitar Effects 08/21/2014
+ TRBX504 9.3 Bass Guitars 08/15/2014
+ FG730S 9 Acoustic Guitars 07/11/2014
+ view all
Comments
Your captcha is incorrect