Guitar Hero Review

artist: Music Simulator date: 06/15/2011 category: games
Music Simulator: Guitar Hero
Are you ready to rock? Guitar Hero is a rock guitar simulation game that gives you the opportunity to become a music legend. A Best of E3 award winner, Guitar Hero features some of the greatest rock songs of all-time.
 Experience: 8.7
 Extras: 7.7
 Overall Impression: 8.7
 Overall rating:
 8.3 
 Reviewer rating:
 8.3 
 Users rating:
 8.2 
 Votes:
 17 
reviews (3) 8 comments vote for this game:
overall: 8.3
Guitar Hero Reviewed by: Will Summers, on april 24, 2008
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

Experience: If you play guitar like me, you'll most likely find yourself playing this game during most of your spare time. Guitar Hero is played buy using a guitar-shaped controller. The guitar has 5 buttons: green, red, yellow, blue, and orange. Notes represent one buttons, where as, chords, require 2 or more buttons. To play "notes" or "chords" you must be holding the button down and hitting the strum bar (located in the middle of the guitar body) at the same time you see the notes move down on the screen. Then there's "held notes". They're the same as regular notes, except you hold the button down until the note is up. Now for the trickier part. There are hammer-ons and pull-offs. Hammer-ons will go from Green to Orange accordingly. Pull-offs are vice-versa. HO's and PO's will never be chords, so you can exhale now. On the screen, the notes that you can HO's or PO's will be a lighter color. // 8

Extras: Some innovative features in this game are the realistic hammer-ons and pull-offs, the "tilt" sensor for "star power", and the whammy bar itself! In order to use "star power", you must either tilt the guitar upwards at least 45 degrees, or press the select button. The games offers 4 difficulties: Easy, Medium, Hard, and Expert. For Easy, you only use the Green, Red, and Yellow buttons. When you play Medium, you add the Blue button. For Hard, you begin to use the Orange button. For Expert, you don't have to press any more buttons, but there are more notes and they are harder to strum. // 9

Overall Impression: Overall, this game is pretty sweet, despite being a little gimmicky. Don't get me wrong though, I love the series. One thing that is very enjoyably about this game is it's extensive list of songs to play and the increasing mode difficulties. Another thing that I like about this game is how you are able to buy different guitars, skins, characters and other bonus materials with the money that you make in "Career Mode". Th One downside of this game, however, is the hammer-on and pull-off feature. This feature is pretty hard to use, making solos on songs such as "Bark at the Moon" or "Cowboys From Hell" even harder to complete. Other than that, I would have to say that this game is a must buy for aspiring guitarists. // 8

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 7.7
Guitar Hero Reviewed by: greendayfreak15, on august 21, 2008
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

Experience: My impression of this game at first, was that the game looked kind of stupid. But then I got addicted to it. And then, before I knew it I was playing on expert and getting 5 stars on everything. So this game might seem stupid when you first hear about it, but give it a chance. It's a great game. The graphics of this game aren't great. They're not terrible, but it's not as good as say the other Guitar Hero games. // 8

Extras: One of the features in the Guitar Hero series are the hammer-ons and pull-offs. In the other Guitar Hero games, they work great. But in this specific title, they barely work at all. Songs like "Bark at the Moon" by Ozzy or "Cowboys from Hell" by Pantera can be very challenging to hit the fast guitar solos because of the hammer-ons and pull-offs not being great, forcing you to strum most of the notes with the strum bar on the guitar controller that comes with the purchase of this game. // 6

Overall Impression: The thing I love about this game is the soundtrack. Songs include "More Than a Feeling" by Boston, "Iron Man" by Black Sabbath, "Ace Of Spades" by Motorhead, "Fat Lip" by Sum 41, "Higher Ground" by Red Hot Chili Peppers, and a lot more songs. The things I didn't like about the first Guitar Hero game are the problem with the hammer-ons and pull-offs, and the fact that every song in the game other than bonus songs are covers of the songs, and most of them aren't good at all. They could have used better cover bands to cover these songs, because the band they used sucked. // 9

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9
Guitar Hero Reviewed by: LilEssence123, on june 15, 2011
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Experience: The game had little from every genre, and was familiar to everyone, which made playing more interesting. Also, it had various difficulties that suites everyone with all levels. In addition, it almost suitable for all ages. The visuals were very, very impressive and vivid. Also the amount of details in the characters motivates a player to actually play and enjoy. And what makes things better, that the vocalist is actually lip syncing with the song. And most importantly, the game can never get boring or old, or sick with the already listed songs. That's because you can buy and download new music from the game store. // 10

Extras: The drum equipment can have two peddles installed in order to use double beat for fast beat music. In the hand, the drum equipment has poor quality, and thus not made to last. So, if you wake up someday finding one of the drum pads not working, don't be surprised. But the other equipment work perfectly, and are long lasting. // 8

Overall Impression: The music is hand picked, the visuals are breath taking, the game is well design, and well taken care of when it comes to details. But the drum equipment can cause frustration at some point. // 9

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
More Music Simulator reviews rating latest review
+ String Wars 8.2 01/09/2013
+ Guitar Hero World Tour 8 01/30/2012
+ Guitar Hero 5 Mobile 5.5 01/25/2012
+ Rocksmith 8.5 01/11/2012
+ AC/DC Live Rock Band Track Pack 7.7 10/24/2011
+ view all
Comments
Your captcha is incorrect