Guitar Hero: Aerosmith Review

artist: Music Simulator date: 06/24/2009 category: games
Music Simulator: Guitar Hero: Aerosmith
Release Date: June 26, 2008
Game Platforms: PlayStation 2, PlayStation 3, Wii, Xbox 360
Aerosmith retains the same gameplay as previous games in the Guitar Hero series.
 Experience: 9.7
 Extras: 9.7
 Overall Impression: 8.7
 Overall rating:
 7.7 
 Reviewer rating:
 9.3 
 Users rating:
 6 
 Votes:
 27 
reviews (3) 66 comments vote for this game:
overall: 9.3
Guitar Hero: Aerosmith Reviewed by: Satchafunkilus, on june 30, 2008
10 of 15 people found this review helpful

Experience: First of all, this game is amazing honestly money well spent. If you are a hge fan of Aerosmith then ge this game. There are over 40 songs, tons of guitars and many finishes. Many of your favorite songs are on here such as; Sweet Emotion, Train Kept on rolling, and many others. Not only is Aerosmith on here but so is The Kinks the Cult and a few others. It plays just like all the other Guitar Hero games this Guitar Hero games you can play expert on Guitar Hero Aerosmith, it is very easy. This game is easy yet enjoyable. // 9

Extras: The extra are so stocked up. They are all the guitars from Guitar Hero 3, aswell as many more, there are way to many extras, it will take forever to get them. But one of the best extras is that between gigs the band members of Aerosmith tell stories of what happened at the Venue or the meanings of songs. Aswell as all the unlockable songs there are 4 extra characters, one of which is Run DMC. The extras are amazing and you will enjoy listening to great stories from the band. Seriously top notch. // 10

Overall Impression: This is one of the best Guitar Hero games yet. Easily my favorite, my only problem is the achievements on the Xbox 360 are incredibly easy and provide no trouble or time at all, yes this is a small problem but achievements make the games more fun. Overall it is a fun game you will enjoy playing. // 9

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9.7
Guitar Hero: Aerosmith Reviewed by: dRockstar24, on june 24, 2009
5 of 5 people found this review helpful

Experience: If you're an Aerosmith fan, this Guitar Hero is money well spent, or in my case, a gift well thought of. Up for a battle? This band's version features the wildest matchups, like hardcore Axel Steel versus happy-go-lucky Midori. You can even test your skills and try to fail Joe Perry before the end of the song. Can't stand playing Aerosmith songs the entire time? No prob. Opening acts like The Kinks, The Cult, Joan Jett, Mott the Hoople, Stone Temple Pilots, Run DMC, Lenny Kravitz and Slash... Etc, hold back your boredom. // 10

Extras: The Vault is packed with extras to buy with your gig money. From guitars to finishes to characters to styles to songs and videos and more, it will feel like you'll never get them all. Some of the characers come with their own unique guitars and outfits, and for those like Metalhead, they are pretty wild. After you complete every venue, Aerosmith interviews play about their real life experience at the scene, their songs there, and other random stuff. // 10

Overall Impression: Okay, this game may have some tight extras and all, but it has it's share of flaws. What I hate? Every time you play an Aerosmith song, you are automatically Joe Perry, and you can't even customize him. Even on "Rag Doll", when he's not on the guitar, you're still him. I know he's the lead guitar, but they could have at least given Brad Whitford one spotlight. They should've let people pick who they wanted to be on Quick Play. // 9

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9
Guitar Hero: Aerosmith Reviewed by: Tyler Rogers, on december 02, 2008
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Experience: When I first heard of this game's upcoming existence, I immediately gasped in excitement, because Aerosmith is and has been one of my all-time favorite bands, and the thought of such a great band colliding with one of the most innovative and enlightening video game franchises as Guitar Hero sent shivers down my spine. This game was nearly everything I hoped it would be, with only a few let downs. But then again, what game is perfect? I rented it. I don't earn much, and I wasn't payin' for it. But if I could, I'd easily purchase this game for what it is. It has nearly every song written by Aerosmith, and other works from similarly great bands to keep you from getting tired of the Hall-of-Fame band. Guitar Hero keeps it's originality yet molds itself to Aerosmith's history and themes. // 10

Extras: With a wide range of recognizable guitars and clothing from Aerosmith's past, Guitar Hero\: Aerosmith individually introduces each character as their own person. They made sure to have most of Aerosmith's greatest hits and then some for playing in the game, but some of their best collaborations were nowhere to be found, like "Don't Wanna Miss a Thing", and "Cryin'", however made up for it with "Pink", "Back In the Saddle", "Train Kept a Rollin'", and even BOTH versions of "Walk This Way". You can play as any of the band members, excluding the drummer and Steven Tyler, who are replaced by Run DMC. // 9

Overall Impression: I LOVE how this game shows the people Who never knew them what Aerosmith truly is: a humble, trend-setting, and mind-blowing band with many years of experience on it's back. It starts from the beginning of the band's career and ends at the present. I HATE how whenever you choose a character to be, but play an Aerosmith song, and you're automatically Joe Perry. Even if you are Joe Perry himself yet choose a different color clothing and guitar, it forces you to be the song's default, thus removing some of that character-customizing ability Guitar Hero has been known for. With that and some missing chart toppers, Guitar Hero\: Aerosmith has it's share of let downs. All in all, this game gives you a great look at Aerosmith and it's lifetime as one of the greatest bands in Rock and Roll history. I suggest buying it because I guarantee you, if you're an Aerosmith fan, or even a fan of true rock, then don't hesitate to invest in this game. I can't wait for Guiatr Hero: Metallica! // 8

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
More Music Simulator reviews rating latest review
+ String Wars 8.2 01/09/2013
+ Guitar Hero 5 Mobile 5.5 01/25/2012
+ Rocksmith 8.5 01/11/2012
+ AC/DC Live Rock Band Track Pack 7.7 10/24/2011
+ LEGO Rock Band 8.4 07/27/2011
+ view all
Comments
Your captcha is incorrect