Guitar Hero World Tour Review

artist: Music Simulator date: 12/12/2008 category: games
Music Simulator: Guitar Hero World Tour
Guitar Hero: World Tour features the full band setup just like Rock Band, but the question is "can it take on Rock Band?"
 Experience: 7.8
 Extras: 8
 Overall Impression: 8.4
 Overall rating:
 8 
 Reviewer rating:
 8.1 
 Users rating:
 7.8 
 Votes:
 245 
reviews (13) 129 comments vote for this game:
overall: 7
Guitar Hero World Tour Featured review by: UG Team, on december 12, 2008
12 of 19 people found this review helpful

Experience: Guitar Hero is an established video game franchise right now and pretty much known for starting the guitar video game genre. As soon as Rock Band was released, Guitar Hero developer's Neversoft questioned continuing as a single instrument game. The outcome of this was Guitar Hero: World Tour. The game features the full band setup just like Rock Band, but the question is "can it take on Rock Band?" The first thing I noticed, as I took out the contents of the huge box, was a new guitar. The guitar has a sleek design, but you can tell it was built for serious game play. The guitar's body has a new, bigger pick area that still feels like the older guitar controller models. The body also has a longer whammy bar and a new button just below the pick area that activates star power (perfect for players Who don't like to tilt the guitar). The neck looks the same except for one new key feature, the touch pad. The touch pad is designed for special sections of songs where tapping would be ideal. As far as my thoughts on the guitar for game play, it is a nice guitar; in fact it is probably the best model yet for music games.

The bigger pick area is comfortable to play with. I noticed the star power button takes some getting used to. You need to be able to hit it with your palm while you pick notes, which may be difficult for some players. The whammy bar is easier to use now that it is longer. The touch pad was my main concern with the guitar. One thing the touch pad does is adds a wah effect to sustained notes when you rub your finger up
and down it. It sounds cool sometimes, but the guitar already has a whammy built in, so the wah seems kind of unnecessary. During solos, clear notes will pop up which you can either play without picking or use the touch pad. The touch pad is far down the neck, so if you use both hands to tap the solo out, such as in "Hot For Teacher" by Van Halen, you risk missing notes you can't tap after the solo. Basically, as you're
tapping, regular notes come kind of suddenly if you don't know the song, and you end up missing them. Practice may fix this, but I have yet to master it. Another main thing I noticed was that the game now has you playing notes during sustained notes. Though difficult at first, they really do make the guitar playing more realistic. Overall, the guitar is a pretty neat device, but I think that Neversoft still has things to work on for it.

The second thing out of the box I noticed was the drum set. I had played Rock Band's drum set and thought it was pretty fun, but this set was definitely different. The set features three drum pads, two cymbals, and a kick pedal. The drum set really isn't comparable to the Rock Band drum set, but in fact way more developed. The set looks like an actually drum set and almost plays like one too. The game play for the set is similar to Rock Band, only it has 5 notes instead of 4. The kick pedal is represented as a Pink bar that comes up during songs. The set's drum pads are made of rubber it feels like and are pretty quiet compared to Rock Bands set. Overall, the set is pretty much perfect. I had no problems with it and really enjoyed playing it. The other thing that came out of the box was the microphone. A simple USB mic, it plugs in, and you sing into it. The system they use isn't too much different from Rock Band. You can choose whether you want the notes scrolling or just line by line of lyrics. The mic itself is kind of cheap quality it seems like, but it's sturdy enough to play the game. The forth thing in the box was the game itself. I popped it in and started to play on career mode. The career mode is actually very limited and not really that fun. Each "level" has a set list that seems randomly selected from a certain difficulty of songs. Encores also seem to be randomly placed too. As you go through career, you earn money to spend on the items you unlock as you play. The career mode seems like it was one of those things where when they made the game it seemed like a good idea at the time, but it ended up being one of the worst parts of the game. Career mode does feature guitar battles, but they don't include the string breaking and amp overloads of the last game. After unlocking all the songs from career mood, I ended up playing quickplay more often. Quickplay gives you the feature of making up your own set list by choosing up to 6 songs to play in a row. You can also make money on quickplay to buy the things you unlock in career mode. Quickplay is probably the funniest part of this game.

The song list includes pretty much anything you can think of, not to mention all the tracks are original master tracks. I do think that the list lacks because they were going for all master tracks, but it still has something for anyone. The list includes songs from Van Halen, Ozzy Osbourne, Metallica, No Doubt, Rise Against, Bullet for My valentine, Paramore, Blink-182, Jimmy Hendrix, Ted Nugent, Sting, Fleetwood Mac, and
many others. If you like a specific type of rock music, it will be on this game. Another option that the game introduces is called Music Studio. I didn't mess around with this much, because the creation of songs is so limited. Songs can only be so long in length, and you can only do so much. The program is hard to learn, but with time and effort, you could probably put out some pretty good songs. All the songs you make can be uploaded to GHTunes, where other players can download and rate your creations.

Overall, it just needs work, and it could become a great part of music games to come.
The full band game play is actually pretty interesting. It reminds you of Rock Band, but it is almost nothing like it. When you hit certain areas as a full band, you gain a bonus, like in Rock Band. When everyone uses star power at once, you also gain a bonus multiplier as a band. The band part is probably the reason most people will buy this game, and it is definitely the most fun part of the game. The game has improved with some cool features. One of the most notable is the countdown when you come back from the game being paused. Another is the ability to create your own instruments using different options that you unlock in career mode. You can also create your own band logo, which is displayed in a majority of the venues. Overall, the game play is
exactly what you would expect, but at the same time, you still see spots that Neversoft could have improved on. // 7

Extras: The extras seem kind of limited. You earn money through career and quickplay which you can use to buy the extras. One thing you can use your money on is the create-an-instrument mode. While the game comes with some options for making instruments, as you play through career, you can unlock more and more skins, bodies, necks, and pretty much anything else you could think up. Another thing to spend your money on is the
create-a-character mode. Creating characters in this game is pretty limited, but you can make some pretty good replicas of some real life people. The main things you spend your money on are venues and unlockable characters. The venues are unlocked in career and come with a setlist you unlock. The venues include Ozzfest, AT&T Park, and a level made by the band Tool. If that isn't enough, you can also unlock the games notable
cast of unlockable characters. They include Jimi Hendrix, Ozzy Osbourne, Travis Barker of Blink-182, Zakk Wylde, Billy Corgan of the Smashing Pumpkins, Sting, Hayley Williams of Paramore, and Ted Nugent. Unlocking these characters allows them to play any instrument you want with them. These are pretty much the only things you can unlock. The selection is pretty limited overall, and I think Neversoft could have done better. // 6

Overall Impression: I have always enjoyed the Guitar Hero series and always buy the new guitars with each game. This game was no different, and overall, I enjoyed everything the game had to offer. Despite my anger with the limited career mode and Music Studio, this game is pretty fun to play. I like to invite friends over to play this in my dorm room, and it
definitely is a fun time waster. I do recommend this game to everyone. My favorite part of this game is probably the drum set that you get when you buy the deluxe edition of the game. It is definitely worth what you pay for it. Check this game out when you can, because it is going to pave the path of music games for the next few years. // 8


- Dylan Newell (c) 2008

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 8.3
Guitar Hero World Tour Reviewed by: MetallicStrat8, on december 12, 2008
3 of 4 people found this review helpful

Experience: Guitar Hero has gotten on the bandwagon and added all instruments. As with Rock Band Guitar Hero has the Drums, Guitar, and Mic. They have added many new features into this new GH. For instance you can go on solo tours with all the instruments. I had the most fun with the drums. Now for what everyone was wondering: How are the songs? Well they have definitely taken a turn away from what GH3 stood for, or any GH for that mater. there is more contemporary music and western in this installment of the game. Now me I don't like country or western, but I know a lot of people that do. Something I didn't like so much was when I'd get a set list all by the same artist. That got very repetitive. Like when I got a set list of 4 Tool songs. I like Tool but it was just to long. The game did make up for that though by the variety of different venues. you can play in a dinky little living room or on a huge arena rock area. Also for song selection they did manage to steal at least 15 songs from their competitor Rock Band 2. The games engine is still the same as GH3 except they made it harder for people Who arnt used to the game. They put the precise hammer-on timing back into the game, this surprised me because I was wondering why it was harder to hit hammer-ons. Also I didn't rely care for the scoring system this time in band mode because it subtracts your score by so much with how many people you have. But unlike Rock Band you can activate star power when ever with all the instruments. Like the Drums you can just pound on the cymbals to activate them. Or if your using Rock Band drums you can hit the yellow and blue pads together. The equipment they used for the game is very top notch. The guitar is way better than Rock Bands either way you look at it. Although the drums could function a little better.The strum bar is not as loud as the old ones and not as mushy as Rock Bands. Also the buttons arnt loud like Rock Bands. Plus the tapping buttons are actually a touch screen so it makes it awesome.But the drums I'm not so proud of, when my friend got the drums they didn't work right. Also the wireless connectivity has given people problems with all the instruments. There's not much to say about the Mic because it's just standard. I just used my old Rock Band one form My Xbox 360. The experience was great on this game but there are things I realy didn't care for about it. // 8

Extras: There are so many features in this game it's unreal. Well first and best is The Music Mixer. This is the most inovative feature in the game. You can literally spend hours just jamming out and making your own songs. My freind and I made like 30 songs. Now I thought it would be hard to do but it's not. You can choos between Rhythem, Lead, Bass, Drums, and even Singing. On lead you can Switch your amp type, effects (Like if you want to be clean or distorted), you can also Switch what type of scale your on (Like Minor or Major), you can also swich the tunning of the guitar. Rhythem guitar is bassicly the same, just it's all power chords not single notes. For the Drums you can swich the style drum set you are using. Like a standard drum set to a "St.Anger" drum set. But the thing I didn't care for about it was the fact that you can upload 5 songs you make to Xbox Live or PlayStation Network. My freind and I were P.O'd that we couldnt upload all our songs. But at least the songs don't take up to much space. Your songs also become available to play in quick play mode. Another cool feature was that some songs you downloaded for GH3 are backwords compatible with GHWT. Like when I downloaded "Death Magnetic" by Metallica, it was compatible with world tour. Perhaps one of the cooles features in the game is that you can literaly customize everything on your charechter, even the guitar. I just was at it for at least an hour making my guy perfect. You can change there hair dos or there tatoos. You can even change how fat they are or if they're body builders. But the most fun thing was customizing my guitar. Through out the game you can get different body types and head stocks. The game even lets you change your strings on the guitar. Also you can change the pick ups and volume/tone knobs. My guitar has skulls on the front covered in what I made look like blood with spots of black. The possibilities are nearly endless in the creation area. You can even customize a microphone or drum set if you have one. They did end up keeping guiatr battles in the game but they are better than GH3's by far. Their are more exclusive charechters to the game like Zack Wylde, or Ozzy Osbourn. the also made tapping more inovative than what Rock Band did. Even if you have a normal GH2 controller you can still tap, you don't have to strum but this is only for parts what look strings go through the notes this tells you if you can do this. The game also has the feature of facing people Head to Head on Xbox Live like GH3 but it's with all instruments like Rock Band. The only thing I'd love to see is a venue creator but still not that but the game sure makes up for it. // 9

Overall Impression: Overall I loved the game. I'm a huge fan of Guitar Hero so of course I'd like it. There are still things I didn't care for it though. Like the fact that the song selection IMO sucks. But hey lots of people love country and slower pased songs. So it's great for every one. This is definatly a family game. It was desighned for familys and freinds to just sit around and Jam to some awesome tunes. But I realy did like the fact that since I downloaded Death Magnetic I can play it on Guitar Hero World Tour. Plus I was able to sing and play the drums to it. For most of you loyal fans to the Metal and Rock era of the Guitar Heroes you might not like it as much as some of the previus installments. It did have many inovations in it, but things like songs will definitly drag it down. I do like the songs from RB2 a little more than GHWT but I like the overall game more of GHWT. So I definatly recomend this title to alll hard core fans and even jus glancing by standers. // 8

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9.7
Guitar Hero World Tour Reviewed by: Will Summers, on december 12, 2008
2 of 3 people found this review helpful

Experience: The "Guitar Hero" series has come very far since it was first released on the PS2 in 2005, and I have to say this addition to the series is by far it's best. Guitar Hero: World Tour comes with more features than all of the other "Guitar Hero" games before it. World Tour comes with guitar, drums, a mic, an epic 84-song set list, as well as downloadable content that you can get from either Xbox Live of PS3 online. This game is a pretty good deal, that is if your willing to spend $190 for the entire band set. If your either feeling stingy or are runnin' low on cash, you can get the dual guitar set, which costs $100. // 10

Extras: In GH:WT, we see many new additions. To start off you have not only the guitar, but drums and a mic. Drums: The drums have the same set up as the Rock Band drumset, except instead of 4 drum pads, you get 2 cymbals and 3 drum pads, as well as the bass pedal on the GH set. Mic: Possibly the hardest part of the game in my opinion. The concept of singing into the mic is the same as Rock Band. The hard part is being able to sing along with the song and not run out of breath between words. However, I liked how if your voice is that of a 14 year old boy, you could sing an octave lower and sing along. Next, we have the guitar slider. Similar to the lower frets on the RB guitar, the slider features the five colors: green, red, yellow, blue and Orange. During certain songs, you'll encounter notes that are tied together with a purple wavy line. This is where you use the slider. Instead of strumming all the notes, you can move your fingers across the slider, in accordince to the notes on the screen. If you find the slider too trick to use, you can still move your fingers on the colored buttons, like your using your hammer-ons and pull-offs, not that it will help you much on songs like Van Halen's "Hot for Teacher" or Joe Satriani's "Satch Boogie". Rocker Creation: In the first five Guitar Hero games, you had the default characters like Johnny Napalm, Judy Nails, etc. In GH:WT, not only do you get the characters from the first five games, you also get the option of creating your own character. When creating your rocker, you can change almost every aspect of appearance on your character, as well as customizing his/her outfit. Guitar Customization: In the first five GH games, you could only acquire your guitars by buying them or unlocking them. This time around, you get the option of creating your own guitar, the customizations ranging from the body to the strings. As you progress through the sets on Career mode, you can unlock new headstock and body designs, which you have to buy. Basically, you have no limits when it comes to making your guitar. Music Studio: By far the coolest addition to the game. In the studio, you can lay down guitar tracks, rhythm tracks, bass tracks, drums tracks, keyboard tracks, as well as vocals with the mic. You might think that you can only make a song with an entire band. Well you're wrong. You can make your own song by yourself. It is however easier with the entire band. After you finish making your song in the recording studio, you can go to "GH Mixer, where you can change rewrite the song to your preference, if you see fit. You can change the speed of the song, how the notes are set up, the snap indicator and much, much more. When you have finally finished your master-piece to be, you can publish it on Xbox Live, for everyone to see and rate. // 10

Overall Impression: Overall, I'm pretty impressed with this game. I found no flaws in this game what'soever, except the semi-faulty drum pad/cymbal. The Music Studio feature is also a little tricky to use, but that may take some time to figure out. Also, another problem is the price of the entire set. If your willing to spend almost $200, you'll have no problem getting this game. But if you're not willing enough, you can stick with the dual guitar pack. Basically, there isn't anything to dislike about this game except the listed above. // 9

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 7.3
Guitar Hero World Tour Reviewed by: D3M0N L0RD, on december 12, 2008
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Experience: Great, new songs from oldies to current music, including "Trapped Under Ice" - Metallica, "Hot For Teacher" - Van Halen, "Scream, Aim, Fire" - Bullet for My valentine, "Mr. Crowley" - Ozzy, and a few others... but not many. // 5

Extras: Guitar has a touch sensor bar with which you can "slide" your hand across the bar to hit fast sections faster and easier but only when the notes are purple. Or when their are held notes you can make a more increased whammy effect. The strum bar is changed, but I think for the better. It is quieter and really seems to help out on those fast strumming sections. I used to be really picky about the guitar I would use for the X-box 360, but this guitar is definitely better than the black Les Paul in my opinion... especially when the frets on the World Tour guitar don't randomly go out on me. As for the drums, their fine. They are now equipped with symbols... as you all should know, and is capable of handling dual bass pedals. It definitely has a more sturdy weight to it and I'm not afraid I'm going to break it when I go all out in the beginning of a song. // 8

Overall Impression: I really like the guitar and some of the songs. I don't like the fact that they decided to go with the band feature. Yeah, it's cool, but it's "Guitar Hero", not "Rock Band Hero." and some of the new songs were pretty stupid while you waited for the songs you really wanted to play. I was also mad that the hardest song was "Hot For Teacher", I was expecting something crazier than "Through The Fire And Flames", but beggars can't be choosers I guess. Also, The Music creator is fun, in a way you can practice or challenge yourself with it which makes up for the sodomizing set list. // 9

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 3.3
Guitar Hero World Tour Reviewed by: botched-eros, on january 28, 2009
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Experience: Guitar Hero World Tour is a game that should be played casually. If you play this game for more than an hour a day you will become a lucid zombie. This game is meant to give you a "rock star" experience but what you really get is a waste of time--learning to hold 5 colored "fret buttons" while pressing down a "strum bar" instead of learning any real musical skill. // 4

Extras: There are some good tracks available to play in this game... while there are about 60 songs that would make any musician run in terror. You can compose your own MIDI tracks... but you could really just write a song on the guitar... There is nothing innovative about this game. Period. // 1

Overall Impression: This game was made for kids Who unquestionably absorb popular culture. Please monitor your children if you allow them to play this game for if not they will probably never have an artistic thought about music. If you are a musician there is light fun to be had and perhaps serious fun if you like to sing. The drum controller can provide harmless fun as well. If you are not a musician and would never like to be one--then this is the game for you! // 5

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9.7
Guitar Hero World Tour Reviewed by: Guitarfreak147, on april 06, 2009
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Experience: I have played this game since Christmas of 2008. I enjoyed it immeadiatly and got to the level of Hard, and I still keep climbing. It is a very addictive game that you would never stop playing (if only you could). This is by far, the best Guitar Hero ever made. It is 100 times better than Rock Band and has better songs now. Even more songs have been added. I have had a lot of experience with this game, and I say buy it if you're smart! (If you're not, still do anyway). // 10

Extras: There best extras are GH Tunes, GH Tunes Web (Where you can go and download songs or even upload your own.), and buy newly imputted songs that Neversoft made at GH Tunes Music Store. One good Game that they made, and these are some of the best extras that I have ever seen in a game! // 10

Overall Impression: Well, as we all know, Guitar Hero is a great game to play. Why wouldn't you play it? It help's you with your fingering, and it shows you cool guitar tricks to use on a real one. (I should know, That's where I learned some popular guitar tricks). It shows you some great bands and their best songs. For Example, Some Bands they have are: Nirvana, Rise Against, Ozzy Osbourne, Motorhead, Metallica, Paramore and many more. Another great thing you would find in this game, Drums. You can officially play the drums, as well as the bass and vocals. The best Guitar Hero yet. Another great feature, the best one of them all, is the GH Tunes. Now you can create your own songs or songs that weren't imputed into the game. No matter how good they may be, you can isert them onto GH Tunes. Another cool feature inserted, You can now go and buy newly imputted songs from GH Tunes. (Using Microsoft points on the Xbox 360 only). Why wouldn't you buy this game. If you don't yet own it, then get off your butt and buy it! // 9

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9.7
Guitar Hero World Tour Reviewed by: evh satriani, on december 12, 2008
0 of 3 people found this review helpful

Experience: A very well franchise has come out with a well done game, this game is good, also the song selection is okay, kind of boring, but they do have some undones before, like Tool, hendrix, Van Halen, and ozzy. it is a good impression for someone just picking up these games // 10

Extras: A nice slider bar, that lets you slide your hand on it without strumming when you see darker notes, also if you play bass you can hit it while holding a fret button and it will strum, (like slap bass) a drum sett with 2 cymbals, 3 pads, and a wireless pedal, a microphone, a pretty cool music studio that lets you tune your guitar, change the effects, make scales. etc. and you record it and save, then you can edit it, then you can post it on gh tunes if you have a 360, wii, or ps3, (gh tunes not available for ps2). a shop, which lets you make your character using neversoft type adjustments, you can buy clothes shoes, hair styles, mak up, etc, and also a instrument shop, you can buy instruments, or you can make them, you can make the highway diff, headstock, whammy bar, strings, bridge, pickups, pickguards, etc. // 10

Overall Impression: It's good, they kind of thought back a little bit to the first Guitar Hero though, but overall it's good because all of the amazing innovation, but I've heard that the yellow cymbal on the drumkits are unresponsive. you can also use all the rockband stuff if you have that // 9

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9
Guitar Hero World Tour Reviewed by: whoisthisagain, on december 12, 2008
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Experience: The game is enjoyable, but it doesn't shift as much into the "party game" genre as RockBand and RockBand 2 do. The songs take some getting used to, depending on if you've heard them or not. Some songs are very well picked, and others, not so much. The new instruments also give the game a plus. The drums are incredibly easy to set up, get used to, and play. Since this date, Guitar Hero has solved the drum sensitivity problems that the drums once had, so the drums are a unique experience. Unlike RockBand, you could close your eyes (if you knew how to play the song on the real drums) and play the song. It can also be used as a way to start people off on playing the real drums. It is not like the guitar, in which there are huge differences in playing. The microphone is almost exactly like any other games that use microphones, there is no uniqueness except for star power. Over all, the game is fun to play and worth the cost. // 9

Extras: The drums are one of the new, good features. They are fun to play, and if you like playing guitar (the insturment on the game), you will probably like the drums. Career mode has been tweaked. While every song does not need to be played, there are no bonus songs, and all the songs are optional as part of your career (you still need to beat a minimal number of songs). You are also able to create your own rocker, guitar, and drum set. The new guitars have a feature called the slide bar, which you can tap your fingers instead of strumming. That is a very nice feature. // 9

Overall Impression: Most of the aspects of this game make it worth buying. Except for some minor sensitivity flaws, the drums are a new experience for anyone, including those that own RockBand 1 or 2. The new features on the guitar and the mike especially make it worth buying the box set. // 9

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 8.3
Guitar Hero World Tour Reviewed by: FunkyMonk619, on january 26, 2009
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Experience: Guitar Hero 3 was indeed a good game, if you were just getting into the Guitar Hero franchise. I got it for Wii, and I was amazed: my first time ever playing a Guitar Hero game. But now that I reflect back upon that time, it was good and bad. First off, long-time players will be upset because of how easy the game has become: Hammer-on's have an infinite amount of strike time, note charts were easy compared to the past 3 Guitar Hero games (Including Rock the 80's), and this just generally made fans of the series upset. But if you're a beginner (like I was) this game will seem amazing to you. It'll easily get you up to the position of Expert in no time. This game is meant for beginners, bottom line. // 8

Extras: Guitar Hero 2 hasn't had any more features added on to the game then Guitar Hero 1 had, but Guitar Hero 3 brings a lot more features into mind, probably because of Activision buying the rights from Harmonix. In this game, players will get to have Guitar Battles with other people, creating a more intuitive "Crossroads-inspired" experience. Also, Online play has been included in the ports for Xbox 360, Playstation 3, and Nintendo Wii. In career mode, players will have to face Guitar Legends Tom Morello (From Rage Against The Machine, Audioslave, and the Nightwatchmen) and Slash (Guns N' Roses, Slash's Snakepit, Velvet Revolver) and Lou the Devil (No exact reference, but he does play Devil Went Down to Georgia, even though I thought a Tenacious D song was in order), which I thought was really cool. It wasn't EXACTLY like playing against them, but it was really fun doing so, especially with Lou. Steve Ouimette knew what to do with that battle. Also, players will have the chance to play with a friend in Co-Op Career mode, one playing Lead Guitar, and the other one playing Bass/Rhythm Guitar. This feature was good for playing with friends, but I found myself rushing towards the lead guitar part, since the bass and rhythm parts were incredibly dull. Activision spent too much time focusing on how hard the Guitar should be, and not putting in any really hard bass songs. // 9

Overall Impression: Guitar Hero 3 had it's ups and downs, but mostly ups, since I just started playing the series of games. Now that I've played a few, I can see where Activision went wrong. The game is more of a Xbox and Playstation 3 game, because of Downloadable Content and better online play. I have the Wii version, so I think of my copy of "Guitar Hero 3 LITE." But overall, it was a fun game to play, while it lasted. In my opinion, if you want the variety, go with Rock Band, but if you're a hardcore Guitar Hero fan, by all means, rent this game before you buy it. You might like it, you might not. // 8

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 7.7
Guitar Hero World Tour Reviewed by: sum13, on march 11, 2010
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Experience: The game is the same as all the other Guitar Hero games. You hold down the frets and strum them at the exact time that they come down at you. When will these guys change the colours or something because it is always the same as the other Guitar Hero Titles. It is great that they have added extra instruments so that four people can play at the same time instead of two. Since the game now includes a microphone and drums as well as a lead guitar and bass, Does this change much? Well the answer is NO. You may get extra points using the drums but the microphone is extremely hard to use when trying to get a decent score of 132954 or something but it is stupid the way these Guitar Hero creators did this. The balance in the way the dificulties are placed out is still messesd up. From medium to hard is like from playing smoke on the water on a real guitar to Through the fire and flames or something. The introduction of the beginner mode (which is just strumming) is hard for people like me who prefer playing frets with the strums than just strumming. It does not look cool and is harder than easy. The introduction of the mii character playing thing where you play as your miis' and play fancy rock melodies or eight bar blues was interesting because for some retarded reason, the miis' dance?! What is up with that? I was playing it when all of a sudden, the mii was twirling the guitar around its' neck or doing back flips. That was really messed up. It is an ok game but the creators need to fix up the minor mistakes // 8

Extras: The extras are seemingly pointless and are as bare and barren as a desert. It does not even show interviews with the creators or animators or something. I mean for christs sake if you are not gonna put anything good in the extras, you might as well put it in the options menu or something. // 7

Overall Impression: It is a really good game to play at parties or play with your family but it is really boring to play by yourself because the only thing you can compete against are the high scores(which are really easy to beat) or your endurance and/or tolerance to play the game that is literally the same thing as the other itles in its' series. // 8

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9.3
Guitar Hero World Tour Reviewed by: CodeXANA, on march 12, 2010
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Experience: Format: PS3,PS2,XBOX360,PC,Wii + The game will blow the mind, and having the ability to choose the instrument you play, not only lets you use your preferred instrument, but gets the whole "band" together. World Tour features many classic tracks from the previous Guitar Hero titles, such as Through The Fire and Flames by Dragonforce, and some iconic modern tracks, such Hotel California by The Eagles. All makes for great gameplay, and a long lifetime of use. The graphics are supreme and put the predecessors to shame, and if you have surround sound, the audio tracks are mind-blowing (as they should be)! The shared "Rock-o-meter" also allows the cooperative mode to be highly playable. If one player sucks too much, the band fails, but if someone gains star power, the failing player can use it to boost their performance. - Song Creator. So confusing that songs are hard to make, and when you download songs, some chumps make versions using such simple patterns that "expert" does not apply when needed. // 9

Extras: Like the previous game "Legends Of Rock", you get a wireless guitar, and now you can have a microphone and drumkit, as well as a second guitar... Innovative features? The new guitar touch sensitive neck, for tricky solos. Point deducted because they don't always work right, and that is a serious flaw. // 9

Overall Impression: + I have to admit that this game is great for parties. Playing "Alcohol" by The Barenaked Ladies (download), with all on expert, and under the influence...*smirk*... is a very funny experience, and should be tried at least once. This game really makes up for previous failings by the introduction of the cooperation. - The problem with cooperation is the introduction of violence: "Dude, we failed!" "It's his fault! He screwed up the solo!" "No I didn't! You put me off with your damn singing!" etc. etc. you can see how this ends. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 7.7
Guitar Hero World Tour Reviewed by: CaseeeyXD, on january 27, 2011
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Experience: I really enjoyed playing this game overall. But, it didn't have some of the best songs it could have contained. I loved being able to hear songs that I hadn't heard in years and hearing songs I had never heard before that become some of my more well-liked songs. // 6

Extras: I really liked how there was a finger-tapping board to use for certain sections because it made you feel like you were doing a little more than pushing a combination between five different colored buttons. It also made those parts easier to play than hammer-ons and pull-offs because you did not have to re-strum every time you missed a note. // 9

Overall Impression: I liked quite a few of the songs on this, and heard some very good songs that I learned to like. Also, I heard some songs on this game that I hadn't heard in years that I remember I used to love. So, I was glad to have heard them and be able to know exactly what they were called and who they were by. Something I didn't like about playing on the finger-tapping board was that it could be complicated to hit those notes at the right time again when you miss one. // 8

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 8
Guitar Hero World Tour Reviewed by: kinggaunt, on january 30, 2012
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Experience: This game is a game that you can either play guitar, bass, drums or vocals on, it gives the user a chance to play live songs such as livin' on a prayer, beat it, crazy train, one way etc... I would personally say that this game is one of the best music simulators out for console I.E.: Xbox 360. // 8

Extras: This game features the ability to create your own song for drums, guitar, key bored, vocals etc... Also for the key bored, drums, bass and lead, you get machine, which when a note is held it will continuously tap that note however on the drums it will come up with a beat! Also when you tap the ride of the drum kit, you get the sound of the bell, but when hit you get the full ride sound, same with hi-hat! (open/closed). // 7

Overall Impression: I would rate this game a 9 because it is the best Music Simulator for console that I have ever played and I think that it is hard to make a game better than it (music wise). // 9

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
More Music Simulator reviews rating latest review
+ String Wars 8.2 01/09/2013
+ Guitar Hero 5 Mobile 5.5 01/25/2012
+ Rocksmith 8.5 01/11/2012
+ AC/DC Live Rock Band Track Pack 7.7 10/24/2011
+ LEGO Rock Band 8.4 07/27/2011
+ view all
Comments
Your captcha is incorrect