Mustang IV Review

manufacturer: Fender date: 05/26/2014 category: Guitar Amplifiers
Fender: Mustang IV
Brand new Mustang IV. Same features as the III, but it is 150 watts 2x12. It is plenty big and loud.
 Sound: 8.7
 Overall Impression: 9.3
 Reliability & Durability: 8.3
 Features: 9.7
 Overall rating:
 8.7 
 Reviewer rating:
 9 
 Users rating:
 8.4 
 Votes:
 52 
reviews (3) pictures (3) 52 comments vote for this gear:
overall: 9.8
Mustang IV Reviewed by: SARNUS, on may 18, 2011
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

Price paid: € 420

Purchased from: Pentagram

Features: Fender Mustang IV 150W 2x12 Solid State stereo combo (open back). About $500 in the US. FM-IV first introduced at the NAMM 2011 in LA and is the most powerful amp of the Mustang series (along with the FM-V 150W head). It is a next gen Solid State digital modelling amp loaded with 2 12" Celestion G12P-80 8 Ohm speakers. It has one channel with 100 presets; stereo effect loop (send-return); 1/4'' instrument input; 1/8'' aux input; 1/8'' headphone jack (doubles as speaker emulated line out); USB port for HQ low latency recording; included 4-Button footswitch for quick access, preset/bank select, or effects On/Off, and tuner. All Mustang series amps ship with Fender Fuse software + Fender Amplitube + Ableton recording software. This amp features 12 Amp Models, 7 Stomp Effects, 11 Modulation Effects, 9 Delay Effects, and 10 Reverb Effects. Mustang IV amps pack some serious punch with their 150W, they have a great bottom-end blasting sound and sparkling cleans that Fender amps are so famous for! It is a very loud amp so it's great to gig with. As there's a variety of fxs and amp models (easily scrolled trough/modified/saved thx to a great backlit lcd display), you can get any tone you want out of it, access any preset you want also with the included 4 button f.switch. If you're a computer guy like me :) you will definitely appreciate the Fender Fuse software for it's flexibility in the deep editing. // 10

Sound: Let's get it straight: this is no tube amp! Yet, if you had your eyes closed, you probably wouldn't be able to tell the difference between say a '57 Deluxe FM-IV is emulating and an actual '57 Deluxe! Great modelling sounds from a brilliant chilly clean or warm Vintage tube overdrive to the mud and filth of high gain modern goodness! It just has it all! Any music style you play, Fender Mustang's got everything you need. I play a variety of styles, though I prefer blues-rock to metal these days. Sounds great with humbuckers: driven and spanky in the bridge position, warm and juicy on the neck. There's not much to be desired, the Mustang is nearly perfect for me as it is for many other good men who already purchased it and were simply dumbstruck by it's authentic sound, power and versatility. Many experienced guitarists agree that this amp is everything a modern guitar player (either a noob or a pro) needs. The technology moves on and one day we're gonna be remembering with mere amusement the old days when we all used our beloved tube amps and dozens of pedals and rack fxs. // 9

Reliability & Durability: It's a Fender! What else is there to say... "Would you use it on a gig without a backup?" Yes, without a second thought! And don't forget it's solid state, no tubes burning on you! // 10

Overall Impression: I've been through a lot of amps both solid state and valve and there's one peculiar thing I've noticed some time ago after many debates with my fellow guitarists: THERE ARE NO GOOD AMPS OR BAD AMPS... THERE ARE ONES THAT YOU LIKE. So if you're new to the modelling technology I'd suggest that you go and check some sweet gear in your local guitar store! IMHO the Mustang series amps are the best modellers you could find on the market! PS: After I first heard its sound I couldn't believe it was a solid state amp and when they said me how much it cost I bought it straight away! // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 8.8
Mustang IV Reviewed by: nsiress, on january 20, 2012
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Features: Mfg'd in 2011 by Fender China. This amp has more sounds than you can shake a stick at! Has a great Satriani sound all the way to the cleanest of blues. Has 100 presets and these are all pretty good, Sounds like Fender hired guys that actually know what a good preset sounds like. Plug it in, Turn it on, the 1st preset is called "Liquid". It's like sliding down a water slide coated in oil! Man does it sound sweet. The headphone jack is great for late night quiet practice. The fuse software is fun to tweak amp presets. Or logon to the the ever growing online fuse community an download their presets. // 9

Sound: Here's where I need to backup an give a little history, about 6 months ago, I bought a used mustang 2, I was getting tired of my Vox AD30VT (great for cleans not for dirty). So I picked up the FM-II. Wow the cleans are better than the Vox, Plus the distortion was just what I was looking for, result - the Vox sold on craigslist 3-days later, I will never regret it. After playing for a while I decided to upgrade to the FM-IV to have the stereo sound, Love IT! Now I have 2 mustangs. II - for the bedroom, the IV - for the Jam room! The Mustang is great for any style of music, at any sound level. It reacts like a tube amp in regard to pick attack. And the sound too, Is much better than the Line 6 crap! (sorry line6 owners... It's true). // 9

Reliability & Durability: Basic construction, Not high end at all. Tolex covered particle board, seems sturdy enough. Has a good strong handle. Would survive a short fall, wouldn't test it though! Will last years if properly cared for. As for the aux in & headphone inputs, I have my doubt as they seem a bit fragile. // 7

Overall Impression: Overall this will be my only main amp for the foreseeable future. I'm extremely thrilled with it. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 8.5
Mustang IV Reviewed by: Wuztastic, on may 26, 2014
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Price paid: $ 500

Purchased from: Lake Charles Music

Features: The Fender Mustang IV is a solid state amp that most certainly doesn't skimp on features. The amp has 100 tone presets, dozens of effects, comes with computer software to make your own presets, a pedal that allows you to swap between presets, 150 watts of power, a headphone jack, a mini-USB port, and two 12 inch Celestion speakers. I can't put this lightly enough; for 500 bucks, your getting around 500-700 dollars worth in pedals alone, not to mention the software, the versatility, the power this amp has... It seems like they made an amp and decided they were going to try to squeeze as many features into this tiny black box as they could. I'm giving it a 10 because they couldn't shove more features into this amp if they tried. // 10

Sound: Due to the FUSE software as well as all the built in presets, effects, ect., you can get just about any kind of tone. I play most metal (think Acid Bath, High on Fire, Mutoid Man) and I can get a pretty decent metal tone out of it. And because of the amp's raw power, it actually sounds pretty damn good once you turn up the volume knob. There's a lot of controversy surrounding this amp since it's solid state. I say that it sounds really damn good for it's price range, even if it is SS. Sure, it isn't a tube and it doesn't sound as good, but this amp is more or less a jack-of-all-trades and it does everything really good. Like I said, I can get a good metal tone out of it, but it also sounds really good with some cleans. Put on a bit of wah/fuzz and plug in your Strat and this thing can get a good Hendrix vibe to it. Overall, this amp sounds just as good as other amps on the market around the same price range and has much more versatility. I'm giving this an 8 because while it doesn't sound amazing, it plays so many tones right and it's so versatile that it makes up for it's weaknesses. // 8

Reliability & Durability: Being a solid state, this amp is obviously going to be pretty durable (unless you're gigging in an aquarium) since you don't have to worry about burnt up tubes. The amp is light but feels really solid. The only thing that worries me is the screen and the plastic knob next to it. The screen is obviously glass so it's rather fragile. However, it seems pretty thick so unless you're throwing your amp down a flight of stairs, it should be okay. The plastic knob next to it is pretty big and important, but is flimsy with it's thin plastic. all the other knobs are solid and strong. This one feels like it could snap off any second just as I'm trying to dial my tone. Of course it's one knob, but it controls almost everything on the screen. For such an important button, you would want it to be reliable. I'd feel fine without a backup when gigging, but it might be nice to have one just in case. It's got a lot of power and is pretty sturdy so it would be a solid choice for small gigs. // 8

Overall Impression: For 500 dollars, this amp is extremely good. It has tons of versatility, tons of power, is durable, and affordable. It's great for small gigs due to its 150 watts of power and since it's solid state, you can dial the volume back and it would be a great practice or studio amp. The amount of tones you can get is fantastic and is great for beginners who want to experiment with their sound without having to shovel hundreds of dollars in effects and pedals. The FUSE software gives added versatility to your sound, allowing you to edit your tone to the slightest detail. The amp is solid state, so you won't get as good of a tone as a tube amp, and the most important knob on the amp is cheap and flimsy. It's still a fantastic amp for the price and any beginner or intermediate guitarist who is looking for a new amp and is on a budget should pick this up. // 8

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
More Fender reviews rating category latest review
+ American Telecaster Plus Deluxe Version II 8.2 Electric Guitars 10/07/2014
+ Modern Player Telecaster Plus 8.6 Electric Guitars 10/02/2014
+ Pawn Shop Mustang Special 9.1 Electric Guitars 10/01/2014
+ Super-Sonic Twin 7.2 Guitar Amplifiers 09/25/2014
+ Modern Player Jaguar Bass 9 Bass Guitars 09/15/2014
+ view all
Comments
Your captcha is incorrect