Revolution Review

manufacturer: Krank date: 03/07/2006 category: Guitar Amplifiers
Krank: Revolution
Proudly designed and built in the USA by most dedicated bunch of amp fanatics ever assembled, the Krank Revolution features two channels each with separate volume and concert tuned 3-band EQs.
 Sound: 10
 Overall Impression: 10
 Reliability & Durability: 10
 Features: 9.5
 Overall rating:
 9.2 
 Reviewer rating:
 9.9 
 Users rating:
 8.5 
 Votes:
 54 
reviews (2) 33 comments vote for this gear:
overall: 10
Revolution Reviewed by: FacEraser117, on december 13, 2005
8 of 10 people found this review helpful

Price paid: $ 1399

Purchased from: Washington Music Center

Features: The Krank Revolution 1 head is a 100 watt tube amp that has more balls than any other amp made today. This amp has two amazing channels, the Krank channel which has an extreme in your face metal tone and the clean channel is also great. I use this amp in my basement and it's ready to tear the walls down. It has two master volume knobs. You control which master volume you use by the button on the foot switch. This is not by any means a bedroom amp. The second you get the volume on 1 it's ready to blow your brains out. // 10

Sound: I use a Jackson RR5 with Seymour Duncan pickups and it gets a great metal tone. I am a metal guitarist and listen to Shadows Fall, Lamb Of God, Pantera, Damageplan, etc. and it can pretty much grasp all those sounds very easily. This is a definite metal amp. There is a little bit of variety if you mess with the setting a little bit but this isn't too much of a classic rock amp. The clean channel is super clean and doesn't get distorted at high volumes. The distortion is absolute pure brutality. At high volumes the distortion of this amp will make your balls crumble. Again I will remind you this is not a bedroom amp (unless you want things to fall off the walls). // 10

Reliability & Durability: This amp is built like a tank. I have never personally had any problems with this amp. I definitely don't think that you would need a back up amp if you were on a gig. // 10

Overall Impression: I am a pretty much 100% metal guitarist and this is the perfect amp for metal. I love the distortion channel because of it's extremely heavy and dark sound. If it were lost or stolen I wouldn't even think about not buying this amp because it is just so good I couldn't live with out it. Before I got this I was thinking about buying a Mesa Solo Head because of their heavy sound but they don't even come close to what Krank amps sound like or are built like. So if you love a brutal metal sound don't even wait just buy this amp right now! // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9.8
Revolution Reviewed by: rvdsm, on march 07, 2006
4 of 5 people found this review helpful

Price paid: $ 1700

Purchased from: Rock Shop

Features: I'm not sure what year this amp was made. 100W all-tube, hand wired guitar head. I don't know what type of preamp tubes it has, but the power amp tubes are Sovtek 5881S. I play hard rock/metal. It's versatile enough for me. The amp has 2 channels (kleen and krunch) which are only switchable via a remote footswitch. It has an effects loop, but I have yet to use an effects loop on any amp. Also has 2 speaker output jacks and a line-out jack. I really wish it had switch built into the amp that let you change channels without the footswitch, other than that it's great. I use this amp live. Not only does it have enough power, it has the full-range power that an amp should have, not just maximum wattage concentrated to the mids and highs. // 9

Sound: I'm using an Ibanez RGA121 with stock pickups (V7 and V8), Boss NS-2 Noise Supressor, Boss DD-6 Digital Delay and the Krank Revolution 412 cabinet. It suits my style perfectly. This amp produces the sound I've wanted out of an amp for years. It's super quiet on the clean channel while the distorted channel produces some minor hiss, but no more than any other amp. The sound is clear and allows the tone of your guitar to come through beautifully. The clean doesn't break up at high volumes and remains clear. The distortion isn't hot-rodded, but it's got enough gain for me. // 10

Reliability & Durability: I'm sure the amp is reliable (I haven't had it that long), but the only thing that comes to mind is protection of the amp's asthetics. The road can really be brutal on equipment. My last amp got beat up pretty good and I only had it for 10 months. With as light as the Revolution head is and as well built internally, I can't foresee any need for a backup. // 10

Overall Impression: The place I bought this amp (The Rock Shop in Springfield, IL) were great about it. I wasn't entirely sold on the sound when trying it out in the store, so I asked if I could use it at my show that night and make my decision then. They obliged, but they really didn't need to. I fell in love with this amp immediately. The only thing that I don't like about the amp is that it's too cosmetically beautiful. It's the kind of amp that would make you cry if it got a tear in the tolex or a dent in the mirrored chrome grill. I know that's not really a complaint, but the appearance of the amp makes me not want to take it out on the road for fear of damage. I've been playing for 16 years: guitar and bass. I've owned/played the following: Fender Bassman, Fender Super Reverb, Fender Twin, Marshall JCM 800, Marshall JCM 900, Marshall TSL 60, Ampeg V-4, Ampeg VL1002a, Mesa Dual-Rectifier Solo, Roland JC-120, Peavey Deuce II, Peavey XXX and far too many combo amps to remember. Out of all the amps mentioned, I would choose the Revolution over them hands down any day of the week for anything. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
More Krank reviews rating category latest review
+ Distortus Maximus 8.8 Guitar Effects 08/01/2013
+ Nineteen80 Jr. 20W Head 9.3 Guitar Amplifiers 05/17/2013
+ Rev 4x12 Cab 9.2 Guitar Amplifiers 03/07/2011
+ Krankenstein 8.1 Guitar Amplifiers 05/28/2010
+ Rev Jr. Pro 8 Guitar Amplifiers 02/13/2009
+ view all
Comments
Your captcha is incorrect