AOR ProTube 50w Combo Review

manufacturer: Laney date: 03/22/2011 category: Guitar Amplifiers
Laney: AOR ProTube 50w Combo
It's not really a "new" amp but it's got some nice features like the push pull pots which you don't see everyday it's a great way to shape your tone and it can really help to boost it when you pull the mid pot.
 Sound: 9.7
 Overall Impression: 9.7
 Reliability & Durability: 9.7
 Features: 9
 Overall rating:
 9.3 
 Reviewer rating:
 9.5 
 Users rating:
 9 
 Votes:
 8 
reviews (3) 1 comment vote for this gear:
overall: 9.8
AOR ProTube 50w Combo Reviewed by: Bostonrocks, on december 05, 2008
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Price paid: $ 245

Purchased from: Music Go round

Features: It's not really a "new" amp but it's got some nice features like the push pull pots which you don't see everyday it's a great way to shape your tone and it can really help to boost it when you pull the mid pot. It's got a bass end that will Drive people nuts it got so much low end I turn the bass down under 123 o'clock sometimes. It's got an effects loop. It's got a nifty way of approching how gain works. you have a preamp 1 level preamp 2 level and preamp 1 volume and it's a great way to shape tones because you can really heat up the preamp tubes with certain settings if you get this amp do not skimp on the preamp tubes. It's also very loud at 50w I could gig this thing anywhere // 9

Sound: I use an LP with A JB in the bridge and a Strat with some stock humbucker in the bridge and two single coils. I play mostly Classic rock and hair metal type tones and it works perfectly for that. You have the "clean" channel which is when you crank it AC/DC in a box with the LP it's absolutley awesome you can get some passable cleans with the strat also on the middle and neck pickups. on the Clean channel you can't get it past 70s rock without on OD. I boost it with an SD-1 with the tone turned way down and the level all the way up and OD and noon this gets you a great classic rock and dirty blues sounds. On the AOR channel you get into 80s metal teritory with out an OD it does great Van Halen and Stuff like that it's great and doing it. It's awesome for like instrumental rock also think Steve Vai and Stach kinda stuff does that very well. It also got enough gain on the AOR channel to get into some newer metal if you down tune. But really It's kind of a one trick pony although It does Classic rock and metal very well it's cleans are basically non existant other than that it's a GREAT amp for the styles I listed. Also I reccomend you change the speaker to V30 it really makes a big difference you get much better clarity with it. // 10

Reliability & Durability: I feel Like I could drop it out of a 10 stoy window and change the tubes and it would keep going. // 10

Overall Impression: This thing is pretty close to perfect for me and I don't think I could have done much better for the price. I've been playing almost 4 years now and haven't tried many amps that were better at classic rock and hair metal kind of tones I would actually reccomend this over a JCM800 if you swap the speaker and tubes. If it were lost Or stolen I would proabably try and find another but would probably just splurge on a realy plexi. I compared this to a JCM800 a XXX a JSX a Windsor and a 5150... For the price and how it sounds I think it is hands down the best you can do. The 5150 might do better at the really heavy metal but they are pretty neck in neck for Van Halen kind of gain. the windsor was no match. The 800 just didn't do it for me it was just okay and I think the Laney sounds much better especially at low volumes. the JSX and XXX we're not my cup of tea also but did better at high gain stuff and the satch kind of tone (obviously). // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9.8
AOR ProTube 50w Combo Reviewed by: moominman2, on january 15, 2010
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Features: Well what can I say? This amp is amazingly powerful. I purchased this amp off ebay almost 2 years ago and regret nothing. I found out mine was made in 990, just missing the 80's by days...damn! haha. But seriously, this amp can handle anything you throw at it. I play a lot of different styles and nails all of them. It's a beast for 80's stuff like Motley Crue, skid row etc...Possibly because it's a JCM 800 but on steriods! You have great control over the mids and bass...and if 10 isn't enough, hell, why not pull the switch out for more! Although there are no FX on it, I don't care. I prefer single effects anyhoo, and with the effects loop, it sounds great. // 9

Sound: I play a MIM strat with stock pickups. I am gradually building my effect pedals up and are easilly taken. The amp is noisy when you select one pickup, but when you select two, calms down. I think this could be because mine has not been serviced in a long time (which I shall be doing this week! ). Also, I just got a Boss ns-2 today and really quietens the amp. The clean channel is not really noisy, it's the distortion one that is. The clean channel sounds good. I can't really compare it to much as this is my first tube amp. But to my ears, sounds sweet. I love the distortion on this thing! It's brilliant. It's clear but heavy and fat. Perfecto. // 10

Reliability & Durability: This amp is a tank itself! I could throw it out of my window, set it on fire and know it would be fine (although I would never take the chance with this wonderful thing). It is quite a noisy at times, but as I said, it needs a good service. So that should sort things out nicely. I have gigged this a few times. I don't bother taking backups. I'm not that serious. // 10

Overall Impression: This amp can do just about anything I throw at it. Its brilliant for the price. Although it is noisy, you soon get over it and stick a noise supressor infront of the amp and appriciate everything. I have been playing 8 years and as this is my first tube amp, am very happy with it. I am hoping to get a JCM 800 in the future or possibly an AOR head. That would be cool. It has everything I need and can handle the good sized gigs I play. You will not be dissapointed with this amp. Especially if your an 80's fan! The sound is amazing. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9
AOR ProTube 50w Combo Reviewed by: handbanana, on march 22, 2011
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Price paid: $ 380

Purchased from: Guitar Center

Features: First off I have the 50 Watt Head, not the combo. Single Channel, High and Low Gain Inputs.Presence knob, 3 band eqall with push/pull boosts, 2 gain(one with push/pull boost), 1 level knob, and one master volume knob. Two EL34's and 4 12ax7's. 50 watts of pure tube tone. Didn't come with footswitch. Has pretty much everything I want as far as features go, some onboard reverb would be cool but can certainly do without it. Looks like a Plexi, and sounds like a beefed up JCM 800(which is exactly what I wanted.). I can't really ask for much more from it as far as features go. // 9

Sound: Big, Bold, Warm Marshall type tones! I use a Gibson SG Standard. It sounds pretty good just plugged straight in cranked with the AOR engaged. But for the most part I leave the AOR section off and boost it from a low gain clean sound with my Marshall Shredmaster and Ibanez TS9 into a warm ballbreaking distortion that would be praised by the likes of Tommy Iommi! I usually run the presence between 5 and 6, the bass at 6, mids at 3 or 4, treble at 9, with the pre 1, 2, and level 1 around 6, and the master changes depending on my situation but it sounds best around 7 or 8 if I can crank it. I keep the Mid and Treble boost engaged. The Bass boost is just WAY too overpowering to use. It's powerful enough that I can even use this amp for bass. Takes Pedals great, and is very sensitive to your guitars volume knob, making it very versatile even at different settings.Doesn't have s00per br00tal distortion. More Marshall sounding distortion, think Black Sabbath meets Led Zeppelin meets Early Metallica. Clean channel ain't no slouch either. I run it through a Mesa 4x10, and it's a perfect match, beautiful tones coming out of this thing. I used to have a 5150 before and this tone blows it out of the water. // 9

Reliability & Durability: Have had no problems with it in the 2 months i've had it. I got it with some really old looking Groove Tubes(mesa's I believe), and 4 Sovtek 12ax7LPS'. The preamp tubes are just what I wanted, but I just ordered some Svetlana EL34's to replace the GT's. Just need to get it biased and such. // 9

Overall Impression: I play mostly Metal, Hardcore, Emo, Screamo, Alternative, Industrial, Rock, Classic Rock, etc.I've been playing for about 4 years. If it were lost/stolen I would be out hunting down another one. You will not find a better JCM 800 clone for the price. I've seen them as low as $300. I really can't complain about much with this amp. I wish the presence was a little better, and that it had onboard reverb, but other than that I really have no complaints. When buying this I was also looking at a JCM 900 SL-X and a '72 Bassman. The Bassman was cool but a little weird and didn't handle my style as well as I wanted. The SL-X was great but lacked versitility. The Laney exceeded in both aspects and was half the price of both of them. Let me save some money to buy a nice cab to go with it.I absolutely love this amp and don't plan on replacing it for a very long time. // 9

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
More Laney reviews rating category latest review
+ LV100 9 Guitar Amplifiers 03/31/2014
+ VC30-212 8.8 Guitar Amplifiers 03/04/2014
+ TI15-112 Toni Iommi Signature 9.7 Guitar Amplifiers 05/30/2013
+ Nexus-FET 4.8 Bass Amplifiers 05/24/2013
+ CUB12R 7.7 Guitar Amplifiers 02/12/2013
+ view all
Comments
Your captcha is incorrect