Flextone III Plus Review

manufacturer: Line 6 date: 04/01/2011 category: Guitar Amplifiers
Line 6: Flextone III Plus
It features 32 groundbreaking amp models built from the same amp technology found in our flagship Vetta amplifier. We've even added all new models based on a 1963 Fender Vibroverb, Bogner Extacy, Cornford mk50h, and a 1985 Marshall Silver Jubilee.
 Sound: 8.8
 Overall Impression: 9.4
 Reliability & Durability: 9.4
 Features: 9.4
 Overall rating:
 8.8 
 Reviewer rating:
 9.3 
 Users rating:
 8.2 
 Votes:
 42 
reviews (5) 18 comments vote for this gear:
overall: 9.8
Flextone III Plus Reviewed by: GuitarJunkie, on october 13, 2005
5 of 5 people found this review helpful

Features: This is the newest of the Flextone amps, I know this because the first Flextone 1x12 combos did not have a line out for an extension cab (Line 6 sells a 1x12 extension cab for this particular model), and the amp I have does have this line out. Definately manufactured post 2004 at the latest. // 10

Sound: I am using this amp with a 1990 Gibson Les Paul Studio with the stock humbuckers that came with it, and Earnie Ball 10's. This is by far the best modeling amp I have ever played. I play everything from Robert Johson and Eric Clapton style blues to Metallica, and everthing inbetween (Hendrix, Zep, GN'R, Silvertide, Black Sabbath) anything but emo music and screamo and all that nu-metal pop crap. The amp can get very loud, I've gigged with it, and with the channel volume at ten I haven't had to turn the master volume past 4 at a live gig, and I didn't even have to mic this thing. There is viturally no sound when I am not playing thanks to the built in noise gate, the only amp model that gives me sound when I'm not playing is the JCM800 model. I have never had to play this thing past 4 on the master volume live, and the highest I ever turned it up to was 6 and the cleans were loud as hell and still crystal clean. The Fender models do an excellent job with all the clean tones. The distortion on this thing is nasty, the Soldano, and Mesa Boogie, and Randall, and Bogner, and JCM800 and even 2000 models can handle a hell of a lot of distotion. // 9

Reliability & Durability: I have gigged with this amp regulary and never brought a backup amp to the show, this thing is solid, and it can take one hell of a beating. Has never broken down on me. // 10

Overall Impression: This amp is great for any style of music, with the 32 different amp models and 16 different cab models you can shape and mold hundreds of different tones, each with their own unique feel. If you want a versatile amp, this is the amp you want. The only other gear I own is a crappy Marshall MG15 and a Squier Fat Strat. If this thing were stolen I'd hunt down the bastard and take my amp back, and then torture him for making me use my MG to practice on during the time it took to hunt his ass down! When at Sam Ash I played this amp along side the Vetta II halfstack, the Flextone II combo, the HD147, the Vox Valvatronic, and a JCM200 DSL 212 combo, and a Peaver XXX. This thing owened them all. It has a jack for a footswitch that unforutantely I do not own, but now if you buy this amp they give you a free 2 channel footswitch with it. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 8.5
Flextone III Plus Reviewed by: RequiemofDemons, on october 20, 2008
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Price paid: C$ 800

Purchased from: Just Music

Features: I play many different styles of music, I have met many musicians from different genres of music from metal to country and I like to learn bits and peices from all of them. This amp allows you to play whatever the flavor of the week happens to be. The amp comes equiped with 4 different channels which you can Switch in between using the pedal or floorboard which you have to buy seperatly. It has more features than you can shake a stick at. Many you will probably never use but if you do need something like a phaser or chorus, then it'l probably have it. Since I don't exactly have the amp here with my I can't recite all the effects and amp models off by heart but it has enough to satisfy almost any guitarist. I have used this amp at school, In my recording studio at home, During all the Live performances my band has played (highschool, battle of the bands contests, opening for stone house in front of a hundred or so people) and it definatly has enough power to rock the house down. This is over all a great amp. I know it's only an amp that can 'imitate other amps' and so it obviously wont sound as good as the origional amps themsevles but they sound damn close enough for any novice/intermediate guitar player. // 9

Sound: Iv used a Dean Vendetta Revenge on this amp..well my did anyways and the sound quality was good... not freakishly amazing for the metalish music he was playing but it was good none the less. The guitar I play is an Epiphone Vintage G-400, the bridge pickup is a hot-b Gibson humbucker and the neck humbucker is a '57 classic Gibson humbucker..the rest of the spects can be found on the guitars review on this website..I personally think the amp produces great sound with this guitar as I have been able to manipulate it to play just about anything. (Metal, punk, clean jazz/blues, bossa nova, country, rock) you name it, you can probably play it. I haven't really had any problems with fuzz... the clean channels are very good I haven't had any problems with them distorting out, and the distortion this amp comes equiped with (insanse, treadplate, etc.) all work exceptionally well. This amp is great to crank up and rock away on for hours. // 8

Reliability & Durability: I have used this amp for many a gig without bringing a back up. The only thing that has acted up on the amp for me was the volume knob..it still is kind of strange..I think I might have set it down too hard or knocked it up against something but the amp for a little while would have the volume on max even though the master knob was turned off. It seems to have fixed itself now however..So I have no clue what was wrong with it but other than that I have had no problems with this amp in any way shape or form..It's always been good to go whenever I need it. // 8

Overall Impression: I play many styles of music from blues to metal, soft accoustic to screaming electric. And I have to say that this amp here is good enough for me to cover them all. I'v been playing for about 5-6 years now and this is the first large amp I have ever bought. I've played a few Live shows with it already in front of a crowd of eh maybe just over a hundred and I would have to say it definatly holds it's own. Of course it's not going to be the best amp in the world for those intense guitar players Who specialize in a certain genre of music but for those Who just love to get out there and have a good time it's a great amp to purchase. It has a boatload of different settings and features that you can combine and save onto your 4 channels and Switch when needed using the handy floorboard. My only grievance is that there aren't enough preset buttons to hold all the combinations I want so sometimes I'll have to erase on to make room for another and that gets mildly annoying. If this amp was stolen or lost I would be morbidly depressed for a while... I might not buy the exact same amp again because I'm slowly sinking into playing one genre of music so I would probably find an amp that is more specific to my needs but I'm in no way saying this amp isnt worth the buy. // 9

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9.5
Flextone III Plus Reviewed by: mrxtreme_4, on june 22, 2007
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Price paid: $ 623.31

Purchased from: St.John's music

Features: Don't know when it was made, 2006 I think? Very, very versitile amp plays any style with it's 32 amp models and 16 cabs that you can mix n' match! I play most at punk, metal, pop-punk, so I usually have it on the mesa dual or Triple Rectifier, or the Marshall JMC2000 model. There are four preset channels that you can save over with whatever you want and instantly access whenever. And if you the the FBV shortboard you can have 36 custom channels. there's plenty of onboard effets, effects loop, midi in/outs, XLR outputs headphone jack and more.It have enough power for band practise and probably enough for a gig but haven't tried that yet. It is solid state but it comes pretty close to tubes. // 10

Sound: I play a Yamaha pacifica. Mostly using my duncan invader bridge pickup. Plays anything I want to from Blink 182, Taking Back Sunday, Springstein, to Guns N' Roses, it does it all. Not noisy at all and can make any sound from metal distortion to super bright cleans. The distortion is also pretty damn brutal. // 9

Reliability & Durability: Never broken down, would and am going to soon use it without a backup. Very reliable cause it solid state. haven't had to deal with the guys at Line 6 but I'm sure they're great. Very reliable, I never have second thought when using this amp. awesome reliability and durabiity. // 10

Overall Impression: Great match for any style of music. I've been playing for a while any brought this back two days after gettin a spider III 75w and couldn't believe the difference, plenty more options and most important it's got better sound. I would buy it again if stolen. Love everything and the accuracy of the amps are by far my favorite thing about this amp. Way better than the spider and I only wish I got the XL just for moer watts. Amazing amp! // 9

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9.5
Flextone III Plus Reviewed by: Paper Snowman, on august 17, 2007
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Price paid: $ 349

Purchased from: Buckdancer's Choice

Features: Not sure what year the amp was made in, because I bought it used. The amp is extremely versatile. It's a modelling amp. But unlike many versatile amps, this has a fantastic sound for everything. Honestly, it's easy to go from clean jazz to searing mid- scooped metal. There are 4 channels, which can be switched using the buttons on the amp, or using a separate board from Line 6. This thing has eveything: effects loop, 4 and 8 ohm speaker outs, headphone jack, you name it. The only feature I can think of to add would be an acoustic simulator effect. THat would be incredible! The only I features I absolutely never use are some of the weird delays. Digital is good enough for me. I use this amp in my basement, and to record. With distortion this thing could melt your face off. I've never got the master volume past halfway. With clean stuff, I could see wanting an extension cabinets for gigs or something. // 10

Sound: I use a modified Fender Stratocaster with this amp. It is H/S/S, with DImarzio pups: a Breed in the bridge, HS-2 in the middle, and Cruiser in the neck. I like to play virtuoso stuff like Vai, Petrucci, etc. The amp suits this very well. It can get noisy, particularly when piling on effects, but that's what the noise gate is for. The clean channel does not get distorted at high volumes, one of the positives of solid-state amps. The distortion can get pretty brutal: just Switch to either the Treadplate or Intense models. // 9

Reliability & Durability: I could easily depend on this amp for anything I throw at it. I would gig with this without a back up: there are no tubes to blow! Only durability problem was that some screws in the back were a bit loose, causing some rattling. The amo has never broken down. // 9

Overall Impression: I like to range from very clean, chorus-tinted sounds to brutal crushing metal riffs, and this amp covers all the bases and more. I've been playing for 5 years now. If this were stolen or lost, I doubt I'd get the same one at the price I got it, so I supposed I would save up for a high gain tube amp. I just love this amp. Kind of wish it was 2x12, but oh well. With the help of this amp, and the Dimarzio Breed, I've finally reached my perfect tone, and saved spending thousands on effects and amplifiers. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9
Flextone III Plus Reviewed by: EspTro, on april 01, 2011
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Price paid: $ 300

Purchased from: Craigslist

Features: Made around 2004. I play everything from blues, jazz, shred, metal, and even some country riffing when the mood strikes, thrown in with a little classic rock...this amp takes it all. 4 channels with the availability of a footswitch, and even more channels if you buy the interface footswitch. It has a stereo effects loop, a line out for recording or headphones, 12" speaker, and I think 20 different effects? Has to be close to that. I use this amp for home practice, jamming with a drummer (no problem at all) the 75 watts is perfect. // 8

Sound: I play my ESP/LTD M-50 with EMG 81 and 85 pickups. Most people would say active pups with a SS has no purpose. But, Line 6 has done such an amazing job on tube emulation on this amp, I swear I'm playing a tube amp.it reacts just like tubes would to my EMG's. And it really cleans up when you roll back the guitar volume.I have yet to hear any nasty clipping from this amp. From the look of that amp, you can already tell it was made to model Vintage amplifiers, and it covers everything from tweeds, to plexies, to even a Gibson explorer! But it gets more modern with its Mesa Dual Recto models, and the Soldano and Bogner isnt too far behind. Only thing I have to complain about the high gain amp models is that I couldnt get a tight bass sound. But this was quickly solved with my OD pedal. Oh and btw, it takes pedals pretty well too! Oh and the cab selector is an amazing feature, it lets you run the modeled head of the halfstack through another heads cab. I'm currently running a Mesa Dual Recto through a Tweed Cab and it sounds killer. // 9

Reliability & Durability: I would not need a backup if I were to play a gig with this amp. The original speaker (celestion custom 30) was replaced with a WGS v30 knockoff (which I like better anyway). The amp has been working in top condition and the guy I bought it from was a music producer for commercials and this was his main amp, and he bought it second hand so its been throguh some stuff. // 10

Overall Impression: It covers all the styles I play, and I really think SS amps don't get any better. I've been playing for 2 years and played through a lot of amps. It will take some different eq'ing tecniques than other amps, but great once you figure it out. My signal chain is M-50->dunlop dimebag wah->MXR ZW OD-> amp. Not much static is created but when I crank the gain, the all handy noise gate is there. I would definatly look for another had this been stolen, but I'll never find it for the same price. Only real complaint is the quality of the sound through the line out. With you normal settings, it will sound liek crap, but you can Taylor sounds just for the line out to sound good. // 9

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
More Line 6 reviews rating category latest review
+ Pod X3 Live 8.3 Guitar Effects 05/23/2014
+ Relay G30 7.6 Guitar Effects 05/05/2014
+ Spider Valve MKII HD100 8.3 Guitar Amplifiers 03/31/2014
+ AmpliFi 150 8.4 Guitar Amplifiers 03/20/2014
+ Spider IV 30 6.7 Guitar Amplifiers 03/05/2014
+ view all
Comments
Your captcha is incorrect