Spider Valve HD100 Review

manufacturer: Line 6 date: 11/12/2012 category: Guitar Amplifiers
Line 6: Spider Valve HD100
It contains 12 amp models (2 clean, 2 tweed, 2 blues, 2 crunch, 2 metal, 2 insane... you get the idea), has 4 channels (that are switchable with the FBV Shortboard which you have to purchase if you want to gig with this amp) and 7 effects (flange, phaser, tremolo, 3 different delays and reverb) + wah-wah (you need the foot controller).
 Sound: 7.5
 Overall Impression: 7.5
 Reliability & Durability: 8.8
 Features: 8.5
 Overall rating:
 7.6 
 Reviewer rating:
 8.1 
 Users rating:
 7 
 Votes:
 28 
reviews (4) pictures (3) 29 comments vote for this gear:
overall: 8.3
Spider Valve HD100 Reviewed by: Nacek21, on april 02, 2010
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Price paid: € 730

Features: Ok, so let's start by saying what many people have said before me "it is a very versatile amplifier" you can pretty much play any style of music you want on it. It contains 12 amp models (2 clean, 2 tweed, 2 blues, 2 crunch, 2 metal, 2 insane..you get the idea)it has 4 channels (that are switchable with the FBV Shortboard which you have to purchase if you want to gig with this amp) and 7 effects (flange, phaser, tremolo, 3 different delays and reverb) + wah-wah (you need the foot controller). So the effects are good to some degree but the thing that annoys me is that the modulation effects are on one knob, the delays on one knob and a seperate knob for reverb so you can't really use let's say tremolo and phase at the same time and the delays aren't tweakable as much as one would like. I play like alternative metal/rock whatever so I use most of the amp models (except for the crunch cause it sux balls). I've gigged with this amp a lot of times and I use it for band practice. what's next let's see here...oh yeah power...it's a 100 watt all tube head designed by Bogner uuuu flashy and it's loud infact it's so loud that I don't or should I say can't crank it past 11 o'clock because my band members don't want to lose their hearing and neither do I. But I have cranked it to 3 o'clock and it brought the house down :D... Oh yeah one last thing about the features be careful with channel volume because let's say metal (blue LED) at 12 o'clock CHANNEL volume is NOT the same volume as I dunno clean (amber LED) at 12 o'clock channel volume and that is a major pain in the ass when you think you got your channels the same volume and then a gig comes up and while your playing the monitors make you realize that your channels are not the same volume (do yourself a favour when you buy this amp...buy a Db meter too) and it has 300 presets. // 7

Sound: I play a Dean Soltero MHG (if anyone wants a review of that let me know) but I had it fitted with the EMG 81/85 combination and it sounds good the cleans are crystal clear (and don't say emg's suck for clean playing because they don't it's all a matter of tweaking your sound and the kind of guitar you use for example ir you have a 300 dollar 3 pound guitar...it ain't gonna sound to good)and the metal and insane models sound good aswell (and no I'm not gonna say it's the best sounding amp in the world because that is a matter of taste), you can have that early metallica or modern day metal sound if you so desire. The amp is very responsive so if you're one of those "cheap amp shitload of distortion look how good I am" players you ain't gonna sound to good on this amp (it got me pushing a lot harder to hear what I wanted to hear). as far as noise goes it's pretty quiet due to the built in noise gate that I forgot to mention earlier, if there's bad power you're going to hear some noise if there's good power it's quiet. The wah is decent but getting a Dunlop or a Morley is probably better. Overall it is a good sounding amp but I'll have to change the power tubes because I had the amp for a little over a year and a half now and have played it almost everyday. Last but not least LEAD sound is not exactly good no mater how the EQ is set it lacks a Tube Screamer over the insane channel (blue) then would be awseome. // 8

Reliability & Durability: Well there hasn't been anyithing wrong with it so far except for the tubes because the sound got a little muddy (soon to be fixed). I think it's adurable amp the leather job didn't fall apart and the knobs are very sturdy although I think it wouldn't survive a nice drop unharmed as any tube amp wouldn't. // 10

Overall Impression: I use the Dean straight into the amp + the FBV Shortboard because without it the amp is pretty much useless because I can't picture someone using this amp to practice in his/her living room... anyway i run the head through a line6 4x12 cab loaded with Celestion Vintage 30s speakers which is just as good as any other speaker cabinet. p.s. Sorry for the bad language but that's just how it is. // 8

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 8.3
Spider Valve HD100 Reviewed by: Robbgnarly, on march 02, 2011
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Price paid: $ 799

Purchased from: American Musical Supply

Features: My head was made in 2009 I believe. One of the best sounding Versitile heads you can buy. It has way too many features to list, but here goes:12 diffrent voicing selections, 4 assignable preset chanel's, reverb, delay, echo, tape echo, chorus, Phaser/Flanger, Noise gate (I know I'm leaving something out, but you get the idea). It has ch volume, bass, mid, hi, and drive(gain). It has a global volume and presence controls. There are also 200+ preset sounds. Buying the FBV Short board will get the most out of this amp.This was my first step twards an all tube head, and I still enjoy playing it even though I prefer an all tube head. This has all the features that you need to do any gig convicingly well, if you take your time to dial it in. But I only give it a 9 because some of the effects are lacking. // 9

Sound: The models are not dead on, but are very tweekable and will get you 90% there. An there are a butt load of them to go through. I use a 2002 PRS CE22 w/ Dragon II pickups, a 2009 Epi Worn G-400 w/ a Duncan JB, a Dean Evo w/GFS fat pats, and a few others and they all work well. I use a Laney TF 4x12 and a Krank Rev 4x12 it sounds good with eather. Pretty quiet too. You'll get just about any tones you want out of this that are very close to what they are modeling. // 8

Reliability & Durability: I used mine for about 2 years very heavily with out a back up and no problems untill it just freaked out one day, thank god I was sill in the AMS 2 yr waranty(only 1 1/2 months left) and only had to pay $52 for shipping and they fixed the problem free! I used to gig with out a back up, but after that I always have a back up, just in case. My friend bought a new Mesa dual recto and it was in the shop sooner than my Line 6. // 8

Overall Impression: This is a very nice amp with tons of sounds and features, probably more than the average joe will ever think of using. This is the 3rd Line 6 amp I have owned(Spider 1 1x12, Spider II HD150)and I am sold on this company for the bang for the buck. No it will never be exactly wat it is emmulating, but it does it very well and I've been playing for 16+ yrs. Can you get a better amp? Sure. Will it do every thing the SV does? No. Would I suggest this to any one? Sure would, but you'll probabl end up going all tube in the end. Would I buy it a gain if it were stolen? I honestly don't know for sure, I'd probably get somethig else, but I now know what I specificly want for tone. // 8

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 7
Spider Valve HD100 Reviewed by: TravisxA, on august 12, 2011
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Price paid: $ 450

Purchased from: Craigslist

Features: So, this is of course quite a versatile head, 6 channels each with 2 settings, so 12 channels in actuality. No headphone jack obviously, no one buys a halfstack to plug headphones into it. Also has a few built in effects, tremolo, phaser, chorus flanged etc. I play mostly hardcore stuff, e.g. Devil Wears Prada, Asking Alexandria type sound as well as playing for my church's worship group. It definitely has enough features to get me through all of my current needs. You can use the preamp out power amp in inputs on the back as an fx loop. However, near impossible to do any sort of gigging without one of their boards to change channels easily. Overall, there are many different sounds capable of being produced by this, perhaps a litle overkill, cause there's way more settings than I'll ever really need. // 9

Sound: I run my Schecter Hellraiser Dlx with active EMG 81/85's. The distortion on it isn't as great as I would like, can't get too super brutal with the Drive knob cause the sound ends up getting very muddy in my opinion. And considering I swapped the tubes the day after I got it, I was fairly disappointed. I mostly use the amber setting on the metal channel, bass at about 2 o' clock, mids at 10, and treble at about 4. It did take quite a while to tweak it to my liking, cause I'm not a super big Line 6 fan cause they've always been a bit digital sounding for my taste but this was the cheapest tube head readily available to me at the time. Being tube powered helps a lot in not sounding so digital, but its still there a bit. This amp is quite noisy, at least mine is, and I have a lot of feedback issues. You can get a lot of variety of sounds out of this at least. The distortion is not really death metal br00tal in my opinion. I stay away from the insane channel cause to me it's just overly noisy and lacks a lot of clarity. However on the bright side, this thing is freaking loud. I have not been able to crank it past 11 o clock on the master volume cause nobody in my band is particularly fond of going deaf. The one thing I despise in the sound of this amp are the highs. When I start playing at like the 12th fret on the top three strings, the sound is just twangy and annoying in my opinion. No amount of me tweaking the settings has been able to change that. My palm mutes don't have as much attack as I would like on them. In my honest opinion, the sound is good, but definitely not so something you go and brag to all your friends about. // 6

Reliability & Durability: I don't gig with a back up and I feel fairly safe without one cause this thing is built pretty tough. Haven't had any major problems, the only real issue with it is that the standby/on Switch is loose, and I tried to tighten the washer that holds it in and it just aimlessly spun around. I don't know sherbets that's a fault on the manufacturer or the previous owner though. And I've only had this amp for about 6 months, so I'm not too familiar with how durable it really is, but it hasn't let me down yet. // 8

Overall Impression: As I said before I mainly play a lot of hardcore/metal. This amp does a fairly good job of it, however I wish I could crank the gain a little more without the sound getting too muddy and my highs weren't ridiculously twangy. I've only been playing for a year and a half, but I can still tell this isn't exactly prize winning sound here. Overall I am not really impressed with it, and if I was reinhold bogner, I'd be ashamed to have my name plastered on this thing. Overall I'm super unimpressed with it. If anyone were to steal it, the only reason I'd be mad is cause I no longer have an amp to use. Plus this thing is ridiculously unfriendly with pedals. I love my Ibanez tubescreamer, and I can't use it with this because all I get is an ungodly amount of feedback. I could have bought a Peavey valveking at the time for the same price, but I chose this for the versatility of many sounds. I have regretted that decision ever since. And for the price these go for new, definitely not worth it. I'd rather save up another hundred bucks and go get a Peavey 5150 or something. I do not really recommend this amp at all. // 5

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 8.8
Spider Valve HD100 Reviewed by: shredfester1, on november 12, 2012
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Features: Hybrid amp, 4 channels, clean to insane sounds, some effects... I've been playing over 30 years, and I've had many amps form Lee Jackson heads, Mesas, ENGL, Framus, Marshalls to Fender. Always used tube, so this hybrid amp was on thin ice until it proved itself. It is basically a tube amp anyway, but digital effects scare me as I feel them not trustworthy enough to gig with. // 9

Sound: I use mainly ESP guitars, on occasion I use a Vintage Kramer, an American Fender Tele and a Gibson SG. All have passive pickups. I like the sound of the spidervalve head for this band (we do 80's hair metal). It has a good rock rhythm sound, and I dial in my lead sound with a tad delay and reverb, it works well for playing Demartini, Lynch, Jake E Lee, etc.. For brutal distortion, I'd say it's close. I don't play brutal metal, so it doesn't take away from the grade. The clean sound would be better if the effects were separate. This takes away from the grade. The amp can be noisy, but the crappy footswitch (express) has a volume/wah expression pedal. Its almost impossible to switch from volume to wah, or back to volume from wah. It takes your full foot and all your weight, so live, people see you trying to get it switched, which I had a problem with. I now use a crybaby instead.The express pedal is only useful for 2 sounds, as the placement of the footswitches are above and below, which is near impossible to switch sounds mid song. I might epoxy some wood on top of the A and B to make them more accessible.I have a few tube amps, but I like the spidervalve for this band. // 8

Reliability & Durability: I would keep a spare set of tubes for it, as i feel it is pretty dependable. // 9

Overall Impression: I think I would buy another one, just as one for gigs, and leave the other one at the rehearsal space. I wish it had seperate chorus, delay, flange. If it were stolen, I'd probably use my Peavey Triple XXX. // 9

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
More Line 6 reviews rating category latest review
+ Pod X3 Live 8.3 Guitar Effects 05/23/2014
+ Relay G30 7.6 Guitar Effects 05/05/2014
+ Spider Valve MKII HD100 8.3 Guitar Amplifiers 03/31/2014
+ AmpliFi 150 8.4 Guitar Amplifiers 03/20/2014
+ Spider IV 30 6.7 Guitar Amplifiers 03/05/2014
+ view all
Comments
Your captcha is incorrect