2266C Vintage Modern Review

manufacturer: Marshall date: 07/07/2010 category: Guitar Amplifiers
Marshall: 2266C Vintage Modern
The unique feature of this Marshall, and its 50-watt and 100-watt head versions, is the concept of two dynamic ranges.
 Sound: 8.5
 Overall Impression: 8
 Reliability & Durability: 9
 Features: 9
 Overall rating:
 8.6 
 Reviewer rating:
 8.7 
 Users rating:
 8.5 
 Votes:
 39 
reviews (2) pictures (2) 22 comments vote for this gear:
overall: 9.5
2266C Vintage Modern Reviewed by: DIBGuitarist, on february 18, 2008
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Price paid: $ 6.324

Purchased from: Nevada Music

Features: This is a Marshall amp new to 2007. I play mostly a wide range of metal, along with some other genres like funk and reggae. Judging by the amp being branded "Vintage Modern", and the the fact that it's equipped with 2 KT66 valves (but also 4 ECC83s), I was quite hesitant to whether the gain levels would cope with my style of music. For the 6 months I've had it, all doubts were blown away. It has to pre-amp gains, Body and Detail, body for adjusting your lower-end gain frequencies, and detail for adjusting the high-end ones. It has the usual Treble, Middle, Bass, Master Volume & Reverb controls, but also has a Presence control. It's only a one channel amp, but if you want to Switch between distortion and clean, you can use the dynamic range selector to Switch. If you want a more fine-tuned sound, you can use the volume control on your guitar to select your sound. I use this amp at gigs, and band rehearsals. If you find that there's not enough power for gigs, there's a 4-8ohms selector Switch at the back, so you can fit it to a cabinet if you like. // 10

Sound: I've been playing electric guitar for 6 years, and I have a BC Rich M7, which is my second guitar. It has the standard BDSM humbuckers, which were surprisingly good quality. As I said before, I play metal, and the pre-amp gain functions on the amp are vbery good for adjusting what type of gain you want. When in band rehearsals, I can flick the Master Volume up to 7 and be easily heard above the drums, rhythm guitar, bass and vocals. Being a 2x12 all-valve amp, it's not really suited to quiet, at-home practising volumes, and when adjusted to this, the sound can become quite tinny. I would suggest (if you haven't already got one) buying a small 15 watt amp for practising at home, e.g a Fender Frontman 15G. There is a lot of variety for the styles that this amp can create. With the two Pre-Amp gain controls, and the Treble, Middle and Bass controls, you can pretty much create whatever sound you want with this amp. Like I said, you can use the volume control on your guitar to finetune your clean or distorted sound. The distortion on this amp is fine for playing Death Metal, which is usually the most distorted of the metal genre, but they could have stuck an EL34 valve in to replace one of the KT66's, just to increase that distortion. // 9

Reliability & Durability: It is a very solid amp. I've driven over a speedbump at 30, resulting in the amp falling over, face down. I rushed to the boot, and turned out there wasn't a scracth on it at all. I was quite frankly amazed. The amp has never randomly stopped, or broken down, and I'm sure it wont, as long as you keep the valves serviced. // 10

Overall Impression: I have been playing guitar for 8 years in total, and I own a BC Rich M7, a Fender Frontman 15G, and a Boss MT-2 MetalZone Distortion pedal. I am soon getting my 3rd guitar, which will be a Jackson WRMG Warrior. I did ask about my doubts to whether the amp is fine for playing metal, the guy said yes, and he was right! I think if it were to be stolen (though I think it'd be quite noticable if you saw someone carrying this down the road) I would just probably buy a head instead of a combo. // 9

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 7.8
2266C Vintage Modern Reviewed by: UG Team, on july 07, 2010
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Features: The Marshall Vintage Modern 2266c is a 50-watt 2x12 combo amplifier, outfitted with Celestion G12C speakers, previously seen in the special-edition Marshall Jimi Hendrix 4x12 speaker cabinets. The amp is driven by two KT66 power tubes, and comes standard with a digital reverb section, similar to that found on the Marshall JVM series. The unique feature of this Marshall, and its 50-watt and 100-watt head versions, is the concept of two dynamic ranges. The easiest way to think of this is to imagine the gain either taking you from 0 to 3, or from taking you from 2 to 10. There is an overlap range depending on where the gain is set when you switch ranges, but the idea is that you either restrict yourself to a lower range, but with more fine-grained control, or a much wider range, where the impact of your volume and tone knobs on your guitar, and your pedals, have a much bigger impact on the tone. While you can switch between the ranges, you are effectively boosting the gain when you do so, which causes a large volume jump, which makes this Switch more of a set and forget type of control, rather than something to be switched mid-song. A unique feature not commonly seen on guitar amps is the Body and Detail knobs, which allow custom tweaking of the preamp section to get better command of your overall tone than a typical EQ section allows. The amplifier has typical Treble, Bass and Middle (Midrange) controls, as well as a Presence control which helps counteract an overly dark or bright sound from various types of guitar bodies, pickups and pedal combinations. A reverb knob adjusts how much reverb is applied to the signal. This control should be used sparingly, as usually just a little is enough to make an impact to the tone, whereas this will allow you to heap on an overwhelming amount of reverb if you so choose. Finally, the front panel also contains a MID boost switch, to punch up the midrange EQ curve which can help counteract an overly thin, scooped signal from some effects. The back panel provides access for a speaker extension cab, should you choose to pair this with another 2x12 or 4x12, for example. The FX loop is on the back, with a selector for +4db or -10db depending on the types of effects being connected. The included footswitch allows you to Switch between dynamic ranges and to toggle reverb on or off. // 8

Sound: This amp has a very full and three-dimensional sound, thanks to the combination of the KT66 power section, the open-back cabinet and the Celestion G12C speakers. Everything sounds even and rich throughout the frequency spectrum, and the amp comes alive and sounds very rich when pushed with overdrive or distortion effect pedals. The claims about how responsive this amp is to the guitar, pickups, and the volume and tone knobs are very true. A great starting point can be found by dialing in the low dynamic range to a pushed, distorted tone with the guitar volume all the way up, and then rolling it back to get a cleaner, softer tone. In fact, this seems to be the sweet spot of this amp, allowing you to then put an overdrive effect in front to allow for an additional boost when needed. The high dynamic range does seem to introduce some noise even when set at moderate levels, and is especially sensitive to the Body, Detail, Treble and Presence knobs. Like most amps, special care needs to go into finding the right balance between all of the components that affect your tone. Once the high dynamic range is set, a 70's rock tone can be achieved, with a surprising amount of gain on tap considering the marketing for this amp seems to focus on cleaner tones than this. // 8

Reliability & Durability: The common consensus on the Internet is that recent Marshalls have deteriorated in build quality compared to some of their timeless amps, such as Plexis and JCM 800's. The TSL and the JVM line in particular have taken a beating if you believe everything you read on message boards. The 2266c, however, seems deserving of more respect. The exterior build is timeless Marshall, with thick black tolex, solid carry handles, black grill cloth, corner protectors, and the classic gold faceplate and control knobs. The amp isn't as heavy as other 2x12 combos, the corners are made of plastic, and the knobs feel a bit cheap as well, but the amp feels solid, and there is nothing to suggest that the amp is not ready to withstand the rigors of live performance and travel. Removing the back panel exposes the tubes, transformers and other outward-facing components. This is a typical PCB-construction amp. Everything looks cleanly mounted, and it looks very standard-issue Marshall. Like all tube amps, the 2266c will require more care and maintenance over a long period of time, but unlike many 3-channel and 4-channel amps, the controls and the internals on this amp are straightforward with less potential points of failure. // 8

Overall Impression: This is a nice sounding, well-built guitar amplifier that truly lives up to its name; it harkens back to the vintage' Marshall years, by chasing those earlier KT66 tones and nailing them, and in some aspects improving upon them, while adding some modern' features, mainly the master volume, which every home player will appreciate, and the FX loop, which is considered a must-have for guitar players who employ any sort of time-based effects. The combination of the Celestion G12C speakers and the KT66 output valves allows for a very big sound out of a seemingly small package. Running a distortion pedal through this amp resulted in a giant, full sound that felt like it was being played through a full stack of 4x12 speaker cabinets. One serious drawback with this Marshall is the lack of true on-the-fly channel switching; while you can switch dynamic ranges via the footswitch, the gain jumps drastically, causing the volume to jump dramatically. While this is advertised as the design intent, it removes the practical ability to dial in a lower gain tone, and then a higher gain tone, and then be able to footswitch between them. While some purists would react badly to more controls in the mix, one simple adjustment would have been to have a master volume specific to each dynamic range, allowing you to balance the two tones and effectively have a channel-switching amp at your disposal. Looking at current going prices at the largest retailers, it is concerning that this Marshall is priced in the same range as other, more feature-rich amplifiers, which are also capable of covering more of a tonal range. However, the Marshall Vintage Modern 2266c is a good package, whether it's your first tube amp or if you've been playing for years. Its power, easy-to-operate controls and relatively lightweight package make this an ideal platform for the gigging or home player. // 7


- Shekhar Dhupelia (c) 2010

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
More Marshall reviews rating category latest review
+ DSL40C 9 Guitar Amplifiers 08/01/2014
+ Valvestate VS30R 6.1 Guitar Amplifiers 04/21/2014
+ Haze 40 7.5 Guitar Amplifiers 03/05/2014
+ JVM410HJS Joe Satriani Signature 9.9 Guitar Amplifiers 11/06/2013
+ MA50C 7.5 Guitar Amplifiers 10/17/2013
+ view all
Comments
Your captcha is incorrect