3120 Review

manufacturer: Peavey date: 10/02/2012 category: Guitar Amplifiers
Peavey: 3120
Brand New, 2009 I believe. Three channel, 120 watt all tube with 4 12ax7 preamp (one is a driver) and 4 EL34s poweramp tubes. Clean, rhythm and lead channels. Rhythm and lead channels have separate active EQ, volume and gain.
 Sound: 9
 Overall Impression: 9.5
 Reliability & Durability: 9.5
 Features: 9.2
 Overall rating:
 8.8 
 Reviewer rating:
 9.3 
 Users rating:
 8.3 
 Votes:
 34 
reviews (6) pictures (3) 36 comments vote for this gear:
overall: 8.5
3120 Reviewed by: celticstorm84, on may 08, 2009
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Price paid: $ 999

Purchased from: Guitar Center

Features: Brand New, 2009 I believe. Three channel, 120 watt all tube with 4 12ax7 preamp (one is a driver) and 4 EL34s poweramp tubes. Clean, rhythm and lead channels. Rhythm and lead channels have separate active EQ, volume and gain. Clean has it's dedicated EQ. Back panel has FX loop with send/return level knobs, line out with level and selectable 4, 8 and 16 ohm for different cabs. The most notable feature is the damping Switch located on the back. It's a three position slider for loose, mid and tight feels and effects all three channels like resonance and contour. Oh and of course master/channel volume and a footswitch. As far as my feelings go on features, it's simple and effective. It has just enough to get the job done, no more, certainly no less. My biggest complaint is the damping Switch. I love having the options but not having the ability to shape each of the positions is not as attractive as having knobs for it. The Switch makes a huge difference but control is cool. Another complaint is that it comes with a Windsor cab. I don't have a problem with the Peavey Windsor...but the Windsor cab clearly belongs with the Windsor Head...go figure. I know the 3120 comes free with the cab but...it doesn't do the head justice. It definitely needs a better cab, no joke. For features I'll rate it an 8 because of lack of true damping control, not a good cab and it really is a barebones amp concerning features. // 8

Sound: So as for sound...I have too many guitars but I mainly play an ESP with EMGs, Fender Jaguar Special, '92 Jackson Stealth with Duncans and a Conklin Maple 7 with Bartolinis (scored off ebay, hell yeah). Every guitar sounds unique through it and the amp helps bring out some of the subtleties to each. I play metal...lots of different kinds but as long as I have enough gain to make my balls shake, I'm good. The amp really does a great job with high gain and it's still manageable. The lead has more edge than the rhythm channel and I find I use the rhythm channel a lot, there's plenty of chunk to go around. The clean channel is simply clean, nothing fancy and it sounds solid. The damping Switch really offers a lot on all channels. Normally I leave it in the loose position for a much larger sound. One thing I noticed is that even though I like to scoop mids, this amp really sounds good with some mids in the mix. The active EQ is cool because it doesn't take much to get the effect you want and you still have a lot of headroom. As for variety in sound...anything high gain is fine. If you want blues/jazz you may want to look elsewhere. This amp isn't as gainy as a 5150/6505 however I really like this amp better. It can be just as heavy and you can still tame it, with no fizz, hissing or excess noise. Just plug in and play, it'll do the rest. It still has plenty of headroom and for me I run a MXR 10 Band EQ, Tube Screamer and MI Audio Boost'n Buff to a Decimator in front of it and this thing roars. Surprisingly it still maintains all the nuances of the amps sound even with the stuff I run ahead of it which is always good. I haven't had it loud enough to distort the clean channel but I'd imagine it could be done...at least the idea makes sense so I dunno. Concerning sound I give it an 8 because it really does sound awesome, I just wish it was slightly gainier (I bet a tube/cab swap would help) but in all honesty it really does the job. It's one of the few amps I can sit down on, dial something in quick and sound good on. // 8

Reliability & Durability: Reliability...it's a Peavey..nuff said. Durability, again...Peavey. In all seriousness it's solid built, gig ready and I don't foresee any issues with it suddenly falling apart or anything like that. It's built to last and the weight should be testament to the fact. I haven't had it more than a few weeks so if it's going to break down on me hopefully it wont be for a while. I'll rate it a 9 because I haven't had it too terribly long and just because I see no issues doesn't mean there couldn't be. // 9

Overall Impression: I chose this for the metal head in me and it delivers just fine. I've been playing for roughly six years and this is my first tube head. I originally had a Line 6 HD147 and that too was a great amp but I appreciate the simplicity of the 3120, it suits me much, much better. Other gear...pedals as listed above. I have no regrets for purchasing it and I feel it will last me for quite some time. In its price range I don't feel it can be beat. If lost/stolen I would seek justice in the form of a 185 grain jacketed hollow point and get my gear back. No, seriously, I like it a lot and I'd have it replaced ASAP. In short, it delivers, it's simple and it rocks. What more can you ask for? I don't feel I can do any product justice by comparing it, each amp has its own character. I happen to like the character of this, for me. I'd strongly recommend giving it a shot, Peavey did a great job as usual. I feel like I struck gold with this, especially because it's affordable. With this amp I have nothing to lose and so much to gain. Overall I'll give it a 9. Nothing can ever be perfect and there are some things about it I wish were different but so far I have nothing to really complain about. Check it out. // 9

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9
3120 Reviewed by: .starrk, on may 18, 2009
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Price paid: $ 999.99

Purchased from: Guitar Center

Features: I do not own this amp (yet), but I have played it a dozen or more times since it hit the floors at Guitar Center. This is the Brand New powerhouse from Peavey, just released this year (2009). Made in the United States, the 120 watt all tube amp has 3 independent channels: clean, rhythm, and lead. The Peavey 120 gives rock guitar players a triple-threat tone onslaught with generous amounts of gain, 120 watts of power, and 3 fully independent channels of all-tube, tone-shaping satisfaction. The Lead and Rhythm channels feature gain and volume controls and an active 3-band EQ, while the Clean channel offers nicely rounded tones crafted by a passive 3-band EQ and volume control. A global master volume governs the amount of power delivered by it's 4 EL34 or 6L6GC power-amp tubes, while the Gain controls on the Lead and Rhythm channels adjust the amount of 12AX7 gain saturation. The 120 rear panel hosts a unique Peavey custom tone control feature, a 3-setting damping Switch that alters speaker resonance to create tight, medium, and loose tonesfrom a precise punch for rhythmic attack to a full, widely resonant sound. Also on the amp head's rear panel is a footswitchable effects loop with dedicated Send and Return controls and a Line Out with Level control. // 9

Sound: I played this amp through my Ibanez VBT700, as well as a few guitars with both active and passive pickups, and a Schecter C7 Blackjack. It sounded great through all of them. The amp is definitely made with high-gain players in mind, and it packs more than enough punch for even the heaviest of players. I mainly play progressive and power metal, so the gain can sometimes be a bit much, but for anyone looking for high gain, this is the amp for you. I have not been able to crank it to it's full potential, but even up to 3 or 4 the amp sounds amazing. It definitely seems a lot less noisy to me than the 5150/6505. There is more than enough distortion to go around, and the clean channel sounds amazing for a high gain amp. // 8

Reliability & Durability: Since I do not own the amp, I can't guarantee any reliability. However, it is a Peavey amp and I definitely trust the company to make a reliable amp. Of the several 120's I've played over the past few weeks, I've noticed no problems with any of them. // 10

Overall Impression: I have been playing guitar for about 3 years now. I own an Ibanez VBT700 and a little Line 6 Spider III. I once owned an Ibanez seven string and a Peavey 6505+ combo, but both were sadly damaged in a fire. This amp is what I've been looking to replace my 505 with. I mainly play music in the style of Opeth, Nightwish, Dream Theater, Nevermore, and Rush, but I also like to play things along the lines of Lamb Of God, Metallica, and Children Of Bodom. When it comes to the clean, jazzy sounds of Opeth and whatnot, the amp is not the ideal choice. But for heavy riffing and an all out high gain, metal sound, this is a great amp for the price. I am saving up and should own one shortly. Simply put, this amp is definitely worth looking in to. My final rating is a 9, simply because there are better amps out there, but not many that can deliver what this one can for the price. // 9

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9.3
3120 Reviewed by: AngryDeli, on september 23, 2011
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Price paid: $ 700

Purchased from: Some guy from Craigslist

Features: Purchased from a fellow on Craigslist, pretty much new out of the box. This is a 120 watt, 3-channel amp from Peavey, and for those who may not know, it's a remade Peavey XXX, with EL34 tubes and none of that silly ass mudflap girl nonsense (although the EL34s can be swapped out for 6L6 tubes, which I did immediately). It features three independent channels with their respective independent EQs and channel volumes. The only exception is that the clean channel does not have a gain knob (which is unfortunate if you are looking to do some blues crunch type of stuff but oh well. Get an overdrive pedal if you want it that bad...) and there is a master volume for all three channels as well. On the back, there is a parallel FX loop with adjustable send & return controls, line out w/level and selectable 4, 8 & 16 ohm selector switch for your cab(s). In lieu of presence/contour/resonance knobs, there is a "Damping" switch with three settings (Tight, Mid, Loose) to supposedly control the sound to your speakers (which is pretty weak IMHO. Set it to Loose if you want the full, pants-flapping, testicle-tingling effect). There is also a 3 button footswitch, including a button to switch your FX loop on and off, which is very useful for those clean passages where chorus, delay, etc. Are a must. Also, if you don't use anything in the FX loop, you can hit this button for a volume boost (simply adjust the send & return knobs on the back accordingly). It's pretty much a bare-bones, meat & potatoes type of amp. But the lack of bells and whistles is a blessing here as what it lacks in frills, it more than makes up for it in balls. This is a straight up METAL amp, pure and simple. As long as you like your tone with lots of a gain and punch, this amp has more than enough to go around, with extreme prejudice. Forget what you know about Peavey amps. They aren't Marshalls, they ain't Mesas (although with a little tweaking, you can make this baby sound like either/or) and the 3120 isn't even like its big brother the 6505+, either. The 3120 definitely stands out on it's own as a serious tone machine that has it's own special loud voice that metalheads and hard rockers out there really should raise their horns and beer mugs to. I wish it had resonance & presence knobs and a solo boost (and there's no reverb but who the hell really uses reverb in metal anyway?) but those things aside, this amp is really something to check out. Case in point, the co-guitarist in my band (Fall from Disgrace, if you wanna check us out on Facebook and MySpace) uses a modded and hot-rodded Mesa Dual Rectifier Road King and the first day that I joined up and jammed with them, they snickered when they saw my Peavey in the same room with his Dual Rec, thinking that I was going to sound weak and underpowered to his big, bada-s Mesa. Needless to say, after the first couple of songs, they weren't laughing anymore because my 3120 stood up to his Dual Rec without breaking a sweat. Mind you, both of us were using guitars with active pickups (my Les Paul with EMGs, his Jackson with Blackouts). Even my lead singer was impressed. In fact, just last week, he went out and bought a 6505+ just because he was impressed by the overall quality and sound of my Peavey. If the 3120 can convince a die hard Dual Rec guy (him) and a lifelong Marshall road dog (me) that Peaveys are the best, new sound of all things hard and heavy without breaking your bank account, then you will be, too. It will not take you very long to dial in a face ripping tone and you will find yourself chugging away for hours, just as I did. // 9

Sound: I play a Gibson Les Paul Studio Platinum w/the classic EMG 81-85 combo and an Epiphone Korina Explorer (don't laugh, it was free) and before that, I had a brief fling with a couple ESP LTD Vipers (also with EMGs) and they all sounded magnificent though this amp, especially with our low ass A# drop tuning (A#). I play hardcore/metal and the 3120 roars like my a-s after a jalapeno-Tabasco milkshake. I have played Marshall amps for years and I can safely say that the 3120 has that Earth-quaking, bowel-shaking tone that I've been searching for. A few things I should tell you all about the 3120 though, swap out those EL34s and put in 6L6s right away. Of course, it's your preference but if you really want that big, beefy, Ron Jeremy back hair tone, then put those 6L6s in. Also, make sure you get the right cab for it. In my case, I use a Mesa Rectifier cab and those cabs (especially the oversized ones) compliment the 3120 perfectly. I've tried Peavey cabs, Marshall cabs, custom made cabs and they all did not do this amp justice. I might as well been playing through a cardboard box with Radio Shack speakers for all the good they did. The Mesa cab really makes this amp come alive. Also, you will definitely need a good noise reduction pedal as the 3120 is very loud and gainy (I personally recommend the ISP Decimator or MXR SmartGate). Now, on to the sounds. The clean channel is alright for a high-gain amp. Nothing spectacular or mind blowing but certainly not terrible either. If you use some modulation/time based FX like a good chorus and delay in the FX loop, then it will sound fine. As for the distortion channels (Rhythm/Lead), this is where the amp really shines. Like I said earlier, and this is strictly my preference and opinion, but put that damping switch on Loose. Tight and Mid seem to do nothing for your sound except cut the volume in stages, which is really effing lame. This is where Peavey loses a couple points because the 6505+ and the XXX II (formerly known as the JSX) have them. But to make up for this, the 3120 features send and return levels on the FX loop which is a big help when you have effect pedals that don't have level controls (i.e. MXR Micro Chorus & Phase 90) so you can control the overall volume of your FX to match any that do (in my case, MXR Carbon Copy and Micro Flanger) so you are bound to get a nice even flow without any big noticeable drops/spikes in volume when you switch the effects on and off. Another nice feature, for those who do not use effects in the FX loop, you can adjust the send and return levels to enable the FX loop button as a solo boost. There is a very slight, microsecond hang when you switch between the rhythm and lead channels but it's nothing compared to the eternal delay in that of the Mesa Dual Rec's switching. Aside from those two channels, the rest of the switching is instantaneous. Both of them each have their own distinct voice that you can use either/or for palm muting or soloing and you don't need you push your gain up too high to get those big, thick chunka-chunka (burnin' love) tones. In fact, you only need to put your gain at 12 or 1 o'clock to get a good metal sound. Anything more is just over the top. Myself, I prefer using the Rhythm and Lead channels as their name suggests. Some folks might prefer using the Lead channel as their main riffing setting and the Rhythm channel for their solos and just for shits and giggles, I did that for awhile but I reverted back as it just sounded better to me. Another little tip to keep in mind is to keep your master volume higher than your channel volumes for the best overall sound. Myself, I have my master at 3 o clock and my clean channel about 10 o'clock and both my dirty channels at 4-5, depending on if I am in rehearsal or a show. For personal preference, I use an MXR Wylde Overdrive (before a Crybaby Classic before my Smart Gate) with the output dimed, the tone halfway and the gain set to zero, and I found it gives my distortion channels a little bit more bite and clarity and I am still able to use my clean channel without too much grit. But don't feel that you must need to have one for this amp, as this sounds great on its own. Sadly, the clean channel doesn't break up very well at high volumes so if you need a bit of blues or rock crunch, you would do well to have a good overdrive pedal just in case. But the 3120 isn't about the blues or for playing nice classical passages. It's all about the metal, and this amp is as metal as it gets. // 9

Reliability & Durability: Built like a brick shitehouse and can be used most definitely without a backup. I have gigged solidly with it since November 2010 and have logged in many gig hours and also it's very road worthy, too. I don't have a road case for it (yet) but you can rest assured that it can take a knocking and come out rocking. Trust me, this thing sat in the back of a crappy van with even crappier shocks, in cold ass Michigan winter weather, not to mention bomb damaged Michigan highways. I haven't had to deal with Peavey directly yet as this amp has never failed on me or needed any tech support, unlike my old Marshalls, which were always breaking down and having to go to my repair guy's place every other damn week. Remember that old joke: How many Marshalls should a guitar player have? Three. One for the stage, one in the shop and another one for sale on Craigslist. // 10

Overall Impression: I have been playing metal and gigging for over 20 years. I have been through a lot of amps over the years and to be honest, this is the first amp from Peavey that I have professionally used. I never gave them much thought as I always believed, in my snobbish arrogance, that they were inferior to Marshalls, Mesas (which I considered getting before this, but the guy wouldn't budge on the price so shame on him), Bogners, Soldanos and the lot. But as more and more folks in the metal world are using Peaveys (particularly the 6505), it dawned on me to actually give them a try for myself. And I am damn glad I found the 3120. I always lived by the old Les Paul and a Marshall rule but now I can happily say that I'm a Les Paul & Peavey guy. To sum it all up eloquently, the 3120 is a wonderful sounding amp. Tough, rugged and has more balls in your face than passing out too early at a fraternity party. And it's economically feasible, too, which makes it even sweeter. As celticstorm said before me, nothing can ever be perfect and there always little things that one could add or delete to make the 3120 (or any amp for that matter) better. But as it stands, it's pretty magical the way it is. It's very versatile and you can easily dial in the sound that works well for you. I've been playing a long time and I've never "lost" an amp but if some arsehole tried to steal it(keyword: try), I would hunt the turd down and shove a rusty chainsaw up his unwashed butthole. If it were up to me, the 3120 would have controllable resonance and presence controls and a solo boost but aside from those, I am gonna stick with it for a very long time. Keep in mind though that if you're looking for a blues or a jazz amp, or want that classic rock crunch, this isn't gonna be the amp for you. But if you're like me, who lives/breathes/eats/burps/farts/shits metal, then check one out and get ready to fall in love with your tone all over again. You'll be glad you did! // 9

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9.5
3120 Reviewed by: SpawntheFuries, on december 02, 2011
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Price paid: $ 700

Purchased from: Craigslist

Features: As most people know, this amp more or less phased out the Peavey XXX head, as its basically the same thing with a new chassis and stock with EL34 tubes, which I prefer anyway. The biggest feature that made me decide to get this was that its a 3-channel amp, with separate EQs for each channel, as well as a master volume that applies to all 3 channels. The lead and rhythm channels have an active 3 band EQ, a gain and a volume control, where the clean channel has a passive 3 band EQ and a volume control, all footswitchable on the footswitch (no duh), with a parallel FX loop with independent send/return levels, which is also footswitchable. If you aren't running anything in the FX loop, then it can be used as a volume boost if you think you need it. At 120 watts, you most likely won't. Plenty of power with this amp. I play a lot of heavy metal, progressive hard rock and the like, so this amp is perfect for me. The only thing that would've been perfect would be footswitchable spring reverb or something, but its not that big of a deal. On the back, you can switch the output between 4, 8, and 16 ohms, depending on how your cab is wired. Also on the back is the unique damping switch, which you can select between loose, mid, and tight. From what I gather from Peavey is that its a combined presence/resonance switch. I think it sounds best in the loose position, as its a good deal louder than mid or tight, and it just sounds more natural to me. It could've been more responsive, but it does what I need it to. // 9

Sound: At this point in time, I play both a Jackson SL3MG with SD Blackouts and a Jackson RR5 with the stock SD JB/Jazz set through this amp (I used to run an ESP/LTD H1000 w/ EMGs, but I traded it for the RR5). It took me a little while to dial in the sounds I like because this thing has so much gain I had to find the sweet spot where it was just enough not to sound fizzy in a live setting. After a lot of gigs and some trial and error, I found it. The trick I learned is that, because of the amount of gain on tap, to keep the gain level relatively low. Honestly, playing metal, I have the rhythm channel gain set to about 10 o' clock and its pretty much perfect. Also what I discovered is that this amp sounds way better with the mids boosted rather than scooped. A lot of people don't realize that mids are important, since that's where most of the guitar's sound comes from. With the lead channel, I set the treble slightly higher, the gain no higher than 12 o' clock, and the mids around 2 or 3 o' clock and its good to go. In all honesty, its hardest to work with the clean channel, which may just be me. It took me the longest to EQ that one where I want it, and there's still room for improvement. The only problem for me was finding the area where it wasn't too boomy, but still received the full attack without being shrill. I got there eventually, by keeping everything just under flat, but it stays clean at relatively high volumes, which isn't quite as common with high gain amps. But since it is a high gain amp, there's gonna be some hiss. Just run even a very basic gate in front and its no problem at all. // 9

Reliability & Durability: I've gigged the hell out of this amp, and it hasn't failed me yet. There was a point where I did a gig every weekend over the summer and it held up with no problems at all. Peavey makes some really durable stuff, and this is no exception. I can take this on any gig anywhere without a backup and not have to worry about any break downs or risk of damaging it. My cab has fallen on this thing (my cab weighs an easy 90lbs) and it didn't hurt it at all. I'd never need a backup, which is good because I don't really have the cash to be carrying around 2 midranged to higher end amps everywhere I go. I can confidently say I've used this enough to judge whether its reliable to gig out regularly, and it definitely is. // 10

Overall Impression: Metal or hard rock is what this amp is made for and it sure as hell delivers. Good for some clean passages, but if you play jazz, blues, funk, whatever, then look elsewhere. Being a high gain monster, it does everything it needs to. I've been playing for a little more than 5 years, I used to own a Mesa Rect-O-Verb head that I sold in order to get this one. It was a good decision, because I like the EL34 sound better than the 6L6s that were in the Mesa, plus the 3-channel design was what I wanted. If it were stolen, I'd either seek unholy vengeance upon the soul of whatever stupid bastard decided to steal my gear, but if worse were to come to worse, I'd honestly probably get something different because I like to experiment. Were I to get something else, I'd try out the Peavey 6534+, the new Egnater Vengeance, or go all out and get an Engl Fireball. Of course, these amps cost more than a 3120, so for the money you can't get much better than the a. I've owned this amp for about a year, and at no point have I regretted buying it. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9.8
3120 Reviewed by: sqrrloncrack, on january 18, 2012
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Price paid: $ 950

Purchased from: craigslist

Features: This amplifier has got to be one of the best all around use amps I have ever owned. It has three channels, all of which are easy to EQ and pretty idiot proof. The high gain channel is awesome for any kind of metal or rock. My only complaint is that the clean channel was a little too bright but with proper adjustment of your guitar tone and a little experimentation with the EQ you can get a beautiful clean tone. The gain channel wasn't used very much by me, but it's good for a raunchy kind of classic rock tone. Features EL34's, which are nice and thick. Ample head room to work with I played a lot of hardcore and heavy metal with this amp, and it never did me wrong. It's simple and straight forward, which is how I like my amps. // 10

Sound: it sounded amazing with my Ibanez Prestige RGA121 with the standard passive humbuckers. It also sounded fantastic with any other guitar I played through it. It was nice and quiet and could produce any sound I wanted it to with proper EQ usage. The distortion is what got me with this amplifier though. It's so heavy but clear at the same time. Play any kind of chord and you can hear all the notes with no problem. Those EL34's are amazing. // 10

Reliability & Durability: Over the year or so that I had it, I played many many shows and it did a lot of traveling in a van and in my car. It withstood cold weather like a champ. I only had one problem with it. It blew a fuse inside the actual amplifier. Thankfully though Peavey's customer support is fantastic and they told me how to fix the problem on the phone for free, which is way better than the 75 dollar an hour at the local repair shop. But for a fairly new amp to blow a fuse on the inside of the amp is kinda weird to me, so that's why I'm giving it a 9. // 9

Overall Impression: Absolutely floored. From the moment I played the amp at the guys house I was floored. It's perfect for heavy metal of all kinds, and could even be used to play jazz. I unfortunately had to sell it to move across the country (thanks military...) and it broke my heart into a million pieces. If it were stolen, I would totally buy another one. In fact, I would buy one right now. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9.8
3120 Reviewed by: kdet1, on october 02, 2012
0 of 2 people found this review helpful

Features: build in 2010. U.S.A. 120 watts. Came with JJ EL34 Tubes. It's great for of course, metal. And can handle jazz. And blues. Comes with three channels. Lead, rhythm, and clean that can be switched from the pedal or on the head its self. Comes with an effects loops, no head phone jack. Can be switched 4, 8, 16 ohms. No build in effects. Straight raw. It's heavy but it can take a beating. Well built. // 10

Sound: I use a Jackson Pro Rr3 with passive Duncans. And an ESP LTD MH-1000 with active EMGs. They both sound great. What caught my attention is how well the EMGs sounded on the clean. I play technical trash metal, progressive, rock fusion and jazz. The 3120 CAN DO It ALL. But you need to move the nobs around. Too many players just plug in and play and don't realized how versatile any amp can sound. A LOT OF people have commented how great this amp sounds, two that I know of have actually purchase a 3120 and XXX (which are wired the same but do sound a lil different with both 6l6 of El34) after hearing the 3120. Its not noisy, I ran it thru an old 5150 cab. Loud distorted no noise. But. I used it on another cab. And it started making a small hizz sound. Another thing I installed JJ 6l6g tubes and the distortion changes. The gain sounds great but it took that 'fender' cleans away. I'm going back to El34. With El34 it was clean till the top. With the 6l6 the clean got a lil distortion with the passive pups not the EMGs. You have to make sure its bias hot, and that goes for any tube amp. Its not a modeling amp so I switch guitar when ever I play another style. SIICKK BRUTAL DISTORTION! When using EMGs it sounds wicked! But with Duncans it kills a bit of the sound. (on 6l6 tubes not the El34) a love Duncans but EMGs handle this amp a little better in MY opinion. But it still shreds. Its a trip how a wicked brutal evil sounding amp can sounds happy and clean with just the switch of the channels. All 3 channels are great. // 10

Reliability & Durability: You can depend on this American made amp. It is a tube amp so after a while depending whether you used it every day the sound will fade. It has not broken down. A nine because of the plastic. Nobs. Not that they are weak in structure but in appearance. But whatever. // 9

Overall Impression: It's a great match for me and my style. This amp based of XXX. Which has been used by Cavalera, Loomis, Cooly, Gary Holt. From testament and I think slayer used to record god hates us all Not sure. Any ways, I've been playing for ten years. When I bought this product I should've ask how cold it was bias. Because it was low.but again I bought it from a studio that was shutting down not Peavey. If it was stoled I will buy a new one or. If I got bit more money the XXX2. Another brutal machine but with more control. But the sound I was looking for was inside the 3120. I could probable get "my sound" of another great amp like Marshall JVM JCMs or Mesa Rectifier, Mark. But I'm not paying twice the money when I could get the sound I want from the Peavey 3120. But to each its own. I gave it a 10 because I don't mind it not having build in effects. I got the effect pedals I needed already. Delay chorus wah. And synthesizer. I like that its the underdog when jamming out with someone with more expensive gear. But it sounds just as expensive. The 3120 its a great amp with great sound and a great price. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
More Peavey reviews rating category latest review
+ 6534+ 7.3 Guitar Amplifiers 09/15/2014
+ Vypyr VIP 2 7.6 Guitar Amplifiers 06/02/2014
+ Rotor EXP 8.8 Electric Guitars 05/23/2014
+ Vypyr 15 7.9 Guitar Amplifiers 04/28/2014
+ Vypyr VIP 1 8.2 Guitar Amplifiers 04/28/2014
+ view all
Comments
Your captcha is incorrect