5150 Head Review

manufacturer: Peavey date: 02/10/2012 category: Guitar Amplifiers
Peavey: 5150 Head
Footswitchable lead/rhythm channel select and effects loop, five 12AX7 preamp and four 6L6 power amp tubes, 3-band active EQ, resonance and presence controls, rhythm channel: pre/post gain controls, bright/crunch switches.
 Sound: 9.1
 Overall Impression: 9.2
 Reliability & Durability: 9.5
 Features: 8.5
 Overall rating:
 8.9 
 Reviewer rating:
 9.1 
 Users rating:
 8.6 
 Votes:
 63 
reviews (10) pictures (3) 60 comments vote for this gear:
overall: 9.5
5150 Head Reviewed by: Abbott, on june 15, 2007
11 of 12 people found this review helpful

Price paid: $ 580

Purchased from: Private Seller

Features: Ah. The notorious 5150 designed by the man himself: Eddie Van Halen, a rock Legend that has influenced millions of guitarist world-wide to pick up an axe and try to achieve that ever-lasting-near-impossible-sound. Yes, my friends, I'm talking about the 'Brown Sound'. This amp was built for high gain, wicked leads, and chugging rhythm. The amp has 2 main channels: Rhythm, and Lead. The overall tone of this amp was obviously designed for metal, blistering fast, metal. Although some people will argue and say this amp can't push out some crystal clear cleans, as some Marshall heads; they are right in some aspects. You won't be achieving the cleans that you would be getting out of a JCM 2000, but the cleans on the Peavey 5150 are no-where near bad at all. In fact, with the right amount of patience and a clever ear for tone, you might in fact be able to achieve an amazing clean out of the standard clean settings; or just use a chorus pedal. This amp is pure tube power, 120 watts of brutal wattage that can make your neighbors paint slowly ooze down the wall out of sheer brutal sound. This amp is more than enough power for anyone, and if anyone ever needed anymore power than the 5150, then they're probably def. // 9

Sound: The sound is Oh-So-Brown. Brown Brown Brown. I'm a big Death-Metal fan and I play this amp through a Marshall 1960AV Cab, with a Jackson SL1 Soloist. I can achieve ANY metal sound, from death metal, black metal, power metal, to classic rock. It's the most versatile metal amp ever created, but as I mentioned earlier, don't be fooled by the metal aspects of the amp, it can still pump out a hefty clean to impress anyone. The amp just gradually increases in performance the louder it gets, and don't think for a second that you cannot play this on low volumes and not achieve that amazing tone you're getting while cranking this sucker to light up a Chinese sweat shop. You can dial the volume in at "1" and still have an amazing tone. Don't be fooled. The distortion, wow. Besides ear-splitting-awe, it's really hard just not to say: "This amp has the most brutal fucking distortion ever". You can push out some serious heavy-metal in any tuning, and leave the gain at 5. I guarantee you that leaving a 5150's gain dial on 5 will destroy any Marshall, Crate, Vox, Orange, or Fender amp -- modified to be dialed to 11 (Sorry, had to throw in a quick spinal tap reference). // 10

Reliability & Durability: Consider the Peavey 5150 to be like a tank, I could take a brutal war axe and give it a swift side swipe and I would still go to a gig without a backup and have 100% confidence that the sucker would not die out on me or give me anything less than 1000% performance. If you're clumsy and are afraid to hurt this precious gift from the Gods. Don't worry, imagine that God himself wrapped this in the material used from the Holy Grail, this bad-boy gets a 11/10 in terms of sturdiness and reliability. // 10

Overall Impression: My overall impression can easily be summed up into a few magical words. This. Amp. Slays. Hard. Simple, quick, professional, and to the point. The 5150 is an amazing amp that most people can easily argue to say that this is perhaps one of the most legendary metal amps ever. I was torn between getting a Mesa Triple Recto, a Krankenstein, Blue Voodoo, or even a Marshall JCM 2000. In the end I grabbed my Viking helmet, and let the tone do the talking. The Peavey 5150 came out victorious in almost every aspect. R.I.P. Competitors of Metal Amp Heads. // 9

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9.3
5150 Head Reviewed by: viceboy, on april 11, 2007
2 of 3 people found this review helpful

Price paid: $ 550

Purchased from: Gutiar Center

Features: 100% tube, 2 channels, lead and rythme, an effects loop and speaker out, ground lift Switch, and everything else that you'd need on the back of your amp. It's 120 watts power and in the right cabinent can knock picture frames off walls. The front has 2 channels, rythme and lead, the lead has more gain than the rythme of course. The rythme has a crunch and bright Switch. For the style I play it has all the features I need, and that is one channel with extreme gain. I can simply switch the the rythme channel for any softer parts in songs then click back in to the lead. I don't use any pedals (aside from the footswitch) or rack units but it has an effects loop if you needed to. I was looking for something simple that didn't cost 2000 dollars and did the job well and I found the perfect amp. I play 100% hardcore metal. I have owned many amps (B52, Mesa Triple Rectifier, Crate, and other Peavey amps). For the style I play I couldn't have found a more suitable amp. I play shows with my hardcore metal band regularly at venues through a PA and without a PA. I have bashed the head around on walls and left it in freezing temperatures for weeks and it hasn't effect the sound at all. I gig with this head a lot and have never brought a backup head. Full tube amp that sounds simply incredible. // 8

Sound: I play on a steinberger usa guitar with dimebucker pickups (similar to EMG 89/85's). I tune my guitar into dropped B so it's very low but it still sounds extremely clear and brutal. I can't get enough of how this amp sounds. I use it in the studio for recording and the tracks that I get sound so raw and heavy with this head. It sounds great with celestion speakers. The amp itself is very quiet depending on what type of cabinet you are using. There can be a little white noise coming from the speakers but you can't hear it when you're playing. You can get ear bleeding razor edge highs with this amp. You can hear this amp, it will cut through anything you put with it. This is a lead head and if you play that style you will stand out. I have put this amp next to Peavey valvekings, and a mesa Triple Rectifier and the people outside the room looked in after I played through the 5150 and said "Wow, that sounds really good". If you use low tunings and play on very high gain this amp will not dissapoint. I have never been able to get this clarity through any other amp. I could barely tune to C# without sounding muddy. Now I can tune to B and get cutting edge clarity and extreme gain. The harmonics you get from this head are insane! You can punch our extreme leads lines and finish them off with a great pinch that will turn heads. I never play on the clean settings ever so I can't comment on that, but it doesnt't matter much for my style of play. The distortion is where this amp is at. When I first got it I just kept hitting the low B string in a power chord for like 10 minutes just appreciating how amazing it sounded. It sounds incredibly raw and awesome! My very favorite part of this amp is the feedback. After you let your low chord ring out and it starts to ring with that great tube amp sound you're in heaven. It adds a lot of depth between songs in your set. This is a pro amp. If you are serious about your music and gigging this is a great investment. // 10

Reliability & Durability: I always gig without a backup. I have never had this amp breakdown. I bash this amp around every gig and I leave it in extreme conditions such as below 0 weather and blistering heat. I have never heard a sound difference and there is not a single blemish on the head. My cabinet on the other hand is very scarred but the 5150 remains perfect looking. This thing is tough! You can throw it down a flight of stairs and if the tubes don't break you can still use it! Peavey makes extremely high quality amps. I have owned 3 of them now. I have greatly abused all of them and never had them breakdown. // 10

Overall Impression: I have been playing for 3 years, which seems short, but I have dedicated my life to my playing and my equipment. All the money I make goes into my equipment and finding the sound I need. The only thing I asked before buying the head was when it was last retubed. I would surely buy this head again if it were at the price I paid for it. Since this model is no longer made I would be forced to buy used or buy the 6505. I would be willing to spend over a thousand on this head again once I got serious with gigging and recording again but otherwise I would settle with a Crate blue voodoo (greatly underrated amp). You all already know what I love about this amp and if you put this next to a dual or Triple Rectifier (thousands of dollars) set on the Vintage setting the gain sounds very similar. Aside from the mesa's being very noisy heads. This head has a lot of clarity and on the right guitar with the right pickups you can get a great distortion tone. I've heard this amp on a PRS guitar and it sounded pretty muddy and nothing too special. You need the right pickups to do this head justice. I've played it on crappy Schecter Omen 6 guitars with the default pickups and it sounded brutal (the good kind). Great amp that I will use the rest of my life. // 9

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 10
5150 Head Reviewed by: unregistered, on march 01, 2008
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Features: This awesome amp was made between 1991 and 2004. It was unfortunately discontinued when Eddie Van Halen left Peavey. This is is definately versatile for the music that I play, which is classic rock, hard rock, and metal (like Pantera). It has two channels: rhythm and lead. On rhythm, you can get very nice chimey cleans. A little bit boring, but a chorus pedal can fix all of that! And I of course use the lead channel the most. You have got to have a clue what this is searing gain! I use the the gain at about 6, and the volume on 1, when I'm in my house, jamming. It also has a bright, and crunch button for the clean channel (pretty self explanetory), and it has 2 effects loops. I am currently not in a definite band, but just jamming, and trying people out. When I saw this amp used in Guitar Center for $600, I knew I had to have it. My friend has the 6505, which is the same thing, and when we are jamming, he has the volume at 2. That's with hum hitting really hard on the crash cymbals and double bass. So yes, you will have power to spare! By the way, this almost has too many tubes (4 EL34's, and 5 12AX7's). // 10

Sound: I use this amp with either an Epiphone Les Paul Custom, or an Ibanez RG350DX, and let me tell you, the tone in phenomenal, and I play mostly hard rock, and metal. You have gain to spare, regardless of what kind of music you play. I have never experienced any hiss, or noise (I use Planet Waves instrument cables, and Monster Performer 500 Speaker cables). The amp can do anything, but don't buy it for blues, and jazz, because it's a hard rock/metal amp. Just think, this is Eddie Van Halen signature amp, so it'll sound like Van Halen. The clean channel is a little bit flat, but it doesn't distort, but don't trust me about that, because I have never turned it above 3. It does distort nicely when the "crunch" button is pushed on. And lastly, the distortion breathes brutality. That sums it up, I think. // 10

Reliability & Durability: Of course I would depend on this amp entirely. But I would change the tubes yearly. It's the only amp that I would ever use on a gig. It's never broken down, but like I said, I am not a frequenly gigging musician, just a "jammer". The only thing that might be a pain, but is still awesome, is that to change tubes, you have to change 9 of them! Then again, The amount of tubes are probably worth it. By the way there is a really cool cover for the 12AX7's in the back of the amp. Try to find a picture of the back. // 10

Overall Impression: As I said before, I play hard rock/metal, and this is what the amp is made for. I have been playing for 2 years, and I am only 14 years old. This is honestly my first tube amp, and I couldn't be happier! I also own a really crappy Marshall MG15CD, and this was a tremendous step up! If this got stolen or lost, then I would probably buy the 6505, because it is easier to find, and it is the same circuitry. But it would be a little more exspensive. I love the crushing tone, I don't hate anything, and my favorite feature is the gain, and how cool this amp looks! I compared this to a Peavey XXX head, a Peavey Valveking 212 combo, and a Mesa Boogie Dual Rectofier, and this is the best sounding, most affordable amp! That is if you can find it. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 6.8
5150 Head Reviewed by: Yongyot, on june 19, 2007
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

Price paid: $ 850

Purchased from: Private Seller

Features: This Amp was made probably the same year or not very much earlier before it became the 6505 (made sometime about 1 year ago). This amp as most people say, is made for metal and extremely high gain music. It has one general eq for both channels, and a presence & resonance switch. Those two are very good for shaping the whole sound of the amp. I Use this amp when I rehearse and on concerts and yes, it has power, a lot! On the lead channel. But the clean channel crunches up at a certain level, so I have the pre gain on very low settings and it can't play so loud. Overall, I would like to say that the features are very basic, but the sound is great, if you have something to tweak it with (e.g a TC Electronic G major). // 6

Sound: I Play this head with an LTD F400FM, so the guitar gives a lot of mids to the sound. I play hardcore/emo music and the lead channel does fit really well for this (a lot of heavy riffing and palm mutes, but also chords aswell), but it has an awfully high attack, so I reccomend having something to tweak away the sounds you don't want to hear. I use a TC Electronic G Major's EQ for the job and it works fine. The clean channel is not good, filled with a lot of hard, cold frequencies if you ask me, but with a little tweaking there, you can actually get really beutiful tone from it! So if I'm to summarize the sound of the 150 Head. It's good, but incomplete. // 7

Reliability & Durability: I have owned it since november 2006 and it hasn't totally died on me yet, but I made a full check on it and there where 2 fuses blown on it, so it only functioned on two power tubes. So now that is fixed, but it is kind of spooky at times. On the clean channel it can sometimes flip out and make sounds like scratching and popping. I don't know if it only is my amp, because it did so before the servicing aswell. Otherwise than that, I guess It's ok. // 7

Overall Impression: I've been playing for 5 years and this is my first tube amp, and head aswell. I chose the 5150 because It's very friendly price and it sounds very good in the studio, but as I said before, this amp is incomplete. But with a G Major or something similar, it works fine! If it were stolen, I would probably by another, but have other amps in concideration. As said before, it has 1 generall EQ, so It's very hard to make a good setting that works well for both channels, so a MKII would be great, allthough the price is a little higher. // 7

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9.8
5150 Head Reviewed by: unregistered, on december 10, 2007
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Price paid: $ 600

Purchased from: A Friend

Features: So I have owned my 5150 since early 2005 and have been impressed more and more as the years go. I play metal and occasionally blues and this amp will do it both. Yes as other reviews say this head cranks out the metal most excellently and I agree this head shreds. But with some tweaking with the resonance knob and the EQ you can get some great sounds out of either of the 2 channels. It's got plenty of adjustments to dial in a sound from metal to blues and with the right guitar some jazzy stuff. The effects loop works very nice also. If you like warm tube sound with the ability to melt your face off it's great. // 10

Sound: I have 2 Les Pauls that I play on my 5150. One has EMG 81's and when I dial in the distortion, with no added distortion pedal, it gives me the metal sound I have always desired. I turned the volume up to like 3 1/2 and it was rattling the pictures on the walls. Great lead sounds and chunky deep rythms. it's has a pretty quiet operating sound when not playing. I think my cables suck though so I am probably getting feedback and hum from them. The clean channel takes some time to dial a "clean" sound in but when I use my Les Paul with the stock pickups it's pretty crisp and clean and with a super chorus is pretty clean to my ears. But for the metal head in me all I have to say is hell yeah this thing shreds! // 10

Reliability & Durability: I have never had a problem with anything going wrong with this amp what so ever. I bumped it and knocked it off my bed and all that happened was a knob fell off. it's got some years on it and all that's happend is a knob so I'm impressed. The tubes have lasted a really long time but I plan on replacing them soon just to get some fresh ones in there. The cover even is durable. I regularly put drinks on it and the rings wipe right off. // 9

Overall Impression: For metal outstandingly face melting. Blues pretty damn good. I have been playing for 11 years now and plan on playing 11 more with my 5150. I use the 5150 cab also and it's earth shaking. The only effects I use on it are a Bad Horsie Wah and a Boss Super Chorus and it's all I need. If they still made them and this got stolen I would buy a Brand New one but would settle for a used one even. I have played it next to a Blue Voodoo and the guy was using a distortion pedal on top of the amp distortion and I still over powered him and sounded better with the gain on 6 on the lead channel. The only thing I wish it came with was reverb. But no biggie. Overall one badass head for searing leads, brutal metal, and with the right tweaking a variety of lower gain styles. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9
5150 Head Reviewed by: Joey Radical, on february 07, 2008
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Price paid: $ 1200

Purchased from: www.blocket.se

Features: This amp was made in 2001, but I've only owned it since mid-2007. I mainly plain metal, but this baby can handle rock/hardrock as well. So it's not that extremely versatile, but at least it's enough versatile for me! It has two channels, one "rhythm channel" which is clean (but can be distorted aswell) and one "lead channel" which is what you probably guessed, totally badass distortion! 6 or 7It has pretty much everything you need, however, it has the same EQ for both channels, which kind of sucks. Also, I kind of miss reverb, but that can easily be fixed with a pedal of some sort. But apart from that, this amp has everything you need, and nothing that at least I don't need. I use this as a practice amp (in a soundproofed garage, it gets loud) and also in band situations (gigs, practices, recording). And it handles all this very well. There is more than enough power, and I doubt you'll ever need to tweak it to it's fullest power. // 8

Sound: I use this with a Gibson Les Paul with burstbuckers. And, wow, the distortion blows me away. Okay I'll have to admit, I'm a true gain whore. But I only need to have "Pre Gain" on 6 or 7 to fulfil my needs and that says a lot about the capacity this thing has. To put it short, it has twice the gain you'll ever need. Just to be sure. All this distortion suits my "metalheadism" very well, and I can sit hours playing the same riff over again, because I'm amazed at how heavy it sounds! This amp is however lacking in the clean channel. Sure, it's clean and everything, but it just feels empty, like something is missing. But I tried it once with a chorus pedal, and that surely added a lot of character to the sound! So just use some effects on the clean sound, and you'll be off just fine! So I guess you could say there's a lot of variety of the kinds of distorted tones you can make, but the cleans just the same old dry boring one. Peavey tried to fix this with the "bright" Switch, but it doesn't really do much of a difference. However, it remains quite clean, and doesn't distort that much at high volumes. However, it is noisy as hell if you use distortion, but I guess no one's surprised there. In my opinion, it doesn't matter that much, because noisyness is kind of part of it all. So in spite of the mediocre cleans, this gets a high grade, because hell breaks loose if you use the distortion. // 9

Reliability & Durability: This is one sturdy piece of metal. Of course I haven't dropped it of a roof or anything, but you can see the sturdyness in it if you look at it closely. And once I accidentally left it on for 24 hours, and it wasn't damaged at all! So it's kind of strong in that aspect to. There's not really much else to say, except that this piece has never let me down, and it probably never will. // 10

Overall Impression: I'm really impressed with what this amp can do. It's just metal as hell, and full of raw power! I've been playing for 3 years, and before I had a Peavey Bandit 112. And the only thing you could say is: "Once you go tube you never go back". You just can't compare it with a solid state, because a solid state is just a piece of crap compared to this monster! There's nothing I'd wished I'd asked for, because I already knew everything. It's simple, really, there's just a lot of power. That's all I needed to know, and all many of you need to know. However, if you play cleans as much as you play distortion, then you should probably consider another amp, since this is a weak point of the amp. If it was stolen I'd try some ENGLs and Mesas. If I still prefered the 5150, I'd buy it again! When I bought this, it was this or an Engl Screamer combo. I bought this because it was cheaper, and I prefered the distortion. But like I've said, I'd prefer if it had reverb, seperate EQs and better cleans. But it still gets top grades, because the distortion blew me away, and it will blow you away! // 9

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9.5
5150 Head Reviewed by: guitarest99, on september 10, 2008
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Price paid: $ 1100

Purchased from: Daddy's Junky Music

Features: My 5150 was the first 5150 sold in the Hartford Ct branch of Daddy's Junky Music, so it's a first edition, first run etc. I have used this amp in a few bands covering mostly rock, alternative and metal. Styles ranging from the early 70's rock to the latest styled music. I do a huge amount of research prior to purchasing anything. Especially a amp. The Eddie involvement and tubes sold me on this head. 120 watts being pumped out of a all tube amp with gain to spare for those who love distortion. I do not use a distortion, overdrive, or any type of gain pedal with this amp. The distortion is really unbelievable, the few pedals I use go through the effects loop as the amp is designed. I also have the amp set up for 8 ohms and run both sides (L and R) at the same time; it's just better for it. The primary channel has a bright Switch and a gain Switch to overdrive the primary channel. I do not use either button, but this is my preference and no way reflects badly towards this amp. This amp also has a really neat feature that most guitar amps should when they are purchased as a head. The power cord of the amp is attached to the amp and attached to the rear of the amp are two plastic hangers so you can roll the cord up and keep it neat with the head, what a great idea. I have attached a small velcro strip to wrap around the power cable once it is coiled to hold it in place. The primary and lead channels share the eq, as they also share the presence and resonance function. I also love the look of the amp with the older chicken styled pointers on the rotary controllers. Also part of this review is supposed to cover if the amp has enough power, lets just say in the entire time I have owned this amp I have yet to go over 4 on the post gain with either channel. The final and most important thing abut the amp is it's dual inputs for your guitar, either use the lower or higher gain inputs. I almost always use the higher gain input, period. My only suggestion with this amp (and I believe the same hold true to the 6505) it would be nice to have a small led light to let you know the amps effects loop is turned on/off. The only way you know is to turn on a effect and listen; again it's the only issue I have with the amp. // 9

Sound: I use many guitars with this amp, and I use it to Drive a few different cabs depending on the situation. I can go from a smaller 2X12 cab, to a single 4X12 to two 4X12 (1960A/1960B), again depending on the situation. The main guitars going through the amp would be a 05 Les Paul Studio, 95 Ibanez Iceman, and a 90 Ibanez RG550. I own other guitars but these are my main guitars. None have been modified and I use Fender Bullets (9's) or Fender Super Bullets (9's) depending on the guitar. I also use high end cables to connect my effects to the effects loop, connecting the guitar to the head and speaker cables for the cabinets. // 9

Reliability & Durability: Since I purchased this amp new when it was released; not one issue at all. I have nothing else to say but the web page will not allow me to post unless I write more here. // 10

Overall Impression: In my opinion, this is the first amp ever that had a huge amount of hype prior to it's release and the 5150 was able to Live up to it's hype. I play all styles of music but when it comes to Rock, or Metal this is the Go To Amp. If something was to happen to this amp I would replace it with the same amp/series. I love everything about this amp, and would not change anything except for the addition of a led in the foot Switch to tell when the amp is using it's effects loop. Prior to this amp I owned a Marshall JCM800 2203, 100 watt head and the Marshall cabs. When I purchased my Marshall I did so as a impulse buy and did not research it as much as I should have. The one thing I hated about the Marshall was the overdrive distortion. I was almost 20 years younger when I purchased the Marshall and I really wanted the tone Randy Rhodes, Eddie V Halen, Ace Freely and Judas Priest to name a few. I found out that my basic Marshall even with swapping out the pre-amp tubes still did not give me the sound going to the hottest pre-amp tubes available. So I purchased a Boss HM pedal and used the pedal to over Drive the head. When Peavey released the 5150 it's one of the few tube amps that has a fantastic tone without using a outboard distortion / overdrive pedal. One really neat trick a friend showed me with this amp, which you should be able to use on any tube amp. Rather than using the pre-amp to boost the distortion, crank the power tubes and use very little pre-amp; it's a really smooth sound. I would compare this amp to a Mesa, or any other Rock / Metal amp. While Peavey might not be known as a leading guitar amp mfg, they hit a serious home run with the 5150. Just a warning for those thinking about with purchasing the 5150 or 6505 Combo, these are easily the heaviest combo amps in production. The 5150 / 505 Head is also very heavy but it's worth it's weight in gold; and that would be $ 1, 047, 124.00 at todays rate of $ 774.50 per ounce. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9
5150 Head Reviewed by: A Certain Death, on november 07, 2008
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Price paid: A$ 1000

Purchased from: A Friend.

Features: I don't know which year the amp was made, but it's an original 5150, so I would guess between 1990 and 1995? it's quite a versatile amp, but performs best in Hard Rock and Metal applications, without a doubt. The gain can be set for an older style, AC/DC style gain, to a balls to the wall New-metal tone. The clean isn't the best, but it does the job quite well, and if you throw some effects at it, it does the job quite well indeed. there's 2 Channels, a Rhythm [clean/low gain] and Lead [High Gain, both work with a High Gain / Low Gain configuration. Channel Switching is available, though mine did not come with a footswitch. It also has an Effects Loop in and out, at the rear panel of the head. To me, there's really nothing else I could want at this point. It has everything I need [I had a spare footswitch lying around that I use to Switch channels]. I don't use the clean channel all that much. This amp gets use at home, in a rehearsal space and at gigs. I have had it for 2 weeks now, and it's been lugged around at least 5 times out of the house. It came outfitted with 5 Sovtek 12Ax7 LPS Preamp tubes, and 4 Electro-Harmonix 6L6GC Power Amp tubes. I can't compare the tube's sound as this is my first tube amp. // 8

Sound: The guitars that I use with this amp are both my Epiphone LP w/EMGs and my Ibanez RGR421, with EMG design pups, and both guitars sound great through this head. For a metal tone, there's really not too much you could want. The current settings I have on it are: Gain at 3 o'clock, bass at 3 o'clock, mid at 9 o'clock, treble at 2.30, resonance at 10 o'clock, and presense at 2.30. At these settings, the sound is brilliant, although a touch noisy at higher volumes, with feedback when you turn up around half way. But cutting back on the Gain a tad helps that. The amp does emmit a fair bit of noise, that sounds almost like rain, and this happens in all environments. A noise reducer would definately fix this problem, but I don't seem to be able to get rid of it on the Lead channel. The Clean/Rhythm channel holds up well at all volumes though, either with or without low levels of gain. As previously stated, the amp has a medium variety of sounds that it can produce, but it is best suited to Hard Rock and Metal, due to the immensely satisying distortion tones at your disposal. // 9

Reliability & Durability: Durability doesn't seem like an issue with this baby. It's built solid, and meant to take a beating [it also weighs a freakin tonne]. I've used this at 2 gigs in the 2 weeks I've owned it, without a backup, and it's run fine on both occasions, as well as rehearsals and home use. There's been no breakdowns this far, and if you carry spare tubes around with you, you'll never have a problem. // 9

Overall Impression: I play mainly heavy metal, and this amp plus metal is a match made in heaven. I've been playing for about 6 years now, and this is the best amp I've owned, others being a Fender, and Ashton, both Solid States. I wish I had asked more about the tubes, seeing as I have little experience with them, but I can always learn through the wonders of the intewebz. Should this amp be stolen, god forbid, if I found a Peavey 6505 in my price range, I would probably go for one of those, simply because they're newer, and they're generally the same amp. I absolutely love the sound I get from the amp, I also quite dig the look of it. The only thing I hate about it, is the rain-like noise at high volume and distortion levels. My favourite features are both the sound of the amp, and the "5150" marking in the centre of the amp, love that marking. I compared this to a Randall V2, which I had the chance to buy, from the same owner. I chose the 5150 because it had more attitude, and generally seemed to be better than the Randall. For heavier sounds, this is all you need. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9.3
5150 Head Reviewed by: unregistered, on october 15, 2009
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Price paid: C$ 700

Purchased from: Central Music

Features: The 5150 that I bought has to be one of the first 5150's ever made. It doesn't say Peavey anywhere on the front and the name of the amp, 5150, is bolted onto the front. I mainly play melodic hardcore but sometimes I play rock and this amp is Killer for both. There is only 2 channels, rhythm and lead, and two different inputs high gain and normal. The gain and the tone from this amp is amazing, the only two things I would like improved on this but doesn't even bother me much is, an effect loop, and a better clean channel. The clean channel still sounds like it has a slight amount of distortion on it, but I wouldn't use the clean channel much anyways. It's pretty obvious that Who ever buys this amp probably isn't looking for a good clean channel. // 9

Sound: For Melodic Hardcore, this thing is a beast, yet you're definitely able to play anything through this thing like Rock, Blues, Metal, as long as you're okay with having your clean channel slightly distorted. I play with an Ibanez RG321 and through a Marshall AVT cab. Sure my cab isn't the best, but the head makes up for it. This amp is very noisy due to the extremely high gain. I haven't played any gigs with it yet, I've only jammed with it, but I let my friend use it for a show, (he plays heavy hardcore) and I'm pretty sure that someone's face broke in the mosh pit due to the brutal distortion with a heavy tone. // 9

Reliability & Durability: I don't have to worry at all about this. Sure I've had it for just a bit more than a week, but I'm very confident that this can take a lot of damage and still sound awesome. // 10

Overall Impression: This 5150 is perfect for what I'm going for. I've only played guitar for about 4 years but I still know what sounds good and what doesn't. Besides for it being noisy, having no effects loop, and being incapable of having a nice smooth clean sound, it's perfect. This amp is cheap and sounds amazing and it's very durable/reliable. If someone stole this amp, I wouldn't know what to do because they're so hard to find them for sale. Another good thing about this amp is that if I were to end up hating this amp, due to the supply/demand of these, I'd probably be able to sell it for the price I got it for but I know that won't happen. // 9

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 8.8
5150 Head Reviewed by: unregistered, on february 10, 2012
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

Price paid: $ 350

Purchased from: Private Party

Features: Stock 5150 all Tube 6L6GC Head from the 90's I think. Looks old has some wear sounds perfect. Has massive gain. Need gain. 2 channels. Wish the clean was cleaner and had it's own tone controls. It's part of my live gig rig. The best deal for the money on this type of tone. It's a tool and at a great price and it performs. The cabinet is way too buzzy use it with Celestion 30s. // 8

Sound: I make custom pickups both Humbuckers and Singles. Les Paul, Washburn Super Strat, Fender Strat etc. I play rock and radio metal. This board is douche central. That is all I wanted to say. This amp is a tank is should not be used by children. It does get noisy if you try to douche out and play metal with it. Curb stomping babies? Maybe you better stick to abusing infants instead of music. Anyway this amp rocks and has a lot of gain right? // 8

Reliability & Durability: Just got it and I am gigging on Saturday so we'll see. I bring my 50w JMP as a backup. My baby. Never had a problem with any of my amps or guitars wouldn't know. // 10

Overall Impression: This amp does most styles but country and jazz. Mostly rock and metal. I have been playing 30 years. Drums for 38. Not sure what I would replace it with. Maybe try a Bogner or some other high gain monster. I had a triple recto but it wasn't thick enough sounding. Too pretty for me. I bought the amp for it's massive gain profile and it's power. Gigging rock needs power. I have had 5150's off and on for years they are good workhorse amps for the working pro musician. Douchebags need not apply. Now just because I cracked on some of the other comments doesn't mean my opinion isn't valid. No censorship please! // 9

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
More Peavey reviews rating category latest review
+ Vypyr VIP 2 7.6 Guitar Amplifiers 06/02/2014
+ Rotor EXP 8.8 Electric Guitars 05/23/2014
+ Vypyr 15 7.9 Guitar Amplifiers 04/28/2014
+ Vypyr VIP 1 8.2 Guitar Amplifiers 04/28/2014
+ Valve King 112 8.1 Guitar Amplifiers 01/15/2014
+ view all
Comments
Your captcha is incorrect