Audition 110 Review

manufacturer: Peavey date: 09/13/2012 category: Guitar Amplifiers
Peavey: Audition 110
25 watt practice/studio amp. 2 channels plus reverb. Solid state. Headphone jack. Good amp if you live in an apt because it sounds good quite, but you can crank its 25 watts to a pretty rocking level.
 Sound: 8.5
 Overall Impression: 8.5
 Reliability & Durability: 8.3
 Features: 7.8
 Overall rating:
 7.5 
 Reviewer rating:
 8.3 
 Users rating:
 6.6 
 Votes:
 31 
reviews (6) pictures (1) 3 comments vote for this gear:
overall: 8
Audition 110 Reviewed by: Mr. Legato, on december 24, 2005
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Price paid: $ 80

Purchased from: Liberty Pawn

Features: Not sure of the year the amp was made, mid 90s im sure. Its a pretty good amp. Its a 25watt 1x10 combo amp. It has of course 3band EQ, it features reverb, its 2 channel amp, clean and drive channel.Single input, ext cab output on the back. Headphones and controller inputs on the front. For the drive channel you have the pre gain knob, which controls the level of gain. And then you have to post gain knob, which is the volume of the drive channel. Very simple amp to operate.(Which is how i like it. ..simple.) // 7

Sound: Im using this with a mexican strat, and sometimes a tube screamer. This is one of Peavey's 'Transtube' amplifiers, which means the amp is supposed to sound like tube. I dont if Id call it a tube sound, but its not bad. Especially since you can pick these used amps for around a 100 bucks or less. The drive channel isnt the most outrageous distortion you've ever heard, but it does sound pretty good. The controls alter the sound nicely and are effective for the most part. The reverb works, you can go from subtle to out of control reverb. Again not the best effect, but nice for the type of amp that it is. // 8

Reliability & Durability: It seems like a well built peice of equipment. My experiences with the Peavey company have all been good ones, I have respect for the company and the quality of their products. For bedroom practice its more than loud enough and sounds great. I havent gigged it, because its a little small for that. I have jammed with my friend whose a drummer and its loud enough to hear over the drums, but Im not sure how well it would do in a full band setting w/o help from a PA. For jamming with another guitarist and a bass player it would be perfect. // 9

Overall Impression: For what this amp is, and compared to similar amps of this type (20-30 watt practice amps) its amazing. For bedroom practice, you'll have more than enough power and you get a very nice sound from it. Its too small for full band practice or gigging but thats not what your using it for. Features arent amazing but it doesnt have a bunch of crap you wont be using. Its a very simple and straight ahead amp, great for use with additional stompboxes. My favorite thing is that you can find these amps in pawn shops, etc. for under 100 bucks and they sound great. // 8

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 6.5
Audition 110 Reviewed by: XxDiStUrBeDxX, on march 20, 2006
1 of 3 people found this review helpful

Price paid: $ 125

Purchased from: Some guy

Features: 25 watts and 10 inch speaker. I play mostly metal and rock. It has 2 channels. It has pre and lead knobs for the distortion channel. I don't really use the distortion because it's not all that great. I know big disappointment but it's not that bad. I have a DigiTech RP50 pedal and they have better distortion than this amp. The lead isn't that bad. It's got a humming sound to it when you turn it up. It's loud enough to practice in your room but not enough for a gig. It's a solid state I think. // 7

Sound: I'm using a F-100 ESP with some no-name brand pickups with it and I got to say it's not that bad. It's suits my style pretty well. I can play from Collective Soul to Lamb Of God or As I Lay Dying. It loses it's volume if you turn the bass all the way up so I have my bass on 2 and mid on 5 and high on 8. And it sounds pretty good. The clean channel isn't really distorted at all at top volume. // 7

Reliability & Durability: This amp is really not a gig amp. Every now and then it'll break up and make really loud popping noises. It hasn't broken down on me yet but it does make rather strange noises when I'm playing. But that could be a lose wire in my guitar(not sure). // 5

Overall Impression: I play metal and rock. I've heard Peavey's are for metal so that is why I bought this one. I've been playing 2 years I think. Overall I think it's a pretty good buy for 125. If it were stolen or lost I'd get the Peavey Super 40 XXX which I really really want. I don't really love it or hate it. I wish the distortion was better but for 125 yeah. // 7

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 8.3
Audition 110 Reviewed by: Raptor195, on march 08, 2011
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Features: Made in the mid 90's, I found it gathering dust on my drummer's house. He said it was a crappy broken amp, but I brought it home so I could clean it, as it was all it needed. It is a 25 watt, 2 channel amp. It has a Pre knob (which is actually the volume for the clean), a Supersat knob (gain actually), Post knob, 3 band eq and reverb. No master volume. Low gain and High gain inputs, preamp and headphones. I wish it had a master volume and no reverb, as this Peavys and Laneys with reverbs are always bad. I use this amp home, as with my band I use my MG100HFX and I'm getting a Tiny Terror and Valve Jr. For a personal use, it is a good amp, it sounds good on the cleans and the distortion is not too bad, of course, this Transtube thing doesn't sound like tubes anyhow, don't be fooled by that. // 8

Sound: I use my Tele, Strat and SG with it. The Tele's neck pup shines on it, and other pickups sound well with it. My band forces me to play hard rock stuff, which I don't hate but don't love, but alone and jamming with friends I play indie, funk and progressive. The amp is good for practising, and jamming with common drummers (not like mine, who destroys drums all the time), and getting nice light distortion. Cranking up all the distortion causes noise and hum as expected, but you get a lot of punch, which I like from this amp: it "kicks" your sound so it gets to the audience. // 7

Reliability & Durability: I wouldn't use it on a gig as I prefer tube amps, and need more prescense, but it is dependable for a rehearsal, lets say Audition amplifier. If it falls, it doesn't break, and trust me, my drummer treats everything as he treats his drums, so yes, it has taken a lot of damage, but it still works quite good, only getting a few chips and dents here or there, but that's how I like amps. Another important thing is that the amp housing and speaker cabinet is made of hard plastic, no wood, so you can call it "solid state" in all senses. // 10

Overall Impression: As I said, a good practise amp for someone who goes frequently to small venues or auditions, never expect a tube sound out of it, transtube technology is just a lie, yes it sounds good but never as tubes. I've been playing for six years now, and I want a tube amp, but when I'm on my apartment jamming with friends I don't need a heavy head bothering the neighbours, so this is a good match. This amp is probably older than me and still works very well even though it is "road worn", so you can depend on it as your first amp. // 8

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9.3
Audition 110 Reviewed by: Spike_S, on december 27, 2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Features: This amp is perfect for anyone who just started a garage band or small group, featuring 2 channels, clean and lead, and 3 jacks, a headphone jack, an input jack, and an extension jack in the back of the amp. I use every feature that this amp has to offer and I love it the power is awsome this is the first transtube I have owned and I love it. This amplifier packs a full 25 watts with a Blue Marvel speaker which is found in quite a few of the transtube series Peavey offers. // 9

Sound: I am currently using a BC Rich Bronze Mockingbird that was purchased from Sam Goodys for $169, the action on the strings has been lowered and the pickups have been raised to suite the strings (Erine Ball Power Slinkys) and it sounds beautiful combined with the amp and the music style I play (rock, metal, Lynyrd Skynyrd, and anything else I like). You will notice a small humming sound when the distortion (lead) channel is on. It's a tad bit annoying but other than that the guitar and amp sound great together. The Distortion is great for a lot of diffrent things and combined with the reverb feature, it is amazing. When the channel is set to clean at high volumes it seems to stay perfectly clean no distored sounds at all. // 10

Reliability & Durability: This amp is very sturdy and seems to be holding up fairly well, no loose parts or anything so it seems to hold up just fine. // 8

Overall Impression: Since I play anything and everything that I seem to like this amp is perfect for it, from Metallica to Skynyrd it is one of the best amps I have owned and I would have to say if anything ever happened to this amp I would definitly go the distance to get another one just like it, I love everything about this amp and all aspects it offers. I have played on a lot of amps but this one is is by far the one that I like the best. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 8.5
Audition 110 Reviewed by: facelesspsyco13, on november 19, 2009
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Price paid: $ 100

Purchased from: craigslist

Features: this amp is a great cheap amp with not many dials and nob to mess around with. It has a basic E.Q.,a clean setting, and a what Peavy calls a "dirty channel" (basically a distorted version.). This is one of the "transtube" models, Peavy's take at mimicking tube amps. This does not work to well. Overall this is a basic practice to very-small- gig amp. // 7

Sound: I use a Epiphone venetian preformer which, is, a Acoustic electric. I mostly play jazz and blues which isn't the pickiest of genres as long as you have the jazz style of playing things. For me this amp is great for me because of the Dirty setting which ultimately makes it fit in with the rest of my jazz band. Sometimes it can get a lot of feedback at times, but that usually will ware off in about 4 minutes. WHen you want it to be though it can be super loud for a 25-watt. // 9

Reliability & Durability: Since I've been playing for only about two years, I would have to rely on this for my performances, It hasn't let me down yet. I bought this off a long time guitar player for 100$ and he said he never had to work on it before so I would say it's built pretty tough. // 10

Overall Impression: For most of the hating that I do on this amp, I have to say it's working pretty well for me.I did compare these to many other amps including the Vox VT30 ( my first choice) the only reason I bought this one was that my dad had bullied me into buying the peavy off of craigslist. My final say is if your tight on cash and you need it now buy it. If not, wait a while and buy the Vox VT30 instead, it has a little more quality and effects than the peavy. // 8

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9.3
Audition 110 Reviewed by: unregistered, on september 13, 2012
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Price paid: $ 69.99

Purchased from: Guitar Center

Features: This amp was used when I got it so I don't know what year it was made. It has a clean Drive and a lead Drive for distortion. The clean Drive only has a volume knob. The lead has a pre and post gain knob. The pre is basically the distortion and the post is the volume. Then it has the EQ with a low, middle, and high knob. It has an input for the instrument, then it has a CD/Tape input, a headphone input, and a remote switch input. // 9

Sound: I like to play a mix of acoustics, metal, and rock music. When I play my guitar on the clean drive, it has a good clean sound. On the lead Drive it has a nice distorted sound. The EQ settings I us are low 2, middle 10, and high 10. Since I have other people in my house I keep the volume low, but I bet it sounds good loud too. // 10

Reliability & Durability: My amp has a knob or two missing, but I think I can live without it. It may have a few minor problems, but I think it's because I have a bad guitar cord. I've heard on other reviews that this amp is from the mid 1990's. So if it lasted that long, it'll last for a while. Make sure to ask the dealers if you can play on the amp and see if it works before purchasing. // 8

Overall Impression: The amp I was playing before has a small 11.2 watt practice amp I got with my First Act 222. When I found this amp at a good price and good size I knew I had to have it. I have not had any problems with it yet for the 4 months I've had it from the time this review is posted. I will probably use other Peavey products in the future. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
More Peavey reviews rating category latest review
+ Vypyr 15 7.9 Guitar Amplifiers 03/05/2014
+ Vypyr VIP 1 8.5 Guitar Amplifiers 02/25/2014
+ Valve King 112 8.1 Guitar Amplifiers 01/15/2014
+ Delta Blues 210 9 Guitar Amplifiers 12/04/2013
+ Austin 400 4.5 Guitar Amplifiers 07/30/2013
+ view all
Comments
Your captcha is incorrect