Backstage 50 Review

manufacturer: Peavey date: 05/15/2008 category: Guitar Amplifiers
It has 2 two channels, distortion and clean. This amp really gives out a proper rock, metal, punk, etc distortion so it suits fine.
 Sound: 8.5
 Overall Impression: 9
 Reliability & Durability: 10
 Features: 9.5
 Overall rating:
 7.2 
 Reviewer rating:
 9.3 
 Users rating:
 5 
 Votes:
 5 
reviews (2) 10 comments vote for this gear:
overall: 9.5
Backstage 50 Reviewed by: kleifheit13, on may 15, 2008
2 of 3 people found this review helpful

Features: No clue when this puppy was made but my guess is either '80s or '70s. It's been passed from guitarist to guitarist in my family so it's had it's fair share of things. Only one channel makes it hard to play more complex songs but it's great for what I play (southern rock and older metal). For bein solid state it's got some great distorted tones, best with scooped mids. Cleans aint all that great. // 9

Sound: I have a Kramer Focus with stock H/S/S pickups and this amp delivers like no other. It's quiet all the time unless you kick in the reverb (I don't use it much). This amp is good for rock and rock only but I'm happy with it because that's all I play. Cleans suck at concert or practice volumes but I rarely use them. Distortion just isn't even funny. // 9

Reliability & Durability: I don't use backups and I've had it for 3 years and it's been great. Not plannin on bringin a backup anytime soon so I trust this thing night and day. I treat this thing like absolute shit and it don't care, it just shrugs it off and keeps on jammin without a hitch. // 10

Overall Impression: I play rock. 'nuff said. I've been playin since I was 12 and I'm 15 now but I keep up with veterans and I have a keen ear for good gear. I own a Hartke piggy back tube head/cab combo and it's great for cleans but distortion can't hold a candle to the Peavey. I'd beat the shit outta anyone that messed with this because it's got a sentimental value to it and it's just a great amp. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9
Backstage 50 Reviewed by: EnEnSy-Brad, on august 17, 2004
0 of 6 people found this review helpful

Features: I have no idea what year this was made in cos I didn't get an instructions manual. I usually only use one tone because I have my signiture tone so I'm not really bothered if the amp isn't versitile. But it does suit hard rock/pop punk rock. Which is what I play with my band. It has 2 two channels, distortion and clean but I never use clean so theres no point in it being there. The amp came with a foot switch but I don't really use it cos I'm mainly into distortion. I don't really use effects so I have no idea if it has effects loops. It has a head phone jack that I'm never going to use. This is for 1 reason: why play guitar if the neighbours and family members can't hear you? I don't wish it had any other features but I do wish that the colour scheme was a bit more exciting. Black and silver does get boring. The amp is 50 watts. Thats enough for me cos me and my band are only playing school competitions and jamming. If we started doing bigger events let me know if theres a better amp. // 10

Sound: At the moment I'm using a humbucker equiped guitar and the amp sounds excellent. When I used a single coil guitar with it it didn't sound so good. This amp really gives out a proper rock, metal, punk, etc distortion so it suits me fine. It doesn't sound so good quiet. If you get this you have to start playing competitions and stuff to experience its true power and sound. Don't put to much of everything on it or it becomes noisy and you can't hear what your playing. When I learnt 'Feeling This'(Blink 182) I wanted that kind of fased effect at the beginning. Instead of wasting money on a phaser, I set the reverb to about 5 and it gave me an instant pahsed effect. It was the first time and only time I'd used an effect on my amp. I'd say the tones you can gat from it are at a large selection. But I wouldn't really know cos I'm not into effects. I never use clean so if you want to know more about that particular channel go to a shop and try out the amp. The distortion could take paint of walls, its that brutal. The brutalist I've known it to be was when my friend borrowed it for a slipknot song. He swore it could take his face off. // 8

Reliability & Durability: I will always trust my equipment no matter what. This amp has never failed me when I do a gig. I don't have a backup amp cos I don't need one. Even if I had one I wouldn't use it. This amp has never broken down. I take good care of it. I never abuse it, grafitti it, hit it, lose my temper and give a smack. // 10

Overall Impression: This amp is the ultimate rock amp in my opinion. I think it is a good match to any stlye of rock, metal, punk etc. Thats why I like it. I've been playing for two years (I play better than average. Alot better.) And have owned a 30 amp that sounds like something busted would use. I also owned a Weststone thunder 1 guitar and a Starmaker Strat (how sad). I think I asked evrything I could think of before I bought it, just to make sure its the one for me. If it was stole I would try out other amps. I have my mind on a 50 watt Marshall and a 50 watt Mesa/Boogie F series amp. Not that I don't like the amp I have now, just that I want to try out different gear. I love everything about this amp but I don't really like the colour scheme. Maybe Peavey should have more exciting amp colours. The thing I like most about this is the distortion. When wondering what else I might like I compared this amp to a Yamaha. In the end I was drawn to this one because the distortion was more mind blowing than the Yamaha. I wish it had better colours than it does now. // 8

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
More Peavey reviews rating category latest review
+ Triple XXX Head 8.4 Guitar Amplifiers 12/08/2014
+ Envoy 110 8.7 Guitar Amplifiers 11/10/2014
+ PXD Twenty-Three III 8.8 Electric Guitars 10/07/2014
+ 6534+ 7.3 Guitar Amplifiers 09/15/2014
+ Vypyr VIP 2 7.6 Guitar Amplifiers 06/02/2014
+ view all
Comments
Your captcha is incorrect