Delta Blues 115-Tweed Review

manufacturer: Peavey date: 10/16/2012 category: Guitar Amplifiers
Peavey: Delta Blues 115-Tweed
Classic style, classic tone and modern versatility. If the blues is your way of life, this is your amp.
 Sound: 8.7
 Overall Impression: 10
 Reliability & Durability: 9
 Features: 8.7
 Overall rating:
 8.9 
 Reviewer rating:
 9.1 
 Users rating:
 8.7 
 Votes:
 26 
reviews (3) pictures (2) 9 comments vote for this gear:
overall: 9
Delta Blues 115-Tweed Reviewed by: XgamerGt04, on october 23, 2007
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Price paid: $ 600

Features: My amp was made in 2003 in Mississippi. My first thoughts when I got a chance to play the amp were pure amazement at the clean channel. I had gone shopping for an amp to play hard rock with but these cleans really sold me for some reason. The Delta Blues, in this case, is a combo amp with a 15 inch speaker. The speaker really lends itself to the amp, it gives very nice low frequency response, while also allowing great treble response. The amp has spring reverb, yes, real spring reverb. The reverb is pretty good, I don't think that I use it enough to give a good review however. The amp also has tremolo but the same with reverb, I don't use it very much. There is a overdrive channel, which has separate volume controls. The overdrive channel can get into some light distortion, but with a nice overrive pedal or distortion pedal you can really push the amp into metal territory. Overall a very solid amp, the treble boost helps some but unless you can really crank the amp it gives it a bit of a nasally sound. It's all tube. // 9

Sound: When I first bought the amp, I used an Ibanez RG equiped with EMG's. This amp really let the sound of the EMG's Shine through, and it was very good for progressive metal and other rock sounds, but the clean was just a tiny bit lacking. Later when I acquired a Gibson Les Paul I was able to not only get the metal and rock sounds but the clean was amazing. I play anything from country to blues to rock to metal and with one distortion pedal, this amp can do it all. I've not been able to crank the amp much because of the parents but when I get the chance the amp sounds amazing. // 8

Reliability & Durability: I would always bring a backup amp to a gig just in case, but I do feel like this amp would survive a gig, or a couple hundred of them. As always bring an extra set of tubes would be a good idea. Mine also has the tube rack in the back to protect the tubes, which I've heard some of the earlier didn't. I've almost had the amp a year and it's still going strong, I did put different tubes in the amp but that was to change the sound somewhat. // 9

Overall Impression: This amp is great for many styles, if you want hard metal then you might need a distortion pedal in front of it but with the right set-up you'll get there. If this amp would stolen I would chase down the motherf--ker that stole it and beat his ass, then take it back. If I couldn't then I'd buy the amp again when I had the money. The real defining feature is the 15 inch speaker that adds so much to the sound. I've been able to play my bass guitar through this amp, although I would not recommend it to anyone else in case something goes horrible wrong, and it actually sounds very good. I compared this amp to a Hot Rod Deville and a Windsor and made the choice of this amp. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9
Delta Blues 115-Tweed Reviewed by: Paul123a, on october 16, 2012
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Price paid: $ 450

Purchased from: local dealer

Features: Year made 2010. Made in the USA. Great for Blues, Country and some Jazz and Fusion. (I play a lot of Classic Rock, Blues, Country and some Jazz). Features: - 30 watts into 16 or 8 ohms - Tremolo with speed and intensity - Pre- and post-gain controls on lead channel - Normal volume control on clean channel - 3-band passive EQ (bass, middle, treble) - One 15 inch Blue Marvel speaker - Master reverb - Footswitch selectable channel switching and tremolo - Effects loop - Classic tweed covering - Chrome-plated chassis - 2-channel preamp - External speaker jack - All-tube (three 12AX7 and four EL84 tubes) - Boost switch - Weight Unpacked: 49.20 lb(22.317 kg) - Weight Packed: 56.00 lb(25.401 kg) - Width Packed: 14.5"(36.83 cm) - Height Packed: 25.5"(64.77 cm) - Depth Packed: 24"(60.96 cm) I rarely will use the tremlo effect: (Not my style). I will use it for Gigging and Recording (Yes... it has plenty of Volume Power!) Features: I rate as an 8 mainly because of it's simplicity to operate. Dealing with a complex amp during a gig can be stressful. The controls are easy to use "Nuff said!" // 8

Sound: I play Fender Telecaster's with a Nashville Pick up configuration. Usually DiMarzio's. The Delta Blues 115 suits my playing to a Tee! The Amp performs great. Nice and quite. No humming. If needed I use it to power a second cabinet when mic issues are present. Lots of head room in the clean channel (Fender type head room!)Peavey is famous for there clean sounds and this amp is no different. However this amp is a little warmer than most Peavey's. The top end of the clean gives off a warm brown sounding clean tone instead of a shrill white clean tone. (Hope that made sense..I.e. Breaks up a little at the high end). Whoa! Two thumps up on the Reverb (Fender Reverb? Huh? Who's you daddy now?) Yea, its that good! The dirty channel: Is good, real good. But, let's be honest. Dirt/saturation/fuzz/distortion what ever you call it. Is a matter of taste. The Delta Blues delivers a warm but moderate saturation. It's buttery. Yet. It could be just a little more sweeter. (but that's what pedals are for. I.e fine adjustments to your sound not to be used to define it!) I'm in love with Jimmy Page's sound on the first Album and I plug in just a little big muff in the dirt channel and "Blam!" You shook me all night long! Great warm clean tone. The saturation is too warm and smooth to be used as a metal amp. No crunch. All Butter! The tremolo feature I don't use that much... Never got into it with Fender amps either. I can say its a serious tremolo though. // 9

Reliability & Durability: Peavey amps are tanks... I've been in the business for years and I never have heard Peavey's being fragile (Unlike Marshalls... but that's another review for some other day). IMO the Delta Blues 115 looks to be a typical Peavey tank that looks to give me a some serious years of use. With it being American made and a lot of repair shops here in the Midwest I'll rate reliability high. // 9

Overall Impression: I've been playing music for 25 years (some years I played for the rent) I no longer idolize musicians who have hit the big time and are using mod gear that the every day musician can't afford. The guys I gig with or listen too and respect, are guys who were not at the "right place at the right time playing the right music". They play because they are musicians and its in there blood (u will understand this when you have played for a long time). The main guy that inspires me is a guy that is about 10 years older (I'm 46) and he mainly plays classic rock, some Motown R&B and some Ventures type stuff (Blues Jazz also i.e. Green Onions etc.) He delivers every night and never "over plays" and he never misses a note... (yea he's that good... Sort of a legend in my neck of the woods). One day we talked gear (because he has a wicked tone... You know that Fender "BIG" E tone! Whoa!) I was shocked to hear that he plays through a Peavey Classic 30 (The Amp Logo had fallen off.) I thought because of his great tone. He was playing through a high end Fender amp! He turns the amp up to 10 and controls the overall stage volume with his guitar volume knob! He got me into the Peavey Classics and hence the "Delta Blues 115". IMO the classics (and the Delta Blues Amps) are every bit as good as the serious stuff from Fender> (Peavey is heavily establish in Nashville... That says a lot to me). The Delta Blues is affordable, solid, reliable and has a killer Fender Big E tone! If you play Classic rock, blues, country or Jazz... This amp will not do you wrong. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9.3
Delta Blues 115-Tweed Reviewed by: lavazza, on august 10, 2009
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

Price paid: € 375

Purchased from: Used

Features: I got my Delta Blues in april 2009, since it was second hand, I think it was already one or two years old. The major reason why I got it was the awesome clean channel, it sounds close to perfect for my purposes and with its EQ you can suit this amp for nearly any guitar. While having it I also found my love for the Reverb, Ive never been a fan of that before, but since I use this amp I always use a bit of it (2 of 12). The second channel, has a pre and a post gain, so you can get a good distortion even at low volume levels. This channel is fine as well, though it doesnt have the singing distortion I wanted, its rather like ZZ Top in my opinion. At last you can add a tremolo, I use it, but to compare I dont have enough expereinces with it, though I prefer it to a tremolo from a multi effect. Id advice anybody to get a foot switch, since otherwise you cannot Switch of the tremolo without putting it to 0, I use a Switch from an old amp, which isnt a Peavey. I already played some gigs with it, in pubs but also on bigger stages, and I was never able to make it louder than 5 of 12 of the one-knob clean channel. So it loud enough for most purposes. All in all I really like this amp, though I dont think its as versatile as some people say, because it always sound "bluesy" and I wouldnt use it in my punk band for example and I doubt its the dream of metalheads. // 9

Sound: I mostly use this amp with a Cort M600 with the bridge humbucker turned on, but also from time to time with an Epiphone ES-175. As said before I really like the clean sound, with my Cort, it gives a really warm tone, which is really round, and has practically no edges (in a positive way). Since it has a Treble Booster, you can also play fine melodies, with it and the tone keeps the way you want it. Whenever I played the amp also with my Vester 1400 with single coils the clean channel remains clean. Another person once used it with an Ibanez with single coils, and he had problems that it distorted though it might be because of the guitar. The distortion channel has a full ground, so good for I know as Texas Blues or also Classic Rock. I dont use it when I want to have a singing tone, but since the amp works fine with pedals its no problem. The distortion overall isnt heavey enough for metal as far as I can judge. // 9

Reliability & Durability: Since I dont have it for such long time I cannot judge fully, but I never had any problems with it. You just always have to handle it like a tube amp, so you cannot treat it like a solid state. The first owner upgraded a tube tamer, therefore these cannot break so easily. When I have money I'll get some extra tubes to take at gigs, but till now there havent been any problems. // 9

Overall Impression: I use it for kind of Blues or 60s Rock, la Doors or some Jazz, all in all a certain variety of music. I really love it and didn't play any amp that suits this music better than this. Before that I used an old Fender FM100 half stack that was standing there and my Marshall MG 30DFX (which is better than its reputation), but none of these came even close to that amp. When I wanted a new tube amp, I checked lots of them. Twin Reverb, Classic 30 and 50, JCMs, Hot Rods, some Orange have been ok, others have been completely disappointing, but the Delta Blues was first choice and therefore I was lucky to find on in my price range. It's all in all easy and has still all th options you need, not a mass of effects, that get on your nerves. It's relatively easy to transport and still loud enough. So when you like to play Blues or Rock or also Jazz its your amp. After losing it I'd try to get the money to get it again. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
More Peavey reviews rating category latest review
+ VTM 60 8.2 Guitar Amplifiers 12/22/2014
+ Triple XXX Head 8.4 Guitar Amplifiers 12/08/2014
+ Envoy 110 8.7 Guitar Amplifiers 11/10/2014
+ PXD Twenty-Three III 8.8 Electric Guitars 10/07/2014
+ 6534+ 7.3 Guitar Amplifiers 09/15/2014
+ view all
Comments
Your captcha is incorrect