JSX Joe Satriani Signature Head Review

manufacturer: Peavey date: 07/08/2011 category: Guitar Amplifiers
Peavey: JSX Joe Satriani Signature Head
This amp delivers sounds ranging from the Classic 50 to vintage British to the modern Triple XXX and all tones inbetween.The versatile and comprehensive control section supplies a master volume pot and independent volume knobs for each of the 3 channels (Ultra, Crunch and Clean).
 Sound: 9.6
 Overall Impression: 9.4
 Reliability & Durability: 9.8
 Features: 9
 Overall rating:
 9.5 
 Reviewer rating:
 9.5 
 Users rating:
 9.4 
 Votes:
 55 
reviews (5) 22 comments vote for this gear:
overall: 9.5
JSX Joe Satriani Signature Head Reviewed by: nic_2090, on november 23, 2005
5 of 5 people found this review helpful

Features: The JSX features 3 channels, clan, crunch and ultra (lead). It has channel switching and an effects loop, along with a built-in noise gate. It is 120 watts, all-tube, and has more power than you'd ever need for conventional gigs. It features a 'fat' switch on both of the distortion channel. // 9

Sound: I've ran a few guitars into this amp, including an Epiphone Les Paul Standard Plus, a PRS Custom 22, and an Ibanez RG1570. With the noise gate activated, the amp is almost silent. It is extremely versatile, which is the amps strongest quality. The cleans are modelled after the Peavey Classic 50, and are crystal clear. The clean channel also takes pedals extremely well. The Crunch channel is nice, but has a little bit too much gain for crunch. I was able to get a nice metallica tone on this channel, and also found that it has a fuller tone than the Ultra channel. With the 'fat' switch engaged, the tone gets a boost in bottom end, and also has the mids boosted. This causes the amp to take on a darker voicing, which is great for playing british rock, etc. The Ultra channel is pretty thin, which is great for shredding. It also has more gain than the Crunch channel. With the 'fat' switch engaged, the channel loses it's thin sound, and takes on more of a conventional lead tone. All in all, the sound of the JSX is great. // 10

Reliability & Durability: This amp is very dependable, and is well built. I'd deffinately trust it to gig with. // 9

Overall Impression: The JSX makes a great first impression, and the good news is, that that impression lasts. It's great for almost any style of music (I play blues, metal, pregressive rock, classic rock, and virtuoso and it suites me great). If you're in the market for an all-tube half-stack, and you want something with great tone and a ton of versatility, then the JSX is deffineately worth a look. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9
JSX Joe Satriani Signature Head Reviewed by: unregistered, on june 23, 2005
4 of 5 people found this review helpful

Price paid: $ 899

Purchased from: American Music

Features: The Peavey JSX is a three channel chromed out 120 watt tube amp based on the XXX but built to the specifications of Joe Satriani. There are 4 EL34s and four 12AX7s. The clean, crunch and ultra channel can be controlled via a fairly easy footswitch, (a fourth button would have been nice for the crunch channel) and there is a fat switch for the two distortion channels and a noise gate. The amp has no reverb. // 8

Sound: I use a Fender Fat Strat and a Gibson MIII and am able to get everything here from nice rich bassy clean to over the edge modern distortion. Turning back the gain on the crunch channel makes for great blues guitar. I play the amp through a Marshall 1960A and it really is good sounding at all volumes. By the way channel volume can be set individualy with a master volume to control the global volume of all channels. // 10

Reliability & Durability: Reliability, this baby is a tank and heavy. No problems for hours on end and I never take a backup. The looks of it are also cool plenty of chrome with big red lights and big chrome knobs. Very retro looking. // 10

Overall Impression: What would be on my wish list would be a nice spring reverb unit and a button for the ultra channel on the footswitch. The pedal has only three buttons one for effects loop, one for clean and one for dirty. The dirty button bounces between the crunch and ultra channels. It's ok and there are lights to clearly let you know what channel is active, but in a hurry you have to think for a moment and it would have been better to just make it dummy proof for a guy like me. Also, while at it. The perfect amp would have one more channel for blues. This way a guy like me who plays alot of covers would be able to go clean, classic rock, blues and modern edge distortion. Maybe I ask for to much. In the end it is a great amp and very very versitile while still being tube. Tube rules! I am for sure not sorry I bought it and would buy it again. // 8

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9
JSX Joe Satriani Signature Head Reviewed by: sacamano79, on february 02, 2010
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Price paid: $ 700

Purchased from: ebay

Features: 3 channels, all of which have their roles (clean, crunch, ultra). VERY versatile, from the cleanest of cleans to high-saturation metal, and everything in between. One feature that I especially like is the noise-gate. It is very handy, especially since I don't like messing with pedals. I do wish it had reverb built in though, and was surprised it did not. It also has the fat switch on the crunch and ultra channels, but I never use them because it makes the tone entirely too loose for my taste. You also have the option of using el34 or 6l6 tubes. // 9

Sound: I plug my Ibanez s-series into this thing then run it through a Marshall 1960A. This amp is very well suited for lead playing, but would not buy it if I was planning on using it for a lot of rhythm guitar, it just does not have the beefy tone needed. The fat switch does not help very much in this regard and turns your tone into mush. One thing that did help a lot was to replace the stock el34s with kt77s. The clean channel was built to take pedals well, and it does. The cleans are VERY clean, and hard to get to break up. The crunch channel is very good for classic rock or anything that requires a low to moderate ammount of gain, although it can get enough for early metal tones and even some Metallica. The ultra channel is where I spend most of my time though, and has more gain than I could ever need. The tone is somewhat compressed sounding, compared to the airy tone of the crunch channel. Very shred-oriented tone. My only complaint about the tone is that it is too compressed and digital sounding for my taste, but it still gets an 8 because it is subjective. // 8

Reliability & Durability: It has run smoothly since day one, and I have not had any problems with it thus far. It seems to be built very well. I have only replaced the tubes 1 time because I bought it used and really wanted to try out the kt77s. The kt's are a very good idea for anyone who owns this amo or anything else that takes el34s because they thicken your tone up very nicely. // 10

Overall Impression: Overall if you are looking for an amp that is well suited towards lead playing (especially shred), this amp is a very good option.I play hard rock (Van Halen, GnR etc.) and I wish I had a better ear for tone when I bought this thing because the compressed digital tone really turns me off now. I will probably sell this and pick up a jcm800 sometime in the future. I will still rate it overall at a 9 though because it excels at what it was built to do, which was leads. // 9

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 10
JSX Joe Satriani Signature Head Reviewed by: unregistered, on march 09, 2011
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Price paid: $ 800

Features: This is a USA built amp. Mine was manufactured in 2005. This amp will take care of you no matter what style you play. Features: 120 watts via 4 EL34 power tubes and 4 12AX7 preamp tubes. Switchable to 6L6 tubes. 3 Channels (CLean, Crunch, Lead) Foot switchable Effects Loop w/ Input/output gain control Independent volume control on each channel with Master volume 3 button footswitch for "lead/crunch,Clean,FX loop" setings. 1/4inch line out Selectable 4/8/16 ohm output. Built in Noise gate. Amp does not have reverb, but I never use it anyway so for me this configuration is just about as perfect as it gets for an amplifier. // 10

Sound: I mainly play this amp with my Ibanez RG270DX w/ EMG81/SA/85 I play metal and this amp will hang with the best of them. With the 3 channel combination you can dial in just about any tone you want. From Country, to rock, to metal and everything in between. The clean channel is crisp and does not break up. I refuse to use the word "Brutal" when describing anything but I will say this amp does have monster gain, and even with nothing in it the FX loop acts as a boost when turned on. // 10

Reliability & Durability: When I bought this Amp I did not have the footswitch hooked up while testing it. I quickly realized I had a problem when I got it home and noticed the amp would not Switch channels using the footswitch. I took the amp back in and had it repaired under warranty. No hassles at all. It has worked flawless ever since. Due to space restrictions when we travel I am forced to use this amp without a backup. I have no problems doing this since this amp has been rock solid for me for the nearly 3 years I've owned it. // 10

Overall Impression: Excellent amp and worth every penny. About as close to perfect as I could have asked for. If it were stolen I would definitely buy another one. I love the versatility you get with this amp and I really have no complaints. I have been playing for 18 years and this amp takes care of all the features and tones I need. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9.8
JSX Joe Satriani Signature Head Reviewed by: I<3Gibson, on july 08, 2011
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Price paid: $ 500

Purchased from: Tonyz muzic

Features: This is a 2008 Peavey JSX Head. Its 3 channels Clean, Crunch, and Ultra. With a eq and a volume for each channel as well as a noise gate and fx loop. It feature el 34 power tubes and 12AX7 pre amp tubes. Well what els can I say about the features. The olny thing that I could want that it dosent have is some spring reverb. // 9

Sound: I've played alot of guitars through this thing. My current main axes are my KV2 and my USA BC Rich JRV so this is the sound I will be reviewing. Clean channel. The clean channel is clean. With my EMG equpited bcr I can't get it to distort at 9 volume its that clean. Now I like how clean it is. I don't know why people think this is a bad thing but I like it. The lows are smooth and the highs don't chime to much its what I think a clean channel should sound like. Crunch Channel. This is Easily the most visatial channel on the amp. You can do dial in anything from light rock n roll crunch to a almost 6505 like distortion. They say this channel its based of another Peavey amp(cant remember witch one) but I've never played one with this kind of versitility. As much as I like this channel I don't use it because of. Ultra Channel. This. Unholy satan that a hell of a sound. This is the most bone shattering distortion channel Peavey has on any of its amps. I put the sound somewere between a JCM800 and the 6505/5150. Its smooth like the Marshall but it still cuts through and has the artculation of the 6505. The closest sound it comes to is a triple rec without all the tweeking you have to do to get a useable tone out of it. Overall. The sound is huge. Its got somthing for everybody and more at that. If you don't love this amps sound your eather deaf or a fanboy. // 10

Reliability & Durability: I've use it for 3 years without a backup. It has never broken down and probably never will. Peaveys are known for their reliability. Aside from replaceing the tubes I have never had to do any repairs on it. Its a damn tank. You can't beat a Peavey reliability wise. // 10

Overall Impression: For metal this amp is one of the best. Its my choice for best all around metal amp. For the price you pay you get more bang for you buck than any other amp(barring possiable Engl but they are in a class of their own amp wise) I've been looking at other amps but nothing I can get hear currently beats the JSX. Vs the JCM2000 the jsx has more usable gain and you don't have to crank the volume to get a good sound out of it(but the more you crank the jsx the better it sounds). Vs the 6505 the JSX just seems to have a better tonal range than it. The 6505 dose one metal sound realy good but the jsx dose mulipule metal sounds from scooped out to wall of sound sasurated mids. Vs the Triple Rec the JSX is alot easier to dial in a great tone and its alot more artuclate. It also has a usable low end while the Triple Recs lows are so loose the overpower everthing els. If this were stolen I would get it again in a heartbeat. This is the olny amp I've played with mids that sound good on most settings. The olny thing I wish they would add is some reverb. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
More Peavey reviews rating category latest review
+ Vypyr VIP 2 7.6 Guitar Amplifiers 06/02/2014
+ Rotor EXP 8.8 Electric Guitars 05/23/2014
+ Vypyr 15 7.9 Guitar Amplifiers 04/28/2014
+ Vypyr VIP 1 8.2 Guitar Amplifiers 04/28/2014
+ Valve King 112 8.1 Guitar Amplifiers 01/15/2014
+ view all
Comments
Your captcha is incorrect