Transtube Studio Pro 112 Review

manufacturer: Peavey date: 06/22/2012 category: Guitar Amplifiers
Peavey: Transtube Studio Pro 112
12 inch Blue Marvel speaker. T.Dynamics control. High and low gain inputs. Separate volume/gain controls. Low, mid and high EQ. EQ/gain voicing switches. External speaker jack.
 Sound: 9.1
 Overall Impression: 9.3
 Reliability & Durability: 9.6
 Features: 9.1
 Overall rating:
 8.9 
 Reviewer rating:
 9.3 
 Users rating:
 8.5 
 Votes:
 102 
reviews (16) pictures (2) 29 comments vote for this gear:
overall: 9
Transtube Studio Pro 112 Reviewed by: AsShadowsRemain, on february 22, 2006
4 of 5 people found this review helpful

Price paid: $ 276.5

Purchased from: Ted Good's Music

Features: It's a 2005 Peavey Studio Pro 112. It is 65 watts transtube which is solidstate with a pre-amp tube in it. It has 2 channels, lead and clean. Lead being distortion. It also has high gain and low gain inputs. It has T. Dynamics which is a neat new feature which lets you control the amps power. It has an FX loop but no headphone jack which would be very convienient since this amp is loud for bedroom practice. It has control knobs for both channels, one for the lead and one for the clean channel. Control knobs include pre-gain, post gain, mid, high, low, and reverb. It also has a voicing switch for each channel. // 9

Sound: I've played a few different guitars on this amp. This amp has very good clean and a very good piercing lead tone if set right. I play alot of heavy-metal, death metal, and hard rock and this amp suits it almost perfect. It can be noisy if you are using low-quality pickups or if the pre-gain is too high. It can cover a wide range of styles from blues to the most extreme metal. The distortion is also very well for a transtube amp. // 9

Reliability & Durability: I've gigged with this amp three times and it hasn't failed me yet. The leather carrying handle broke but that's no big deal as it doesn't change the sound. It needs very little maintenance as it's tube doesn't need replacing, only the fuse does if you blow it. I would use this amp without a backup mainly because I've done it 3 times before and I can do it again and again without worrying. // 10

Overall Impression: I play a lot of metal and this amp suits my style very well. It has a great lead tone and can cut through the mix very, very well. I have been playing for a few years and this is one of the best transtube/solidstate amps I've ever used. This product is essentially what you pay for. Nothing more, nothing less. The things I love about this amp is it's well-toned distortion and its ability to cut through the mix of instruments when live. The only thing I dislike about this amp is that it has no headphone jack, other than that, it's very nice amp for the price I paid for it. I've used the transtube 212 special and essentially it was the same amp, only louder. Overall, this is a very good product for its price, definately worth looking into if you are new to gigging or are on a budget. // 8

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9.8
Transtube Studio Pro 112 Reviewed by: jeffo46, on october 24, 2007
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

Features: My amp was made in 1997, and it is American made. It's not one of these Chinese made models that are out right now. It has 2 channels, and the pre gain channel has 2 settings, for gain, and thrash! At 65 watts, it's more than enough power for me. This amp is loud! It's completely stock, except for the speaker, which was replaced by a Eminence Alpha, which I believe actually improves the sound of this amp. // 9

Sound: I use a 2006 MIM 60th anniversary strat, and this amp is perfect for it. Before I got this, I was using a Fender FM212, which I didn't care for, hence the trade. At first, I didn't care much for the distortion on it, because it always sounded muddy. But I found out that when you switch it over to the distortion channel, don't use the gain or thrash buttons. Now I have a nice overdriven tube sound remisniscent of a Jimmy Page/Angus young type tone, which I absolutely adore. I play classic '70s-'80s hard rock, so that setting is perfect for me. // 10

Reliability & Durability: This amp is very sturdy. I would definately use it on a gig without a back up. Peavey has a very reputable reputation for building very solidly made products. I have not had any problems with this amp at all. I acn definately rely on this amp to get me through a show. // 10

Overall Impression: I've been playing 35 years, and this is perfect for my type of music. If this was lost or stolen, I would definately look for another one(american made of course). This blows away the Fender FM 212 that I was using, plus it's not as heavy. I play my guitar straight through on this amp. I'm not big on effects, and with a set up like mine, you don't nned them. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 10
Transtube Studio Pro 112 Reviewed by: acecchetto, on march 25, 2004
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Price paid: $ 315.21

Features: My amp is the 2004 model. Some of the features that this amp has are; - 12 inch Blue Marvel speaker; - T.Dynamics control (compresses signal); - High and low gain inputs (allows for 2 guitars to be plugged in); - Footswitchable reverb & channel select; - Effects send & return; - External speaker jack; - 65w output. // 10

Sound: I use this amp with a strat copy, and a DOD Metal Distortion pedal and wow, the thing sounds amazing! Also sounds great when I plug in my acoustic with a removable pickup. I play rock, metal and punk and this amp handles it all. It is very clean when on the clean channel and makes an acoustic sound amazing! I haven't found this amp to be noisy at all. The onboard distortion is very nice, I sometimes prefer it to the DOD pedal. This amp gets loud!! // 10

Reliability & Durability: It's a Peavey! It will last forever. I would gig with this amp without a backup. // 10

Overall Impression: If this amp was stolen, I wouldn't hesitate to go buy another one. I think there are only two downfalls to this amp: 1) There is no headphone jack; 2) When connecting an external cabinet, the onboard speaker is bypassed. I love this amp, it is a great piece of gear, and I would recommend it to anyone. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 10
Transtube Studio Pro 112 Reviewed by: uninsane_guitar, on june 11, 2007
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Features: This is a nice amp I use in my house to practice with and sometimes perform. It can make quite a few different noises that suit anything from the Blues, Jazz, Classic Rock, Punk, and Metal. I play a lot of Punk, Classic Rock, and Metal so it suits me perfectly. It has two channels, a clean channel and a lead channel. On the clean channel, there is a volume knob, a selector Switch to select how much gain you want from Vintage to High Gain. Then Low, Mid, and High tone knobs. Then there is the selector Switch to select between the clean and lead channels. On the lead channel, there is a Pre-Gain knob, a selector Switch to Switch between Vintage, Modern, and High Gain. Then there is the Lo, Mid, and High knobs. After that, there is a little section called Master where there is the Reverb and T-Dynamics. T-Dynamics is basically a little boost to your amp, as much as 12 db. I really don't wish for any new features on it, it's very versatile, plus a lot of times I'm using effects pedals, so it doesn't really matter. I use this amp to practice with and to perform small Live gigs (if you can call them that) It has more than enough power. For example, at my New Years Eve party at my church (luckily the pastor didn't care what kind of music I was playing) and at midnight I was going to get everyone's attention playing Eruption at nearly full volume. First of all I nearly blew out my eardrums. Second of all, it was a bit noisy. But thirdly, it was so loud that kids heard it outside over all their stereos playing rap music at full volume. It has two inputs on the front of the amp labeled High Gain and Low Gain. On the bask there is a input for a remote Switch or footswitch and two inputs for effects send and return and an output for an external speaker or a PA system. // 10

Sound: I use this amp with a crappy Johnson rip off of a Fender Statocastor with single-coil pickups designed by EMG. The amp itself sounds great because when I tried it out in the store I used anything from a Gibson Les Paul to a ESP Kirk Hammett signature and it sounds good with all of them.Its noisy when you're playing right next to it and when you're playing far away form it on extremly loud settings, but a noise suppresor solves that easily. The clean channel is what is says clean, at all volumes, unless you blow the amp up. The distortion could be heavier, but this is peavy we're talkin about! Not Krank or some shit like that. // 10

Reliability & Durability: I can depend on this thing. I use it at my little gigs and it never lets me down. I've done a two or three hour long gig with my amp at like full volume and it didn't blow up or nothing. the only way to kill this amp is to put the pre-gain on 10 and the post gain on 10 and play power chords. It's never broke down on me and I don't think it ever will. // 10

Overall Impression: This amp is good for the price. It's a good practice amp and beginner amp. I've been playing for pretty much two years, and I'm raising money to get me a Peavy XXX or JSX signature. If it were stolen, I'd probably hunt down whoever did it and torture them for a good 5 years before killing them, because I don't have the money to replace it! I love that it has switches to select how much gain you want and the T-Dynamics give you a boost on the clean channel w/o distortion. I hate that it can't get that intensly distorted, but it does do well. If I wanted that I woulda spent an arm and a leg on a Krank Krankenstein. I compared this to the Fender G-DEC and the Peavy Transtube Series Envoy 110, and this had what I was looking for at a good price. If you are a beginner, buy this amp! // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 10
Transtube Studio Pro 112 Reviewed by: sgdave, on june 20, 2005
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Price paid: $ 365.4

Purchased from: Music store

Features: This carries a blue Marvel speaker carrying 65watts of extreame power. It is the 2004 model and it suits any kind of music but I play metal and punk. It has 2 channels clean with 2 mode 'modern and vintage' which sound good and lead which has 3 modes 'high gain, modern and vintage for old skool stuff. It has 2 imputs so 2 guitars can be pluged into it. It's great for praticing and gigging very load so will stand out. What makes it better is that its a trans-tube so its clear and responsive. // 10

Sound: I use a Epiphone Les paul and SG with humbuckers so I get a that heavy sound which suits the music I play. There is very little feedback which is great though I use a pedel. The clean is very good and well clean unlike a lot of theres a bit of distortion at high levels but not on the Peavey as clean as they come. The distortion isn't alway great its hard enough to find the setting you want but its very good when you find it. // 10

Reliability & Durability: It's a Peavey what do you think never any problems and you wouldn't need backup even playing it at full blast so reliable. // 10

Overall Impression: I wouldn't gig any thing else though with some pedels it runs on the clean channel and isn't loud enough. I've had it over a year and no problems. if stolen I would go out and buy one again next day I love every thing on it from clean to reverb perfect amp in many ways would recomend to anyone. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9.8
Transtube Studio Pro 112 Reviewed by: Mantiscabinet, on december 05, 2005
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Price paid: $ 276.5

Purchased from: Used

Features: This amp was made in 2002 in the United States. It's 65W of solid state sound. This amp isn't a stock Peavey Studio Pro 112, as it had a celestion speaker put into it, when I bought it, so I'm sure it improved the sound. The amp has two channels: clean and lead, and the clean channel has two selections: modern, for a brighter tone, and vintage for a warmer tone. The lead channel has three selections: vintage (for blues and an overdriven tube sound), modern (scooped tone for metal) and hi-gain (good for classic rock, and possibly hard rock). It has volume and equalization controls seperate for each channel, as well as gain for the lead channel. It also has reverb and a "t-dynamic" control (I believe it's a compressor). It also has an effects loop, a footswitch plug-in (my footswitch was included) and an external speaker jack, so you can hook up another amp for extra sound. // 10

Sound: I use this amp with a Squier Strat that has vintage les paul deluxe pickups in it, and the sound is very good. I like to play metal and grunge, and it suits my needs perfectly. The equalization can make a huge difference. I can go from Kill 'Em All trebly Metallica, to a near Pantera sound and back on just the modern setting on lead channel. Imagine the possibilities of sounds you can get when switching selections or channels. Rather than most solid states amps like the spider II and Roland cube, which have a lot of models, but very little customization of sound, this amp cuts down on modelling, but can deliver a very customizable sound. It's a loud amp, but the noise is minor, unless the gain is high, and my pickups are facing the amp, and I'm right beside it. The distortion can get pretty powerful if need be, but the tone never gets muddy. The clean tone is excellent thanks to the celestion speaker, and is not much worse than tube quality clean. It's a very warm, yet bright tone, and it's definitely a lot nicer than my old amp. I've never played past 2/3 on clean, but it hasn't clipped or even distorted slightly, and due to Peavey's transtube technology, it'll sound somewhat like an overdriven tube at higher levels rather than clipping. // 10

Reliability & Durability: This amp is very solid. The person I bought it from before has gigged with it plenty of times, and the only problem was that some screws were a little loose from the reverb tank when I bought it. I believe it will last a long time, as it was made in the US as well. // 9

Overall Impression: I play a lot of grunge, metal and classic rock and this suits my needs perfectly. This is my second amp, after starting off with a no-name beginner amp, and I'm very pleased with the sound. It's very giggable, and I recommend it to anyone who is buying an amp just before moving to tube. The clean is very good, as well as the distortion. If it were stolen, I'd kill the person who stole it, because this is like a child to me. I like everything about it, except that the reverb is a tad too strong, and makes the sound when I'm soloing a little less clear. Overall though, this is a very good amp, and one of the best of it's kind. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 10
Transtube Studio Pro 112 Reviewed by: Pr0az, on january 04, 2007
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Price paid: $ 315

Purchased from: Music StoreT

Features: This amp is awesome. You can jam with it at low volumes in your room, and then take it to practice turn it up and practice with the whole band. It has 2 channels lead and clean. I use the clean I must say the lead is crap on this thing but the clean makes up for it. // 10

Sound: I'm using an Ibanez RG series with this amp. Works out great. I play a lot of thrash and this thing is one incredible monster at making the tone perfect. The amp is not noisy one bit. The clean is perfect at low and high volumes. Again I play a lot of thrash and some heavy metal but I think this Amp can survive any genre of music. // 10

Reliability & Durability: I would rely on this amp through thick and thin. It's amazing I would use it at a gig without a back up any day. It has never brokin down on me ones. This is a good hard built amp. Just take good care of it and it will take good care of you at practice or jamming out on stage. // 10

Overall Impression: This thing is awesome for thrash, metal, heavey metal, and any other genre. This amp is one versitile beast. I use a Boss MT-2 Metal Zone pedal for my distortion. The Pedal and the amp go hand in hand, if you buy the amp the pedal should be a given to buy with it. If this amp got stolen I would buy another one. I would not recommend hooking a multi effects board to it because it ruins this amp and makes it sound like crap. Seperate Pedals work best and you will see the monster tone that this baby can put out. The lead and it's distortion are crap on this amp but the clean channel makes up for it all! My buddie owns a Line 6 spider. His Line 6 and my Peavey sound the exact same. The Peavey lets off a little more of the Crunch sound which is ever better. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9.5
Transtube Studio Pro 112 Reviewed by: MadLordWinder, on may 19, 2007
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Price paid: $ 150

Purchased from: eBay

Features: Well to start it off, it's a solid state amp. Features, nothing special, clean channel, gain, a reverb and then the EQ controls for both channels. Nothin special, but all the other features annoy me anyway, so good there. Apparently there is a footswitch, but mine didn't come with it. It can play fine as a practise amp, but also can go very loud. When cranked up, this thing can compete with Marshall half-stacks, no joke. Also has FX in/out, and high/low gain input. // 10

Sound: Soundwise, excellent, especially considering the price. Good clean, heavy overdrive (or not, whatever). I can use this for whatever I want to if I just take the time to adjust it. My favorite stuff to play is mostly Muse, then also some Metallica, SOAD, Weezer, Chili Peppers, and various other stuff. This amp can play anything that you want, provided you have the right equiment other than that. No feedback what'soever, even playing from a couple feet away, or any annoying background noise for that matter (a relief from the Fender Frontman I was playing before, which had a loose inout jack that had lots of weird feeback stuff). // 9

Reliability & Durability: Solid state means not much worrying about breaking or maintenance. Sturdy build, I think I could use it without backup. // 9

Overall Impression: Overall a very nice amp, and affordable too. Can be used for just about anything, and although it obviously isn't going to be the best, for the price (or double it for that matter), nothing I've seen can compete with it. If it were stolen, I would definitly get another one, or hunt down the thief, stab them to death with the stolen amp (If being knifed hurts, just imagine being impaled by a large blunt object) and then take it back, bloodstains and all. Despite the fact that I'm rather ill-disposed towards Peavey stuff in general, I love this thing. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 7.8
Transtube Studio Pro 112 Reviewed by: djmay71, on january 05, 2008
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Price paid: $ 300.2

Purchased from: Melody Music

Features: This amp is a fairly new Peavey model. I would have to go with a late 2007 release, because I have a Peavey catalogue, which was released in September and the amp if not in there. I play hard rock and metal most of the time, but I do play the occasional punk or emo. The amp has two channels, a clean and a lead channel. It doesn't come with a footswitch, but it has a footswitch jack available along with an expansion jack. What the expansion jack allows the user to do is to expand the sound into a cabinet, such as a Peavey 412, as recommended. The downside to using the expansion jack is it disables the single 12 inch Blue Marvel. The clean channel has volume, low, medium and high settings along with two amp models that are controlled by a simple toggle Switch, allowing your sound to sound modern or Vintage as the models are called. The lead channel has standard low, mid and high controls, but also has both a pre gain and post gain control. Like its clean counterpart, it also has amp models, but it has one more model, making the toggle Switch a three position Switch. The models for lead are as follows: high gain, modern and Vintage. For instrument input both high and low gain inputs are provided, and two guitars can be plugged into the amp, making both guitars low gain. Master controls are reverb (which I believe to be Hall Reverb, not so sure) and Dymanic. What dynamic does is allows you to adjust how much power is going to the speaker. I personally leave mine at 25%, to insure our dumb bassist can't accidentally plug in and blow my baby.This amp uses Peavey's signature Transtube allowing it to have the power of a tube, but not the high tech maitience of a tube. // 8

Sound: I play my Peavey Raptor EXP Plus through this amp which has a humbucker style pickups. The amp suits my playing style (which is hard rock and metal), although I would not recommend this amplifier for blues or country players. The lead channel truely shines and deserves to be played loud. The 12" Blue Marvel can measure up to my lead guitarist's Laney full stack. At about volume 6 or so the clean channel starts to get a tad fuzzy and the lead channel only gets fuzzy if you have no clue how to work pre and post gain (believe me, leave it to a singer to adjust amps). But I have found that by adding some built in reverb all noise is pretty much eliminated, although a noise gate pedal would probably work just as well. // 6

Reliability & Durability: Although I have yet to gig with this amp (no drummer, no gig, savvy), I would defintely gig without a backup as long as I have a 412 extension cabinet. When I purchased the amp, the worker had accidentally dropped the amp when he was bringing it to the front of the store. It was the only one left, so I readily got it, even though it may have been broken and it wasn't. This amp survived a 3 foot fall, but maybe it was because of the styro-foam. // 9

Overall Impression: When I was originally looking for an amp, I had my eye on Peavey's Transtube 112 EFX. When the store didn't have one, the owner himself recommended the Peavey Transtube Studio Pro 112. Even though the Studio Pro doesn't have the built in effects as its 112 EFX cousin does, it satisfied my hunger. I plan to purchase a multi effects pedal in the near future for use on this amp and possibly my Peavey/Silvertone 2x8" practise stack that I have constructed myself with a Peavey Backstage and a Silvertone SMART III. I own two electric guitars; a Peavey Raptor EXP Plus and a store brand electric that my parents had purchased for my younger sister. If this amp was stolen (I strongly disagree that I would be able to LOSE a beast like that), I would get the next size up, a 212, just because you can always go louder. // 8

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9.8
Transtube Studio Pro 112 Reviewed by: jeffo46, on february 04, 2008
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Features: This is my second review for this amp, and I found out from the good folks at Peavey, that it is a 1997 American made model.This amp will do you for just about any type of music out there today. It has 2 channels, clean with 3 band EQ, and a bright switch, and pre-gain with 3 different types of distortion, overdrive, gain, and thrash, along with a post gain and pre gain control. This version doesn't have the T-dynamics control though, which I'm told, has actually improved upon the older models. Also, mine came with a Eminence Alpha Speaker, which the prior owner had installed. He told me that the Blue Marvel that had came with it, wasn't of good quality. // 9

Sound: I am using a 2006 Fender MIM Strat, and a modified 2006 Squier Telecaster Custom through this beauty. The clean channel on this is actually the best that I have ever heard in any amp, but, it doesn't really have much of a punch to it. I have to turn this up to 3, to be heard with my drummer. The distortion channels though, are loud as hell.I use a DigiTech RP50 guitar effects processor with this amp, so my statement about the clean channel would be moot, because my DigiTech increases the volume and that really isn't a issue. I just though I'd play straight through the amp last week at practice and that's what I noticed. // 10

Reliability & Durability: I have owned 2 other Peaveys in my life. In 1980 when I was stationed in Meridian, Miss. Yes, the one where Peavey is located, I had bought a Backstage 30 for the price of, I believe, $130.00. I had that amp until 1999, which is when I sold it to a friend of mine, and would you believe, it was still going strong? I also used to have a mid-'80s Bandit, which was a very powerful amp, and which I wish I had never gotten rid of. For the past few years, I've been playing through a Fender FM212R, which I absolutely regret buying, so I did a straight trade for what I have now. Peavey's are built like tanks, and are extremely long lasting. I am a Peavey man, now and forever, as far as my amps go. I have gigged with this recently, and I haven't had any problems what'soever. This lil' f--ker is a keeper, although I might update soon to a Bandit 112 Transtube. // 10

Overall Impression: I play classic rock with a little bit of Blues thrown in, and this amp is the perfect match for those genres of music. I chose this amp because when I was playing with the FM2121, that f--ker weighed a ton and it kept on throwing my back out. With this amp, it's only 1 speaker, and weighs around 36 lbs, which makes carrying it a lot easier. If this was stolen or lost, I would immediately get another one to replace it. The rest of my set-up includes, a 2006 MIM Fender Strat, 2006 Squier Telecaster Custom, and a DigiTech RP 50 guitar efffects processor. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9
Transtube Studio Pro 112 Reviewed by: Squirrel1993, on june 21, 2008
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Features: This amp actually belongs to our High School and I used it for about a year in Jazz Band. It has 2 sepearte channels, clean and gain. The clean has the setting of vintage or modern and the gain has the settings of high gain, modern, and vintage. Since I was in jazz band I mostly used the clean channels. I didn't really like the clean channels as much but I did not get a lot of time to experiment with settings and such but I did get a decent tone for jazz. I mostly play rock (classic, hard, punk, pop-punk, metal, etc). Through out the year I did get the chance to use the Gain channels and they were amazing. Very tube like. My favorite was the high gain or modern. The high gain is total Van Halen and pitch harmonics come out beautifully. The modern had a great, fat sound that's perfect for any kind of rock. The vintage channel, I didn't like as much but it had a nice twangy sound and actualy would sound pretty good if you were playing some Sex Pistols covers. The amp had no built in effects except reverb but had an effects loop and had a headphone jack. It also has a footswitch. I did wish it had some effects besides reverb, like delay, tremelo, chours, etc. Volume wise, this amp can get pretty loud. The Gain channels could totally be heard over a drummer, but the clean channels aren't as loud. I had a hard time being heard over the bass, drums, trumpets, saxes, and trombones, as a lot of my friends said that they couldn't hear me even tho I could hear the amp myself. So they might awnt to mix the amp next time. The amp is a solid state but is a transtube, so a solid state semi sounding like a tube amp, and they did a pretty decent job. // 8

Sound: I used my Squier Affanity Fat Strat for this amp. The bridge pick up wans't that great for a jazz tone so I used my neck pickups. I hadnt changed the pickups or anything so they were just stock pickups, so just imagine how it would sound if I put in better ones! This amp deffinately suits my music styles very well. From rock to jazz and anything in between. The amp though, is pretty noisy. Have the gain channel on and the volume on pretty low, you will get some feedback but not the really high pitched stuff, kind of the good feedback, but I'm sure as the volume goes up, the pitch will get very annoying. For our last concert, I had the volume up on max and my guitar's volume was on 0 while we were waiting for the ok to start playing and you could hear a noise of some sort like the sound of bees in a hive or something and it was from the amp so the little thing can get noisy and pretty heavy actually. My settings were bass: somewhere around 5, middle: about 7, treble: 10 (this was great on the gain channel). Since the amp has 5 pre amps in it, it could make some different sounds. On the modern clean channel it had a nice early who sound (I can't explain, kids are alright) and the high gain screams Dragonforce. I didn't get much distortion in the clean channel, maybe at the highest volume it turned a bit warmer and had a slight overdrive sound but nothing too bad. The distortion over all is pretty much my fav part of the amp. It has such a warm sound to it. // 9

Reliability & Durability: I could totally depend on the amp. The amp is heavy and I think it could stand up to anything that comes it's way. I would totally gig without a backup. I think it would do just fine. The amp to my knowledge has never broken down, it's pretty dependable. There are probablly amps that have more durability but this one is deffinately up there. The amp is pretty much Built like tank. Since it's techincally solid state, there isn't any servicing to be done with any tubes or what not. Since guitar isn't in the regular band program in our school, and the only time it was used was in Jazz II. There is Jazz II and Jazz I (auditioned). So it was mostly kept in a practice room and wasn't used daily or anything but when it was used, it was used. // 10

Overall Impression: I play jazz, blues, classic rock, hard rock, punk rock, pop-punk, metal, pretty much anything I can get my hands on. This amp totally fits these styles. I've been playing for about 2 years. It doesnt't sound like much but I pretty much have no friends or life because I'm playing guitar. I have an old Peavey pacer amp from the '70s my dad let me use. It's huge and is only for large concerts. I also own a DigiTech Distortion Facorty pedal. It's an ok pedal but I can get some much better tone out of this amp than the pedal. I'd probably ask an employee if they liked the amp and any amps they'd choose for this one. If this amp was stolen I'd totally get another one or something like it. There's always room for improvment! I love the distortion and the volume you can get out of it. I guess I'm not a huge fan of the clean channels, but I haven't had a lot of time to work with them yet. Comparing this to my Friends Marshall MG amp, this thing totally kicks its ass. The Marshall has such a light, unfat tone. I'm not a huge fan of it's "skinny" tone. The Marshall though does have effects. But the Marshall doesn't ahve a footswitch. I guess the only thing I wish it had were some more effects than reverb. // 9

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 10
Transtube Studio Pro 112 Reviewed by: unregistered, on january 09, 2006
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Price paid: $ 245

Purchased from: local music store

Features: I'm pretty sure mine was made 2002-2003. The amp can be used for anything. There are two main channels, "clean" and "lead," lead being distortion. And in each of those channels, there are two more sub-channels, "vintage" and "modern." There is a headphone jack located in the back, and two effect inputs for "return" and "send." I use this in my bedroom, which is great because it can play soft, but still distorted. And in a band, which is also great becuase the drummer doesnt drown it out, it's 65 watts! // 10

Sound: I'm using the Epiphone Special with Gibson distortion humbuckers with chrome covers. I generally play all kinds of rock, and it works well for all of them. It's not noisy at all. The only way it is noisy and buzzes is when I use my Boss DS-1 Distortion pedal when the amp is on "lead" channel, but there is no need for one if youre already on the lead channel. It has a strong reverb and something like a boost. The clean channel is not distorted for all I know, at any volume. // 10

Reliability & Durability: Of course it's dependable, I play with it all the time and nothing has been bad about it, never been broken. // 10

Overall Impression: I play every kind of rock. I've been playing since June 2005. It really shocked me. I thought there would be noise and buzzing with distortion, nope! I play with an Epiphone LP Special with Gibson distorion humbuckers, with chrome covers. I also use a Boss DS-1 Distortion pedal. I would deffinetly buy this again if it were stolen. This will be great for about another 3 or 4 years. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9
Transtube Studio Pro 112 Reviewed by: TotalShredder, on september 22, 2009
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Price paid: C$ 340

Purchased from: Limestone Music

Features: Amp is from 2006. Best sounding solid-state amp for it's size. I tried many amps before landing on this one. One reviewer stated it has a pre-amp tube in it. This person is dreaming. No tubes in this baby. Decent variety of sounds. You have to play around with each of your guitars to get a nice tone, but this amp does provide them. Nice reverb on it too. // 9

Sound: The clean is very clean and I use this amp as a practice amp so I can't tell you if it distorts on the clean channel at high volumes because I Live in an apartment and would get evicted trying to answer that question. It has three tone settings on the Lead channel. I call them Fender, Marshall and Mesa-Boogie settings. The clean channel has Fender and Marshall settings. They are not called that but that is what they attempt to emulate. // 9

Reliability & Durability: This is a stay-at-home practice amp and does not get abused. It has served me well and I have Faith in it to continue to do so. It is not really built like a tank. I don't think Peavey intended this as a road amp. A friend has a Peavey 212 (two models up from the Studio Pro) and it has served HIM well. Peavey gets good marks for a decent product at a decent price. // 9

Overall Impression: This amp is good for rock and metal as well as jazz and blues. Just dial in what you want and play. It could be used for small gigs or garage jamming, but I would use an amp with more headroom for gigging. I own an Ibanez Artist 200 with Seymour Duncan Jazz (Neck) and JB Trembucker (Bridge), Ibanez RG421 and a Godin LG-SP90 with Seymour Duncan Custom P-90 pickups. // 9

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9.5
Transtube Studio Pro 112 Reviewed by: unregistered, on may 26, 2010
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Price paid: $ 100

Purchased from: Some Dude On Craigslist

Features: Seems to match with one of the late 90's editions but I'm not sure. I paly all kinds of rock from RHCP to A7X to Metallica and the distortions is amazing. The clean is pretty awesome too not as good as the distortion but that's probably due to me playing through EMGs as my friends strat sounds great on the clean channel. It has a lead channel and a clean channel both an effects loop no headphone jack but it doesn't present much of a problem to me.This amp gets loud enough for sure plus it can be connected to a PA system or cabinet. // 9

Sound: I'm playin' my Schecter Hellraiser Avenger with EMG 81 and 85s in it witch makes the distortion so very deathly sounding it's scary. As said before I play pretty much any rock and this thing handles all of it beautifully. Clean channel is great, very versatile. // 10

Reliability & Durability: This is extremely dependable the dude I bought it from had had it for 5 or so years with very little maintenance and it sounds just as great as the ones at guitar center. I would definitely gig without a backup. It's never broken down or given me trouble there was one time when I thought it was busted but my volume pot was loose and making horrible static, popping noises. // 9

Overall Impression: I've been playing for 5 or 6 years now (only seriously for 2 or 3) and this is the best amp I've had yet plus I got it for only $100.00 so it was very nice.If it were stolen the thief would find a 7.62x51mm between his eyes within the hour. I love this thing almost as much as my guitar. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 7.5
Transtube Studio Pro 112 Reviewed by: neko819, on august 29, 2011
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Price paid: $ 100

Purchased from: Recycle shop in Japan

Features: To be honest, if you know good tone, you'll only use the clean channel. Comparing the lead channels to simulated tube or even my big muff, they just don't sound good. The transtube channel does add some extra dynamics that can make whatever you plug into it sound extra-nice. // 6

Sound: Well, like I said, the only good mode is the clean mode. I like metal, blues, rock, well, I've studied just about every playing style there is. Not that I'm great or anything but I thought the lead tones were just pathetic. A simple DS-1 or TS on the clean channel are a much better option. Actually, I use a Vox Tonelab, that is just awesome compared to the other multieffects out there, and the studio pro is PERFECT for that because the clean channel is so darn undisturbed. If you something ELSE to get your tone from, like a Blackstar tube overdrive or something like that, THIS amp is good. // 7

Reliability & Durability: No problems, its a Peavey solid state, should last well into the next century... Starting to hear some crackling when I mess with the knobs, though. I barely have to touch them so its not a problem now. But I've seen solid state amps degrade from crackling knobs to constant burnout. // 9

Overall Impression: I had to leave all my gear behind in the US when I moved permanently to Japan for personal reasons, and I needed a straightforward amp, cheaply. I was used to an all-tube setup but using this and the tonelab I'm quite happy. This thing can get LOUD too, enough to play gigs at a comfortable volume. If you get it, though, be aware that you need SOMETHING to get your tone. Plugging a distortion pedal right into it will sound a bit weak, the only viable channel is 'clean'(and man, is it CLEAN), which you will really appreciate if you have something else you get your tone from. I've tried lots of other solid state amps with my tonelab, this one really lets it shine. // 8

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 7.5
Transtube Studio Pro 112 Reviewed by: EyesWideOpen, on june 22, 2012
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Price paid: £ 150

Purchased from: Ebay

Features: This amp has built in reverb, three gain channels, vintage, modern and high gain and two clean channels, Vintage and modern. It also has a three band EQ for both the clean and distortion channels which is nice and a T.Dynamics knob on the end which tries to mimic the sound of a tube amp hence the "transtube". The only feature I'd like this amp to have is a headphone jack as for some reason it lacks one. I use this amp for bedroom practice but as it is 60w I'm sure it'd be able to handle a gig easily as long as I had a noise gate. // 8

Sound: I mainly use my Schecter Damien-FR with EMG-HZs in D standard with the amp. I play prog, death, thrash metal and all sorts of clean stuff and the amp alone does not meet my distortion needs at all. I need to use my DigiTech DF7 pedal with it to get a half decent sound with it when playing teh metulz. The three distortion settings on it aren't very good no matter how much you tweak the EQ. The only setting that is really tolerable is the Vintage setting which gives me a half decent hard rock sound. The modern setting sounds way too fat and blunt with no chance of getting a thinner metal sound and the high gain setting pretty much just makes it even fatter. The amp is also quite noisy with the gain on. The cleans on the other hand are nice. I use it on the Vintage setting and the sound is more than satisfactory. I like the T.Dynamics knob on this amp. There is certainly a noticeable different between having it on 10% power and 100% power. It gives the sound more character and perhaps definition. // 6

Reliability & Durability: I've had the amp for three and half years and it has never failed me but then it has never suffered any gig abuse and has never been taken out of my bedroom. I would rely on it though. // 9

Overall Impression: As I said I play a lot of metal and without a decent pedal this amp ain't a metal machine. With my DF7 pedal and with the T.Dynamics up full though I can certainly get a very good sound from it and the three band EQ gives you room to maneuver. The Studio Pro 112 serves my wants pretty well especially for the cheap second hand price I got it for but It is really nothing special. Thanks for reading. // 7

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
More Peavey reviews rating category latest review
+ Triple XXX Head 8.4 Guitar Amplifiers 12/08/2014
+ Envoy 110 8.7 Guitar Amplifiers 11/10/2014
+ PXD Twenty-Three III 8.8 Electric Guitars 10/07/2014
+ 6534+ 7.3 Guitar Amplifiers 09/15/2014
+ Vypyr VIP 2 7.6 Guitar Amplifiers 06/02/2014
+ view all
Comments
Your captcha is incorrect