Triple XXX II Review

manufacturer: Peavey date: 07/12/2012 category: Guitar Amplifiers
Peavey: Triple XXX II
If you are in the market for saving money, having extreme versatility in tone and features in your amp, you will not be disappointed with the Peavey XXX 2.
 Sound: 9
 Overall Impression: 10
 Reliability & Durability: 10
 Features: 10
 Overall rating:
 8.8 
 Reviewer rating:
 9.8 
 Users rating:
 7.7 
 Votes:
 6 
review (1) pictures (1) 4 comments vote for this gear:
overall: 9.8
Triple XXX II Reviewed by: El_Oso, on july 12, 2012
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Price paid: $ 1299.99

Purchased from: Edwards music

Features: Purchased new in May 2012. Amp is made in U.S.A., as are all high quality Peavey amps. The Peavey XXX 2 is a 120w tube amp loaded stock with 4 EL34 power tubes (switchable to 6L6GS) and 4 12AX7 preamp tubes. This amp will run 16, 8, or 4 ohms. The XXX 2 has 3 channels (clean, rhythm, lead) each foot switchable and each with independent gain, volume and 3-band EQ. This amp features a master volume along with presence and resonance controls, for added depth when dialing in tones. The rhythm and lead channel each feature independent "fat" switches to help beef up your tone. A unique feature on this amp is the built in adjustable noise gate for the crunch and lead channels (this is a global feature for the two channels). There are two inputs on the front, "high gain and low gain. This amp has a foot switchable effects loop with adjustable send and return volume and a line out with level control. To be honest, the only feature I do not use on this amp is the line out. There is no other additions I could think that should be added, this amp has it all. // 10

Sound: I am currently running this amp through an Orange PPC412SL and BH412ST. Cabs do play a large part I the voicing of your tone, but this amp sounds killer through Amy cab (I have run it through a Marshall 1960A 412 and a Peavey XXX 412 as well) I am an owner of many guitars, the main guitars I use are an '84 Gibson Les Paul Custom w/JB bridge, EPiphone Les Paul 50th Anniversary, Ibanez NDM2 w/ DiMarzio DP100 & DP151 and LTD EC-1000 DX. So many different pickups and body types, all which bring their own tones that are equally good in their own rights. I will add that I am an advocate of using the controls on the guitar to fine tune voicings of tone. I play many styles of music in the rock/blues genre and ranging to punk/ska and this amp can easily dial in the tones toy need. I have never really pushed this amp laud enough to hear any kind of unwanted channel distortion, then again, I do not turn the master volume past 1/4 for fear of my ears bleeding and or leveling a city block with a wall of pure, tonal bliss. Plenty loud and the sound only gets better. The Peavey XXX 2 is part of the high gain series of amps Peavey makes, so let it be known that this amp can create smooth, creamy distortion to crunchy, Krisp (with a K) all the way to distortion so thick and full of sustain. The great thing within all these tones is if you want a loose, spongy sound, dial it in, you'll find it. If you want a tighter, more responsive distortion this amp has that too. So many options for tweaking the sound you are looking for. I did buy a outlet lift to plug in to because there was a lot of noise and such coming through, but I blame the fluorescent lights that were in my music room. I have sinconventionally a room with conventional lighting and no longer need the ground lift, but this amp does not bode well in a room with fluorescent lights, so be advised. // 9

Reliability & Durability: The first thing I do when I am looking at a new amp (or anything for that matter) is I grab each individual knob and twist, jiggle, pull, push... You get the picture. But this is the best first impression on anything, the knobs don't lie... Well, The knobs on this amp did not wiggle, push, pull, bend, loosen, come off or anything other than very smoothly dial left to right, not loosely but not stiffly either, just perfect for an amp. All the inputs/outputs on this 50+lbs. Amp are solid and leave no room for loose connections. The casing for this amp is solid and looks sharp. This head is a bit smaller, but I think it can take some abuse. I have not gigged with this amp, but it has taken a cross country ride across the U.S. In the back of a U-haul and has made a few trips to friends houses and no damage has been done to the electronics or housing. I always have back-up amps with me, but I would be surprised if this amp failed because of anything other than neglect. // 10

Overall Impression: So to be honest, I was lser on a Mesa Boogie MK V head and a few others before coming across this beast. I was a bit skeptical of it because I have never owned a Peavey before and had never known anyone who has, but the price was better, the features were better and it was new. I have owned this amp for 2 months now and have never once thought about second guessing my purchase. This amp matches the styles of music I play with no complaints. I have been playing guitar for 14 years. I own many different guitars, each I set-up myself and tune differently. I do not rely heavily on pedals, tho I do run a Strymon Orbit, Boss DD-3, reverb, and Dunlop Jerry Cantrell wah all of which the Peavey XXX 2 takes very kindly to be it through the effects loop or front loaded. For the price, I do not think you can get a better amp. I started thinking I wanted a Diezel, then Mark V, on to a Dual-Rec., JCM 900... Yada yada yada... And so and an so forth. But if you are in the market for saving money, having extreme versatility in tone and features in your amp, you will not be disappointed with the Peavey XXX 2. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
More Peavey reviews rating category latest review
+ Vypyr 15 7.9 Guitar Amplifiers 03/05/2014
+ Vypyr VIP 1 8.5 Guitar Amplifiers 02/25/2014
+ Valve King 112 8.1 Guitar Amplifiers 01/15/2014
+ Delta Blues 210 9 Guitar Amplifiers 12/04/2013
+ Austin 400 4.5 Guitar Amplifiers 07/30/2013
+ view all
Comments
Your captcha is incorrect