Triple XXX Super 40 EFX Review

manufacturer: Peavey date: 05/19/2008 category: Guitar Amplifiers
Peavey: Triple XXX Super 40 EFX
From the bedroom to the stage, these are high performance amplifiers. Plug it in and get it on!
 Sound: 9.5
 Overall Impression: 9.3
 Reliability & Durability: 9.8
 Features: 9.3
 Overall rating:
 9 
 Reviewer rating:
 9.5 
 Users rating:
 8.4 
 Votes:
 20 
reviews (4) 24 comments vote for this gear:
overall: 10
Triple XXX Super 40 EFX Reviewed by: ibanez4life SZ!, on september 24, 2005
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

Features: My Peavey was made in 2004/2005 and it is the newest model of the XXX series. It is an all tube amp, so from the start, I was ready for a great tone. This is one of the most versatile amps I have played, sparkling cleans, amazing crunch, and the ultra channel will blow any metal head away. I play anything from quiet soft parts to hard rock and metal, and it suits them all and anything inbetween. It has 3 channels, a footswitch, effects loop, and extension jack, and built in effects. It is 40 watts tube and more than enough to get over and balance out with my band. The extension jack is a very nice feature, allowing me to get a bad for it for the shows we will be playing soon. It has more than enough power for me, but the cab will spread the sound a lot more effectively. It's also a tube amp, amazing tone, with what some call more maintenence. All you will eventaully have to do is switch the tubes, which will take years. Even so, it is well worth the tone. // 10

Sound: With my amp, I am using an Ibanez SZ, loaded with a high-output Seymorur Duncan JB in the bridge. The pickup really pushes the amp and puts it over the top. This amp will suit any music style you could possible ask for, from bright cleans to brutal distortion. It handles everything perfectly and has never come short in its tone. For as much gain as it puts out, the amp really isn't very noisy. There is a slight buzz at very high gain levels, but it is barely noticable. The variety is amazing, and the cleans channel stay true throughout, it hasen't broken up on me yet. The tones sound amazing at all volumes, which is a great plus. Most tube amps sound good cranked, and cranked only. This amp is amazing at low volumes (bed room practice) and even better when cranked. The distortion is brutal beyond belief. It has more gain than you can ever use. The crunch channel is amazing for a classic rock sound and a slight overdrive. The ultra channel kicks in from there. As a great addition, the effects built into the amp are amazing. They sound very natural and are all usable. Great quality and a nice addition. The footswitch allows for presets for easy switching between any sound you can make with the amp (and mix of channels and effects). It also has a built in volume boost, which is easily the best feature. It eliminates the need for an overdrive pedal, since it boosts the amp without any additional pedals. // 10

Reliability & Durability: I've gigged with it a few times and practice with my band 3 times a week, and it has never failed me. Since it is a tube amp, once I get into more serious gigs, I would gig with a backup set of tubes, since it is a tube amp. I don't think I'd need a backup for it. Amazing amp and hasn't given me any trouble. There was a smaller problem in it that came out 2 days after I bought it, but it was a manufacturers flaw, just a small mistake in my amp, and only mine. They fixed it and had it back, better than new, in 2 weeks. Great service from Peavey! // 10

Overall Impression: This amp matches whatever I want it to play. I've been playing for a little under 2 years, and play an Ibanez SZ (with a few upgrades) and a morley tremonti power wah. There is nothing I regret about this amp. It is amazing in everyway and has done more than I've expected it to. If it were stolen, I would probably definitely replace it as soon as possible. It's an amazing amp that gives a high-guality tone for alot less than the very well known brands (high end marshalls, mesa, Engl, etc). It is definitely a competitor to the mesa rectos. It is basically a much more versatile mesa, since that is all a mesa lacks, versatility. Mesa does one sound well, the high gain overdrive, this Peavey does than and much more. When buying, I compared many amps in the price range, but this is easily the best high-gain amp for the price. There are very little amps that give this much gain for this price, and this amp delivers it with an amazing tone. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9.3
Triple XXX Super 40 EFX Reviewed by: TJM2482, on november 07, 2007
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Features: I'm not sure on the year, but now it's discontinued. The amp is pretty versatile, mostly in the crunch channel, where the gain knobs can give you a slight classic rock overdrive or a hi-gain (but clear) metal tone. The ultra channel is good if you're into a lot of heavier stuff. It has three channels, clean, crunch, and ultra. You can Switch between crunch and ultra, and when on crunch there's a Switch to go to clean. There's also an effects loop and a dampening switch (loose, medium, tight). It has a bunch of decent effects built in to help out your cleans and to make your soloing tone a little better. I wish it had a noise gate, as the ultra channel can get loud under certain settings. // 9

Sound: I've been using mostly my older Ibanez GSA60, a mere starters guitar until I buy a new axe. I play a mix of classic rock, hard rock, metal, and instrumental rock. This amp really does all of it nicely. It does get a little loud on the ultra channel if you have scooped mids, but when I turned the bass, treb, and mids to about 5 each it wasn't as bad. The amp itself has that tube power that really makes a difference. The distortion on crunch can get brutal enough for 80's metal and whatnot, and the ultra channel has all you need for hi-gain metal and the likes. What I appreciate most about the amp is the strength in tone that really sounds great compared to a lot of SS amps. // 10

Reliability & Durability: I have not used it for a gig, but I would trust it without a backup. The amp hasn't had any problem except for when I turn the reverb up above 4/5 I get a nasty hum that gets louder and louder until I turn it down. It has been pretty reliable other than the reverb problem, I've had it for about 4-6 months and it's a joy. // 9

Overall Impression: I play classic rock, hard rock, metal, and instrumental rock. This amp really kicks ass for it, and is pretty versatile. I've been playing for about two years or so, and this is a huge upgrade over my old Vox AD30VT. I bought this amp used, so at it's price of $450 it was a steal. I love it's crunch tone, especially with the gain cranked to 10. I hate how the reverb isn't functional past 4/5, but it should be fixable. My favorite feature is probably being able to put delay and a choice of flange, phase, or chorus over it all from the amp itself. // 9

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9.3
Triple XXX Super 40 EFX Reviewed by: jimmy666page666, on may 19, 2008
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Price paid: $ 400

Purchased from: local

Features: I'm sure someone listed all the features. I have to say- The built in EFX sound pretty dang good! I was like "I should of got the 60 watt, doesnt't have those digital efx" but when I started playing around with them, I was very surprised. For the price used (around $400-500) they are GREAT. - (If you are going for a speaker swap I wouldn't advise getting a V30. I am a V30 fan but with the XXX it is just a little to bright + treby. I have my treb on 1 or 1.5 most of the time or else it sounds like ice picks in your ear. Not saying with a V30 it sounds bad- just you have to work with it.) // 9

Sound: I use mostly EMG's (love, hate) and I get a really good Metal tone, I suggest buying a EQ for the loop it helps a TON. To get the xxx full potential I think a Speaker swap and a EQ is the way to go. I have heard that a lot of people seem to like them on EL34s, I have yet to get some to try it out but I'm pretty happy on 6l6's. The XXX rips without a EQ or speaker change- but kills with. // 9

Reliability & Durability: I've dropped it a couple times, it's pretty well built. Made in the USA. My 5150 is 15 years old and has been abused, and is still working great, Peavey makes some good stuff that is built to last!!! I would gig with it without a backup amp anyday. Peavey builds great stuff! // 10

Overall Impression: I play all types of stuff: Cleans, Blues, Rock, Metal, some heavy metal, and it is great. I have owned quite a few high-end amps ( I currently have a Engl powerball, Krank Rev, and a 5150). I have to say it is up to par with the 5150's, I seem to like it as much or more then the 5150. Overall the XXX is a great amp, and really looked over. Any questions just send me a message, I'm getting some clips up on my profile soon!! // 9

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9.3
Triple XXX Super 40 EFX Reviewed by: jimmy666page666, on may 19, 2008
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Price paid: $ 400

Purchased from: local

Features: Im sure someone listed all the features. I have to say- The built in EFX sound pretty dang good! I was like "I should of got the 60 watt, doesnt have those digital efx" but when I started playing around with them, i was very surprised. For the price used (around $400-500) they are GREAT. - (If you are going for a speaker swap I wouldnt advise getting a V30. I am a V30 fan but with the XXX it is just a little to bright + treby. I have my treb on 1 or 1.5 most of the time or else it sounds like ice picks in your ear. Not saying with a V30 it sounds bad- just you have to work with it.) // 9

Sound: I use mostly EMG's (love, hate) and I get a really good Metal tone, I suggest buying a EQ for the loop it helps a TON. To get the XXX full potential I think a Speaker swap and a EQ is the way to go. I have heard that a lot of people seem to like them on EL34s, I have yet to get some to try it out but im pretty happy on 6l6's. The XXX rips without a EQ or speaker change- but KILLS with. // 9

Reliability & Durability: Ive dropped it a couple times, its pretty well built. Made in the USA. My 5150 is 15 years old and has been abused, and is still working great, Peavey makes some good stuff that is built to last!!! I would gig with it without a backup amp anyday. aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaasfgdfkgdfkgdl // 10

Overall Impression: I play all types of stuff: Cleans, Blues, Rock, Metal, some heavy metal, and it is great. I have owned quite a few high-end amps ( i currently have a Engl powerball, Krank Rev, and a 5150). I have to say it is up to par with the 5150's, I seem to like it as much or more then the 5150. Overall the XXX is a great amp, and really looked over. Any questions just send me a message, Im getting some clips up on my profile soon!! // 9

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
More Peavey reviews rating category latest review
+ 6534+ 7.3 Guitar Amplifiers 09/15/2014
+ Vypyr VIP 2 7.6 Guitar Amplifiers 06/02/2014
+ Rotor EXP 8.8 Electric Guitars 05/23/2014
+ Vypyr 15 7.9 Guitar Amplifiers 04/28/2014
+ Vypyr VIP 1 8.2 Guitar Amplifiers 04/28/2014
+ view all
Comments
Your captcha is incorrect