Vypyr 30 Review

manufacturer: Peavey date: 04/29/2013 category: Guitar Amplifiers
Peavey: Vypyr 30
It is a 30W Solid State Modelling Amplifier which Peavey claim to be 'the most technologically advanced and affordable guitar modelling amplifier available'.
 Sound: 8.7
 Overall Impression: 8.7
 Reliability & Durability: 8.8
 Features: 9
 Overall rating:
 8.7 
 Reviewer rating:
 8.8 
 Users rating:
 8.5 
 Votes:
 140 
reviews (23) pictures (2) 69 comments vote for this gear:
overall: 9.8
Vypyr 30 Reviewed by: lildude_6859, on march 23, 2009
12 of 13 people found this review helpful

Features: This was released in 2008. I got it for my sixteenth birthday and it is excellent! There are SO many features on it. It is every guitarist's dream. First off, it's volume goes up to 13! (It seems to stop getting loud after a certain point because it is SO loud! ) Next, it has 11 built in stompbox effects, which means that you don't need 11 different pedals! It has 12 built in Peavey amp models, which gives you endless selection without having to buy every single amp model. Each of these has a distortion and clean setting. There are also rack effects, which are very fun to mess around with. These include Tremelo, Octaver, and the Reverse effect. (Play your music in reverse to play it forward! (It's very hard to do.)) It has 3 banks, each having 4 savable settings, in which you can edit and save a certain sound that you like. You can edit the stompbox/effects by pressing the stompbox/effects rack button. It is very easy, but it takes some getting used to. It is fairly small, but it packs a punch! // 10

Sound: This amp will fit any style of music. It has anything from a heavy distortion using the XXX amp to the mellow Flanger stompbox with a clean amp setting. It has some feedback, but I only play with my guitar which is made out of a certain type of wood that does that for some reason. This amp can do anything except walk, pretty much. There is no end to the tones of this amp! The clean channels are very nice at any volume. The XXX amp, distorted, with X Boost, could kill anybody with high blood pressure, small children, and small pets. It could also bring life to the dead. // 10

Reliability & Durability: This is probably one of the more reliable amps that I have ever used. If you are looking for a tough, buff, rough, and great sounding amp, this is one that you will definitely want to take a look at. I use it in my room, at my youth group, without mics and stuff like that, and at other events of many sorts. I have used it many times without a backup because the sound carries that well, and because I don't have a backup. This amp will kick butt, take names, and Kill 'em All! // 10

Overall Impression: This is good for any type of music, as I said above. I have only been playing for a year and a half, but it is one of the best sounding amps that I have ever heard. I couldn't ask for a better amp. I would definitely buy the same model and wattage if this were stolen or lost. I love everything about this amp and hate nothing. My favorite feature is the XXX amp, distorted, with the X Boost, with it just like that. The only thing that I wish had for this amp is the Sanpera II midi pedal, but I am going to get the Sanpera I because it is a lot cheaper, but just as good. // 9

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 8.3
Vypyr 30 Reviewed by: Lr-Mtb, on march 20, 2009
5 of 5 people found this review helpful

Price paid: £ 150

Purchased from: Nevada Music

Features: This is the Peavey Vypyr 30, It is a 30W Solid State Modelling Amplifier which Peavey claim to be 'the most technologically advanced and affordable guitar modelling amplifier available'. It has 24 channel modes with 12 distorted and 12 clean (You Switch between with the press of a button), Many different Amp Models, Stomp Boxes and Effects all set out in a logical order. Originally I was going to purchase the 75W version as it has USB recording but I found out that this 30W version has recording but not in the form of USB, it is the headphone socket/ record out so you can hook it up to a computer and use it with recoding software which is a very big plus! You also get a DVD manual with it and a trial version of Reaper Recording software which may be a little hard to learn but can produce some quality pieces! This is my second amp and I use it to play mainly metal and it suit's me well, you can change the settings easily to make a sound that suit's your playing! The amp is very loud, I have been using it at around volume setting 2 (It goes to 13! ) and I'm sure it would do band practice but I'm not to sure on actual gigging but it defiantly has enough power for a home player. The amp also has 12 spaces where you can save you settings to and remembers the for next time you turn it on, with an extra 400 spaces with the Sanpera II foot pedal which you can also use to control the amp and Switch channels etc. Although I don't have one yet. Another interesting thing about this amp is that I have heard it is made from the same circuit board as the higher end models so it does in fact have a USB slot inside somewhere so there is a possibility with a bit of 'Adjusting' you could have a USB on it (But to be honest there isn't much point as the 'record out' line is also high quality). If I am honest there is not too much point in all of the effects although they can be fun to play around with, I have just saved my settings and used them over and over again but I'm sure some people will find a proper use for them! // 9

Sound: I have found that I can get very good distorted/ clean/ Fun sounds from this amp, It took me a while to get used to the controls as it can sometimes be quite complicated but once you get over that barrier you can find many different sounds. The amp has meny different 'stompboxes' like Tubescreamer, auto wah, fuzz and then many other effects like tremolo, octaver, flanger. There are 12 Stompboxes, Amp Models and effects, so there's plenty to choose from! You can also edit the amount of reverb and delay there is on the stompboxes and effects and also the strength of the stompboxes and effects. Overall it is a very versatile amp which will cover most styles of music! // 9

Reliability & Durability: This is the one places that I feel let down about the Peavey Vypyr, when it works it is great! But there are some issues about the reliability of it. It has frozen on me twice whilst editing the effects and for many other people there have also been problems, many worse. It also makes some strange noises when turning on/ off sometimes and there is a bit of a hum on it which can be changed if you adjust the pre gain/ post gain carefully. All of the Vypyr Amplifiers are run on software so there are small glitches which cause these problems, the upside though is that it can be updated. At a price, you must buy a separate MIDI to USB cable (Around 30) which you can update it from the Peavey website. This is meant to get rid of the volume problems/ editing problems that people have been complaining about. Another thing is that I think Peavey should have suplied a MIDI > USB cable as it is a pain having to go out and order one Separately. Also build quality could have been better, the volume knobs are cheap and wobble a bit, I'm sure they can be replaced with more solid ones but I would have thought Peavey could have made them a little better. Also, some of the front is plastic and feels really cheap and tacky which is a shame, Some people have taken the front off for a different' look but I think I will just leave it alone. // 7

Overall Impression: Overall, I am happy that I bought this amp, and that I chose it over the 75W version (although 75W may be better for your situation as I will not be using it in a band). I have been playing guitar seriously for around a year and needed an amp that would cover a range of sounds but Metal mainly, and the Vypyr does this well. I like the fact that you can save settings and that you can have some real strange/ fun noises coming out of it as well as the distorted/ clean sounds and that I doubt I would ever need any pedals with this amp. Although Peavey could have spent a little more time making the software correct before launching it and gave it a nice material on some parts (volume knobs, plastic front) Peavey have really created an amazing amp! // 8

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 8.5
Vypyr 30 Reviewed by: ~Shred Hero~, on may 20, 2009
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

Price paid: $ 200

Purchased from: Guitar Center

Features: The Peavey Vypyr series is one of the newer models from Peavey. This 30W version is packed with enough features to give you the tone you want. This modeling amp comes equipped with 11 "Stompbox Encoders" 01. Ring Modulator 02. Auto Wah 03. Analog Flange 04. MOG (Monophonic Octave Generator) 05. Analog Phase 06. Tube Scrm 07. XR Wild 08. X Boost 09. Fuzz 10. BC Chorus 11. Squeeze (Compressor) Next in line are the 12 different "Amp Encoders", each having a clean/crunch (green) channel and a dirty (red). 01. Twn 02. Dlx 03. Plxi 04. Brit 05. B-Kat 06. Classic 07. XXX 08. JSX 09. 505 10. Rec 11. K-Stein 12. DZL The amp also comes with 11 built in effects which you can use by themselves or in combination with the stompboxes for ultimate versatility. 01. Ocataver 02. Phaser 03. Rotary 04. Reverse (Reverses your signal) 05. Pitch Shifter 06. Flanger 07. Slap back 08. Env Filter 09. Chorus 10. Tremolo 11. Looper (Activates the looper - Sanpera Footswitch needed) The amp also has a three-band EQ with pre and post gain controls as well as a built in tuner. // 9

Sound: For a solid-state modeling amp the Peavey Vypyr 30 can produce some great tones. The amp has "transtube technology" created by Peavey which helps emmulate analog distortion and cause breakup at high volumes to give the amp a more tube-like feel. The Peavey Vypyr 30 is one of the best amps in it's price range as far as versatility. It can cover anything from cleans and blues, to high gain metal, and everything in between. I played a Schecter C1-Plus through this amp and it sounded amazing. Even a Squier can produce a decent tone out of this amp as opposed to the 10W starter amp it comes with it. I'm one of those people who "play everything" and honestly thats what this amp can do. // 9

Reliability & Durability: The Peavey Vypyr 30 is a pretty solid amp. It weighs around 30lbs and I wouldn't worry too much about its health if it was dropped. The amp will sometimes freeze when switching between the amp and the built in tuner. A few minor software glitches can occur from time to time, nothing to serious however. Both problems can be corrected by using an MIDI-USB cord which you can use to update the software in amp from Peavey's website. // 8

Overall Impression: Whatever style you play, this amp can cover. I've been playing guitr for almost three years now. If you plan of using the Looper you MUST buy either the Sanpera I ($100) or the Sanpera II ($200) pedal, otherwise the Looper can not be used. The positive aspects about this amp is its versatility and sound (for an amp in it's price range) and its negative aspects are the software glitches (minor). I compared this amp to a Line 6 Spider III (yawn), which the Vypy ultimately blew away as far as sound and versatility (not suprising). // 8

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9.8
Vypyr 30 Reviewed by: osXtiger, on august 12, 2009
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Price paid: £ 200

Purchased from: GAK

Features: This is a new amp, and Peaveys' first attempt at a modeller amp too if I'm correct. This thing is a modeller. If you want Joe Satriani, it will do it, if you want a bit of classic rock, go for it. She will cover pretty much everything pretty damn well. Every amp model that it has, has a dirty and "clean" setting. For the cleanest sound, go for a Fender Twin Reverb. It has one headphone socket and one Auxiliary socket. But the weird thing is that they aren't of jack size. they are of the typical headphone socket size, which in my opinion is pretty weird. It has a selection of stompboxes to use, a nice selection of amps to choose from, a large selection of effects to choose from such as an octaver, flanger, delay, reverb, slapback ect. and you can change the mid low and high frequencies as you like. I mostly use this amp in my bedroom, and I can't turn this thing past one, because it gets LOUD REALLY fast. I've only played small gigs, and it's sufficiently loud enough on 2-3, and this thing goes to 13! My opinion is that this is best suited to medium sized gigs. And if you want large gigs, either get the 75 watt, or send it through a PA system. // 10

Sound: The style of music I tend to write is either bluesy, classic rock or hard rock. And it suits it fine. It can accept effects pedals quite well for the most part (things like wah especially well.) However there does appear to be a slight problem with it. It seems to like to compensate for whatever pedal I use. I can't quite describe what the amp is doing exactly, and it is most definitely NOT my imagination. This is not much of a problem, as it takes a few hours for the amp to fully "compensate" the way it does. And all you have to do is re-set it and it's perfectly fine again. It can produce a heavy metal like sound, but the guitar I use (G-400) it seems too tinny, however an EQ adjustment on the amp will do. It will cover virtually any genre you want it to very well. The Twin Reverb model is CLEAN. Seriously, you want clean, you can HAVE clean man! The distortion is pretty damn good too, depending on the model, it can be a subtle crunch, or a harsh grating sound. And if it isn't quite harsh enough, this thing can emulate a tube screamer, or a fuzzbox. // 10

Reliability & Durability: This amp is closing on it's first birthday, and there are no signs of wear or tear on the outside. I am debating to myself whether or not the knobs are made of plastic or metal. They are a degree or two below room temperature, which suggests metal, but they are light (but not flimsy) which indicates plastic. I am not %100 comfortable using this without backup. Why? Well there isn't really much reason, but I KNOW this thing is dependable, but there is a nagging feeling at the very back of my mind. But this thing hasn't shown ANY signs of breaking down or the programming going haywire. // 9

Overall Impression: If you are undecided on what genre you are, and want/need versatility, then get this, no other modeller touches this. The only 2 amps which are comparable are the Roland cube, and the Vox Valvetronix. But if you want MORE stuff and MORE versatility, then get this amp. It can't be beat for versatility. But if you are "slightly" specialised in a handful of genres, then get the Roland or the Vox. And if you are specialized then get a specialized amp. If this was stolen, and if I was still unsure about what genre I prefer to play. I would TOTALLY get another one. However I have started to specialize in certain genres and am going to be looking for a more specialized amp. Oh. And if you turn it on without plugging a guitar into it. It does a light show, which I highly reccomend watching whilst HEAVILY intoxicated. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 10
Vypyr 30 Reviewed by: Johnny Lingo, on february 15, 2010
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Price paid: C$ 250

Purchased from: Axe Music

Features: This amplifier is one of the Vypyr series by Peavey, which won Product of the Year. Rightfully so, as I have used Line 6's before and this amp blows them away. Being a modeling amp, versatility is why it was built and it really models so many good amps well. Features: * 30 watts (rms) * One 12" custom voiced modeling speaker * Four channels * WYSIWYG (What You See Is What You Get) technology * True analog distortion * Tap tempo switch * 24 amp channel models * 11 editable pre-amplifier Stompbox" effects * 11 editable Rack" effects * 12 onboard programmable presets * Up to 400 presets and five FX simultaneously with optional Sanpera II footswitch * 32-bit floating point Sharc processor * Patented TransTube technology * Studio quality headphone out * Chromatic tuner * Onboard looper with optional Sanpera footswitch * MIDI In/Out * MP3/CD/Aux input // 10

Sound: Models so many amps so well it is a must for a musician that requires versatility. The effects, stompbox models, reverb and delay are really excellent, and unless you are really effects intensive in style, there are most things you would want from a pedal board, with nearly as much variety of tone/sound as individual pedals. Performance is excellent and quiet and at 30 watts, it is loud enough for a small bar or hall. Plenty for jamming, praticing or recording. // 10

Reliability & Durability: This model of Vypyr is solid state digital technology, so it is totally reliable and durable, very suitable for gigging. Mine has not twitched at all since I bought it and is solidly put together. Peavey does make excellent equipment with a definite emphasis on durabiliy. // 10

Overall Impression: I've been playing guitar and bass for 30 years, and this amp would have saved me so much time and money when I started. I use the Sanpera I pedal with it in the home studio and jamming, but live the Sanpera II is needed for quick access to controls in live situations. Then is really does surpass many pedal boards.I would recommend this amp to anyone who wanted/needed a modeling amp or was just starting out, and it's bigger brothers if needed. I am absolutely impressed! // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9.3
Vypyr 30 Reviewed by: RockenChich, on january 07, 2010
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Price paid: $ 200

Purchased from: Musicians Friend

Features: Hi! I bought this amp about a week ago and it's impressed me in every aspect. It has 12 different amp models, 21 different effects. It has a looper (works only with the Pantera foot pedal), it has a built in tuner, delay and reverb. You can have four different efect going on at the same time. Some of the awesome effects are reverser, which makes all the sounds coming from your guitar go out backwards. Another effect is the auto-wah, which generates a wammey bar sound. Also, you can have 12 presets saved on this amp. // 10

Sound: All I can say about sound is LOUD! I am using this amp as a bedroom practice amp and i usually have it set to about 1 or .5 out of 13. Once I've turned it up to about 4 and I couldn't be in the same room. I play mostly punk rock or just rock, and it fits my every need. If you look around on the web, you can find settings to make it sound like other major rockers. I made a Van Halen setting for one of my presets and it sounds just like the real thing. This amp makes a great death metal sound too. // 10

Reliability & Durability: I would take this amp to a small gig anytime! As I said before, this amp gets mad loud. It hasn't done any weird things for me, its been running perfectly so far. The only bad thing about this amp is the headphone jack. You have to turn it up to like 7 before you hear anything, so if your earphones get unplugged, you get blasted! Also, unless you have good earphones, the quality is kinda bad. That's why i'm giving this area a 7. // 7

Overall Impression: This is a great amp, for almost any genre. Go buy it today! I would definitely go and buy it again if it was stolen. It has way more effects than the Line 6, and it has a way cool light show. Overall 10/10! The only thing better possible about this amp would be if it would play for me! // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9.5
Vypyr 30 Reviewed by: offspringfan41, on april 01, 2010
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Price paid: C$ 300

Purchased from: Cosmo Music

Features: The Peavey Vypyr is a solid state modeling amp. It has a headphone jack.It has 12 amp channels modeling famous amps including the Fender Twin and Peavey 6505. It has 12 effects and 12 "stompboxes" (effects). This does not include Delay and Reverb. Delay, reverb, a stompbox, and an an effect can all be used simultaniously. The most useful are Tubescream, Tremolo, Phaser, Flanger, and Chorus. There are also some crazy effects such as Reverse (which plays what play backwards) and Octaver (which plays the note you play one or two octaves lower). Out of these 24 effects, some have little use. All of these effects are customizable by two knobs in which the purpose will vary depending on the effect. For example, the auto wah stompbox has one for depth and one for speed. The amp also has pre gain and post gain knobs and a three band equalizer. It also has 3 banks of 4 presets (12) to save your settings. If you buy a sanpara footswitch, you can Switch between what will now be 250 presets, use the looper, and control the wah. All of these features are amazing for a $300 amp and the variety of tones will suit any genre (with the right amount of tweaking). // 10

Sound: I am using an Ibanez RG370DX with stock pick-ups. It is a $500 guitar new made for rock. This amp at times can be really noisy, espeically when sitting/standing near it and/or using a high gain channel. There are software updates though that are meant to fix this though I am not sure that they do much. This amp can produce a variety of tones.I think that the clean tones on this amp are of higher quality than the distorted, but the distortion has more variety.The clean channel does not distort very quickly. // 9

Reliability & Durability: I have had this amp for 6 months and nothing has happened. It is well built and if you treat it well, there is no need to worry. If I was gigging with this I would go without a backup. This might not be a high enough wattage for gigging depending on where you are preforming. It is an open-back amp and therefore isn't too heavy. // 10

Overall Impression: I play mostly pop-punk and punk rock such as green day and sum 41. I sometimes play heavier or lighter music. This suits my music style well. As with all solid state amps, these will not sound amazing. But if you are beginner looking for a decent amp this will suit you great! Moving up from a horrible ION 15 watt practice amp with one channel, I thought this was amazing! If it was stolen or lost, I would not buy it again as I hope to move up to a tube amp but I would reccomend it to anybody looking for a cheap 30 watt amp. I only compared to the Line 6 spider 3 and chose this as it was a better deal, has more features and the distortion on the spider sounds like crap. I wish the sanpara was included though. // 9

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 7.5
Vypyr 30 Reviewed by: Stts125, on november 15, 2010
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Price paid: $ 199

Purchased from: Guitar Center

Features: I got the amp in December 2009 and assume it was made earlier that year. It's Peavey's first entry into the modeling amp category. 30 watts, solid state. 12" Blue Marvel Speaker. It has 12 amp models each with 2 channels (for 24 total), 12 stompbox effects, and 11 rack effects (12 if you have a footswitch, which activates the looper). It has editable parameters for each effect, and editable pre-gain, post-gain, and low mid and high EQs, as well as reverb and tap-tempo delay. It also has a line in and headphone/record out jacks. It's probably one of the most tonally diverse amps on the market, allowing you to mess with effects you'd normally have to pay for. It also seems to have a built-in noise gate to an extent. It's a lot of stuff, but it proves that Peavey has tone customizing down to a science. Unfortunately, the volume knob is a bit too much, showing that you can crank it up to 13, but it gets quieter and distorted as you pass 10. // 8

Sound: The clean channels are by far the selling points of this amp. My favorite is the Fender Twin channel on clean. It's very dark and warm, which sounds nice through my Schecter Damien 6 and sounds VERY smooth with my friend's Les Paul. I use this setting to play stuff from John Mayer to RHCP. Using the Fender Deluxe dirty channel, you can somehow receive acoustic-like tones. There's also a British channel, which is unique in its own nature. I don't notice any distortion on the clean channels when cranked, and it's very quiet when there's nothing being played. The distortion channel, on the other hand, is another story. It seems to make any guitar- even my Schecter with its stock EMG-HZ passives (they're very good!)- sound like a mudded mess. It also produces a lot of unneeded noise, and has no backbone to it. When I got the amp, I had only been playing 6 months through an Ibanez 10 Watt starter amp and originally thought the distortion was an upgrade. Now, I never use the distortion channels, sometimes finding myself using a Boss MT-2 on the Twin setting or, shockingly, using the same pedal in my Ibanez amp! Stay clean with this one. // 6

Reliability & Durability: Being that it's only 30 watts, it could never stand any gig without serious miking But for practice/rehearsal with my band, it stands up very well when cranked. I haven't dropped it, but it feels like it can survive a minor fall. Great use of materials, and a really nice handle to carry with. // 9

Overall Impression: For when I play Alternative, Rock, and Metal, the distortion just won't cut it. Its too much highs and nowhere NEAR enough bottom end But as a practice/experimenting amp (on the clean channel), it's loaded with necessary effects that all sound good, and even some fun ones that you would have no use for, but are great to play with. It's great for when I play some Alternative/Jazzy stuff, as well as the Acoustic stuff you find on the internets. Clean Tone-Freaks will go crazy over the deep, warm lows and the punchy, staccato highs, as well as mids for all in between. Great effort by Peavey. Just work on the distortion for a while. // 7

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9.3
Vypyr 30 Reviewed by: Guitar2theface, on april 15, 2009
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Price paid: $ 200

Purchased from: Guitar Center

Features: This amp is extremely versatile. In this one amp, there are 12 different amp model tones. It can do anything from a real hot, dirty sound to a really nice clean tone, and anything in between. This thing has 22 different effects, including an auto-wah (basically it just constantly does a wah thing, not too good), various distortions, a chorus effect, a flanger, delay, and tons of other stuff. It has a looper but you can't use it without a pedal. I haven't tried it myself. It takes headphones that work with iPods and MP3s in case you're too extreme for your roommates and neighbors. // 9

Sound: I use an Epiphone Les Paul Standard, and it works really well with the Peavey, both are pretty versatile. It suits whatever I wanna play, from Guns N' Roses, to Led Zeppelin, to more modern stuff. Now, you're not going to get exactly what it sounds like, but if you mess around with the settings, you can get pretty close. The clean channel on some of the built in amp models goes pretty loud without starting to get scratchy, on the flip side, the heavier amp models, with high gain and overdrive, is absolutely destroying. // 9

Reliability & Durability: This thing has never broken down on me yet, but I've only had it for a year. I'd gig with it without a backup. Only thing I have with it is that I have to turn it on and off a couple times before it works on a cold day. 3-5 times depending on how cold it is, works straight away on warmer days though. // 10

Overall Impression: I generally play rock from the 70s-90s, and it works with any of that. it's extremely versatile, and it comes with a ton of effects. Although the effects aren't as good or convenient as a couple pedals, it's great if you don't have money for them, or the whole song uses that distortion or something. I tried out 3-5 different amps, including a Fender amp (pretty decent) and a Marshall MG (30 watt I think?), and I kinda liked the tone from them but they just don't have the dozen different amp model tones that this one has. If it was stolen or lost, and I had to get something from this price range, I'd definately get this again. // 9

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9.3
Vypyr 30 Reviewed by: unregistered, on april 30, 2009
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Price paid: $ 199.99

Purchased from: Local Music Store

Features: Amp was made in 2008. The amp is very versatile, and has a ton of different tones to choose from. I take a jazz theory class, and really enjoy the clean tones. But, I also love metalcore, so the amp does get a bit of a workout from two different angles. The amp has three banks with four channels in each. So in essence you have the possibility of having 12 amp setups. The amp has a helpful headphone jack for solo practice, and even though it's only 30 watts, it is very loud. I think this could easily keep up with a drummer, unless he was absolutely killing the drums. One thing that is starting to disappoint me about Peavey is the fact that they are not including foot switches with some of their products. The other thing is that to gain access to all the features, you have to purchase the Sanpera 1 or 2, with the latter setting you back about $180. My experience with the foot pedal is that it doesn't function near as fluidly as I would have liked, and to be honest I tend to just use my DigiTech RP500 for effects switching. This amp is full solid state, although they due offer a tube version also. // 10

Sound: I am playing a Schecter C-1 Blackjack with a Seymour Duncan JB in the bridge position, and a 59 in the neck position. The amp suits my style well, especially the cleans. You have a number of nice models to choose from. The Deluxe Reverb, Twin Reverb, BadCat, and Classic 50 models all have great cleans. The Deluxe, and the BadCat are especially warm. The amp also has gain to spare. The BadCat overdrive channel is probably one of the best crunch sounds I have ever heard. I would love to play a real one. Now, this is where my disappointment come in. The high gain channels have plenty of gain, and the EQ works well, but my biggest complaint I believe lies with the speaker. My amp doesn't hardly have any low end oomph. This leaves the high gain setting sounding shrill and sterile in my opinion. The amp has a 12 inch Peavey Blue Marvel speaker in it, and I think that it would benefit greatly from either a Celestion Vintage 30, or an Eminence Swamp Thang. I understand that a 30 watt amp isn't going to rattle my rib cage, but this amp is modeling a Krankenstien, 505, and an XXX to name a few. But this lacks any low end chug for palm muted riffing. I mean Who wants to play a breakdown and have it sound thin. I know I usually like a resonating thick low end, but that's just me. The mids, and highs are bright and articulate, but in my opinion the amp lacks severely in the low end. One the effects side, I have found them to all be very nice. I wish there was a little more options as far as delay. I do have a complaint as far as the Tube Screamer model goes, it seems to lack sustain and cuts off my tone like there is a gate on it. Not sure why. The amp is a bit noisy on the high gain side, but then again it is modeling high gain. A built in noise gate would have been nice, but I just use the gate on my RP500 and it is nice and silent. // 8

Reliability & Durability: I have had several Peavey products, and I have never had a problem with a single one. The amp is built well, and the only concern that I have is that the knobs seem a little frail. On the other hand, I take very good care of my equipment, so I don't see any major problems arising soon. // 10

Overall Impression: I study jazz, and enjoy it a great deal. The amp excels in this area with great cleans. If this amp had more low end oomph, I say it would be near perfect for someone wanting to capitalize of a multitude of tones. I wish I had cranked it a bit more prior to buying. I assumed that the lack of low end was due to low volume, but I was wrong. Probably my favorite feature is the BadCat model. It is simply awesome, and I yearn to play a real one. Even with my minor dislikes taken into consideration, this amp blows all other modeling amps away. This makes the Line 6 Spider III look like a toy amp. // 9

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9
Vypyr 30 Reviewed by: Sandman11, on june 10, 2010
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Price paid: $ 200

Purchased from: Guitar Center

Features: I bought this amp in early May of 2010. It was either made in 2010 or late 2009, but I got it brand new, so no worries there. This review may be a tad long, but since I read all the reviews on here before buying it, I'll be sure to address some things other reviews didn't. The amp, like everybody has probably already told you, has 12 amp models with a red and a green channel for each. Some of them, like the DLX, based off a Fender Deluxe Reverb, have a clean and a slightly hot-rodded crunch, while others, like the XXX, based on a Peavey Triple X (my personal favorite), have a clean and a full out distortion; still others, like the REC, which is based off a Mesa Dual Rectifier, have a crunch and then a super high gain channel. Then, on top of the amp models are a ridiculous amount of effects, all of which work surprisingly well. There are two kinds: stompbox and rack. The stompboxes feature such effects as a tube screamer, (which is by far the best stompbox), BC Chorus, auto wah, analog flange, analog phase, squeeze (compressor), and a few other odd effects that I don't much care for, but I'm not much of an effects guy. The Rack effects are basically a higher sensitivity and more in-depth kind of effect, featuring an octaver, real flange, chorus, and phase, tremolo, and a really cool slapback effect which is basically a different kind of reverb than what comes standard. And yes, reverb comes standard, separate from the other effects, as well as a seperate delay, all of which are very rich and effective. However, the Delay can be a bit too much when turned up. Every effect is customizable, FYI. There's more than just an off and on or a measure of "how much". Each effect has two parameters that can be individually adjusted. Nice touch. One complaint however is that the presets for the amp models are pretty crappy in most cases. you have to tweak the settings to find what sounds good to your ears, but trust me, tweak those settings a bit (it's very customizable) and BAM. This thing can really sing. DO NOT base your judgment on the amp model presets. The headphone jack is OK, but you have to turn the amp up a pretty good amount to be able to hear it properly, so make sure your headphones don't come unplugged or look out, because the speaker is LOUD on this thing. (it may just be my headphones, not sure yet) // 8

Sound: I have a pretty crappy guitar. It was a cheap-o strat knock off I got from my parents as a Christmas present, and this amp totally rescues the guitar. I play anything from country to blues to classic rock to Thrash to Metalcore, and this amp can do it all. The cleans do NOT distort at high volumes, unless you want them to. In which case, use the tube screamer to get a bit of subtle bluesy breakup with agressive playing, but cleans with gentle playing. A little delay on a crunch Rectifier model or a crunch XXX and I can get beautiful singing lead tones, anything from Slash-esque tones to a spot-on "Fade to Black" kind of sound. The review questions ask "How Brutal is the distortion?" which made my day. To answer that, IT'S F***ING MURDEROUS. totally brutal if you scoop the mids and crank up the post-gain. You have to get it past 1 on the volume (it goes to 13 for some reason...) for it to properly break up though. Beware. That being said, I give it a ten because this amp has tons of tonal variety. Very organic and real sounding. Surprising for a modeling amp. NOTE: One of the previous reviewers said that this amp doesn't have enough bass and can't do chugging palm muted riffs, but he must not have touched the EQ settings. Trust me. I've rattled windows with this baby. // 10

Reliability & Durability: I haven't had it for very long, so I would encourage readers to read other reviews of reviewers that have had it for some time. That being said, I have used the tuner, and it has frozen on me once. I normally don't use the tuner, so it's not an issue for me. I have a Korg tuner I normally use, so I don't particularly care. My advice is this: don't buy an amp because of the functionality of the tuner. Get a real tuner. // 8

Overall Impression: If you're looking for versatility, this is the amp to have. I played several amps at the guitar stores and the Peavey was easily better than the rest. Line 6's Spiders don't have the same natural and authentic tone, and Marshall MGs don't come close. The Voxes and other amps at the store didn't have nearly as many features, so if you want to be able to rock without breaking the bank, Vypyr is the way to go. I love the tubescreamer. Try it in front of a clean XXX model on your bridge pickup great bluesy rumble. I would definitely buy new one if stolen, and the only thing I wish they included was a footswitch. I don't gig, so it's not an issue for me, But giggers beware, the Sanpera II footswitch for this (the only one that is very functional, anyway) is the same price as the amp. 200 bucks. Yikes. So you can't use the looper without another $200 being slapped on you. I like to play anything. Metal, classic rock, punk, blues, and even some country. This amp can do it all if you figure out how to properly use the settings. If you have any questions about settings or anything about this amp, don't hesitate to ask, because this amp is well worth it. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9.5
Vypyr 30 Reviewed by: spencer_darling, on june 16, 2010
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Price paid: $ 200

Purchased from: guitar center

Features: Peavey's reputation follows them with there extremely well balanced products the Vyper 30 watt is highly versatile. It can play smooth jazz to soulful blues and funk. This is made possible by its many amp selections. Users can Switch amps easily and quick. You can make amp selection faster by using presets. There are 12 presets on this amp (presets can by set by holding the preset buton until the light blinks). This amp also features an array of stomp boxes built into the amp. Peavy has also built effects into this amp everything from phaser to rotating speaker. This amp has a recording output and a headphone jack. This amp is compatable with the Sampera foot pedal which changes the whole game for this amp. This amp all around for the price has outstanding features. // 10

Sound: I've ran everything from an expensive Ibanez Rg with infinity pickups to a Squier Strat and even a Kramer with single coils. I had no trouble finding distortion this amp drips heavy sound, but on the other hand you turn the amp selection knob and now I'm playing ballads and blues turn on an effect now I'm playing poppy funk. Now I've always heard that digital amps can't back there sound up with some punch with the vypyrs tube amp like quality this amp can't pump out some bass. Overall the sound is very versatile and for the price extraordinary. This amp is a very good amp but its not a $5000 dollar stack amp but it sounds extraordinary for the price I have recorded with this amp and you couldn't tell the difference between this amp and a more expensive more commercialized amp. // 9

Reliability & Durability: This amp has never failed me I play a couple gigs a week with it. I've dropped it with the amp cable in it and bent the input and it still sounds the same its a really durable amp highly reliable. This amp should last you a while and if you buy it at guitar center its only $20 extra for a gear warranty. // 10

Overall Impression: Great amp best 200 I've ever spent for the price you get an amazing deal if you find a better amp for the price you probably stole it. I recommend this amp highly. It is good for any style of music from metal to blues to punk to 80's glam rock. Overall Peavy has created a great amp. // 9

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9.8
Vypyr 30 Reviewed by: lan3y, on june 23, 2010
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Price paid: £ 149

Purchased from: GAK

Features: I am not sure when this amp was made. It is a 30 watt, solid state amp, it has an aux input for ipods etc and also has an output/headphone socket, these are both Conveniently 3.5mm jacks. This amp has Great versatility, 12 amp models, each with 2 channels (either clean/crunch or crunch/dirty), 12 stompbox effects, and 12 rack effects, this allows for almost any sound to be generated to the player's heart content. The 30 watt has more than enough power and volume to it, it can do practicing easily and can do most small gigs. // 10

Sound: I use a very basic strat copy, three single coil pups, on the high gain settings running on one pickup and not on split can get very noisy with this amp. This amp can easily suit many styles of music from jazz and blues, right the way up to out rightmetal. // 10

Reliability & Durability: To date, this amp has worked perfectly from day one, waiting a second for it to boot up and it's ready to play, everytime, since I brought it last christmas. I would happily use this to gig using the output to go direct to a p.a or using the amp on its own in small venues. // 10

Overall Impression: I play a large variety of music, I brought this amp to help me find my tone and due to its huge variety mentioned earlier it can. I love taking this amp to parties plugging the ipod in and playing along to some tunes, a truly great amp. Overall a great amp for a guitar player who has been playing with a starter set and is looking for his native tone, this amp really does have it all, a step up from this would be moving on to a tube amp. // 9

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9
Vypyr 30 Reviewed by: grimmis667, on june 29, 2010
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Price paid: $ 200

Purchased from: amazon.com

Features: Amp was made in 2008 but it feels like it was made in 2028. Peavey isn't kidding when they say how versatile this amp is. There's hundreds of different settings. The stompbox/effect, delay and post-gain knobs even go between levels (3.5, 8.5, etc.). The headphone jack holds up pretty well, though I wish it had two. It's solid state and solid structure, however, some may find it a bit on the heavy side. Also, I don't know if it's unusual or not, but there isn't a back cover (at least not on mine) lastly, it gets f***ing LOUD! It's not the biggest amp but it really packs a punch so you may not want to crank the volume to 13 in a samall quiet place such as your room(yes it gets that loud but it's difficult for human ears to tell the difference between 11 and 13 when close up to it). // 9

Sound: I use a custom bc rich warbeast with an ebony neck and mother-of-pearl inlays with this amp. The truss rod has been adjusted a little bit and a few components have been tweaked. It now truly sounds beastly, thanks to this magical amp. I play all kinds of things, from metal to alternative. The Vypyr 30 suits pretty much anything you can throw at it as far as I (as well as many others) can tell. It's got more variety than you can imagine though it may take you a bit to find what you want. You can just pick random settings and find all kinds of good tones. There is a bit of feedback issues at high volume with heavy distortion but if you turn in down half a notch it should clear it up. This tiny problem is truly compensated for by the variety and depth of the distortion however. // 9

Reliability & Durability: This amp is extremely dependable. I Jam on it for hours with ZERO issues.never had a breakdown and I've never heard of one either. If you were to do a gig, I wouldn's say you HAVE to bring a backup, but a smart guitarist would bring a backup along regardless. Even a practice amp is better than nothing... // 10

Overall Impression: I mostly play metal and some classical. I experiment with a lot of other types of music as well. I've been playing for three years and this amp seems to suit me perfectly. I LLOOOOOOOVVVEEE this amp! I would never give it up and I would beat the crap out whoever stole it (unless Chuck Norris "borrowed" it. He's allowed to lol). // 8

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 8.3
Vypyr 30 Reviewed by: bygkok, on august 11, 2010
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Features: The Vypyr 30 is a small solid state modeling amp. It is extremely versatile due to the fact it has multiple amp sounds, rack effects, and stomp box effects. It also has a clean and gain channel for each of the 12 amps it models (all of which are other Peavey models i believe.) I use it mainly to play at home and it is not quite loud enough to keep up with a live drummer. It has a 3.5mm headphone jack (also can be used to connect to a PC and record) and a 3.5mm aux input also. I do wish it had the USB port like the higher end Vypyr models have. // 8

Sound: I play a LTD KH 202 and a LTD V300...both sound very good through this amp...however no matter how I tried I couldn't get an amp generated distortion that I really LOVED. I like to play mostly metal and either the distortion is just not quite crunchy enough...or becomes overly thick and undefined...but then again I'm very picky with my distortion sound. The clean channels vary greatly from amp to amp also. From a dull sound on amps like the DLX and DZL to a bright crispy clean on the Twin. The amp has quite a few different effects including: delay, chorus, phase, rotating speaker, auto wah, flange, octaver, and a bunch more. It also has a looper but it cannot be used without buying the $100 Sanpera 1 footswitch. // 7

Reliability & Durability: It is fairly dependable but I would not use it on a gig because it just doesn't have the juice...although Peavey has these all the way up to 2X12 120W...so maybe one day I will upgrade. The amp has never broken down or anything, but I haven't had it very long. // 9

Overall Impression: This amp is a good match for any style of music. I have been playing for most of my life off and on and this is definitely the funnest amp I've ever owned. If this were lost or stolen I would definitely upgrade to one of the larger tube Vypyrs. All of the effects are my favorites. I love just dialing something in and seeing where the effect takes me! I bought this amp because of all of the toys and it was well worth the money. I wish I had the footswitch for it and I also wish it had the USB port like the higher end Vypyr models. // 9

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 8
Vypyr 30 Reviewed by: vidieowiz4, on november 22, 2010
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Price paid: $ 200

Purchased from: Internet

Features: This amp was a huge step up from my Peavey Rage 158 practice amp, It is incredibly versatile. I usually use the 6505 model for Hard Rock and Metal (Van Halen, Scorpions, Ozzy Ozbourne etc..) and the Marshall Plxi has a real nice clean tone. Its got 12 amps and 11 Stompboxes which can be used to recreate many artists sounds. It was a little hard to use at fist but over time I got used to it. You can save up to 12 settings on the amp (many more with the optional Sanpera Pedal, which also enables the looper) another handy feature I like is the audio input that I plug my MP3 in to play backtracks. // 8

Sound: I am using an Epiphone Special II primarily and also a Stratocaster, and it sounds terrific. One thing I love about this amp is that its very loud. It goes to 13 and I overpower the drums at 4! The only downside is that the amps don't have very good cruch tones, though the clean channels were better than I expected. // 7

Reliability & Durability: I have heard alot about this amp being unreliable, but after 4 months of alot of use (and travelling) it has yet to fail me (even after many drops)I don't really do anything in way of service other than not turning it on for more than 5-6 hours (it does get a little hot after a while). // 8

Overall Impression: I have been playing for about 2 years and I would definatly buy this amp again, it is the best you can get for it's price. My favourite feature is probably the pitch shifter which can come in handy for 2 part guitar songs being played with one guitar (example: Rock you Like a Hurricane intro, Hotel California outro)my least favorite is the wah mainly because I prefer the sound from my Cry Baby pedal. The only thing I wish was better was that the audio out had better sound quality, it doesn't sound very good directly plugging into a computer, or through headphones. // 9

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 8.8
Vypyr 30 Reviewed by: AaronIsCrunchy, on january 11, 2011
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

Price paid: £ 100

Features: Firstly, I don't actually know what year this was made in, so I'm very sorry. This amp is OK for all types of music, specialising in rock and blues if I had to choose specific genres. As a jazz amplifier, it is decent, but sometimes the tones are too harsh for playing it (my guitar probably doesn't help this). It has one channel, meaning that channel switching is pointless, and has a headphone jack as well as an auxiliary jack and a connection for the Sanpera pedal. I wish that it had a second channel, but for an amplifier for the price it was I wasn't expecting it to. Part of me wishes it was a valve amp, but I know that it couldn't have all the cool effects if it was. // 7

Sound: I am using this amplifier with a Vintage SG300 (I think), normally on bridge but sometimes on neck. I have also recently taken to using the mid pickup selection, which I have discovered to be excellent with this amp. I normally play metal, and it is alright for this genre, if a little bit 'blurred' on the preset metal tones. As with all amps (from my experience), this becomes noisy quickly, and therefore is sometimes difficult to use at home. It can make a huge selection of effects, which I will list here, as I'm boring like that: Phaser, reverse, rotating speaker, octaver, pitch shifter, envelope filter (a kind of phaser), flanger, bass boost, two distortion boosts, chorus, tremolo, and more besides. The clean channel is distorted on the metal settings, as they are not expected to be used very frequently, but on most of the lower gain settings, they are very pleasant. The distortion on the high end is ridiculous, and you can have fun if you don't mind a bit of note blurring here and there. // 9

Reliability & Durability: I have never experienced a problem with this amp. After dropping it down a flight of stairs accidently, I discovered it is very durable, and I would certainly use it without backup at a gig. I score it perfectly, as it is solidly built, works consistently, and is generally brilliant in this field. // 10

Overall Impression: For metal playing, my dream amp is a Blackstar, but as I am on a budget, and cannot afford one of those beauties, I have found this a reliable and decent gigging amp. I have been playing for 7 years now (I am 15 at the time of typing), and own two electrics (my other being a Squier Strat), two nylon string guitars (one in serious need of renovation but beautiful nevertheless). I love the way that you can change relatively seamlessly between two different 'tones', but dislike the very fine volume control. I compared it to a Line 6 30W amp, but chose this due to it's reputation in metal circles. In short, a good, usable guitar for all genres with only a couple of small niggles. // 9

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 7.3
Vypyr 30 Reviewed by: edvin-englund, on july 15, 2011
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Price paid: $ 400

Purchased from: Local music store

Features: The Peavey Vypyr has plenty of features for all styles of music, but it really feels like Peavey has put more attention to quantity than quality on the Vypyr. There are 11 stomp boxes, 12 amps (each with 2 channels) and 11 rack effects simulated on the Vypyr, it also has pre gain, treble, mid, and bass, post gain, digital reverb, master volume, aux in and a headphone jack. You can play anything from smooth jazz to hardcore metal cycling through the different settings, but as said, it won't do anything well. I mainly play clean blues to a little more crunchy classic rock, think SRV to Led Zeppelin, but sometimes I just mess around and try to get ridiculous sounds, it can do the latter pretty alright, but the others, meeh. You can't blame the amp for its features. The one thing I miss is tubes! But there is a tube version of this amp also if you want a warmer sound. // 9

Sound: I use an Epiphone Sheraton II with humbucker pickups. As said I try to get SRV to Led Zeppelin tones, theese can be reached pretty OKAY by having patcience and cycling through settings, but I have now bought a new amp which is much better for blues and crucnh tones. On the other side, this amp can do more distorted sounds pretty good. Sometimes I play some Van Halen stuff wich this amp handels great, it can also get a really, really distorted sound if you tweak all the settings, but then the sound will get a bit noisy. If you are in to bluesey stuff, look elsewhere, but if you are more of a metalhead with a tight budget, you might have found your amp! I'll give this a 6 because of the fact that it can handle distorted sounds pretty good, but if it would have been a rating of personal taste, it would have gotten a 4. // 6

Reliability & Durability: If I were to gig with this amp, I wouldn't bring a backup, even if I had one. From what I know solid-state amps won't break in an instance very often. I have had this amp for about a year now and haven't had a single problem until a week ago, when I ALMOST maxed it out in the garage just to see how loud it went, it went pretty loud but now there is an irritating rattle whenever I play. But I guess that is kinda my fault, no amps feels good by getting maxed out. // 7

Overall Impression: When I was going to buy a new amp a year ago, I wasn't very experienced at all, by then I had only been playing electric guitar for a little more than a year and I had to make a choise between this an a Line6 spider which sucks big time as any guitar player ought to know. Compared to the line6, I thought this amp was freaking awesome. If this amp was lost or stolen, I would not care much, because I have a new amp. Don't be scared by my review if you plan on buying this, it is actually a pretty descent amp if your'e in to hard rock or metal. // 7

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 7.5
Vypyr 30 Reviewed by: DemonicTurtle66, on july 25, 2011
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Price paid: $ 200

Purchased from: Musician's Friend

Features: Before you read my review I would like to say that this 30 watt amp is the loudest I have ever used and, I've never used a tube amp. So my opinion on how good this amp sounds is probably really limited. Anyways onto the review: This amp is very versatile. It has 11 stompboxes, 12 amp settings, and 11 effects and a built in tuner. All of these can be combined and tweaked separately for some really cool sounding crazy combinations. This one amp can emulate any artist's/band's sound and tone. Having one amp that can achieve that many different tones and sounds is pretty amazing. I'm not going to list what each setting it, because someone already did that. I will say that all of the stompboxes, amp channels, and effects are excellent. I use this in my bedroom, and I've honestly never taken it louder than a 3. The only reason I'm not giving this a 10 in features is because I'm sure the amp doesn't replicate the quality and sound of the actual stompboxes and amps perfectly, but you can't really complain when you're getting all of this stuff in one package for $200. The other reason is that you cannot use the loop feature without purchasing the Sanpera pedal. // 9

Sound: I'm using an Ibanez IJX40 jumpstart guitar. The amp works great for a beginner player. I'm playing all kinds of music. Everything from blues to rock to death metal. The great thing about this amp is that it can emulate so many sounds for so many different genres of music. The amp sounds great, but like I said before I've never played on a tube amp, and this is the best amp I've used to date. So far I've only used the amp channels on the left hand side, because the ones on the right don't really sound all that great. The amp channels on the left sound great on their clean settings, and they also sound great on their distorted settings too. The amp channels on the right sound ok for some lightly distorted light rock type stuff, but I still think the left channels sound better. The distortion sounds great. Even my mediocre beginner guitar sounds great through this amp. I could sit here all day and talk about the different sounds you could get out of this thing, but you can't really appreciate it until you sit down at a guitar shop and try one out. // 7

Reliability & Durability: Before purchasing this amp I did quite a bit of research. People were having many issues with these amps, and it was all caused by the firmware. Updating your firmware to the latest version will fix these problems, but so far I haven't been experiencing the same problems that bothered so many people. The amp has 2 "glitches" though. The first one is that sometimes when switching between presets one preset will save over the other. For example let's say I'm playing on my first preset, and I'll Switch to my second preset. SOMETIMES my first preset will save over my second one, and then I'll have to try to replicate the setting I had and save it again. The second problem is that sometimes my preset settings won't save. I'll find an awesome tone that I love, and then I'll save it, but when I turn the amp back on it is gone. These problems rarely happen, but it seems like they only happen when the amp has been on for 30 minutes or more. They've only happened to me about 10 times, and I've owned the amp for about a year now. I would not gig with this amp without having a backup. // 6

Overall Impression: This amp is excellent for a budget amplifier for a beginner to intermediate guitarist. I just wish I had a better guitar, because I think the amp is being held back from it's full potential. The amp is great for all music genres and styles. It may look confusing at first, but it's actually extremely simple to use. If you need a cheap budget amplifier that can do a whole lot then this is the amp for you. // 8

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9.8
Vypyr 30 Reviewed by: MidniteHaze, on september 07, 2011
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Price paid: $ 217

Purchased from: Guitar Center

Features: So, this was my first amp other than a starter amp. And it has completely floored me. It has 4 channels, you can switch it with the footswitch (which I don't have). It does have a headphone jack, it doesn't sound that good through it. It does have an audio input, which is great for matching tones with your favorite songs. Thsi has so many features, that I can't even think of anything I'd add. I use it as a bedroom amp, but it can easily play small gigs. // 10

Sound: I use a ESP LTD M-400with the dual EMG 81s. Yes I play mostly 70s/80s classic/heavy metal. This amp is perfect for the variety of tones I can get with it. I can go from Judas Priest's 'Sad Wings of Destiny' to 'British Steel' or 'Master of Puppets' in a press of the button. Its not too noisy, the lows are pretty loud. The clean is very nice. You can switch back and forth between distorion and clean channel of the amp model you have it set to, in just a press of the button! Its not digital like the Spiders series at all. The sound actually sounds like the amp its modelling. // 10

Reliability & Durability: I have had this amp for a year and a half, and it doesn't have a scratch on it! I would definitely use this without a backup. The amp has frozen up maybe 3 times since I've gotten it. Its an easy fix, turn off, turn back on. I have stood on this amp, and it hasn't budged! This amp is VERY reliable and EXTREMELY durable! // 10

Overall Impression: Overall, I'm impressed. This can hold any type of tone, for any style of music. I've been playing for 3 years, and this is completely what Iwas looking for. Although, when I first got it, I thought I would use the effects and stompboxes, and, well, I don't use them. I like the presets, and if I got another amp I would miss this one for that. It is hard to create your own tone with this, but this is a great amp to cover songs with. If the amp was stolen, I would definitely get another. This is a great amp even to have when your a pro, because its a small, easy amp to practice with. Loud too! // 9

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 8
Vypyr 30 Reviewed by: PiqSiq Project, on october 14, 2011
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Price paid: C$ 249

Purchased from: Axe Music

Features: I play mostly heavier rock, prog rock and blues, but delve into many styles. The versatiliy of the Peavey Vypyr series of modelling amp is what attracted it to me at first. When I tried a 30 watt model for the first time, I was very impressed. The actual amp models are very good compared to most modelling amps I was trying at the time. The range of effects are quite good and the actual sounds are very good indeed. It has a headphone/line out and line in jacks. The power is good at 30 watts, enough to practice, Jam and even gig in a small venue. // 8

Sound: I mostly play guitars with humbuckers, and mahogany body/neck combos. My style is fairly heavy, but not entirely so versatility in amps and instruments is important. The amp is not very noisy, but that is expected of solid state amps. The fact that it is not a tube amp, however, has it's drawbacks at volume. I am old school and still prefer the crunch and feel of tube distortion, especially live, so the Peavey Vypyr Tube 60 is a better choice for regular gigging. Having said that, the sheer variety of sounds this amp can produce is staggering. I am big fan of the delay/reverb on this unit, as I use these effects a lot and Peavey has done a marvelous job on them. Effects and stompbox sounds are all very good, if not hugely flexible. If you rely on a lot of effects or subtle nuances with them, you would go the route of an effects board with individual pedals anyway, I would guess. Speaker is a 12" Peavey that keeps up pretty good at volume, but again, analog distortion at higher volume is best. Clean models are good, and so are the lower gain classic amp types. All in all, better than any other modelling amp I could find at twice the price. // 8

Reliability & Durability: My Vypyr has been rock solid so far. Apparently some have not been so lucky and have had issues, but the percentage must be fairly low, as this continues to be a fairly popular combo amplifier line. I have used this one for practice, recording, jamming and small gigs without incident. I use a Sanpera pedal with it, as well. This is a must have for this amplifier, as the looper does not work without it, and the pedal for wah/pitch shifting is essential. For regular gigging, I would again upgrade to a Vypyr Tube 60 and a Sanpera II pedal. // 8

Overall Impression: I have been playing for decades, and I have a dozen guitars. I have always been a rocker, but the last few years have broadened my horizons. Now I do prog rock, hard rock/metal, some classic rock, and a fair amount of blues. Because of this, I needed an amp with a wide range of models that were fairly true to original, and a bank of effects that would replace a bunch of specialized pedals or a multi-effects pedal. Not only that, I wanted it to sound as good as possible loud and be usable gigging. I asked much, but I found it in this Vypyr 30 and a Sanpera pedal to control the functions. I love the huge variety AND quality of models and effects. Not much to hate about it. My favorite thing abou this amp is the QUALITY of models and effects.I checked into Line 6, Marshall and Fender modelling amps, but for the price, I got the best I could with the most versatilty. If I start gigging regularly again, I will upgrade to the Vypyr Tube 60 and a Sanpera II pedal, to be fully functional for stage work, but I would not hesitate to take this rig on the road. // 8

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9.5
Vypyr 30 Reviewed by: unregistered, on may 04, 2012
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Price paid: $ 150

Purchased from: Used (with sanpera I)

Features: I bought this amp a couple years ago off of craigslist, so I'm not quite sure when it made. When I bough it it was in perfect condition. Obviously, as a modeling amp the Vypyr is very versatile. I've used it in the worship band at my church, and in my heavy rock band. It'll do anything. It has 3 banks with 4 channels each, but with the Sanpera II pedal this goes up to 200 channels. Let me just say this: the amp is useless without the pedal. Unless you're only planning on using it at home or in the studio, don't buy it without the pedal. That said, with the pedal it's amazing, and I rarely need more than the 4 channels readily available with my Sanpera I. It has a headphone jack/record out, which I have used exactly once (I'll talk about that later). I rarely use this at home. The volume knob is very sensitive below about 4, resulting very loud sounds. Anything over 1 is too loud for home, and anything under 2 doesn't produce the tone I want. See the dilemma? This is not a practice amp! I wish it had a power sponge like the higher watt models. It's solid state, but has true analog distortion, (not just emulating it like other reviews say) and uses Peavey's transtube technology. Not quite as warm as a real tube amp, but very close. // 9

Sound: I mainly use a Fender MIM fat strat, and sometimes an Ibanez RG2EX2. Its sounds great. It'll do just about anything, from crystal clear cleans on the Twin amp setting, to harsh distortion on 5150. It'll buzz some on high-gain settings, as will any amp. If you crank the pre/post gains on certain clean amp settings it will start to break up, which I love. This is also easy not to do. For those of you struggling to dial in the right tones, check out vypyrsettings.fr. // 10

Reliability & Durability: This amp has let me down once. This was 100% my fault however. This goes back to the headphone jack. I left a 1/4 inch converter in, hit it, and until I got it fixed it was convinced that headphones were always in. This says nothing about the amp, only my clumsiness. The only concern I have is that one of the screw holding the handle on stripped, so not I have to carry it like a box, but that's not really a concern. I have no hesitation gigging this without a backup, mostly because I don't have a backup, but it has also never let me down. // 10

Overall Impression: I play everything from quiet church music to borderline metal. It works no matter what if you know how to dial in the tone you want. I've been playing for about 8 years now (I'm 15). I've use similar amps like the Line 6 Spider, which sounds very thin, and the flextone, which is comparable. The Vypyr blows the spider out of the water, and I prefer it over the flextone as well. I'm actually currently looking to replace it with something simpler, but not because of the actual amp. Running a pedalboard through this would be redundant, therefore simpler amp. Other than a power sponge, this amp has it all. If you want a variety of tones on a budget, get it, and also get the Sanpera I pedal. You won't regret it. // 9

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 7
Vypyr 30 Reviewed by: JackSaints, on april 29, 2013
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Price paid: £ 160

Purchased from: Amazon

Features: Well it's a modelling amp, so there are a buttload of built in effects and different amp styles. There is something for everyone. It doesn't matter if you want clean funk or over-distorted death metal, you can absolutely get it from this amp. 30 watt solid state - it's a practice amp/beginner amp. It does the job there. There's a headphone jack, but you can easily get bedroom-safe volumes out of this with the right tweaking. There is an optional footswitch for those wishing to swap between channels and effects. // 8

Sound: Using it with a Washburn RX50 with USM pickups. Good combination. I got for doom/stoner rock/sludge sort of styles and it is very easy to get those, it's more a case of deciding which settings are best for you. There is a huge variety in the sounds you can play. You can get light cleans on the green classic channel, or you can go on the red 6505 and worship satan with chuggy riffs. The clean channels are lower volume than the distorted ones, so you need to be careful when switching between them. Unless this was mic'd up, you couldn't use this for gigs at all, but you can easily get your house rocking. // 7

Reliability & Durability: I wouldn't say this is a reliable amp at all, to put it simply. First up, I've got a vibration problem in mine which means when using higher notes - basically anything past the 12th fret - it hums like a maniac due to vibration. I've tried it out on various guitars and tunings and the issue is still there. It trashes cleans completely. My brother has this amp and it has the same problem. Also, it is quite easy to overwrite saved settings without meaning to, so you need to be very careful otherwise you will lose that setting you spent hours creating. Bash it up and it will probably be ruined too. // 6

Overall Impression: Very versatile and quite cheap considering how much you can get from it, but not reliable enough. I have been able to create sounds to suit my needs, but at the same time, it's solid-state so even if it tries to recreate the sounds of a tube amp, it's a bit too flat sounding for me. However, if you want to swap between styles at the push of a button and need a good practice amp, this would work easily. If it were stolen or lost I wouldn't replace it - but hey, I'm getting a tube amp soon so I wouldn't need to. // 7

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
More Peavey reviews rating category latest review
+ PXD Twenty-Three III 8.8 Electric Guitars 10/07/2014
+ 6534+ 7.3 Guitar Amplifiers 09/15/2014
+ Vypyr VIP 2 7.6 Guitar Amplifiers 06/02/2014
+ Rotor EXP 8.8 Electric Guitars 05/23/2014
+ Vypyr 15 7.9 Guitar Amplifiers 04/28/2014
+ view all
Comments
Your captcha is incorrect