Vypyr Tube 60 Review

manufacturer: Peavey date: 02/17/2012 category: Guitar Amplifiers
Peavey: Vypyr Tube 60
With double the processing power, models and effects of competitive modeling amplifiers, the VYPYR dramatically redefines the power and scope of modern guitar amplification.
 Sound: 8.5
 Overall Impression: 9.3
 Reliability & Durability: 7
 Features: 8.5
 Overall rating:
 8.3 
 Reviewer rating:
 8.3 
 Users rating:
 8.2 
 Votes:
 42 
reviews (4) pictures (1) 22 comments vote for this gear:
overall: 8.3
Vypyr Tube 60 Reviewed by: BigHeadClan, on february 17, 2012
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

Price paid: C$ 600

Purchased from: Music Center Canada

Features: I have been using this amp for around a year and a bit and now and I have finally gotten around to give my to cents on the amp, it has a plethora of effects that allow for endless hours of tweaking and customizing my did not come with a Sanpera II. As a hybrid tube amp at 60 watts its more then capable of jams and small shows, the effects of the amp are hit and miss but I have been more then satisfied with the Amp modelling and the majority of the Stomp-boxes. // 8

Sound: My main guitar is a Shecter's Blood-Moon with Dimarizos D-Sonic and PAF 36 Ann and my current chain sport's a Boss NS-O2 supressor and a OverDrive-3. I play a very broad spectrum of music but I mainly focus on old school metal Hard Rock (Maiden, Santana, Slash, Ozzy), the beauty of this amp is in it's flexibility I can easily get tones ranging from the above mentioned all the way to Opeth, Dream Theater, RHCP you name it. The cleans are very impressive but they lack that certain quality that you get from a real Fender or Marshall, in regards to cleans I would give this a (7). Don't let this amp fool you though its distortion more than make up for and short comings the clean channel had, and is the main reason I purchased this amp. It can cover practically any metal tone you can think of from the brutal lows to screaming highs. I do suggest that anyone who is looking into buying this amp to strongly consider getting a noise suppressor in their chain if they consider playing their heavier styles of metal it can get very noisy when the gain is cranked. I give the distortion tones a 9 but the need for a suppressor forces me to give it a (8) overall. // 8

Reliability & Durability: I am currently not playing any gig's however in the 1 1/2 years I've owned the amp there have been nearly 0 problems all of which have been minor issues with simple fixes, one was a blow fuse (my fault for not having a surge protector). The other issue other was a dead tube, the amp was likely sitting in the store for a year before I came along and probably not treated very well so this is a mute point for me. This amp does occasionally lock up It took a good year for me to experience my first one, this however is very easily avoided by not constantly swapping through the pre-sets. Peavey really went over the top with this amp, from good quality tubes to a solid stock speaker that is voiced around the Vyper Tube 60's versatility. // 8

Overall Impression: As a person who dabbles in a bit of everything this Amp more than matches me, I occasionally look at other amps to buy but every time I end up coming back to my tube 60 for it's great tone and amazing versatility. I was a bit intimidated by the sheer volume of effects and tones you can get out of this amp and it does take some time to learn I encourage anyone who is trying one out to really sit down and explore it's options you wont be disappointed! // 9

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 7.5
Vypyr Tube 60 Reviewed by: unregistered, on january 13, 2010
1 of 3 people found this review helpful

Price paid: $ 450

Purchased from: Guitar Center

Features: A list of features can be found on any number of websites that are offering this amplifier for sale. For the purposes of this review, the features that attracted me toward purchasing it are: the presence of actual power tubes, a headphone jack, and its overal potential for use as a practice amp. // 8

Sound: I will preface this by saying that I own a popular high-wattage all-valve amplifier head and 4x12 cabinet. I have been searching for an amp that I could use to practice in a small apartment late at night, but with the tricky stipulation that I still wanted true tube tone. Some folks on the internet will claim that a practice/headphone/bedroom amp needn't sound good. Personally, tone is one of the primary reasons I practice my guitar. I'm not trying to become a tinny technical wizard a-la Dragonforce. To me, the SOUND of the guitar is paramount to the proficiency of finger technique. That being said, this amp is pretty much exactly what I was looking for. The preamp and power tubes absolutely affect the tone, and it sounds marvelous. Mind you, I wouldn't replace my primary tube amplifier with the Peavey Vypyr 60, but as a practice amp to be played at low volume, it is a dream come true. The array of digital effects and other features were of less interest to me, and although they are definitely fun to play around with, they aren't a proper substitute for high quality effects. All in all, IF you are looking for an auxiliary amp with tube tone, this is the amp for you. If you're interested in finding a primary amplifier for performance, stop looking at cheap modeling amps. // 8

Reliability & Durability: I have no reason to have an opinion about the durability, since mine is still working flawlessly. However, I would never depend upon anything with cheap plastic fangs to perform onstage. I wouldn't say that this is designed for touring abuse, or even small-town gigging. I wouldn't be surprised if it just shorted out in my bedroom. I recommend buying it from a dealer who offers a supplementary warrantee, like Guitar Center. // 5

Overall Impression: Again, this is exactly what I was looking for. If you're a serious tube-only guitar player, but you're looking for something decent for low volume/nighttime jamming, I definitely recommend trying this amp. // 9

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 8.5
Vypyr Tube 60 Reviewed by: oggen_swe, on august 02, 2011
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Price paid: € 500

Purchased from: Thomann

Features: This amp have pretty much all features you need, a bunch of different amp models for different styles, some basic effects, and it can save about 15 presets (more if you get the sanpera pedal) and while most effects are pretty good, there are some you will never use, for example the reverse effect, and there is one thing I want to make very clear, its NOT a full tube amp, its a hybrid. Its also 60w and gets pretty loud, you could easily gig with it! // 9

Sound: This is where things start to get really fun! This amp have a great range of sounds, some are incredible while some are a bit mediocre, I use an Esp Ltd EC-1000 with Seymor Duncan JB/59 humbucker pickups and I play everything from aerosmith to black label society with it and it delivers pretty nicely. It is pretty quiet, at bedroom volumes its dead quiet while it does tend to get a small noise when you crank it up. The distortion gets as brutal as I want it to be, the 6505 model on the red channel with the built in tubescreamer gives a decent nu metal sound and if you want, you can also get a really sweet clean (not a Fender clean but still pretty good). // 9

Reliability & Durability: This is its weak side, when I got the amp, the front panel which holds the speaker fell right out when I started moving the amp around, turns out the screws that hold the panel in place where to small, so I had to get some bigger ones. Since that I have used it for about a year and it has worked okay, it does tend to freeze sometimes when I start it up though. // 7

Overall Impression: I am pretty happy with this amp, it does what I want it to do and it does it well, if it got stolen I would probably try a Blackstar amp instead. I love its wide range of sounds but I don't like the fact that the quality could be a bit better, but if you want a bedroom amp with alot of different sounds you should check this amp out. // 9

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9
Vypyr Tube 60 Reviewed by: robbo546hall, on august 11, 2010
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Price paid: £ 399

Purchased from: Gear4Music

Features: This amp has a bucket load of features, it has 24 amp models, 11 rack effects, 11 seperate stompboxes and the ability to have 5 effects at once. It also has an aux input for plugging in an mp3 player, a headphone socket, usb out and a tuner! I play a wide variety of different music, from bluesy cleans, through crunch, hard rock, grunge and some metal (metallica, maiden, anthrax) This amp has amp models to suit all of these tones. I'm using the amp for practice, and for jamming with friends, but would have no hesitation gigging this, it is plenty plenty loud at 60 watts tube! // 9

Sound: Plugging a Michael Kelly Patriot Custom into the Vypyr, it is a great versatile guitar and this amp compliments it beautifully. I was EXTREMELY surprised at the quality of the sounds on this thing. I went round trying plenty of amps at Gear4Music, actually looking away from modellers and at all tube amps. I played through a Blackstar HT- 40, Fender Blues Jnr, various tube Laneys and the Line 6 Spider Valve. Let me just say it blew all of those away. They all sounded nice (bar the Spider Valve, which just paled in comparison) at their specifc tones, but this amp rivalled them all in every department. At first I thought the tubes in this may of been a gimmick, but the power tubes really get driven to get that warm tone, the regular vypyrs don't compete, especially in the blues/ crunch tones. All the effects sound from ok to excellent, so was very impressed! Particularly at the quality of the choruses, flanger, delay, reverb, and the Tubescreamer stompbox modeller. And my god, this amp can get teh br00tz so be warned! // 9

Reliability & Durability: Seems fairly well constructed, cannot comment on the quality just yet but don't see any problems in the near future. The knobs on the front seem fairly strong and sturdy, it has a tough exterior and is very, very heavy so I'm sure it could withstand a knock or two! // 8

Overall Impression: I couldn't ask for anything more from this amp. IMO it is the most versatile amp on the market, and the tones are phenomenal. I would buy this again in a heartbeat, the Spider Valve just doesn't compare, and this sounds as good if not better than any tube amp I've heard in the 200 - 500 range. My favourite feature has to be the mp3 input, nice to play a tube amp whilst also jamming to your favourite songs. If you are considering this amp get it! You won't regret it. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
More Peavey reviews rating category latest review
+ Triple XXX Head 8.4 Guitar Amplifiers 12/08/2014
+ Envoy 110 8.7 Guitar Amplifiers 11/10/2014
+ PXD Twenty-Three III 8.8 Electric Guitars 10/07/2014
+ 6534+ 7.3 Guitar Amplifiers 09/15/2014
+ Vypyr VIP 2 7.6 Guitar Amplifiers 06/02/2014
+ view all
Comments
Your captcha is incorrect