RG15XM Review

manufacturer: Randall date: 10/31/2006 category: Guitar Amplifiers
Randall: RG15XM
The perfect guitar amp for the beginner who wants the monster Randall sound. 12 watts, 3 band EQ, switch between clean and distorted, and hard overdrive. Includes headphone jack for private practice sessions.
 Sound: 9
 Overall Impression: 8
 Reliability & Durability: 9
 Features: 7.5
 Overall rating:
 7.9 
 Reviewer rating:
 8.4 
 Users rating:
 7.3 
 Votes:
 18 
reviews (2) 3 comments vote for this gear:
overall: 8.5
RG15XM Reviewed by: UG Team, on july 25, 2003
2 of 3 people found this review helpful

Price paid: $ 78.9921

Purchased from: Second Encor Music

Features: Ok well This Amp Has a great sound. The overdrive is insane! the bad thing are that it's a 15 - 19 watt amp (sounds like 30) and the EQ is only Trebal Middle and Bass. Another thing about it is that It is heavery than my Samick (about 10 pounds) its good for people starting or for a prartice amp. // 8

Sound: Im using a Washburn Oscar Shwimth. If you want a good overdrive or rock sound this is your amp. There isnt that much viritey. The Clean does get a little distorted at high volumes. and The overdrive is crazy. // 10

Reliability & Durability: I wouldnt depend on it for a gig Shit a whole 16 watts. But i like the sound and thats why i would depend on it. // 8

Overall Impression: I like the amp a lot. // 8

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 8.3
RG15XM Reviewed by: gonegonegone, on october 31, 2006
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Features: Not many features. Just volume, gain, an overdrive button, and treble, middle, and bass knobs. You can get some nice sounds out if it, just not very customizable. It does have a headphone jack though, which is good for private practicing. This amp is also included with some Washburn X-Series starter sets. // 7

Sound: Nice sound, overdrive is surprisingly good. Like most Randall's, it's better distorted than clean; but clean sounds good too, even at high volumes. I was also surprised how loud this amp was. Usually, with small practice amps you need to turn them up all the way to get good sound; with this one you really don't need to. It has nice grunge, hard rock sound. // 8

Reliability & Durability: It's been an okay amp, I've had it for about a year and have yet to have anything go wrong. I've been playing it on full volume for a few months and it still sounds strong. Even after a few nice falls, nothing's wrong with it. It was built solid. It isn't quite powerful or versatile enough for gigs; just a nice practice amp. // 10

Overall Impression: Overall, I like this amp. It has surprisingly good sound for the price. It gets the job done for just practicing alone. Compared to other small amps at this price, it's pretty good. Most others are either built solid, or have good sound; but not both. This Randall is the exception. I got this to kick around and just play whenever, I hardly take care of it at all and it still holds up nice. I was also looking at the Marshall MG10CD for the same reason. But the Marshall is a little bit more, and not as solid as the Randall 15XM. // 8

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
More Randall reviews rating category latest review
+ Bluesman 4x10 7.4 Guitar Amplifiers 02/25/2014
+ RH150G3 8.7 Guitar Amplifiers 02/17/2014
+ RG1503H 8.4 Guitar Amplifiers 02/14/2014
+ RT50C 5 Guitar Amplifiers 05/03/2013
+ RX120RHS 7.9 Guitar Amplifiers 02/20/2013
+ view all
Comments
Your captcha is incorrect